Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any good tricks to try to get a business class upgrade?

• 13-09-2017 1:52pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I'm off on my honeymoon soon, flying with Emirates to Sri Lanka via Dubai. I keep hearing about people who blag their way into business class upgrades and I'd love to know how. Are you better checking in really early, or later - and asking then? Phone ahead or Tweeting the airline?

Has anyone done this successfully?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

Zascar wrote: »
    I'm off on my honeymoon soon, flying with Emirates to Sri Lanka via Dubai. I keep hearing about people who blag their way into business class upgrades and I'd love to know how. Are you better checking in really early, or later - and asking then? Phone ahead or Tweeting the airline?

Those days are long gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

I keep hearing about people who blag their way into business class upgrades

The airlines staff are wise to all of those so-called blaggers. The general rule is that if you ask or make it obvious that you're looking for it, you won't get it.

The airlines will not upgrade a loudmouth who will probably boast about the fact that he got an upgrade all the way during the flight, probably over indulge in the free booze and generally p1ss off his fellow passengers who have paid five times his fare. So blag all you like but it will get you nowhere.

Dress neatly, be sober, answer any questions they ask you in a clear and polite manner and you will be considered but their loyalty card customers and people who have racked up a lot more miles than you in the past year will get preference if there are slots available in business class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭SarahS2013

I've never seen it with Emirates but with other airlines I've received an email a day or two before departure with an "upgrade offer". You'll still have to pay something but it's usually heavily discounted compared to what you would have originally paid for the seat.
    I upgraded to business class with Air France to the Dominican Republic before for about €400....found the email in my junk mail folder the morning we were flying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭grahamor

SarahS2013 wrote: »
    I've never seen it with Emirates but with other airlines I've received an email a day or two before departure with an "upgrade offer". You'll still have to pay something but it's usually heavily discounted compared to what you would have originally paid for the seat.
    I upgraded to business class with Air France to the Dominican Republic before for about €400....found the email in my junk mail folder the morning we were flying!

Yes, I did this with Emirates for our Honeymoon in 2015. Paid €200 extra each to fly business from Abu Dhabi to Colombo. It was a special occasion so said might as well try once in this lifetime :-)

Some airlines allow you to 'bid' for an upgrade so it's like an auction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

If Emirates have availability in Business class close to departure they offer them to their elite Skywards members for slightly reduced points in the first instance. If there's still availability on the day they'll look after Skywards members first. If there's still availability they look at future bookings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

The only way to guarantee an upgrade is to pay for it.

Airline staff have heard every excuse/request in the book and pax with status are first in line for upgrades. Some airlines will fly with empty seats in BC rather than sell them at a reduced price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

My sister and brother-in-law flew with Emirates for their honeymoon. My brother-in-law said it to a flight attendant that it was their honeymoon and I believe that got them champagne and dessert sent to their cattle class seats. :)

I'm recently back from honeymoon and before we went, SO many people were advising us to mention that fact at any opportunity in the hotels, restaurants, on the plane etc. We thought we might, we didn't really know. A sort of "if it feels right, do it" thing. But once on honeymoon, we didn't mention it once to anyone, we just weren't bothered at all. I know in our hotel, if you look at Tripadvisor, there are countless reviews of people saying that they got champagne and cake sent to their room when they mentioned their birthday/anniversary/honeymoon/whatever so we could have got stuff. We just felt very ambivalent towards the whole practice for some reason. Felt like elaborate, high-end pan-handling to us or something.

But the upshot of my post is that it does appear to be worth mentioning your honeymoon as you may well get some nice treats because of that. Getting bumped to business class might be a bit much to expect though, the treats tend to be things that cost very little in the scheme of things. Maybe paying the €400 or so for the upgrade offer someone upthread mentioned might be worth the money as a one-in-a-lifetime experience?

One tip I will give to try and get extra leg room in cattle class is to beforehand book random cabin seats for the small bit extra and then check in super early. For our honeymoon, we checked in with Aer Lingus more than 2.5 hours before, and because we had booked seats in the cabin to guarantee my lanky husband an aisle seat, when we were checking in we were offered the exit seats for no extra than we paid. Just as our ground crew agent was about to book them for us, another agent snagged them for another passenger but it actually worked out even better for us because we were offered row 1 aisle seats. I have never had so much leg room on a flight before! I definitely think the extra legroom seats are offered preferentially to people who have paid a bit extra to book a seat in the cabin because he asked us if we had booked seats before offering us the ones with extra legroom. So for the €16 or so total that we paid to book specific seats on the plane, we got all the legroom we could have wanted by showing up early. It's worth a shot!

And actually, I'd say your best bet for getting an upgrade to business class would be to mention your honeymoon at check in too, rather than to a flight attendant who is busy with a million other things. You never know. The check in agent can have a scan of the seating to see how full business class is. But again, having paid extra to book specific seats in economy would likely boost your chances for an upgrade too. I'd say the least likely candidates for upgrade are the people who have paid the lowest amount possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

When you fill in mr/ms or Dr in the ticket title thing always put Dr. Worked for me!.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

When you fill in mr/ms or Dr in the ticket title thing always put Dr. Worked for me!.
    To pose as Dr, slightly dishonest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

IMO upgrades to Business class are only likely when you travel by yourself, couples getting upgraded is very rare.

redcup342 wrote: »
    IMO upgrades to Business class are only likely when you travel by yourself, couples getting upgraded is very rare.

I've read that before, that you are much more likely to be upgraded as a solo traveller. Also upgrades tend to happen when economy is overbooked rather than when business has empty seats. I think some empty seats in business class aren't seen as an issue, as there being less people can enhance the experience of the people who have paid to be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

Locker10a wrote: »
    Why?

Eponymous wrote: »
    Why?

"Is there a doctor on-board?"

"Yes, there's one in business class, let me get him."

Finds out the passenger isn't a doctor and that might delay finding out if there's another one on board anywhere.

_Dara_ wrote: »
    "Is there a doctor on-board?"

"Yes, there's one in business class, let me get him."

Finds out the passenger isn't a doctor and that might delay finding out if there's another one on board anywhere.

I seriously doubt the manifest tells the crew that there's someone claiming to be a doctor on board. A passenger who books as Dr. John Smith could have a Ph.D. in botany or whatever i.e. calling yourself a doctor does not imply that you can be of use in a medical emergency.

The 'title' field in a passenger booking has nothing to do with how the crew should address you and whether there are doctors on board, it's to figure out if you are a man or a woman for weight and fuel calculations, that is all.

coylemj wrote: »
    I seriously doubt the manifest tells the crew that there's someone claiming to be a doctor on board. A passenger who books as Dr. John Smith could have a Ph.D. in botany or whatever i.e. calling yourself a doctor does not imply that you can be of use in a medical emergency.

The 'title' field in a passenger booking has nothing to do with how the crew should address you and whether there are doctors on board, it's to figure out if you are a man or a woman for weight and fuel calculations, that is all.

Hey, I'm not the one who suggested that putting Dr. in the title field would bag someone an upgrade! Someone else did. Dr. doesn't indicate gender so they seemed to be suggesting that the title has cachet or something.

I'd imagine clocking that there is doctor on-board an enclosed, mile high metal tube is always useful information to have though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Yup, grand, getting off topic. This all started with someone advising giving a false title to get an upgrade, might I remind people? A tip which I doubt works and is likely to be of no practical help to the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Locker10a wrote: »

You do realize you could have a doctorate in anything, food,music,art,science,electronics etc.

You are thinking of a medical Doctor.

Different thing altogether buddy. :rolleyes:

You do realize you could have a doctorate in anything, food,music,art,science,electronics etc.

You are thinking of a medical Doctor.

Different thing altogether buddy. :rolleyes:

Er, that's still dishonest? Yes, the Dr. for doctorate thing is common knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Lustrum

We got upgraded going on honeymoon with Emirates back in 2012. We didn't do anything obnoxious to get it, but dressed very well and probably annoyed everyone else in the queue with our lovey-doveyness. The check in supervisor must have been in a good mood as she came over and discreetly asked were we going on honeymoon, then when we got to the top of the queue she directed us to the business desk, and we go an upgrade to Dubai. We chanced our arm for the next leg too on to Colombo but no joy. I have no idea if this would work now, but it did then and it's the only time I've ever got a free upgrade

I'm guessing for anyone who's a Dr., be it a medical doctor or a PhD holder, to enter their title which might appear on their passport. Why would you think it was there if not for that? :confused: What an odd question.

The poster is suggesting putting that down as your title when it's not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭CaptivePortal

we got upgraded on emirates flight from Dubai to Dublin in2015. it was a connecting flight from Tokyo. We had a 4.5hr overnight stopover. My partner and i were dreading the flight and as we got to the gate they lady said there was a change to our tickets. looked at the boarding pass and it said Business Class!!!

there were at least two other couples who were upgraded too.

No advantage. If someone has their title on their passport as Dr. then they need to book their tickets under that. Unlikely to be much of an issue but they are still required to put down the right title. I was admonished for not having my passport signed passing through Dublin airport after getting off a flight. I technically was not permitted to fly without do so. Too late at that point but it could have been spotted at the airport I departed from. I was in Iceland recently and they check your passport very carefully there. They inspected both the boarding pass and passport carefully. The two need to match. It's not about benefitting the airline. It's just something that has to be done right. Most of time you'll get away with not having everything correct but not always. If things don't match, there could be questions as to why.

What are you waffling about? Where on your passport does it say that you're a doctor? (or a farmer for that matter).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,601 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

As someone who sees people chance this every single day, let me just tell you that it is very very VERY unlikely that you will manage to blag an upgrade nowadays. I've seen flights take off with 2 business passengers and a full economy cabin.

Tbe only way someone will get an upgrade nowadays unless they are very lucky is if economy is oversold and the airline have no choice but to bump someone up. Even at that, they will look for people who have mileage built up with them rather than your average Joe bloggs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Barnavave

Been upgraded a few times on trans atlantic flights and it was just luck, also didn't cost us anything. Usually happens after a delayed flight and others seem to have booked on to other flights, though I/we have never had an upgrade on the return journey.
    We paid once £40 each per flight for an upgrade to Mexico, got an email about a week before and jumped at it, though we were flying from the UK.

What are you waffling about? Where on your passport does it say that you're a doctor? (or a farmer for that matter).

Do you ever respond to anyone on this site in a positive manner? What a sour individual you are.

I still think someone is a terminal loser lying about themselves in order to get something. Show some dignity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Ninap

A few points. I know someone who regularly gets upgrades, and it's thanks to being a very frequent flyer with a loyalty card who is also flying alone.
    Lots of people rack up air miles (especially in the US) through astute use of credit cards; these can then be used for upgrades.
    Finally, the way to get an Aer Lingus upgrade is to be an Aer Lingus employee- they look after each other...

Yeah, I think in some way paying a bit more than rock bottom is a good way to boost your chances. Like I said, we got offered extra legroom seats going to Lisbon recently because they had some free and we were the seat bookers that showed up earliest.

Do you ever respond to anyone on this site in a positive manner? What a sour individual you are.

I still think someone is a terminal loser lying about themselves in order to get something. Show some dignity.

I'm a bundle of joy really, and I regularly get upgraded because I have status with the relevant airlines.

My state of mind according to you doesn't change the fact that you were talking irrelevant rubbish about passports.

Have a lovely evening :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

If it's an A380 you have some chance. My last few flights with Emirates I was bumped on the A380s (to/from Bangkok).......but my flights were booked through a corporate account so they may have been bumping me because they had the capacity and they thought I was a better 'prospect' for business class being purchased on my behalf in future.

If you haven't already then opening an account with them on their loyalty programme would be a good start and booking it through a travel bureau or travel agent that deals with corporate travel might help......but the price might not be great.

I'm a bundle of joy really, and I regularly get upgraded because I have status with the relevant airlines.

My state of mind according to you doesn't change the fact that you were talking irrelevant rubbish about passports.

Have a lovely evening :)

Yeah, that post pretty much confirms what I thought. The passive aggressive smilie sold it too, shows you were bothered (whilst straining to portray that you weren't). Nighty night.

Jawgap wrote: »
    If it's an A380 you have some chance. My last few flights with Emirates I was bumped on the A380s (to/from Bangkok).......but my flights were booked through a corporate account so they may have been bumping me because they had the capacity and they thought I was a better 'prospect' for business class being purchased on my behalf in future.

If you haven't already then opening an account with them on their loyalty programme would be a good start and booking it through a travel bureau or travel agent that deals with corporate travel might help......but the price might not be great.

Emirates use future bookings as a metric after current status so a corporate account could be the clincher if they've overbooked in economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Timmyr

Theres no real trick to it but it always helps to dress well.
    I fly a lot and I have been upgraded a few times, but only ever with British Airways for some reason

If you dress in shorts or tracksuit bottoms you are a lot lees likely to be upgraded than the guy in the business suit

Timmyr wrote: »
    I fly a lot and I have been upgraded a few times, but only ever with British Airways for some reason

If you dress in shorts or tracksuit bottoms you are a lot lees likely to be upgraded than the guy in the business suit

Not necessarily......my last bump came after I'd flown from the arse end of Myanmar to Bangkok whereupon I wandered up to the desk at the gate with my economy boarding pass wearing the same clothes I'd been in for 2 days, unshaven and dressing on a badly stitched neck wound (long story involving beer, a bet I kind of won and a mountain bike), they scanned my pass and it made the lovely "ding" sound that means you're fecked or getting an upgrade! Thankfully it was the upgrade.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Timmyr

Jawgap wrote: »

Not necessarily......my last bump came after I'd flown from the arse end of Myanmar to Bangkok whereupon I wandered up to the desk at the gate with my economy boarding pass wearing the same clothes I'd been in for 2 days, unshaven and dressing on a badly stitched neck wound (long story involving beer, a bet I kind of won and a mountain bike), they scanned my pass and it made the lovely "ding" sound that means you're fecked or getting an upgrade! Thankfully it was the upgrade.......
    I guess there is always a few exceptions! 
    Off topic but please tell the story of the neck wound :D

I guess there is always a few exceptions! 
    Off topic but please tell the story of the neck wound :D

Was there to carry out a project evaluation for some NGOs. Anyway, they were a well clued in bunch who were really well organised and managed so the evaluation only took half as long as expected.......which left plenty of time for drinking!

Anyhoo.....4 people were finishing up and were taking advantage of me being there to get a lift to the local airport so there was quite a party which I was invited to join. Over the course of the evening the subject of biking came up as there were mountain bikes in the compound......that's when the racing started.....after the races, talk turned to whether we could jump the drainage ditch at one end of the compound.....so one guy did it.....then it was my turn.....cycled for all I was worth.....hit the ramp.....sailed over the ditch and landed safely!!

It was when I raised the bike in triump over my head, dropped it, and fell over it that I managed to gash my neck......the choice then was go find a sober doctor at about 1:30 in the morning or let the p1ssed one stitch it up.....I went for option (b)......she did a tidy job stitching it (considering the circumstances), but the dressing she put on made it look like I'd been shot!!

EDIT: the best was we could jump the ditch on the bikes......the argument was over whether implied within that was "safely".......considering I needed stitching it was argued I'd hardly done it safely :D

Still got upgraded! (Can't remember exactly but I think when I checked in I still had the same shirt on, bloodstains included.....tidied myself up in Dubai so I wouldn't scare the family when I got home).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Ninap wrote: »
    A few points. I know someone who regularly gets upgrades, and it's thanks to being a very frequent flyer with a loyalty card who is also flying alone.

Finally, the way to get an Aer Lingus upgrade is to be an Aer Lingus employee- they look after each other...
    If the airline reckon you are likely to be a significant revenue source into the future, then you stand a good chance of an upgrade. It's mainly about revenue and other non-revenue related upgrades are becoming much rarer.

Aer Lingus are much the same these days and an upgrade for regular staff is very unlikely as the staff member is already getting a significant discount along with a ticket that is open and flex, but stand-by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Got an upgrade to business class once with Emirates a couple of years ago. My second of three long haul bookings I've had with them.

Handed to me very discreetly in Dubai as I was just about to board to go home.

I'd been backpacking in Africa. Wasn't particularly well dressed, but wasn't scruffy by any accounts, was travelling alone.

It was glorious. Seemed pretty random but I'd be very surprised if it's not calculated somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Barnavave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,425 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Friend of mine was operating a flight where a passenger was treated badly by the ground staff, he took it upon himself to upgrade the passenger to show kindness.
    Passenger wrote to airline chief executive to explain the story and to thank the Captain, the ground staff didn't get punished, but the Captain ended up with a punishment that would basically fine him a years salary! Needless to say he wasn't impressed.
    So for us, onboard upgrades are a big no-no.

smurfjed wrote: »
    Friend of mine was operating a flight where a passenger was treated badly by the ground staff, he took it upon himself to upgrade the passenger to show kindness.
    Passenger wrote to airline chief executive to explain the story and to thank the Captain, the ground staff didn't get punished, but the Captain ended up with a punishment that would basically fine him a years salary! Needless to say he wasn't impressed.
    So for us, onboard upgrades are a big no-no.

Jaysus. :eek:

Not 100% so just checking - you work in the airline industry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,425 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Yep...... I get to wear a jacket and hat.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

So I just got an email offering a discount - just over 500 each euros for the first leg of the journey - Dublin to Dubai. 1k for 1 flight out of 4 hardly seems worth it! I'll try at the desk for the laugh and see what happens..