Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You win the Lotto, what do you buy?

• 14-10-2017 5:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭

Haven't seen a thread like this on here and I thought we could do with a bit of a fun topic. Let's say you win the lotto. You could have any car, what do you buy and why? How many cars would you get?

I'd definitely buy a Golf R as a daily driver. Handy enough for commuting to work and cruising around for the daily tasks but also fun to put the foot down when you want to put a big grin on your face.

My second car would probably be a Ferrari, just to have something a bit exotic. I'm fond of the 458, not too familiar with their recent models however.

Having an R would probably be enough to have fun with, at least for public roads, so the Ferrari would probably end up getting swapped for something a bit more fun on the track. I've always been partial to drifting, so I'd probably take that up as a new hobby. Maybe get a 350Z, I've always liked them with the Top Secret bodykit.

If I was going for a third car, probably a convertible Mustang just for the few days we have sun, even just the 310hp EcoBoost. Wouldn't need a GT just for cruising around :) I'd get the wheels from the US model though, much nicer!

So what would you guys get? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Staplor

DaveyDave wrote: »
    Haven't seen a thread like this on here and I thought we could do with a bit of a fun topic. Let's say you win the lotto. You could have any car, what do you buy and why? How many cars would you get?

I'd definitely buy a Golf R as a daily driver. Handy enough for commuting to work and cruising around for the daily tasks but also fun to put the foot down when you want to put a big grin on your face.

My second car would probably be a Ferrari, just to have something a bit exotic. I'm fond of the 458, not too familiar with their recent models however.

Having an R would probably be enough to have fun with, at least for public roads, so the Ferrari would probably end up getting swapped for something a bit more fun on the track. I've always been partial to drifting, so I'd probably take that up as a new hobby. Maybe get a 350Z, I've always liked them with the Top Secret bodykit.

If I was going for a third car, probably a convertible Mustang just for the few days we have sun, even just the 310hp EcoBoost. Wouldn't need a GT just for cruising around :) I'd get the wheels from the US model though, much nicer!

Why would you buy a car for the commute to work if you can afford a Ferrari?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,602 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

If I can afford a Ferrari then I'm not going to work.

I've always said I wouldn't be overly flash if a big lotto style windfall came my way. A nice daily driver for myself and a range rover or something similar for driving with the kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭MarioLuigi

Depends, are we talking about €1m or €100m?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭maddness

Irish lotto, new model AMG E63S estate, face lifted RS3 and an E92 M3.
    Euromillions, pretty much every car I've always wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

Skoda Octavia....joke.

Something like an Audi R8 maybe and then something more practical for ferrying the children around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,702 ✭✭✭goochy

Project kahn range rover 4.4 v8 dsl
    Zv reg bentley turbo R with lpg conversion .
    range rover vogue se approx 1988 which would go on zv plates and have lpg conversion
    Bmw 740 LD x drive
    Probably a few more cheap modern classics but running costs would have to be reasonable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Wrx sti and a bt-50. And probably one of the final edition Commodore v8s just for the hell of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,958 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Probably the car I have but the ultra lux version. An F31 340i with every bit of kit possible.

Might seem a bit modest for a lotto win but realistically I would want something I can still drive around town without attracting attention. Maybe a classy 911 would be as mad as I’d want to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭raxy

I'd buy another lotto ticket!
    What are the odds that the time I win the lotto I have to share the jackpot with everyone on boards.ie

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

NSX Type R(second series)

hq720.jpg
    (there are faster cars yes, but vanishingly few are as involved)

Alfa Romeo SZ.

Alfa%20Romeo%20SZ%20(1).jpg
    (cos it looks like a car show prototype that escaped :D. The underpinnings aren't exactly crap either)

Renault 5 Turbo 2

DSC_0803-1280x851-940x636.jpg
    (cos I need to scare myself every so often..)

Lancia Stratos

1975-Lancia-Stratos-HF-Stradale-by-Bertone.jpg
    (cos I need to scare myself even more every so often..)

With the exception of the Lancia(and even there) they'd all be easy enough to fettle and service myself and the NSX would be like Honda's of that vintage, essentially bulletproof.

I would be seriously tempted by a Ferrari 250GT Lusso.

_p3t9433_10111.jpg

Problem being even if you won the euromilions it's still a 2 million quid car and I don't think it's "worth" that and you'd be crapping yourself about damaging it. And it would need a brake upgrade and swap in electronic ignition. And would need to be driven on the regular. Down the years I've heard that those old Ferrari's are actually pretty bloody reliable old beasts and more reliable than many of their era, but they need to be driven, or they go to seed rapidly. PLus again two million quid. You could get together a big collection of very cool cars for that kinda money, rather than just one.

Oh and I'd definitely keep my DC2 R. Just buy all the OEM bits and bobs to refresh it and keep it going.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Audi RS6. Animal of a car, I can only imagine trying to secure it from being robbed though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

A paddy spec TDI passat, and I'll never wash it or service it, do a bit of work for d'NCT, be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'll stick my sensible hat on first.

Mortgage cleared.
    Car loan cleared.
    Parents and brother will be given some cash.
    Set up a fund for my daughter and new born.
    Rebuild the families savings.

Once done hat:

Car wise I'm pretty content right now but I'd probably get a Giulia QV and select every damn extra it has.

Then proceed with taking my entire years holidays off during the summer and road trip the **** out of Europe.

And now back to reality :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Ireland gaff, Tesla P100D

Surrey gaff, 1995 Cossie Lux

This https://youtu.be/9BuZmJmpTdk and a La Ferrari for the villa on lake Como

Ranch in Texas, http://www.icon4x4.com/br

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭M S E

There are a few on the list including this one -Irish reg 2008 c63
    http://cannonball.ie/2017-accepted-cars/
    if by any chance the owner is on this forum- first of all fair play to you for making that happen and it is some car-hold on to it for another 5 years and maybe by some miracle I might be able to afford it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

First: Model S P100DL
    Second: Veyron
    Third: Classic Bentley Turbo R/Rolls Royce Silver Spur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Golf R with all the extras.
    Audi S8 with everything.
    7 series M Sport and definitely a Porsche Panamera they are stunning with a beautiful interior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Mikoyan Mig-25 2 seater....
    20 litres of fuel. Per second.
    It will do Mach 3
    It will do it for about 10-15 minutes before running dry.

There is nothing left in the world that can catch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭FUBO

Lancia Delta Integrale , Lancia Fulvia, Porsche 911 (993) wide body, Ford RS200, Morris Minor, Peugeot 205 GTI
    That will do for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

New A8 with all the options for me. Alternatively a fully-specced S Class. I'd have no interest in Ferrari's or the like tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Car: Full spec 500Sl, does everything I'd want from a road car, might get something fun for track days.

Bikes, NSR500.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Brand new Renault. Fresh, literally bought off the showroom floor, with used 50s. The model doesn't matter. I would then drive it out the gate and close my eyes and crash it. I would then hurriedly leave the scene.

Did I mention I hate Renaults?

pablo128 wrote: »
    Brand new Renault. Fresh, literally bought off the showroom floor, with used 50s. The model doesn't matter. I would then drive it out the gate and close my eyes and crash it. I would then hurriedly leave the scene.

That's brilliant.
    Would it not be funnier to drop a piano on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

ELM327 wrote: »
    That's brilliant.
    Would it not be funnier to drop a piano on it.

Could do that the following week with another one in a different dealers. In the forecourt too.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Bejng the ultimate bmw fanboi that I am.
    Daily drivers:
    M2
    X5 m50d

Garage fillers:
    E34 M5 with throwing stars.
    E46 m3 CSL
    850csi
    M635csi
    E36 M3 GT
    2002tii

Non BMW:
    Mercedes 300Sl gullwing.
    Whatever else old colonel cars gets into stock.

Then an amazing garage to put them all in. She can build the dream house if I can build the dream garage.

maxresdefault.jpg

A nice Cayman GT4 would do me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

For me an Audi R8. As a daily driver a BMW M5. For the family a Range Rover.

May also pick up a few more 'practical' cars like a vRS, Golf R etc just to have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭McCrack

A lot of the cars mentioned are not really lotto territory type cars...I mean nice cars but a decent job would get you most..perhaps not brand new but certainly second hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

E36

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

P100D with enhanced autopilot and full self drive, about £130k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Fiat 110-90...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Neil Issagum

Merc 190 Cosworth
    Alpina E30
    Alfa 156 GTA

Lexus LFA just for the sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Nissan GTR
    Tesla Model S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭ofcork

Brabus 900 can be used daily and awesome power when needed ultimate s class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

M3 - I've always loved them for their relatively understated looks, still a practical(ish) saloon, but also the best sports saloon.

And maybe a vintage BMW or muscle car, just cause... a Shelby Cobra maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,135 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Would you not just pay for it and leave it there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Well you need a few cars.

1, A family runaround - BMW M5 the new one 4wd
    2. A convertable - Audi R8 V10 Plus Spider
    3. A sports car. - 911 Turbo S Exclusive
    4. A classic - BMW m1

About 750k to 1 mil there should do the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I'd buy seven cars, one for each day (duh!)

In no particular day order

Aston Martin DBS V8 - always loved the early quad headlight version.
    1969-1972-aston-martin-dbs-v8-1519_822_969X727.jpg

Citroen CX GTI Turbo 2 (simply sensational old barge)
    Citroen-CX-GTi-Turbo-2-lateral.jpg

VW Caddy (for the days you don't want to stop the traffic or need to buy some lino)
    Volkswagen~Caddy~Maxi~Life~(3).jpg

De Tomaso Pantera - just the hell of it (probably couldn't actually fit inside).
    9442269739_13a02a9228_o.jpg?itok=IzQ8AnBM

Monterverdi 375L (utterly stupid car, I want one)
    Monteverdi-2_trans_Nv_BQz_QNjv4_Bq1_XWxk_H8_Thu_Kbz_Hmtrrfb41cf_Wff_DAIw_T.jpg

MB w124 Estate (always had a touch of class about them)
    57-114.jpg

and finally a Dacia Logan to keep me humble.
    noua-dacia-80844.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Audi SQ7 maxed out for the family.
    For myself BMW I8 and BMW M3/M4 again fully maxed out.
    Then look for a few collector cars. Of course I'd be leaving the country if I won a massive amount say 50million+.
    Not a chance I'd risk my family in Ireland as potential kidnap victims etc.Find somewhere with all the rich people and blend in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Blazer wrote: »
    Then look for a few collector cars. Of course I'd be leaving the country if I won a massive amount say 50million+.
    Not a chance I'd risk my family in Ireland as potential kidnap victims etc.Find somewhere with all the rich people and blend in.

Killiney and Dalkey not good enough for you eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,883 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Probably an A7 S-Line Quattro 3.0TDI Auto

There are enough A7’s around that you wouldn’t stand out that much,

Perhaps also a Range Rover (again diesel), or something good for towing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'm in Toronto, so a Dodge Ram 3500. Would probably raise it a foot or so, for the full redneck look.

The back space... so many things you can do with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

DaveyDave wrote: »

Few vehicles.

1. Some really comfy everyday cruiser like Pug 607, Citroen C6, Lexus GS, LS, Honda Legend, etc...

2. Proper offroader, ideally modified to be able to get into really tough terrain. Something like Landrover Defender, UAZ, etc...

3. Sportscar - maybe some Ferrari, Lambo, etc - never though about exact model.

4. Small rally car - something with roll-cage, rally suspension, and strong enough engine - could be some small peugeot, fiat, anything really.

5. Van or small truck - for shipping stuff.

6. A small bus, something like 25 seater so I could take family and friends for a ride.

7. And a brand new Fiat Tipo for commuting to the shops :)

And that probably would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭M7roadrunner

I always said if I won a substantial amount of money I would buy 20+ acres and build a trebuchet near the entrance and spend my days launching any French cars I could get my hands on down the field.
    Just for my enjoyment.

Did I mention I hated French cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Blazer wrote: »

Yeah cause kidnappings are unheard of outside Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Audi A8 W12
    Audi RS6 although would be tempted by the new Merc-AMG E63 S
    Audi RS3
    BMW M2 or 1M Coupe
    Porsche 911 GT3RS or a Turbo S
    Porsche Cayman GT4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Blazer wrote:
    Of course I'd be leaving the country if I won a massive amount say 50million+. Not a chance I'd risk my family in Ireland as potential kidnap victims etc.Find somewhere with all the rich people and blend in.

There's plenty with that kind of networth here who aren't living in fear, or at risk.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!