Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you love your children more than your partner?

• 03-10-2017 4:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭

Just that really. Do you love them more, less or differently?

I'd imagine most women do, men, I dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,828 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

In order of importance...

1. Dog

2. Kids

3. Mrs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

1. Dog

2. Kids

3. Mrs.

Thats wuf on the humans

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Definitely love the kids more since my hubbie is gone about 18 years now. :)

Although after reading the posts above I can't decide between the dog and the kids. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Differently.

Definitely differently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Obviously differently, because if I loved my kids in the same way I loved my wife that would be kind of icky and illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,706 ✭✭✭✭blade1

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Differently.

Definitely differently.

I should hope so El Weirdo!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Cina

I love your partner op, not your kids ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭fmpisces

Put it this way....
    When we were together, I'd have always striven to put my kids first, can't say that I loved them more than him but yes, the love was definitely different.
    Now we're not together I definitely love them more :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I love both very much, I can't really compare. I love the kids because they're great fun but I love the man because he's amazing and I like this love-making thing very much. I'm secretly looking forward to when the nippers move out, so it's the two of us again (and I'm saying that with my tiny one being 6 months haha).

Therefore I pick the dog.

A very interesting topic OP. I have neither husband or children but this is something I wonder about. Of course the love would be different because of the romantic and sexual element towards your partner but I imagine it's possible in some cases for the love to be less than or greater.

Then there is the 'do you have a favourite child' question I also wonder about but that's a kind of different discussion.

My favourite child is the one that eats dinner without complaining and is in bed asleep first :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

A very interesting topic OP. I have neither husband or children but this is something I wonder about. Of course the love would be different because of the romantic and sexual element towards your partner but I imagine it's possible in some cases for the love to be less than or greater.

Sorry, when I said 'different' I meant do some people find it completely impossible to compare the levels of love they have for spouse or children.

I would think of it in this way, if I had to choose between one or the other which would I choose. I think 80-90% of people would choose their child/children. Don't know if that signifies a stronger love or stronger bond though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

Hmmmm...

well, if it came to a Sophie's choice type of thing, an unavoidable moment of sacrifice...I would sacrifice me first, then order for them to push himself under the bus and hope by then the children would be left alone. So, looks like I love them a little teeny bit more. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Sorry, when I said 'different' I meant do some people find it completely impossible to compare the levels of love they have for spouse or children.

I honestly wouldn't be able to differentiate my love for my wife and children in terms of whether I loved one more than the other. It kind of congeals in one great big ball of love.

pilly wrote: »
    I would think of it in this way, if I had to choose between one or the other which would I choose. I think 80-90% of people would choose their child/children. Don't know if that signifies a stronger love or stronger bond though?

I don't think so, I think it's more about the kind of love. When you have your children you naturally have a very selfless love towards them, you basically love them because there are here and they are yours. A lot is connected to this love.
    When women (or men) don't experience that, they won't have a connection to the child and that makes it really hard sometimes even relating to them or seeing them as your own.
    But you pick your partner. You are with them because they have certain qualities and values you agree with and you enjoy their company and the intimacy.

Lots of people would choose their kids simply because they are your offspring and you have to defend them because they can't, at least when they're little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

1. Dog

2. Kids

3. Mrs.

Hmmm, I got
    1. Green Bay Packers
    2. Wife
    3. Stoke City
    4. My car
    5. My bike
    6. The kids

7. The dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

I have no favourites, you are all equal (says everybody to the non-favourite)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Yes.

The intensity of just how much you love your child blew me away when he was born. People told me of course but nothing prepared me. Like a punch in the heart, in a nice way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I'd find it impossible to compare the two if I'm honest. I'd be more pragmatic than emotional about it, and even then because they're two completely different people I couldn't say I care for one more, less or the same as the other in any meaningfully quantifiable terms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Can't wait for someone to say "definitely my OH, my kids are a pain in the hole and I only had them because he/she wanted them" and it all kicks off :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

I had to love my partner in order to love my kids didn't i? :confused:

Not necessarily. I'd say there are many mothers and fathers out there who did not love their each other when their children were comceived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I love my kids, I'm in love with my wife .......... stupid question really.

Every parent (some will deny this) who has more than one child will have a "favourite" ......... however, the favourite child changes on a daily basis ......... sometimes on an hourly, or even minute by minute, basis!!

Malayalam wrote: »
    Hmmmm...

well, if it came to a Sophie's choice type of thing, an unavoidable moment of sacrifice...I would sacrifice me first, then order for them to push himself under the bus and hope by then the children would be left alone. So, looks like I love them a little teeny bit more. :eek:

If it came to a life/death decision I'd choose my children which is what my wife would want me to do and vice versa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

MadDog76 wrote: »
    If it came to a life/death decision I'd choose my children which is what my wife would want me to do and vice versa.

This is how I'm looking at it too. In order of who i would sacrifice in a gun to the head scenario it would be me, husband, child. And I would expect if he was asked he'd give the same answer.

I love my kids, I'm in love with my wife .......... stupid question really.

I don't think it is a stupid question. It's thought provoking regarding questions that are rarely asked about families. Maybe there are people out there who love their partners but dislike their children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Augeo wrote: »
    I'd imagine most women do, men, I dunno.

Why do you imagine most women do but men you're unsure about?

That sort of implies that you feel women love their children more than men do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Obviously differently, because if I loved my kids in the same way I loved my wife that would be kind of icky and illegal.

weird that you put icky before illegal

Why do you imagine most women do but men you're unsure about?

That sort of implies that you feel women love their children more than men do.

Most definitely.
    I'd reckon after carrying the child for 9 months before it was born there'd be an incredible bond.

Men fecking off when the going is tough is common enough worldwide, women doing so and leaving the kids with the father is unheard of in comparison.

Most definitely.
    I'd reckon after carrying the child for 9 months before it was born there'd be an incredible bond.

Men fecking off when the going is tough is common enough worldwide, women doing so and leaving the kids with the father is unheard of in comparison.

You want vinegar with those chips?

Just because some men have to leave the family home doesn't automatically mean that they love their kids any less than the mother or that they've just 'fecked off'. Oftentimes that decision is a legal one and pays little heed to which parent loves the kids the most.

You've constructed a reality which is based on ill grounded conclusions and fallacies in reasoning.

lawred2 wrote: »
    You want vinegar with those chips?

Just because some men have to leave the family home doesn't automatically mean that they love their kids any less than the mother or that they've just 'fecked off'. Oftentimes that decision is a legal one and pays little heed to which parent loves the kids the most.

You've constructed a reality which is based on ill grounded conclusions and fallacies in reasoning.

I'm referring to the ones that actually decide to wander off.
    Like, all those single mothers out there, many of the fathers never wanted anything to do with the kid.
    My point is that women have more of a bond with the kids by and large, it's simply nature.

You can keep your salty comments to yourself.

Like, all those single mothers out there, many of the fathers never wanted anything to do with the kid.
    My point is that women have more of a bond with the kids by and large, it's simply nature.

Some lads feck off. That's not up for discussion. Why you think that extends to the generalisation that mothers love children more than fathers escapes me.

lawred2 wrote: »
    Some lads feck off. That's not up for discussion. Why you think that extends to the generalisation that mothers love children more than fathers escapes me.

Because in terms of percentage the amount of men that leave their children vs women that leave their children (I'm talking about ones that have no contact), the percentage has to be 90/10 at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Hypotheticly If the house was on fire and everyone was unconcious bar me Id take my little girl first, my little boy second and my wife third.

My wife would take the little boy, little girl and the life policy payout (Joking, not joking)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

When children are small from 0-3/4, children are I would agree closer to their mother. That is usually as the child spends more time with their mother for obvious reasons. After that though it can go either way even when couples separate.

Because in terms of percentage the amount of men that leave their children vs women that leave their children (I'm talking about ones that have no contact), the percentage has to be 90/10 at the very least.

Indeed, it's a simple concept really.
    When children are small from 0-3/4, children are I would agree closer to their mother. That is usually as the child spends more time with their mother for obvious reasons. After that though it can go either way even when couples separate.

Point taken, 3 or 4 years is a significant portion of the "child" period imo. Presumably the OP wasn't on about kids in their 30s and 40s and which parent loves them more etc compared to their spouse :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Hypotheticly If the house was on fire and everyone was unconcious bar me Id take my little girl first, my little boy second and my wife third.

My wife would take the little boy, little girl and the life policy payout (Joking, not joking)

That's interesting. If you don't mind me asking (and tell me to mind my own business if you want) why would you choose one child before the other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

If the house is on fire and I have to choose between the missus and the kids - well then I guess the missus has to go. (and anyway she'd be far too hard to carry after all those valium I'd ground up and slipped into her dinner, you know, so the smoke alarms wouldn't wake her)

She's well insured, as luck would have it, so we'll be ok - and we can always find the kids a new mammy, a younger one, one with not a single word of English, although I will miss those mid match conversations.

It's what she would have wanted.

RIP

That's interesting. If you don't mind me asking (and tell me to mind my own business if you want) why would you choose one child before the other?

Because shes my baby girl and I'm her daddy and its my sole job on this earth to do everything in my power to make sure shes safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Definitely love the kids more since my hubbie is gone about 18 years now. :)

Although after reading the posts above I can't decide between the dog and the kids. :D

They're surely adults by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Every parent (some will deny this) who has more than one child will have a "favourite" ......... however, the favourite child changes on a daily basis ......... sometimes on an hourly, or even minute by minute, basis!!

I'm setting myself up for being slated here (as I have no children myself), but I really don't understand how a parent could have a "favourite" child? Surely as a parent you love each child equally and wouldn't have favouritism toward any child?

LOL...ROFL....Sigh.. Oh you precious summer child!!

Sam Kade wrote: »
    They're surely adults by now.

They are, I still call them the kids though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭valoren

Bonding is not black and white.
    You bond with a partner and you bond with your offspring.

If that bond is truly successful then questions of choosing either or are an irrelevance.