Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

8ft or 9ft disc mower

• 22-09-2017 7:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭

Had a very quick look when at the ploughing for a mower. Cutting 30A a year but within next 2 years that will be 50 or maybe more.

Have a secondhand tedder bought and bought a secondhand single roto rake. Plan by 2019 season tonne able to mow, Ted, rake and wrap my own stuff and just have contractor bale

So what's out there for likes of me and anyone get recent quotes.

Lely 8ft classic. £4000 plus vat new
    Malone 8ft e6100 9ft 6400. Both include vat

Going to go with a standard disc without conditioner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Looked at both of those a couple of years ago along with Kuhn pottinger marangon and kverneland. Went with a 9' kverneland in the end. I liked ghe pottinger and kverneland best but the kverneland was about 1000 cheaper than pottinger iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Grueller wrote: »
    Looked at both of those a couple of years ago along with Kuhn pottinger marangon and kverneland. Went with a 9' kverneland in the end. I liked ghe pottinger and kverneland best but the kverneland was about 1000 cheaper than pottinger iirc.

Ok. And what some of notes was the kverneland of you don't mind me asking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭orm0nd

junior has finished working with contractor so buying a 8 foot here

undecided between krone or kverneland, but leaning towards the latter

neighbour has a lely and he would'nt be the kindest to machinery, but it seems to be lasting the pace well, leaves a nice even swarth as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Ok. And what some of notes was the kverneland of you don't mind me asking

7500 of the shiny European coins as an end of season deal. No trade in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

Bought a Krone 8ft back in the spring super machine.

dzer2 wrote: »
    Bought a Krone 8ft back in the spring super machine.

What sort of euros ?

Grueller wrote: »
    7500 of the shiny European coins as an end of season deal. No trade in.

Kinda my set up also.

Where did you purchase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

What sort of euros ?

8 on a one and nine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Had a very quick look when at the ploughing for a mower. Cutting 30A a year but within next 2 years that will be 50 or maybe more.

Have a secondhand tedder bought and bought a secondhand single roto rake. Plan by 2019 season tonne able to mow, Ted, rake and wrap my own stuff and just have contractor bale

So what's out there for likes of me and anyone get recent quotes.

Lely 8ft classic. £4000 plus vat new
    Malone 8ft e6100 9ft 6400. Both include vat

Going to go with a standard disc without conditioner
    If you are going for a 9' make sure it has a center pivot otherwise the bed will wrap. 8' will be grand without a pivot.

well took the plunge, went with the 8ft lely splendimo 240 standard mower.
    So might get her into grass on Thursday evening yet and aim to bale on Saturday depending on weather forecast

working out €4700 plus vat €5780 .

Asked a few lads and the lely beds are easiest for doing work on as you can take them apart. they are grease filled and there is a very easy blade exchange system.

new Pottinger 7ft at the machinery auction on Saturday were making the same money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

So might get her into grass on Thursday evening yet and aim to bale on Saturday depending on weather forecast

Asked a few lads and the lely beds are easiest for doing work on as you can take them apart. they are grease filled and there is a very easy blade exchange system.

new Pottinger 7ft at the machinery auction on Saturday were making the same money

Do fendt ( agco) own lely now?

visatorro wrote: »
    Do fendt ( agco) own lely now?

Ye agco ( fendt, MF, Cat, valtra ) bought lely machinery but not the lely robots, calf feeders etc

They bought Fella a few years ago also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭emaherx

Let us know how it goes, meant to be easy driven compared to the competition. Hope it goes well for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

emaherx wrote: »
    Let us know how it goes, meant to be easy driven compared to the competition. Hope it goes well for you.

It'll be well tested

Reggie. wrote: »
    It'll be well tested

It should have a handy enough life here.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I think if I was buying this would be my choice too. Just row up 3 rows after it. Was it much extra for a conditioner? Best of luck with it.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    I think if I was buying this would be my choice too. Just row up 3 rows after it. Was it much extra for a conditioner? Best of luck with it.

I didn't even waste the lads time by asking him to be honest. Wasn't an option .

Bought a tedder and think it and disc mower is more versatile than just a conditioner mower. May use a little more diesel but probably get better wilt and also have it for going for hay if I decide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I think you're better off without a mower. If pressure is on the contractor is going to chase the grass he's knocked himself before the stuff a farmer knocks

True in a way but some outfits here don't have time to mow in front of themselves. We have caught out contractors here as we mowed ourselves. They use the fact that they can't mow it to mow when it suits them rather than the farmer

My contractor doesn't mow grass at all. So he has 2 lads he uses. Both very reliable in fairness. But medium term plan I'm looking at going to wrap myself. 9 different contractors with standard mchale bales and 1 fusion. I'll be paying him going out the gate and only be 2 hours at any time baling so I'm sure he wount mind fitting me in. If not someone else will.

This year was first time I raked in front of him. Normally picked up 9ft rows. I had it raked into 27fts. When he rang to arrange a time and I told him it was raked he was over straight away. 1/3 of the driving around for him.

Picked this up over the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Nice, and the Jeep back too.

Water John wrote: »
    Nice, and the Jeep back too.

Jeep at dads.

Mower at Lakill's. Could be a few weeks before jeep is back at Lakill's I fear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Picked this up over the weekend

Got a lely splendimo 9ft last year. Can not fault it for topping or silage. Great investment

Ye all feedback seems good. This will only be for mowing so will do me a good few years I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

How do the lelys stand up to the odd stone etc?

Price? Non conditioner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Price? Non conditioner?

Non conditioner as I have a Kuhn trailer 10ft mower too.
    I can't be certain of the price but it was around €6k, but i have it written down on the book at home. Won't be home till Friday. Traded in a 27 year old 8ft trailer major topper with 2 bearing gone, he allowed €800 for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭Mf310

Mooooo wrote:
    How do the lelys stand up to the odd stone etc?

Mowed silage with our lely 240 during summer went over a small enough sized rock and she went out of line.. 2 of the far discs werent turning so had to bring in to the lely dealer .. he took bed apart and replaced the parts ... came into a 4 figure sum with over half of that on labour alone

Mf310 wrote: »
    Mowed silage with our lely 240 during summer went over a small enough sized rock and she went out of line.. 2 of the far discs werent turning so had to bring in to the lely dealer .. he took bed apart and replaced the parts ... came into a 4 figure sum with over half of that on labour alone

What was the size of the small rock. ? Size of a tennis ball, football or larger

Mf310 wrote: »

If over half that was labour, you were done as these mowers have sectional beds designed to be taken apart by the owner/operator. Even has instructions for same in the owners manual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I am wondering are there many mowers that are repairable without ripping the bed asunder .I know the kuhn heavy duty are as i sheared the oval shaped disc off one time after hitting a stone and it also needed a gear replaced all done from overhead in a few hours

Currently thinking of a mower next year myself. Two priced atm. A krone actimow 8ft with both swarth boards and upright storage legs is €8300 inc Vat and a kneverland 2628 9ft mower with both swarth boards is €8150 inc vat. Havent looked at too many others yet.

Just thinking of buying it atm do test the waters. Doing some light contracting with it at first. If I get busy then I will up grade to a more robust mower type but just thinking of an "all rounder" atm.

cute geoge wrote: »
    I am wondering are there many mowers that are repairable without ripping the bed asunder .I know the kuhn heavy duty are as i sheared the oval shaped disc off one time after hitting a stone and it also needed a gear replaced all done from overhead in a few hours

Kverneland are the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

Currently thinking of a mower next year myself. Two priced atm. A krone actimow 8ft with both swarth boards and upright storage legs is €8300 inc Vat and a kneverland 2628 9ft mower with both swarth boards is €8150 inc vat. Havent looked at too many others yet.

Just thinking of buying it atm do test the waters. Doing some light contracting with it at first. If I get busy then I will up grade to a more robust mower type but just thinking of an "all rounder" atm.

My contractor changed from a trailed Kuhn to a trailed kneverland this year and the cut is noticeably cleaner. It may be just a new machine but it shaved the fields this year even in lodged meadows cut in September that would have been cut six weeks before if the West hadn't turned into a monsoon region for 3 months.

I don't know if that would follow for smaller machines but the kneverland is impressive so far.

croot wrote: »
    My contractor changed from a trailed Kuhn to a trailed kneverland this year and the cut is noticeably cleaner. It may be just a new machine but it shaved the fields this year even in lodged meadows cut in September that would have been cut six weeks before if the West hadn't turned into a monsoon region for 3 months.

I don't know if that would follow for smaller machines but the kneverland is impressive so far.

Someone mentioned the round discs of the kneverland can get blocked tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

I'd say nearly all mowers are top serviceable now.
    In reality, disc mowers are a very simple piece of equipment and should not need main dealer help for any repairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

I have seen this countless times. Kuhn are a good strong mower but way over rated. They are very poor at doing what they are supposed to do, which is cut cleanly.
    My experience is of the heavy duty mounted mower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

Someone mentioned the round discs of the kneverland can get blocked tho

He didn't get blocked in my second cut that was pretty heavy and wet underneath and the ground was in poor condition.

I must ask him if he had any blockage problems with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Local contractor has 2 indentical kuhn 10 foot mowers ,one shaves the ground while the other always lets it scrawny after .No matter what ever way he sets it always the same story!!!

Darragh, The bed is grease filled. What's the maintenance schedule with that.?

He didn't get blocked in my second cut that was pretty heavy and wet underneath and the ground was in poor condition.

I must ask him if he had any blockage problems with it.

The discs could be oval in his bed

Darragh, The bed is grease filled. What's the maintenance schedule with that.?

Change of grease in mower elements
    Replace the grease in the mower elements every 500 working hours
    or every 1,000 hectares.

emaherx wrote: »
    Change of grease in mower elements
    Replace the grease in the mower elements every 500 working hours
    or every 1,000 hectares.

So he 'll never need to change it them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Local contractor has 2 indentical kuhn 10 foot mowers ,one shaves the ground while the other always lets it scrawny after .No matter what ever way he sets it always the same story!!!

His discs aren't straight?

Slightly curved up at outter ends I'd imagine

So he 'll never need to change it them :D

Never ever in my place.

Anyone ever have a look at them new SIP mowers?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Anyone ever have a look at them new SIP mowers?

Saw one at grass and muck in gorta bog and I wasn't impressed, it kept breaking back. I reckon back then it wasn't able for heavy Irish grass. They might have improved since.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Knocked 14/15acres this evening in difficult conditions.

Pleased with mower. Easy driven. Doesn't boss the tractor when lifting it. Good clean cut

Going to Ted it out tomorrow and rake& bale Sunday morning

Only 1 thing about mower is it only has a single swart board so not compacting the swart close. But I'll sort that for next season

Would I buy again. Yes no problem

Anyone here rate the Malone?