Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you flash your lights to warn of speed traps?

• 02-10-2017 11:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭

I do, and am thankful when others warn me, but I'm beginning to have second thoughts about it.

Do you? 298 votes

I do
    0% 0 votes
    I do not
    55% 164 votes
    Maybe, depends
    25% 76 votes
    Something else
    19% 58 votes

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,848 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

MOD Moving this to Motors forum as its more applicable there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

Wombatman wrote: »
    I do, and am thankful when others warn me, but I'm beginning to have second thoughts about it.

Don't be having second thoughts, we're a dying breed in this ever more selfish growing world!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kielmanator

Wombatman wrote: »

I used to when I was a cool 18-20. Now? If youre speeding its your own fault...tough shít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,205 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I don't, but I don't think it really matters. The object of the exercise is to slow traffic down, and flashing lights is as effective as seeing the van at the side of the road. Better really as people slow down gradually to see what the issue is, whereas seeing the van can be distracting and cause 'reaction' slowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Yes. And I give a salute to drivers who warn me. Shine on, you crazy diamonds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭andy t

oh course
    its a national trend & it slows other drivers down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Sometimes do it for the craic when there's no speed van if somebody is really pelting towards me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

looksee wrote: »
    I don't, but I don't think it really matters. The object of the exercise is to slow traffic down, and flashing lights is as effective as seeing the van at the side of the road. Better really as people slow down gradually to see what the issue is, whereas seeing the van can be distracting and cause 'reaction' slowing.

Don't get this argument. The point is not to slow them down. The point is to catch them and give them penalty points. Speeders on enough points will most likely change their behavior. Those who don't will thankfully be off the road. Warning circumvents this process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Kind of. I'll flash them to make them *think* there's a speed trap, when there really isn't. This way more speeders will learn to ignore the warning flashes and end up getting caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Most appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Yes, but not for checkpoints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,437 ✭✭✭Cordell

Yes, and you are supposed to - by doing so you make the road safer for everyone.
    But I don't flash for checkpoints.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I don't do it. I see people flashing their lights all the time over nothing.

To be honest, I'd prefer if it was possible for the vans to be more discreet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,702 ✭✭✭Kat1170

You mean money collecting vans on the side of the road ? Yes.

Garda check point* that might actually catch drunk, drugged, uninsured, banned drivers ? No.

*Haven't seen one in years, but seemingly they do exist ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

I used to a lot but then i noticed i was flashing people belting down the road and i though why am i warning them. I still do the odd time if the Van is parked somewhere that looks like its there to shoot fish in a barrel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Yep and will continue to do so where the speed traps are set for soft targets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I don’t to warn about speed vans. But I sometimes do if I see somebody tearing down the road towards me. If they slow down, that’s a good thing. Sure there might have been a van there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

I don't flash BMWs or Mercs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭mel123

Yes i do, and appreciate if someone warns me.
    The thing that annoys me about them vans, they are all in the wrong places. They are on straight stretches of road where yeah, people might go over a bit, but an accident is very unlikely. Put them in dangerous bloody places where accidents do actually happen. Or where the speed limit is going from 120 to say 100, and low and behold theres one just after the 100 sign. As another poster said above, only put there to rake in the cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,445 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Yes I do. Especially for a Speed van in a "Shooting fish in a barrel" spot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

What a breath of fresh air reading most of these rational comments.

Came here expecting a higher proportion of the usual high horse comments such as this:
    If youre speeding its your own fault...tough shít

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I always do in Ireland, and nearly always I'm also flashed for speed vans by others. Works very well.

In Poland tradition of flashing for speed traps died a while ago first due to usage of CB radios in 2000's and now due to android app Yanosik which serves its purpose very well in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

mel123 wrote: »
    Yes i do, and appreciate if someone warns me.
    The thing that annoys me about them vans, they are all in the wrong places. They are on straight stretches of road where yeah, people might go over a bit, but an accident is very unlikely. Put them in dangerous bloody places where accidents do actually happen. Or where the speed limit is going from 120 to say 100, and low and behold theres one just after the 100 sign. As another poster said above, only put there to rake in the cash.

Every time I see a speed van, people around me drive substantially lower than the speed limit for the road because they don't know what it is. It doesn't matter if someone's opinion is that the road should be rated higher. Higher than what if they don't know what it is in the first place?

You're also meant to have slowed down before a lower speed limit, not from that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

GM228 wrote: »

These are Checkpoints ... not revenue generating, fish-in-a barbell speed traps.

No one is condoning flashing to warn of a check point - that's a whole different ball game. I would never flash traffic to warn of a check point you don't know who you are tipping off.

tossy wrote: »
    No one is condoning flashing to warn of a check point - that's a whole different ball game. I would never flash traffic to warn of a check point you don't know who you are tipping off.

But you do otherwise?

Flash to warn of speed vans ? Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Be careful when you flash.......

]

Is there any particular law that makes it illegal to flash to warn about speed trap/checkpoint ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Always, and am thankful when people flashed me

Flash to warn of speed vans ? Yes.
    you don't know who you are tipping off.

But you do otherwise?

Every time I see a speed van, people around me drive substantially lower than the speed limit for the road because they don't know what it is. It doesn't matter if someone's opinion is that the road should be rated higher. Higher than what if they don't know what it is in the first place?

You're also meant to have slowed down before a lower speed limit, not from that point.

On the slowing down of the lower speed limit, a road i drive from work.
    120kph, then you approach a 100kpm hour sign, and id say 100 meters after this, id say 3 out of the 5 days i drive it, the van is there. Now possibly they are trying to get people at 130 in the 120 zone, but i doubt it. My guess is they are trying to get the people who are meant to be 100kph, when they have barely given them a chance. I suppose ill never know - hopefully!!!!:D

That post is from 4 years ago :confused:

Also, how the hell can they establish you were flashing on purpose, it wouldn't hold up in court surely?!
    You were flashing because of a speed check, no guard, i meant to turn on my window washer and pressed the wrong control or no guard, i didnt flash at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I was flashing to warn of a hazard, loads of cars were slamming on their brakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Also, how the hell can they establish you were flashing on purpose, it wouldn't hold up in court surely?!
    You were flashing because of a speed check, no guard, i meant to turn on my window washer and pressed the wrong control or no guard, i didnt flash at all.

I'm guessing the car was seized for reasons other than light flashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Dionysius2

Listening to a few of the smart asses in my peer group who engage in ribaldry concerning those who try to drive within the law caused me to review an inclination I had to flash the lights. Can't think of a single honourable reason to do so anymore so there's nothing but support from me for the trafcops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

I do and I always do. I'll make sure any professional driver gets the hint faster than anyone else (Truck drivers mostly, because they're always good to give a heads up). I generally flash because people see a speed van and dance on the anchors to drop to sub 60 in a 100 which in my opinion is far more hazardous than someone gradually slowing down.

or... maybe I'm just very friendly and fancy saluting people, depending on why you're asking

and that's before I get into the fact I think we pay enough for insurance and their profit margins so I prefer I'd avoid anyone being rode for doing 103 in a 100 one time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Either flash or don't but don't think that just because you yourself don't flash that the 5 cars behind you didn't, and for a split second I just think "oh so that's why guy in the first car looked so smug, he was deciding not to tell us about the speed van"

Around here even little old ladies flash for the vans. I wouldn't flash for a check point but I would flash for a check point if there was a queue of cars and they were approaching even at the speed limit, so much safer to give them a heads up rather than have them round the corner and have to brake suddenly. If someone is going to turn around because of a flash then the guards better have a motorbike garda waiting because that same car will just turn around when they get to the back of the queue anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

No I don't. Its none of my business if you are speeding or caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,733 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

CiniO wrote: »
    Is there any particular law that makes it illegal to flash to warn about speed trap/checkpoint ?

Speed trap no there is no law.
    I always flash to warn of the Go $afe vans.

You could in theory be done on the "obstructing a Garda in the course of duty" if it were a garda checkpoint as opposed to a private company. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I used to do this but you can see from this thread alone that people do it or not do it for all sorts of reasons good or bad depending on viewpoint.
    I also notice a lot of flashing when there is no speed van at all.
    Which is basically reaffirming this: I couldn’t be bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

ELM327 wrote: »
    Speed trap no there is no law.
    I always flash to warn of the Go $afe vans.

You could in theory be done on the "obstructing a Garda in the course of duty" if it were a garda checkpoint as opposed to a private company. ;)

I think flashing now is synonymous with speedvans so generally people take it as that when you flash. I've never flashed for a checkpoint simply because if you're driving under the influence or without tax/ins you deserve to get a belt of the book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kielmanator

ION08 wrote: »
    What a breath of fresh air reading most of these rational comments.

Came here expecting a higher proportion of the usual high horse comments such as this:

Care to expand a bit? :) I can't quite fathom how I'm the one on a high horse when there are others on the thread with the exact same sentiment. Perhaps my wording was a bit peculiar but thats my writing style.

Im not here defending GoSafe, I think its a farce of a setup...just giving my 2 cents towards speeders :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭rustynutz

I always do and am thankful to those that return the favour

CiniO wrote: »

Not per se, but driving without due care and consideration or obstruction of a peace officer can and has been used.

Driving without reasonable consideration can in theory be used also for private speed vans.

The point is still valid though.

There has been several prosecutions for such, so obviously has held up in court.

"I meant to turn on my washer 3 times and made the same mistake 5 times when I passed each car" :)

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I'm guessing the car was seized for reasons other than light flashing.

It was, but the reason it was stopped was for the flashing.

I do.

Have been saved many times myself by other flashers so I try to return the favour.