Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tupping time

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭farming93

Not best practice alright but if it’s a choice between ending up with long tailed dirty ended hoggetts next year or clean healthy sheep it’s a win win situation.Our shearing Man was clipping ewe lambs for me a while back and he was saying he put tail rings on strong ewe lambs an old man he was shearing for the day before he came to me and said it wouldn’t do them any harm.

would they not throw their lambs with rings going on them at this stage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Thanks,would you not be afraid of missing ewes that would be cycling on 17th and 18th day of the cycle?with the original raddle colour...iykwim.

I do every 9 days :O

And try batch as best I can then after scanning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭cuff92

I change every 7 days. More from a management point of view here . Makes life easy when lambing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Thanks,would you not be afraid of missing ewes that would be cycling on 17th and 18th day of the cycle?with the original raddle colour...iykwim.

I don't really see why it would matter if they were missed with the original colour. The point of raddling is to ensure the ram is working and possibly pick out which ewes are due to lamb next.

With the ram working most of your ewes will be covered on day 16 so you should be able to count how many aren't and work out from there what repeats your having.

As for when ewes are lambing a ewe repeating on day 1 of the second cycle could lamb before the ewe covered on the last day of the first cycle.

I do it whatever day I think I'll have time or whatever day I think will be better for handling sheep round then. I work full time so in reality it'll be day 14 or 15 when I do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

It's complete cruelty to put a ring on an adult sheep. Only meant to be used in first 7 days. You could could it off with a knife and just give her some pain relief. It might only be s sheep but no need for cruelty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭Lambman

The squeezers for squeezing Bulls is a good job for removing big tails neater and heals quicker than a knife just place it between the bones on the tail keep it on for 30 seconds then release and if need be cut with a knife if it doesn't come off completely

sea12 wrote: »
    It's complete cruelty to put a ring on an adult sheep. Only meant to be used in first 7 days. You could could it off with a knife and just give her some pain relief. It might only be s sheep but no need for cruelty

I taught they'd cut off supply and any pain etc would be gone in a few mins??

And assumed it would be more hygienic/safer etc??
    (HAve never done it mind )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

I taught they'd cut off supply and any pain etc would be gone in a few mins??

And assumed it would be more hygienic/safer etc??
    (HAve never done it mind )

Try putting one on your finger and see what it would feel like. As mentioned above other more humane ways to fo it.

sea12 wrote: »
    Try putting one on your finger and see what it would feel like. As mentioned above other more humane ways to fo it.

As someone who previously cut a part of a finger off....no way is that humane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭razor8

its illegal to put a ring on after 7 days old for a reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,895 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

I let the ram out on Sunday 29th October,have him raddled,he will be out 16 days on Monday 13th November,if I can do it that evening isn’t that best day to change to a new raddle colour for next cycle?

Thanks for any feedback,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I let the ram out on Sunday 29th October,have him raddled,he will be out 16 days on Monday 13th November,if I can do it that evening isn’t that best day to change to a new raddle colour for next cycle?

Thanks for any feedback,

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,851 ✭✭✭White Clover

How are lads getting on with ewe lambs with the ram? Does age have a bearing on lambs being developed enough inside? My lightest lambs are a set of may born twin suffock cross lambs that are 52/53kg. Would these cycle and go in lamb this year?
    I put all my lambs with the ram on the 25th October. 12 out of 22 have been tipped so far. I was hoping they would all cycle in the first 17 days but this is unlikely now? Would this be normal enough or?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

How are lads getting on with ewe lambs with the ram? Does age have a bearing on lambs being developed enough inside? My lightest lambs are a set of may born twin suffock cross lambs that are 52/53kg. Would these cycle and go in lamb this year?
    I put all my lambs with the ram on the 25th October. 12 out of 22 have been tipped so far. I was hoping they would all cycle in the first 17 days but this is unlikely now? Would this be normal enough or?

Ya normal enough. Youll often get a few that don't cycle the first year but are grand the 2nd year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

One of my rams is after going lame after being with ewes a few days. have to source a cheap disposable ram to get me over the next few weeks. Guessing most decent stock would be gone from breeders at this stage, so maybe a mart job. Overall what would ye reckon would give me the least headaches at lambing, Texel or Suffolk on mixed lowland ewes ? All lambs will be factoried. Saying these two breeds as probably what I'll source the easiest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭Lambman

If your factoring everything I'd go charrlois... and surely there's a neighbour could give u lend off a ram as 95% of the lowland flock should be tipped at this stage.

Lambman wrote: »
    If your factoring everything I'd go charrlois... and surely there's a neighbour could give u lend off a ram as 95% of the lowland flock should be tipped at this stage.

Plenty of great neighbours but I'm
    In dairy/ cattle country so sheep are very scarce around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭razor8

How bad is he? Have you injected him with an antibiotic?

razor8 wrote: »
    How bad is he? Have you injected him with an antibiotic?

I've given him a shot alright. No sign of foot rot or anything.Think its more likely muscular or joints aren't able for the weight of tipping.he looks abit reckled after a few days of running after ewes. Even though his a good ram, his ageing and time might just caught up with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,851 ✭✭✭White Clover

I've given him a shot alright. No sign of foot rot or anything.Think its more likely muscular or joints aren't able for the weight of tipping.he looks abit reckled after a few days of running after ewes. Even though his a good ram, his ageing and time might just caught up with him.

How many ewes/day was he tipping?
    Would many lads have their rams trained to go into a pen every day for a bit of feed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

There are plenty of good ram lambs still available. If you need one just buy one