Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harvey Weinstein scandal (Mod warning in op.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,210 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

You'd wonder how he got anyone to marry him, he is one ugly looking guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Wibbs wrote: »
    Leaving aside the current obsession with polarised US politics for the moment, it never was. It flip flops back and forth on politics and philosophy.

At the creative end yes there are more "liberals" than "conservatives"*, but creatives wherever you find them are more likely to be liberal anyway and studies have borne this out. But as the article you linked notes:
    Some believe that deep down, corporate Hollywood is politically agnostic and that profits supersede partisanship. If it sells they will make and promote it. It's all about the bottom line and if support for [insert politic/philosophy here] affects that bottom line they will avoid it.

*in an American context.

I agree that creative types would lean progressive or liberal but you would expect to have some mix in there, like of course not an even split but surely there should be some young conservative actors out there?

Can you name one at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

Xaracatz- that is horrific. Hope you're doing OK with all this stuff in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Look after yourself Xaracatz. Its difficult when things in the media stir up old memories and emotions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,650 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

markodaly wrote: »
    I agree that creative types would lean progressive or liberal but you would expect to have some mix in there, like of course not an even split but surely there should be some young conservative actors out there?

Can you name one at the moment?

Chris pratt has said he's a republican hasn't he ? Not sure if he supports Trump though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Goat the dote

Money talks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Goat the dote

Xaracatz hope you’re ok that sounds horrific

Weinstein is an easy scapegoat, being physically repulsive and not known generally among the public. But I cant help but think those men who express surprise at the revelations are hypocrites.

In addition, and this is to complete an overall attack against the Hollywood great and good, holier than thou elite, how many women are accusing Weinstein of taking advantage of them but not more attractive and famous actors and directors? Again, it smacks of hypocrisy and agenda peddling.

What does looks have to do with anything? Women wouldn't mind someone famous and good looking forcing themselves on them? Go away with that nonsense.

Xaracatz wrote: »
    You know - just for anybody giving out about the women who didn't come forward earlier - it's not always so easy.

I was in a perhaps similar situation to some of them. Was living in London, and was on my way home from school (in fairly bad form as it happens, after an argument I'd had that morning with my aunt).

Some guy pulls up in a nice car and asks if I model. He told me a few things about himself, including that he worked in recruiting people for soaps like Eastenders, and said he would like to trial me for his agency and left me with his business card.

It cheered me up, and I rang him after a few days, and we met. Talked for a while, and went to his house so that he could "take some headshots", where he gave me a brandy and then held me down and raped me.

I wasn't ashamed afterwards, I think. Rather, I couldn't process the whole thing. The creepy fcuker texted me then to say I had left my bracelet behind (yeah, it was torn off), and that he would bring me back to his house so that I could get it.

Sooooo - went to a pharmacy and got a couple of packs of Paracetamol and downed them with some gin. Kinda hilarious seeing as how the brandy from yer man was the first time I had tried spirits. Woke up in hospital with some bad reaction to something which had me spasming like my head was trying trying to touch my back.

Anyhow - I never told anybody what happened. Didn't want anybody to know. Not my mum, not my friends, not my classmates, my teachers. This was a long time ago, and I don't think about it. Except this thread has brought it all back.

It's weird enough typing this anonymously in an online forum. Coming out into the public eye and telling everybody what happened - I can't even imagine.

I'm sorry that happened to you. That must have been very hard to write, hope youre ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,349 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

From Reddit, Courtney Love in 2005...

https://i.imgur.com/ZuDNVSQ.gifv

P.S Why doesn't Boards allow embedding of gifv, gyfcat, streamable etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Thats not a very nice thing to say. The man may or may not be guilty of some bad stuff, and if is, will likely serve time, but to attack him with crude comments like that is uncalled for. He or his family might be reading this thread. Imagine how they would feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

On the topic of not speaking up and disappearing women, Courtney Love warned against him back in 2005:

https://twitter.com/ladyhaja/status/919328286378987522

And she claims she got life banned by her acting agency for her troubles:

https://twitter.com/Courtney/status/919271307908284416

She did disappear from movies in 2005. I only saw her in the Larry Flynn film, but she made quite an appearance in it, recognised with some well deserved awards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Thats not a very nice thing to say. They man may or may not be guilty of some bad stuff, and if is, will likely serve time, but to attack him with crude comments like that is uncalled for. He or his family might be reading this thread. Imagine how they would feel.

I think they'd be more offended and outraged by the fact he has been involved in systemic abuse and assault of women for decades over the fact one poster called him ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

Thats not a very nice thing to say. The man may or may not be guilty of some bad stuff, and if is, will likely serve time, but to attack him with crude comments like that is uncalled for. He or his family might be reading this thread. Imagine how they would feel.

We're pretty confident that he is guilty of it so I'm not gonna get upset about him being called ugly......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

James Corden has to be an utter idiot to be making jokes about a huge news story which is dominating the headlines which involves Hollywood. Making the jokes among the gala of Hollywood too, so stupid. At least wait until the dust has settled. The sensible people in all this are keeping a low profile and not making any comments at all.

What did he go with?

By all accounts Weinstein dished out enough personal abuse over the years when he wasn't assaulting them, often criticising people's weight and appearance . I'd say it's called for tbh and I'm pretty sure his family have bigger things to worry about.

Why do you defend this man in every post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭selectamatic

mzungu wrote: »
    For further proof, look at the "rehabilitation" of Mike Tyson as a comedy film star. That town was always the epitome of sleeze and moral bankruptcy.

Just on this, Mike Tyson's rape conviction is far from the open and shut case people are led to believe when you look into it.

Interestingly enough though I'd guarantee the sports industry is another one where abuse of power is rampant and I would argue Tyson was also clearly a victim of such abuses and manipulation.

Basically as someone pointed out already any industry where the chance of success is miniscule yet the rewards are vast, abuse of power tends to be rampant.

Maybe I'm wrong but I'd view a socially inept emotionally fragile and damaged Mike Tyson in a different light to some shady casting couch type "rapist".

I'd have Don king as boxings Harvey Weinstein before Tyson. In fact comparing Harvey to Don might even be too harsh on Weinstein.

pitifulgod wrote: »
    We're pretty confident that he is guilty of it so I'm not gonna get upset about him being called ugly......

He is entitled to due process, and there is still no need for gratuitous personal abuse. The lynch mob bandwagon mentality at the moment is a disgrace, and more could learn from the fairer attitudes of Lindsay Lohan and Woody Allen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

He is entitled to due process, and there is still no need for gratuitous personal abuse. The lynch mob bandwagon mentality at the moment is a disgrace, and more could learn from the fairer attitudes of Lindsay Lohan and Woody Allen.

Calling him ugly isn't gratuitous... His behaviour on the other hand was disgusting and gratuitous... The fairer attitude of Woody Allen? Given the allegations against Allen which are credible, he probably relates to him but he managed to get away with it unlike Weinstein. We have decades of allegations against Weinstein which are matching up across the board, the least of his issues are being called ugly....

I'm not usually a big fan of Courtney Love's, but she's a legend in the above video.

Out of all the clips we've seen of celebrities 'calling out' Harvey years ago (like Seth McFarlane at the awards show) this one of Courtney's is the most telling IMO. You can tell a lot from those few seconds. It's like the whole scenario wrapped into a very short bundle - We hear about Weinstein's method where he invites girls to a high-end hotel for a 'party'. We hear why someone would be reluctant to speak-up or outright refuse to do so, 'because libel'. And we see Courtney look around to make sure there's none of Harvey's people nearby before she gives the answer.

The interviewer asked her a very open question - Did she have any advice for young girls coming to Hollywood? That question invited a million different answers. Obviously the interviewer was looking for something harmless for Comedy Central - "Make sure to have some good, professional headshots in your resume" or "Get yourself a good agent" might have sufficed. But no, this is Courtney Love, high as a kite and all out of fúcks to give who you're asking, not Courtney Cox in the early days of Friends looking to cement the 'girl next door' look.

Interesting the answer which Courtney chose without hesitation. Sure, she physically hesitated in saying it aloud 'because of libel', but you can see that she had her mind made up on an answer the moment the question left the interviewer's mouth.

Mad that this was 12 years ago. I'm sure Harvey's got a lot of 'partying' done since then. Also, if celebrities were alluding to this on camera in 2005, you have to imagine that he was a well-established 'partier' by then.

How long has he been at it? How many women? This guy obviously had a lot of sex in his life, but was any of that with a woman who truly desired him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

How long has he been at it? How many women? This guy obviously had a lot of sex in his life, but was any of that with a woman who truly desired him?

A British actress accused him of forcible rape back in 1980:
    http://m.independent.ie/entertainment/movies/a-pathetic-revolting-attack-british-actress-alleges-she-was-raped-by-harvey-weinstein-in-her-home-36228230.html

And Rose McGowan said in an interview that she had to have an elbow and wrist surgery as a result of the assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,210 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I'd say they couldn't give 2 fooks what some fella over in Galway says about that dirty oul bastard.

pitifulgod wrote: »
    His behaviour on the other hand was disgusting and gratuitous

Some countries are moving to a post-rape-culture culture. Some people are going to be caught in the turbulence of the transition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭tara73

I'm not usually a big fan of Courtney Love's, but she's a legend in the above video.

Out of all the clips we've seen of celebrities 'calling out' Harvey years ago (like Seth McFarlane at the awards show) this one of Courtney's is the most telling IMO. You can tell a lot from those few seconds. It's like the whole scenario wrapped into a very short bundle - We hear about Weinstein's method where he invites girls to a high-end hotel for a 'party'. We hear why someone would be reluctant to speak-up or outright refuse to do so, 'because libel'. And we see Courtney look around to make sure there's none of Harvey's people nearby before she gives the answer.

The interviewer asked her a very open question - Did she have any advice for young girls coming to Hollywood? That question invited a million different answers. Obviously the interviewer was looking for something harmless for Comedy Central - "Make sure to have some good, professional headshots in your resume" or "Get yourself a good agent" might have sufficed. But no, this is Courtney Love, high as a kite and all out of fúcks to give who you're asking, not Courtney Cox in the early days of Friends looking to cement the 'girl next door' look.

Interesting the answer which Courtney chose without hesitation. Sure, she physically hesitated in saying it aloud 'because of libel', but you can see that she had her mind made up on an answer the moment the question left the interviewer's mouth.

Mad that this was 12 years ago. I'm sure Harvey's got a lot of 'partying' done since then. Also, if celebrities were alluding to this on camera in 2005, you have to imagine that he was a well-established 'partier' by then.

this. with this one sentence she 'ruined' her career and she knew it but didn't give a sh***. That's just so great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Just on this, Mike Tyson's rape conviction is far from the open and shut case people are led to believe when you look into it.

Interestingly enough though I'd guarantee the sports industry is another one where abuse of power is rampant and I would argue Tyson was also clearly a victim of such abuses and manipulation.

Basically as someone pointed out already any industry where the chance of success is miniscule yet the rewards are vast, abuse of power tends to be rampant.

Maybe I'm wrong but I'd view a socially inept emotionally fragile and damaged Mike Tyson in a different light to some shady casting couch type "rapist".

I'd have Don king as boxings Harvey Weinstein before Tyson. In fact comparing Harvey to Don might even be too harsh on Weinstein.

in general terms though talent wins out in sport most of the time, if you are the best you are the best. Unknown actors are totally replaceable.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

tara73 wrote: »
    this. with this one sentence she 'ruined' her career and she knew it but didn't give a sh***. That's just so great.

That statement was brave but Courtney Love was not a penniless 20 year old trying to make it at the time. I don't like the ranking of victims by who said something and who didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

Google Sanela Jenkins Room 23

I nearly forgot to reply to this. Yes I was aware of Ms. Jenkins and her warped behaviour.
    In fact, I first became aware of her when reading about a Hollywood insider using the name 'Himmmm' that was leaking some of these details from a few years ago, most of which are now revealed to be highly accurate.

Some people believe the insider to be Robert Downey Junior, although I'm not so sure. Anyway, the insider had lots to say about Ms. Jenkins, and he was particularly scathing of actress Hayden Panettiere. There was a strong implication that she is into seriously sadistic practices, and I'm not talking mere kinky S&M here:

https://jezebel.com/5892565/is-robert-downey-jr-spreading-insider-celeb-gossip-on-blogs

So far we've talked a lot about the dark side of Hollywood, but the insider revealed that there are plenty of celebrities on the side of the angels too. He provided the following list of good guys:
    • David Kelley
    • John Hughes (was the best)
    • Natasha Gregson Wagner
    • Bryan Lourd
    • Neil Patrick Harris
    • Jon Hamm
    • Guy Ritchie
    • Tommy Lee Jones
    • Susanna Hoffs
    • Kevin Kline & Phoebe Cates
    • Drew Barrymore
    • Steve Martin
    • Rachel McAdams
    • Bob Kosberg
    • Sofia Coppola
    • Zoe Cassavetes
    • Moon Zappa
    • Brad Pitt
    • John Favreau
    • Amber Heard
    • Jerry Bruckheimer
    • Molly Ringwald
    • Tom Hanks
    • Rob Reiner
    • Susan Downey
    • Will Staeger
    • Miranda Cosgrove
    • Seth Macfarlane
    • Richard Lovett
    • Johnny Depp
    • Akiva Goldsman
    • Alan Horn
    • Elton John
    • Kate Beckinsale
    • Ron Meyer
    • and yes...even Mel Gibson (faults and all.)

Which is exactly why the likes of Obama and Merkel were talking about reining in freedom of the Internet

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Biaq5srhBJ8

Precisely. The main issue with these shadowy organised crime/big business hybrid crime cartels is that they need full, total control of the State to remain in power. They know they will lose their grip if they don't achieve full spectrum dominance, particularly of the media. And most especially of the internet.

That is why the election of Donald Trump represents not just an upset, but probably the single biggest atomic level blast the political world has ever seen.
    Although Trump is no angel, he is absolutely against the globalist agenda, and is very much an outsider of the Clinton crime syndicate.

I have no doubt whatsoever that the election of Hillary Clinton would have been the final nail in the coffin of old world democracy as we know it. I firmly believe she would have cooked up some excuse to seize control of the internet, and we would end up with a Chinese style internet regulated by terrifying social justice warriors like we saw with Google and their jaw dropping collaboration with lunatics like Zoe Quinn and Anita Sarkeesian et al.

We had a terrifying glimpse of the future, and thankfully the heartland of America mobilised and rejected what would have been the finalisation of an Orweillian nightmare in America:

maxresdefault.jpg

A decade from now, when the full truth comes out about Hillary and Obama, the public will look back on this era with astonishment and wonder just how, in the face of overwhelming organised crime and global political 'deep state' power structures, the citizens were able to wrestle back control of their lives and freedom. This victory will make Dunkirk look like a tea party.

And when the real heavy stuff starts to break, the well armed American public is going to get very, very, very angry.

Just about the only solution I can see is to offer an amnesty to those involved in the paedophile rings in exchange for information, and mental treatment. A South African style truth and reconciliation committee would be an idea to get a full grasp of the scale of what is going on.

Some of you reading this might laugh and think I've lost my mind at this point, but I'll make a point of bumping this thread a year from now to remind you all.

And I'll guarantee you that information will be revealed at that point that will make you question your own sanity and grasp of reality.

The same control structure that Harvey Weinstein had over Hollywood? Apply that same structure to the major media organisations and you'll start to understand why so many journalists are terrified of speaking out.

Many of them know what is going on. Just look at the convenient deaths of Andrew Breitbart and Michael Hastings, both of whom were working on major stories involving serious corruption.

I would also remind you that in the grand scheme of things, people like Harvey Weinstein barely even ranks as a mid level manager. So don't waste too much time overanalysing him. He's a busted flush at this point.
    We've got bigger fish to fry.

I've had about ten years of a head start over the average Joe Public on what is going on behind the scenes, and so far we've barely even scratched the surface.

The world as you know it is about to change forever.
    But there's an awful lot of work to do, and the opposition are very, very clever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

It never ceases to amaze me how there seems to be a massive black spot when it comes to trump. He isn't an outsider. He isn't change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭tara73

We had a terrifying glimpse of the future, and thankfully the heartland of America mobilised and rejected what would have been the finalisation of an Orweillian nightmare in America:

maxresdefault.jpg

'sorry', but this really made me laugh...the finalisation of an Orweillian nightmare in America: and then that picture... what an evil bunch of 12! women (when it's about evilness, the women are in the majority..) and 2 men...tell us, who are they????