Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you think of Rorys Stories?

• 23-09-2017 5:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭

On the one hand anything that shows greasy bog trotting bog-weasels up for the fools they are is good. On the other hand I don't understand any of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Rory who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

What?

You're on the sauce again, aren't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Rory who?

I think it's a GAA facebook page

Poor OP thinks,it's real and not satire though....God love him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Ive no idea what ye are on about,

But he is a lovely gif of a happy pig

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

They are about as funny as a fire in a children's cancer ward.

• Site Banned Posts: 103 ✭✭UncleAlbert00

The refined fellows of AH will pretend they've never heard of him, OP.

Rory's OK. It's just a bit of harmless fun, don't take it so seriously. Cecil is hilarious. :D

I've said it before and I'll say it again: The grand frigates of Liechtenstein have half-eaten telephones in their orchestra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

i like rory's stories - harmless and often funny free entertainment.

But the "wife" is a brutal actress/comedienne ...very wooden

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Rory who?

Rory Gallagher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,946 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Mcilroy always has stories but usually he is being upfront about his performance on the course that day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

he has the face of a spudmunching cabbage that entertains me the most

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Lowest common denominator shìte. Not one thing remotely funny or original about any single one of them. Every video is a lazy hash of stereotypes that are a mirror image of the very people who watch and enjoy them. Almost everything I hate about generic Irish behaviour is in there somewhere. Really awful stuff. I heard he's a grade A prick in real life too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

There okay the odd time. I'd prefer Stevie Cahill. The one person I can't stand is Sir Stevo Timothy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Saw one. It seemed... unfinished. Very little wit to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭eoins23456

I enjoy the GAA fan impressions even though its not hugely different each week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

weemcd wrote: »
    Lowest common denominator shìte. Not one thing remotely funny or original about any single one of them. Every video is a lazy hash of stereotypes that are a mirror image of the very people who watch and enjoy them. Almost everything I hate about generic Irish behaviour is in there somewhere. Really awful stuff. I heard he's a grade A prick in real life too.

What's Rory's story in real life ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

He's funnier than Rory O'Neil, I'll give him that.

Jobs OXO wrote: »
    What's Rory's story in real life ?

He's from Dundrum and Trinity educated. Worked as a dentist in Rathmines for years.

Not sure if serious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

_Dara_ wrote: »
    Not sure if serious...

Is True,

he cut his teeth in Rathmimes

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Seems whoever is writing the skits deliberately chooses not to insert anything funny in the videos. That there is an industry in this is amazing itself. If he makes it regardless, fair play.

Is True,

Oh god, that gives the unfunny videos a new, patronising dimension.

_Dara_ wrote: »
    Oh god, that gives the unfunny videos a new, patronising dimension.

More so, the fact that his great uncle was Minister for Agriculture and his cousin is chairman of a major bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

So a Dublin man masceraiding as a culchie

Disgusting carry on

So a Dublin man masceraiding as a culchie

Disgusting carry on

In fairness to him, his father was raised on a free range bantam farm and his mother's family made goat's cheese. So he's not far removed from the land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Thought he was Meath Man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I like it, but the most shocking part for me is the chap who plays Rory is only 27 years old??!! He looks at LEAST a decade older.

Thought he was Meath Man?

Only until the age of 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Solomon Pleasant

I don't think he's too bad, his videos offer mild entertainment and they offer insight into Irish society.

He's stepping outside of a social norm by posting these videos and he's naturally going to be criticised for that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

He's no Buff Egan that's for sure, I think there is a big rivalry between the two and Buff would be by far the bigger GAA follower.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 pluto2018

he should have stayed with caroline wozniaki

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I like it, but the most shocking part for me is the chap who plays Rory is only 27 years old??!! He looks at LEAST a decade older.

I thought he was around 38 as well. Don't watch them much but some of them are sort of funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

It's not particularly funny or witty and what I've seen is filled with lame stereotypes. I'm surprised RTE haven't offered him a show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Is True,

This is funnier than anything I've seen on most of those kind of videos, kudos!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Rory ?

he's that lad from Wanderly Wagon ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

The 2 Johnnies are better I think

Buff Egan is a danger around children

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Max Prophet

Utter tripe.

What is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Heard of it, never seen it. I might keep it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Seems to be a lad that hit a few likes on a few videos and now keeps rehashing the same thing over and over again.
    Same with that “kathleeeeeeeeeeeeen” fella and twomey in Cork.

Same stuff over and over again. Some of these have live gigs, what the actual Fock?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

I think it's fairly funny and realistic. I don't think any more of it. Harmless fun. Can't believe he's only 27 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Who's 27 ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Some of his stuff has been funny. It's fairly low brow and relevant/appealing to the GAA heads among us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

I like it fair play to him he came up with an idea and went for it - fair balls to him. Seems to be a lot of people here scoffing at him on here though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭jiltloop

He's not 27, he's either 32 or 33.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

arayess wrote: »
    often funny free entertainment.

You got that one right. I'd say wit free and originality free as well.

They are honestly pretty bad, take a basic stereotype and act out a 60 second sketch where the characters do exactly what the stereotype describes. Zero to offer beyond that, not even a punchline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭georgina toadbum

I can take them or leave them. Some of them are funny, others not so much.

He's funnier than Cian Twoomey or whatever his name is anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭GypsyByName

Rory, Cian Twomey and yer Man Kathleeeeeennn are all septic!

Giz a Laugh- Enya Martin is at least relevant most of the time.