Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do I never get hangovers abroad?

• 10-10-2017 7:07am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭

In Ireland, if I had five pints of Guinness and/or Heineken, I’d be hungover to bits in the morning.

I’m here in Prague now and had 9x0.5L of Staroprammen last night and there’s not a thing wrong with me this morning.

Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

In Ireland, if I had five pints of Guinness and/or Heineken, I’d be hungover to bits in the morning.

I’m here in Prague now and had 9x0.5L of Staroprammen last night and there’s not a thing wrong with me this morning.

Any ideas?

You're still drunk OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I find the same and believe it’s bevause there’s not as many or no chemicals and shít in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lifeandtimes

Tis the alcohol content and the heat.

Ye sweat it out over night man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Hair of the dog OP?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

The alcohol is probably weaker than what it is here ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I find the same and believe it’s bevause there’s not as many or no chemicals and shít in them.

Definitely the case with Bavarian beers.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reinheitsgebot

You'll wake up tired and thirsty but no headache. As someone who gets a hangover from 3 or 4 pints it's fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Dunno about Czech beers, but I find German beers leave me feeling the same way.

German purity law.

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

The hangovers you experience are actually a form of Catholic guilt but when you're out foreign* and nobody knows you you're not affected by it.

*Do not expect this to work in the Vatican City state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Any ideas?

Go to an Irish bar and drink 9 pints of Guinness tonight and compare the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

In SE Asia I didn't get them at all, despite bugger all sleep and being heavily on the lash every night.

Came back thinking I was basically immune to hangovers because of all the drinking I'd done there. Had 5 Guinness, was completely f*cked the next day.

Pretty sure our commercial beer is just infected with chemicals, unlike theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

I would say that it is more to do with the fact that if you are on holiday, chances are you don't have to get up too early and don't have anything that you really need to do that day, so any little hangover you have won't be so noticeable.

Whereas if you are at home and you happen to be hungover, you probably still have to get up and and and go and do the shopping, run around after the kids, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

I love the fact that there's no stigma about drinking early - I've a 7.05am flight next Saturday, we'll be in the bar at Dublin Airport at 5!

Do that here and there's judgement!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

A thousand year Reich of pilsner purity. How very German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Thinly veiled "foreign holiday" thread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

I lived in Germany for a few years and had many a hangover! I think there are definitely less chemicals in certain beers which helps but alcohol is alcohol at the end of the day.

I rarely get hangovers on holidays but that's more due to the fact that I'm on holidays and have no responsibilities.

It's usually hotter too so you sweat it out at night and often I'd be by the sea. Jumping into the ocean on a summers day in France or formulating an excel spreadsheet followed by a 2 hour meeting. No wonder your hangover feels worse at home! If you lived in any of these countries you wouldn't be too long getting a hangover I reckon! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I don't get hangovers on holiday either, I don't have to be out foreign either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭Gerrup Outta Dat!

Beers are better abroad. I had 10 x 50 cl beer. I’m grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Any ideas?

Usually because you probably spread out those drinks over a longer period of time and had food and water in between.

Rather than at home where you hit the pub at 8pm and knock back 6 pints before midnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I can drink locally produced wine in Southern Italy and Tuscanny and feel like a million bucks the next day. I think its sulphates added to wine we buy here which gives you a bad hangover the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Your not drinking enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

I can drink locally produced wine in Southern Italy and Tuscanny and feel like a million bucks the next day. I think its sulphates added to wine we buy here which gives you a bad hangover the next day.

I dont know what wine your buying but none of it is made in Ireland. Everything is imported so nothing extra is added over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭ArnieSilvia

I dont know what wine your buying but none of it is made in Ireland. Everything is imported so nothing extra is added over here.

But what you get here for tenner is waaaay different from what you are getting in France for same money. In my experience 8 euro worth of French wine bought in France equals to about 25-35 euro here. I literally can't drink cheaper "wine" bought here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

biko wrote: »
    Thinly veiled "foreign holiday" thread :)

I dunno man, there might be something in it. I'm fond of the occasional drink meself but the same thing happened me in Riyadh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Any ideas?

A hangover after 5 pints!!???!!!! :eek:

I'd have that for breakfast! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

Bottled imported beer is fab - try it when back home

We get served piss via draft = hang over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Usually because you probably spread out those drinks over a longer period of time and had food and water in between.

Rather than at home where you hit the pub at 8pm and knock back 6 pints before midnight.

Pffftttt, lightweight.....

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭elperello

But what you get here for tenner is waaaay different from what you are getting in France for same money. In my experience 8 euro worth of French wine bought in France equals to about 25-35 euro here. I literally can't drink cheaper "wine" bought here.

And we are continually being lectured by our politicians about "cheap drink"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Preservatives isn’t it? What you’re drinking in Prague will be brewed locally. I’d be wary of any imported stuff.

Not sure why Guinness would give you a hangover, perhaps it’s all brewed to suit exporting, even the stuff staying in Ireland. Could be more cost effective.

Yes, it's the way that I worded the post. I know no wine is produced here (except for that guy in Navan). Any wine that retails here has a high sulphates content.

Duty on wine here is crazy. A really good bottle of Tuscan wine that retails in Italy for 8 euro, is for sale here at 32 euro. Robertson's wine from south Africa is 10 euro here, and it's about 1.50 over there, per bottle after you do the currency conversion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

Duty on wine here is crazy. A really good bottle of Tuscan wine that retails in Italy for 8 euro, is for sale here at 32 euro. Robertson's wine from south Africa is 10 euro here, and it's about 1.50 over there, per bottle after you do the currency conversion.

South African wine is lovely. Pinotage is beautiful but you're right, we get charged to the hilt here for it and it's pittance over there.

M&S do an organic sulphate free wine. I've no idea what it tastes like but it would be interesting to test the theory by drinking a bottle of that and seeing how you feel in the morning.

I think another factor on holidays is you tend to drink more water with your alcohol cos it's usually hot, unless you're on a ski holiday or something cool. Food also plays a big part. If you're on holiday having a BBQ drinking beers while intermittently jumping into the pool, you're not gonna feel as bad as if you sat in an aul fellas pub eating peanuts sinking pints of Guinness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I never get hangovers abroad because I never go abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

diomed wrote: »
    I never get hangovers abroad because I never go abroad.

an-idiot-abroad_KarlPilkington-019.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 jerseyman

I would agree with this, plus does your body not get used to the alcohol as your drinking days progress? Like harder to get drunk by day 5 if drinking everyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Caliden wrote: »

You'll wake up tired and thirsty but no headache. As someone who gets a hangover from 3 or 4 pints it's fantastic.

The 4 day hangover and depression from my Munich stag says differently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

Caliden wrote: »

The 4 day hangover and depression from my Munich stag says differently

I'm off to France in a couple weeks with a gang of the lads. If I don't post back here assume I've died!!!