Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2017 - Round 15 - Malaysia

• 25-09-2017 4:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭

Ah Malaysia home of Petronas and always with a chance of monsoon rains.

DKkz-VJXUAAnPt4.jpg:small

Tv Times, Sky and Channel4!

TV Times with lights out
    Friday Grand Prix first practice live Channel4/Sky Sports F1 04:00
    Friday Grand Prix second practice live Channel4/Sky Sports F1 08:00
    Saturday Grand Prix third practice live Channel4/Sky Sports F1 07:00
    Saturday Grand Prix qualifying live Channel4/Sky Sports F1 10:00
    Sunday Grand Prix live Channel4/Sky Sports F1 08:00

Race is on for a good morning run and rain is predicted. Although this can mean there anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,904 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

The last race at Malaysia as well, it's produced a few good races but not sure if I'll miss or not.

Motorsport.com reporting that Pierre Gasly will replace Kvyat for the Malaysian GP
    https://www.motorsport.com/f1/news/gasly-poised-racing-debut-kyvat-957782/

If true, are Red Bull trying to destroy Kvyat's self worth completely ? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭MuddyDog

skipper_G wrote: »
    Motorsport.com reporting that Pierre Gasly will replace Kvyat for the Malaysian GP
    https://www.motorsport.com/f1/news/gasly-poised-racing-debut-kyvat-957782/

If true, are Red Bull trying to destroy Kvyat's self worth completely ? :eek:

That's confirmed now.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

The last race at Malaysia as well, it's produced a few good races but not sure if I'll miss or not.

Speaking of which, after a poll on twitter the 2001 GP has been put up on Youtube. Great move by FOM, I hope they do this for more races:

https://youtu.be/Rr0JEltbQUg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,282 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I'd like a Ricciardo victory this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Max, Seb and Kimi doing the press conference right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭Harika

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Max, Seb and Kimi doing the press conference right now.

https://twitter.com/SkySportsF1/status/913304438017712129

classic Kimi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,829 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

So anyone going to be up watch FP1 at 3.40 am. I am thinking of it only because its the last FP1 in Malaysia do and last race there.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

New airbox on the Ferrari:

Ferrari-Formel-1-GP-Malaysia-Sepang-28-September-2017-fotoshowBig-97f06fae-1121749.jpg

FP2 red flagged and Grosjean in the wall. Strange incident where a drain cover at the edge of a kerb came loose and tore his rear tyre to shreds. He was a passenger after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭MuddyDog

Ferrari looking very strong. I wonder if they have that extra engine mode for qualy like they've had all season though now they can only burn 0.9l of oil per 100km since they've brought their final new engine to Malaysia. Merc's can still burn a bit more per 100km as they're still using the older-ish engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭kopite386

AMKC wrote: »
    So anyone going to be up watch FP1 at 3.40 am. I am thinking of it only because its the last FP1 in Malaysia do and last race there.

I didn't get up to watch I may watch it later as sky are always rerunning FP. I saw the timings earlier on the F1 Twitter, Gasly did very well, same can't really be said for Giovanzzi and LeClerc but different cars obviously. Also Giovanzzi wasnt that far behind Grosjean either. Also I think they did well for their respective cars as it's not like they are powerful cars.

Ms

kopite386 wrote: »
    I didn't get up to watch I may watch it later as sky are always rerunning FP. I saw the timings earlier on the F1 Twitter, Gasly did very well, same can't really be said for Giovanzzi and LeClerc but different cars obviously. Also Giovanzzi wasnt that far behind Grosjean either.

Ye me either waited till 7 am and got up then to watch it as had it recording on the box. Will watch FP2 later. Just seen the incident with Grosjean there now. Hope that does not happen during the race to anyone.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ye me either waited till 7 am and got up then to watch it as had it recording on the box. Will watch FP2 later. Just seen the incident with Grosjean there now. Hope that does not happen during the race to anyone.

Yeah you're telling me - reminds me of the matushíta incident in F2

I turn on FP2 just as it's red flagged typical :D
    Here are the FP2 times
    https://twitter.com/SkySportsF1/status/913682368925454338

kopite386 wrote: »
    I didn't get up to watch I may watch it later as sky are always rerunning FP. I saw the timings earlier on the F1 Twitter, Gasly did very well, same can't really be said for Giovanzzi and LeClerc but different cars obviously. Also Giovanzzi wasnt that far behind Grosjean either. Also I think they did well for their respective cars as it's not like they are powerful cars.

It's a rain effected practice session so I wouldn't read too much into it, but Leclerc was faster than Wehrlein in the same car which is interesting to me. Giovinazzi was close to Grosjean but Gasly ran opposite Sean Gelael so very hard to judge that gap.

Yeah I didn't notice until after I posted the tyres they were on and the fact it was raining - ive backtracked a little on the Giovanzzi and LeClerc. And yeah I didn't realise it was Gelael Gasly was racing - I know FP2 got cut short but in the time they did run Gasly was faster than Sainz only slightly but still. Should be an interesting battle of the next couple of races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Hey, I am living in KL and was promised some tickets that have fallen through. Was wondering if any of you in here know where I could get some good tickets? Freebies particularly would be welcome as my rent is due this weekend!

Any of you over for it and want to hang out?

Am so excited. Will even get the cheap seats if I need to but was hoping to get a better level of experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Yeah am working on the local angle, just thought would throw it in here in case anyone had contacts or knew someone who would be out here and looking to offload a ticket or 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭christy c

Witchie wrote: »
    Yeah am working on the local angle, just thought would throw it in here in case anyone had contacts or knew someone who would be out here and looking to offload a ticket or 2.

I was there last year and place wasn't 50% full. Relatively speaking all seats are cheap, K1
    probably the best

Qualifying about to begin - looking forward to how McLaren and Gasly qualify
    Here's hoping (I know it won't happen but)
    Red Bull
    Ferrari
    Mercedes

- I can only hope ;)
    What we thinking can McLaren and Torro Rossi get into Q3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,696 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Vettel has no turbo according to himself. Balls.

Those lads in the Ferrari garage would never do at poker. One of them gave away the fact it ain't good.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Vettel has no turbo according to himself. Balls.

Lot's of confused looking mechanics in the Ferrari garage. 6 minutes to save the championship challenge lads, no pressure.

Ms

Its just not Vettels day at all. What is up with Ferrari?

Here's hoping that Kimi or the Red Bulls can challenge Mercedes for the front row.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Vettel is coming back out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Delboy2015

Come on Seb :D

....never mind :(

Damn it did Ferrari build a new place over an Indian burial ground recently ?

So Franz Tost - has the goal of Sainz Q3 and Gasly between 11-13

Vettel not coming back out no time set meaning he starts from back of the grid

Ms

Awe Vettel is out. Did not even get to set a time.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Great last lap for Gasly there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Hamilton finds pace and Vettel out of quali.... turns off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Gassly (sp?) did well

Vettel unlucky. Hopefully he can get something from the race at least. And it was Hamilton that looked to be struggling in practice. I guess you never know how race will go

While it's always pleasing to see Ferrari look stupid because no team deserves it more, I'm very disappointed. This championship is dying quickly with a whimper

Gassly (sp?) did well

Close its only 1 S so it's Gasly :)

Ms

Kimi on top now go Kimi, Max 2nd and Hamilton making a mistake :) and down in 3rd still 5 mins to go.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

This qualifying session has kind of been a bit crap without vettel at least in the mix.

Both Torro Rosso and both Williams out in Q2 along with Palmer

Ms

Alonso just made it into the Top ten. Vandoorne in 9th.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Alonso just made it into the Top ten. Vandoorne in 9th.

For a power circuit that Honda engine is really coming along, it's going to be right up there next year ;)

Ms

For a power circuit that Honda engine is really coming along, it's going to be right up there next year ;)

Can you just imagine Torra Rossa up to third position next year with there Honda engine and Mclaren still behind after changing to Renault but I have hope that both engines will be more competitive next year.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

But Mercedes were off the pace all weekend! Red Bull were super competitive......what went wrong?
    Oh I know they flattered to deceive and Merc were sandbagging.

Can you just imagine Torra Rossa up to third position next year with there Honda engine and Mclaren still behind after changing to Renault but I have hope that both engines will be more competitive next year.

I guess it's unlikely but then you never know I suppose.

Pity Bottas couldn't do more in Qualifying and Kimi not able to match Hamilton. Hope race tomorrow is good, maybe Verstappen can do something for a change

Jesus save us, Herbert doing the interviews is awful. I despise his buffoonery act

Max and Kimi having bit of laugh at least

Ms

I guess it's unlikely but then you never know I suppose.

Pity Bottas couldn't do more in Qualifying and Kimi not able to match Hamilton. Hope race tomorrow is good, maybe Verstappen can do something for a change

He was only 45 thousandths of a second off not much. The Merc just done better in the 3rd sector do.
    Jesus save us, Herbert doing the interviews is awful. I despise his buffoonery act

Agree he is terrible
    Max and Kimi having bit of laugh at least

Yes they seem to get along well which was nice to see and funny.

Loved there answers to his question about who was going to try and get by at Lewis at the start.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ocan in 6th is good with Perez only 9th

If Vettel has any chance of winning the title, he needs Hamilton to retire from races. There is a very slim chance of that happening I think.