Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When were your parents born?

• 16-10-2017 10:45pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭

When were your parents born? I think it has a major impact on your life. I was born in 1975 and my Dad was born in 1940 and my mum in 1942. I was the youngest of 3 children. I grew up with parents who were split personality - liberal one minute, very conservative the next. My parents generation were paranoid about the way we turned out.

So when were your parents born? Were they cool or uptight?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Both were born in a manger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

50's and 60's. Ones a rock n roll lovin the other a hippy. Me born in the 80's so I go round singing all the time with greased hair and shades.

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

‘30s. They never quite understood The Beatles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

1955 and 1956

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭miss flutter ups

Early 1950s, I like to imagine them bopping to Jimmy Hendrix and Janis Joplin, mam with flowers in her hair and dad with a guitar in hand but in my dad's words "we were too busy working 7 days a week to listen to that ****e"

Just to add to this my parents in law were born in the late 40s.

I thought that I’d have great conversations with them about cool 60s music and suchlike.

Nah, they never understood me no more than my own parents ever did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭MAC addict

1965 and 1966, while I was born in 1992, they’re fairly laid back now prob have more in common with them now than before but they were quite strict when I was younger.

MAC addict wrote: »
    1965 and 1966, while I was born in 1992, they’re fairly laid back now prob have more in common with them now than before but they were quite strict when I was younger.

Ah poo.
    I was born in ‘68. These threads remind me how old I am.

Dammit. I’m too old to be a teenage rebel now !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

JupiterKid wrote: »
    When were your parents born? I think it has a major impact on your life. I was born in 1975 and my Dad was born in 1940 and my mum in 1942. I was the youngest of 3 children. I grew up with parents who were split personality - liberal one minute, very conservative the next. My parents generation were paranoid about the way we turned out.

So when were your parents born? Were they cool or uptight?

They were born in the 1950s. It's only with the benefit of hindsight that I realise that they were fairly cool. I remember friends and cousins telling me that they were jealous of how easy my parents were to talk to, and how un-embarrassing they were.

Also, they named me after the lead singer of quite a cool band. They were also quite fond of Blondie, so I reckon I got off quite lightly there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭4Ad

Mum (RIP) was born in 1930
    Dad was 1938...I know now my Ma was an original cougar..
    My mother loved rock and roll and Elvis etc.
    Dad looked like a rocker with the quiff and clothes, no intrest in music though..
    They met in London..
    Am I ranting ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

My folks were born in the 60's and they were a;ways liberal, I was born in the 80's.

The 80's kicked ass. I'm very proud of the 80's.

I have no idea if any of this is relevant, I'm drunk as a skunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭MAC addict

Ah poo.
    I was born in ‘68. These threads remind me how old I am.

Dammit. I’m too old to be a teenage rebel now !
    Don’t worry about it I’m to old to be a teenage rebel now too unfortunately! Have to be responsible and all that stuff now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭4Ad

My folks were born in the 60's and they were a;ways liberal, I was born in the 80's.

The 80's kicked ass. I'm very proud of the 80's.

I have no idea if any of this is relevant, I'm drunk as a skunk.

Tis relavant...im well cut myself !!
    80's wasn't great though ! Ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

4Ad wrote: »
    Tis relavant...im well cut myself !!
    80's wasn't great though ! Ha

80's wasn't great?

Ah here.

I wouldnt know where to start! 80's was feckin amazing.

Ray Houghton just for a start :)
    Music, movies, Houghton, Movies, it was all there.... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Dad in 1931 and my mum in 1939.

I am only 37 BTW. Was a late kid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

My dad was born just before the start of World War II.

On his 70 birthday he received a copy of the front page of the Irish Independent from his birthday as a gift.

It featured a very prominent picture of Adolf Hitler.

So he has had what was practically a framed picture of Der Führer on his sitting room wall for years.

Irish people never batted an eyelid, but his American relatives were routinely horrified. Probably the reason he keeps it up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

20th century. Some good times, some hard times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Both born in 1946 and have led pretty damn cool lives.

My mum moved to Leeds when she was 16 and then to Manchester where she was chatted up by George Best in a niteclub, offered a modelling contract (she was too shy to accept either offers) before moving back to Northern Ireland where she was swept of her feet by a handsome musician from one of the most popular showbands of the time....me da.

Dad had Thin Lizzy as an opening act, jammed with Eddie Grant and had tours of America, Canada and the UK under his belt.

I am the 2nd child of 4, born in 73. My dad arrived home from a tour stateside the evening I was born, was home for a week and then off to the UK for a month leaving my mam with my then 3 year old brother and me to mind alone.

We lived in Canada for 3 years as my dads band set up over there then moved home. Dad took up running in his late 30s and won national and international medals as a veteran/masters athlete. They have travelled the world, lived in Florida and made and lost millions along the way.

They are 2 of the coolest people you will ever meet without trying to be cool. Very liberal but more importantly loving. Work hard and play hard all their lives and 48 years of marriage later are even more in love today.

They are my heroes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

1952 and 1956, so they were in their heyday in the 70s, and I was born in 79, other siblings are 82 and 87.

both of them are fairly socially liberal, for example, they are extremely welcoming of my Lesbian cousin's partners over the years - more so than her own mam even is. My Dad is pretty disgusted that his own brother booted his child out of the house when he came out. I know my dad smoked the funny cigs during the 70s too.

My dad was a staunch Labour man until they moved to the right, and he was a member of his Union until he retired this year. My mam, I think, is a FGer. We never discussed who my parents voted for in my formative years, and I'm very thankful for that, and I'm still unsure about my mam - which is of course the way it should be.

We hadn't a lot while they were paying their mortgage, once my sister went to school may mam started taking part time work in childcare and she still does that, once the house was paid for then they opened the coffers a bit and the holidays got a bit better for my younger siblings.

I don't think my dad was ever mad into the aul religion, fair enough we were brought to mass as kids, but he always fell asleep. My mam was one of the communion giver-outers, but I think they only go for the "Big 4" these days - Xmas, Weddings, Funerals, Christenings. Even then, I think my dad is take-it-or-leave-it.

The happiness the grandkids give them is lovely to see, watching my dad watching the kids is one of my favourite things to do. My mam has seen it all many times over having worked in creches, but to see my dad craking up with laughter when my son says something cheeky is just one of the best things and I'm glad I was able to give him that. In return, my son absolutely adores them both. They never spoil the kids, and are very respectful of how my wife and I raise my son, so that's great.

They never drop in unannounced, but they are invited very regularly.

They've raised three decent kids, and in return we are raising good kids too - so they've instilled in us a good sense of family and how to raise children.

I love my mam and dad, and I think there aren't many better parents or grandparents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

1937 and 1939
    Dev's acolytes.
    Mass on Sundays, Wednesdays and First Fridays.
    Confession on First Fridays
    Multiple Corpus Christi processions every May
    Summer holiday in Knock every year
    Solemn Novenas were the mutt's nuts in our family
    Ciaran MacMathuna and the Tulla/Kilfenora Ceili Band every Saturday night.
    Irish dancing as a kid.
    Wexford/Nowlan/Walsh Park for the hurling.

It wasn't all DeValera's Ireland though. My mum did encourage me to read the Famous Five and my dad used to watch A-team/Fall Guy/Magnum/MacGyver with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Mother in 1948 and Dad in 1949.

I'm the same age now as my Dad was in 1986.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Both my mum and dad were born when they were very very young, I think it was even before their first birthday.

I too was born when I was very young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Mine were born in the late forties. They're still there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

1944 and 1946. I am the eldest and was born in the 80s. They are both very socially conservative. My mother is fairly religious, my dad is an atheist since the 50s. My mother has adapted better to modern liberal norms, my dad is openly racist and sexist. They both come from hard working families who have got on in life but both spent half their lives on the dole and my dad has a big sense of entitlement. He has a trade but rarely worked outside of nixers from the 70s on. My mam had to give up her job when she got married, worked on and off part time in shops, worked full time only from her late 50s. They lived with my grandparents until they had children and got a council house. I'm pretty certain my mother has a general learning disability. My father is a horrible person and I think he has been a blight on her life.

No one has posted this yet

This Be The Verse
    BY PHILIP LARKIN

They **** you up, your mum and dad.
    They may not mean to, but they do.
    They fill you with the faults they had
    And add some extra, just for you.

But they were ****ed up in their turn
    By fools in old-style hats and coats,
    Who half the time were soppy-stern
    And half at one another’s throats.

Man hands on misery to man.
    It deepens like a coastal shelf.
    Get out as early as you can,
    And don’t have any kids yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Not entirely sure what the point of this thread is or where it can go.

Mine were born in the 1920s and the 1930s.

My mother in her head never left the farm she grew up in despite having a public services job before she married, always called where she grew up home despite living over 50 years somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

My parents were both born in 1962 and grew up in Dublin. My dad is an angry right-wing racist ****wit and my mum is practically a tree-hugging hippy politically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Both in 1956.

My Mam (RIP) loved disco music, couldn't get her off the dancefloor apparently.
    I remember asking my Dad if he was into Led Zeppellin and all that; "I was in my shíte' was the reply, 'your uncle was though" (they shared a bedroom) and then we discussed, at length, the albums he had apparently no interest in.

My Dad left school at 15, he hated it and especially doing exams, but he's the smartest man I know, with the best work ethic. A trait I'd like to think he's instilled in me. He grew up with the Leeds team in the 60s and 70s and the Welsh rugby teams of the 70s and the Irish team of the 80s. He seems to think there was more enjoyment in sport back then than there is now, from players, managers, and fans.

My mam and dad were born in the 1940's. Their families were poor and it was important to leave school as soon as possible which they both did. Daddy at 13 and mammy a few years older. Neither of them lived fancy or adventure filled lives. Religion was a big deal to them, going to mass, pictures of the pope, holy statues, that was life. The farthest they ever travelled was to the UK. Life was very simple and they were happy.

I thank the Gods everyday that I have the parents I have. They have shown me how to be a good and decent person and what love is, what it really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

Both parents born in the early 1930's. Suspicious of anything that's not familiar to them and very quick to judge.

Disapproved of "culchie" girlfriends I had and nearly lost it when I started dating a "forridner" (American). Then, when I did start dating a Dub, she was too "posh". Nobody was ever going to meet their approval.

Tis funny though, for all of their disapproval of my choices, my older sisters all married complete bastards, so perhaps I was right to ignore them!

It's almost amusing nowadays when I visit and I'm told about "them Muslims up the road who got a new car from the Welfare"... (He's from India and works for a multinational IT firm)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Dad 1935, in a home now.
    Mum 1945, passed 2004.

I was born in 1981.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Not entirely sure what the point of this thread is or where it can go.

The OP is going to ask our Mothers maiden names next... It's a long play Identity Theft thing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Early 1950s, I like to imagine them bopping to Jimmy Hendrix and Janis Joplin, mam with flowers in her hair and dad with a guitar in hand but in my dad's words "we were too busy working 7 days a week to listen to that ****e"

This was Ireland, assuming they were in Ireland, there wasn't too much of that hippy stuff here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭noaddedsugar

Mine we born in the 60s in the UK. They were part of the punk scene as youngsters and I grew up listening to the sex pistols, xray spex, adam ant etc. They have always been pretty laid back and liberal, although pretty crappy parents to my elder brother and I. They are quite alternative and hippy now.

My inlaws were born in 50s Ireland and the differences when they speak about their younger lives compared to my parents are very stark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Lady Spangles

My mother was born in 1943. My father was born in 1953. (both in England, both in the month of May) They married in 1977 and I was born three years later.

It was a classic case of the reverse age-difference (the woman being ten years older than the man) and not something they initially worried about at all. They were just two people in love. Neither one of them was wealthy at all, so mum wasn't what the Americans would cruelly call a "cougar", or whatever. But, all the same, the comments she got (especially in the early years when the difference was noticeable) I think were very cutting. However, they remained devoted to each other until mum died in 2007 after thirty years of marriage.

Even today, women who marry younger men get a lot of flack. It's totally unnecessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Both were born in the mid - late 50's.

Dad is from very, very rural Tipperary, Mam is originally from just outside London (so I'm a half-Brit mongrel :pac: ) but came to Dublin as a Teenager. I was born in Dublin in the late 80's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I was born in 2002, ma an da in 1989, they're looking forward to being grandparents shortly.

Posted from Jobstown or Sherrif St or Finglas or Tallaght or....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Both were born in the mid - late 50's.

Dad is from very, very rural Tipperary, Mam is originally from just outside London (so I'm a half-Brit mongrel :pac: ) but came to Dublin as a Teenager. I was born in Dublin in the late 80's.

That's nothing in the mongrel stakes, I'm the German born Son of a Mayo Madman and a Elegant Edinburgh lassie.

Similar timelines for all but I haven't a clue where the OP is going with the thread. Ah yes... 1958, the year of the good mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

dd972 wrote: »
    I was born in 2002, ma an da in 1989, they're looking forward to being grandparents shortly.

Posted from Jobstown or Sherrif St or Finglas or Tallaght or....

Couldn't be posted from there. You've used They're in the correct context.
    Shenanigans. I call shenanigans!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

mum 1933
    dad 1934

rip mum earlier this year 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

50's and 60's. Ones a rock n roll lovin the other a hippy. Me born in the 80's so I go round singing all the time with greased hair and shades.

/thread

We must be twins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Just to add to this my parents in law were born in the late 40s.

I thought that I’d have great conversations with them about cool 60s music and suchlike.

Nah, they never understood me no more than my own parents ever did.

I was introduced to music from the time I was born, I assumed everyone grew up listening to British and American 60s and 70s.

I bonded with my best friend in Primary school because he also had music parents. Everyone else's parents seemed to listen to the likes of Big Tom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Mother 1967
    Father 1955

Me mid 80's
    brother 1988

I have other half brothers and sisters born between 1974 & 1998.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Father in 1912 , Mother 1917. Both very progressive, and determined their children would have better lives than they had. Great believers in education - of which they had very little themselves. Politically astute, well informed, extremely hardworking, charitable, supportive and great craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

1915 and 1922.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

1966 and 1969

My mom is a hippy and my dad used to be a proper rocker. He turned a bit more conservative over the years, she lives the artist life with my stepdad (parents seperated when I was 4).
    Mother and husband closed their fairly successful business because of the health problems of my stepdad, sold their house and bought a lovely small house in a very remote village on Fuerteventura.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

1937 and 1939. Both still flying around the place thankfully.

They were born early-mid '50's. My mum part of a large traditional Dublin family where ambition in girls was viewed suspiciously. My father was born in London to an Irish nurse, and a successful immigrant father. Dad met his Irish grandparents only once and they refused to meet their son in law at all, having a non-white, non-Catholic man marry their daughter was horrifying to them.

My parents met and married while still at uni in England and they retired a while ago after long and distinguished careers, but can't quite give up work completely and still occasionally disappear abroad for months at a time on various projects. I've been places and seen things that most kids don't thanks to them, it's been an education. They are fantastic people, and I have boundless love and admiration for them. After all these years, they're still best friends and still nuts about each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

The late 1930's. Both were well into their 40's when I was born and my dad was nearer to 50. All my baby photos look like I'm with my grandparents. My dad was ahead of his time, very modern thinking and had a 'live and let live' attitude to life. My mother was a typical holy Mary type who lived by the church and as a girl I found it particularly difficult especially during my teens. One thing my parents did was make me determined not to be an old parent myself, it's just not fair on anyone imo.