Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Storm preparations

• 14-10-2017 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭

What storm preparations if any have you carried out

2 here. Flashing on a shed was loose. Stuck a few stitchers in it earlier.

Have a fair few sheets of galvanise for a shed here. Going to weight it down in the morning. Maybe with 1/2t of meal in a jfc tub or builder bag. They are in a

Run around then and secure all doors and windows In sheds.

Park car & other vehicles away from trees and chainsaw/ going to be filled up. And ready to roll and bucket on the loader And high viz jacket ready

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭20silkcut

What precautions can you take with grazing livestock we don’t normally get big wind during the grazing season. If power goes then the fence goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

20silkcut wrote: »
    What precautions can you take with grazing livestock we don’t normally get big wind during the grazing season. If power goes then the fence goes.

Maybe have a battery fencer at hand just in case

The dairy farms could be badly hit. Between cooling milk and maybe milk collection delay and milking without power it would be a headache.

Number 1 thing is staying safe. Everything else can be fixed/repaired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Have a fair few sheets of galvanise for a shed here. Going to weight it down in the morning. Maybe with 1/2t of meal in a jfc tub or builder bag. They are in a

Park car & other vehicles away from trees and chainsaw/ going to be filled up. And ready to roll and bucket on the loader And high viz jacket ready

All tractors/car trailers etc going in cattle shed tomorrow as i would hope its the least likely to get banjaxed. We've one old shed that if it took the roof it would save on scaffolding. Other than that i can expect to be building stone walls for the next fortnight.
    Just hope everyone has a quick scout around yards and sheds for loose objects that could be lifted and make sure doors are securely shut. If a gust goes in the door there is only one way out.
    And after all that it might shift left or right and miss us altogether. No more than Floki and George Sunsnow ive been tracking this since Wednesday and it doesnt look healthy.

I say the insurance company's are sh1tting bricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

I say the insurance company's are ****ting bricks

Id say the vast majority wouldnt have the proper insurance to cover sheds etc.

I have them covered. Fbd inspected them when we bought here end of 2009. And when I added a new shed in 2012 they came out to inspect it before covering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭Guffy

I have them covered. Fbd inspected them when we bought here end of 2009. And when I added a new shed in 2012 they came out to inspect it before covering.

Act of god clause?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,485 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Was on to them yesterday. They said that alot of their competitors storm cover wont stand up as they have never inspected the sheds before offering cover on them. Btw got my premium for €300 less than what I paid last year. Same cover and €500 off my renewal price.

Guffy wrote: »
    Act of god clause?

Storm and fire as far as I know. Must check .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,572 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I spent a couple of hours this morning putting small items like buckets, barrels, drums, empty ton bags into the meal shed. We threw 2 ratchet straps over the roof of the old stone walled turf shed and tied it down to the 3 furrow plough on one side and the diet feeder on the other.
    We are going to move 30-40 eight/nine month old bulls to the main outfarm tomorrow for a few months. It has good shelter and relatively dry - rocky/hill ground.
    Will park the tractors/50b/trailers/vehicles etc on the South side of the yards and far away from any trees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Ye have me worried now! I wasn't paying much attention to it tbh. Obviously it's promised real bad if ye are going to all the trouble. Only thing I done today is put in cows and cattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,824 ✭✭✭White Clover

Ye have me worried now! I wasn't paying much attention to it tbh. Obviously it's promised real bad if ye are going to all the trouble. Only thing I done today is put in cows and cattle

Worried here too. I'm thinking of taking down a dozed tree tomorrow that's 20ft south west of a slatted shed.
    I hate wind, no control, at least with snow or ice you can decide to do nothing and still be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭phildenny

Hi, this might be a silly question but we have a sheepdog who lives outside in her own den. she's more of a pet than a working dog and kids are worried about her. When she was less than a year old, she got really scared of thunder and lighting, didn't move or respond for hours, we had to bring her into the house. So does anyone know if sheepdogs get scared of wind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

whelan2 wrote: »
    Was on to them yesterday. They said that alot of their competitors storm cover wont stand up as they have never inspected the sheds before offering cover on them. Btw got my premium for €300 less than what I paid last year. Same cover and €500 off my renewal price.

Total Bull from them regarding their competition

Not a lot of preparation here for the storm,I'm expecting the hay shed roof to go as it's very exposed
    Nothing I can do about it
    The cows will be milked early on Monday morning and left in a paddock beside the yard for handiness for the evening milking which will be at the height of the storm
    The generator is a 25kw froment magnate and runs everything on the go at the same time including scrapers bulk tank lights 2 water pumps and the milking machine and the farmhouse so all sorted there
    It's old but we run it twice a year and tested it today,all ok

Not a lot of preparation here for the storm,I'm expecting the hay shed roof to go as it's very exposed
    The cows will be milked early on Monday morning and left in a paddock beside the yard for handiness for the evening milking which will be at the height of the storm
    The generator is a 25kw froment magnate and runs everything on the go at the same time including scrapers bulk tank lights 2 water pumps and the milking machine and the farmhouse so all sorted there

Something i must buy myself. A handy generator even to run the microwave and a radio and charge a phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,572 ✭✭✭✭Base price

phildenny wrote: »
    Hi, this might be a silly question but we have a sheepdog who lives outside in her own den. she's more of a pet than a working dog and kids are worried about her. When she was less than a year old, she got really scared of thunder and lighting, didn't move or respond for hours, we had to bring her into the house. So does anyone know if sheepdogs get scared of wind?
    Animals (including ourselves) don't like extreme weather conditions.
    Best let her into the house until the storm passes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,824 ✭✭✭White Clover

Is the generator diesel driven or pto driven ?

Base price wrote: »
    Animals (including ourselves) don't like extremes weather conditions.

Looking forward to the YouTube and Facebook videos of the stupid things people will do during the storm and endanger their own lives and others
    I say first responders will be hoping people will stay indoors

The esb and Eircom lads will have a good Christmas. All that over time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

Is the generator diesel driven or pto driven ?

Pto driven
    She runs quietly enough in the 1000 box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭orm0nd

have been tracking it on windy.com for last few days and latest it appears to be veering west & getting more intense in our area,

going to peak here between 14.00 and 20.00

initially will hit from south/ south east, have a shed with large double doors in that direction, going to barricade with round bales 2 moro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Base price wrote: »
    Animals (including ourselves) don't like extreme weather conditions.

Me kittens are fcuked so:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Makes no difference, Iakill. FBD inspected my sheds a few months before Darwin and I specifically looked for full cover from them. The local manager came out and inspected and gave me a quote which I paid on the spot.

All grand.

A few months later, when my sheds were parked on my other sheds, FBD informed me that that I wasn't fully covered because my valuations were too low. The valuations that the local manager had put on them!

FBD, a lovely bunch of lads...

You really need to get your sheds independently valued and insure them for that sum to have a chance of being covered. Which you won't be anyway, in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Makes no difference, Iakill. FBD inspected my sheds a few months before Darwin and I specifically looked for full cover from them. The local manager came out and inspected and gave me a quote which I paid on the spot.

All grand.

A few months later, when my sheds were parked on my other sheds, FBD informed me that that I wasn't fully covered because my valuations were too low. The valuations that the local manager had put on them!

You really need to get your sheds independently valued and insure them for that sum to have a chance of being covered. Which you won't be anyway, in my experience.

I hope you didn't roll over for FBD. I would've marched them up the steps.

Phuck Ophelia anyhow, I've had to cancel a trip to the Peak District for some R&R. Dammit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Im thinking there must be more hours in your day! Nearing Oct 31st, young family, you'd think u wouldn't have time to pee!!

There before the grace of God go l!!

I probably have the sheds over valued to be honest. The shed insurance element isn't the most expensive of things.

Mullingar my branch and I never remember them suggesting a value. The twice they were inspected they called out and us not here.

All grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

All grand.

I don't think any insurance company sends out a valuer, they're definitely not quantity surveyors, did you get paid what they were valued at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,272 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Dont forget the kids toys, playhouse, trampolines etc.

rangler1 wrote: »
    I don't think any insurance company sends out a valuer, they're definitely not quantity surveyors, did you get paid what they were valued at.

The point being nmade to me was if they dont come out to look they have no idea what they are insuring. In fairness to fbd they have come out most years before renewal date. Might be an idea to check valuations

when with fbd, I found they were clueless re valuations ,

1 item (of many) which zurich pointed out , we have a fairly large shed here with asbestos roof, if that came off it would have a very high disposal cost, fbd saw the same shed at least 3 times, & it could have had a thatched roof for all they knew.

a neighbour was having the same problems as Buford T. with them . I got him on to an assessor, & they literally changed their tune over night & coughed up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

At least tides wont be that high. Always a big concern around here. Only 4.5 metres compared to the usual monthly high of around 5.3m.

Are any of ye worried?

That's the reason they come out, they can actually say on the vist they won't cover a shed...maybe an auld falling down shack.
    They'd have costings of sheds but I'd swear they get them off the department, pity the department doesn't build sheds with the costings they have.
    I know mine are underinsured, but sure you seldom claim so as long as it breaks the back in the cost it'll be fine

Phuck Ophelia anyhow, I've had to cancel a trip to the Peak District for some R&R. Dammit.
    They offered 20% of the replacement costs but I held out as long as possible and with some help from the IFA got 38% eventually:(
    Nope, they said my sheds were undervalued. You know, the valuation that they gave me:rolleyes:
    orm0nd wrote: »
    when with fbd, I found they were clueless re valuations ,

1 item (of many) which zurich pointed out , we have a fairly large shed here with asbestos roof, if that came off it would have a very high disposal cost, fbd saw the same shed at least 3 times, & it could have had a thatched roof for all they knew.

a neighbour was having the same problems as Buford T. with them . I got him on to an assessor, & they literally changed their tune over night & coughed up
    Yeah, got an assessor in as well and he was a huge help. Between him and the IFA, I'd say my case was starting to annoy the fcuk out of them with one of us ringing each day or sometimes all 3 of us in one day.

If you make a claim, you're tied in for 3 years afterwards so I will be walking this year.

And, tbh, this claim from FBD that other companies insurance isn't as good as theirs is pure bull as my case alone shows.

Are any of ye worried?

I won't even be in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I'm sure you'll go again :D

I won't even be in the country

Airports is operating?

Are any of ye worried?
    Yeah. It's surprising how many are blase about this. I was talking to my sister last night and she thought it was 'only' a storm coming. They are building a garage behind the house atm so plenty of stuff ready to fly around the place when it hits.

We're keeping the kids home from school tomorrow and I almost have herself convinced to stay at home as well but she is intent on going in for a half day:(

Yeah. It's surprising how many are blase about this. I was talking to my sister last night and she thought it was 'only' a storm coming. They are building a garage behind the house atm so plenty of stuff ready to fly around the place when it hits.

We're keeping the kids home from school tomorrow and I almost have herself convinced to stay at home as well but she is intent on going in for a half day:(

Yeah half thinking of keeping the young lass off school tomorrow too.

All light machinery going into sheds today. Got an extra cylinder of gas in case eletricity goes. Charging up the power packs for the mobiles for when the electricity WILL go.

Restocked with petrol and 2 stroke oil. Chainsaw checked over and sharpened. PPE ready. First aid kit in the tractor and van.

All loose buckets and the likes gathered up. All swings and stuff going to be put into the shed. All doors of sheds locked and well bolted.

Going to shop later to restock on the likes of milk, bread and stuff that can be fried if no power for a few days.

Cars were refilled with fuel yesterday so both are full. Loads of batteries got yesterday for lights and torches are recharged. Dug out the auld whistling tae pot for the gas hob too.

School buses aren't running in some parts of the country, Don't see the point of a half day against a full , It seems to be in the country all day so same risk on the roads at 12 as 5.
    No point in worrying anyway, stay in out of it until the house starts to fall is probably the only advice.....not sorry I'm missing it

They offered 20% of the replacement costs but I held out as long as possible and with some help from the IFA got 38% eventually:(

Nope, they said my sheds were undervalued. You know, the valuation that they gave me:rolleyes:

Yeah, got an assessor in as well and he was a huge help. Between him and the IFA, I'd say my case was starting to annoy the fcuk out of them with one of us ringing each day or sometimes all 3 of us in one day.

If you make a claim, you're tied in for 3 years afterwards so I will be walking this year.

And, tbh, this claim from FBD that other companies insurance isn't as good as theirs is pure bull as my case alone shows.

I think it's important to highlight the bold above as your cover with a new company would be void in the event on non disclosure.

last big storm jeep was in garage for service and it was over a week before the power came , it was stuck on the hoist for that time, mechanic told me every bit of the undercarriage was checked about 40 times

School buses aren't running in some parts of the country, Don't see the point of a half day against a full , It seems to be in the country all day so same risk on the roads at 12 as 5.
    No point in worrying anyway, stay in out of it until the house starts to fall is probably the only advice.....not sorry I'm missing it
    Her work peaks on Monday and Tuesday so I can see why she wants to go but at the same time we would be kinda anxious that she actually can come home in one piece.

Secondary schools are still open as we have no texts to say they are closed. Primary schools were sensible and sent a text about closing last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

orm0nd wrote: »
    I think it's important to highlight the bold above as your cover with a new company would be void in the event on non disclosure.

last big storm jeep was in garage for service and it was over a week before the power came , it was stuck on the hoist for that time, mechanic told me every bit of the undercarriage was checked about 40 times

On that note.
    I haven't got electric gates. Just wondering is there anyway of opening them if the power is gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Is there any chance that this storm will pass us by or expire before getting to us ?
    I havent followed it much and only now starting to think about it

I haven't seen the three year clause any where, have had plenty of claims and was never told that.
    Sure they all say they have the best service same as any business, never had a problem with the myself so maybe I'm in for a treat someday too
    This Belgian trip is part sponsored bt them so I suppose I've taken the Kings shilling

Bullocks wrote: »
    Is there any chance that this storm will pass us by or expire before getting to us ?
    I havent followed it much and only now starting to think about it

Atm I think it's making landfall at galway passing up through Donegal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Reggie. wrote: »

All light machinery going into sheds today. Got an extra cylinder of gas in case eletricity goes. Charging up the power packs for the mobiles for when the electricity WILL go.

Restocked with petrol and 2 stroke oil. Chainsaw checked over and sharpened. PPE ready. First aid kit in the tractor and van.

All loose buckets and the likes gathered up. All swings and stuff going to be put into the shed. All doors of sheds locked and well bolted.

Going to shop later to restock on the likes of milk, bread and stuff that can be fried if no power for a few days.

Cars were refilled with fuel yesterday so both are full. Loads of batteries got yesterday for lights and torches are recharged. Dug out the auld whistling tae pot for the gas hob too.

It's easy know what your day job is.;)

Sound actions and advice.

Reggie. wrote: »

Ya forgot the slab of Dutch gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Floki wrote: »
    On that note.
    I haven't got electric gates. Just wondering is there anyway of opening them if the power is gone?

Leave them open.

It's easy know what your day job is.;)

Sound actions and advice.

If a bit over the top, surprised there's no bunker

On that note.

Have ya not got the Allen key type lever that opens them manually.