Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC fans - A shower of ****?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

It's a scumbag sport that is enjoyed mostly by uneducated lower class people. Violence and "boxing the head off people" is a part of their everyday life and culture. It's what attracts them to UFC which they find legitimises their barbarism.

No university educated adult with significant cultural capital would be caught dead with UFC. It's for the lower classes.

Another ignorant comment from an ignorant person. Many UFC fighters themselves are well educated. Rich Franklin was a maths teacher and holds a Masters Degree in Mathematics. I think Shane Carwin was an Engineer before stepping into the octagon. Mirko Cro Cop was elected to the Croatian parliament.

I've no problem if people don't like MMA, I'm a very very casual fan myself. It's when they spout off ignorant sh*te, that's when they should be called out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Omackeral wrote: »
    Your observation absolutely idiotic. Angry young men. I honestly, honestly don't get this. Anytime I've watched UFC shows with people, everyone has been having a good time with their friends. The people in the crowd are there having fun with their friends too. Have you no friends? Is that it?

It appears they ditched their friends fairly sharpish after the 'fight', and went off to engage in acts of onanism while watching gonzo porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,226 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

No university educated adult with significant cultural capital would be caught dead with UFC. It's for the lower classes.

Lol

When I get a chance I'll dig up the stats I previously read about the number of degrees among active fighters.

Even Chuck Liddell the mohican wearing tattooed knockout artist back in the day was a qualified accountant!

PS I'm not angry, and sadly I don't think 38 counts as young either. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It appears they ditched their friends fairly sharpish after the 'fight', and went off to engage in acts of onanism while watching gonzo porn.

Have you never heard of a circlejerk? Man, some people are just missing out on life's finer pleasures

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭bananabread12

Another ignorant comment from an ignorant person. Many UFC fighters themselves are well educated. Rich Franklin was a maths teacher and holds a Masters Degree in Mathematics. I think Shane Carwin was an Engineer before stepping into the octagon. Mirko Cro Cop was elected to the Croatian parliament.

I've no problem if people don't like MMA, I'm a very very casual fan myself. It's when they spout off ignorant sh*te, that's when they should be called out.

You've literally listed 1 person you're sure of that has any iota of decency. In terms of scientific empiricism that is labeled an outlier - which again, in case you can't identify, is wholly irrelevant in the grand scheme of things.

Make no mistake MMA as a whole (and the notion of tackling people to the ground and hitting them) is a "sport" that attracts a specific class of people with a particular cultural compatibility. In other words .... uneducated, lower class scum that is in need of having their dole money scrapped.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Let him off, only looking for attention. He's being doing the same in the GAA forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

So the findings here are that young men who were probably the biggest demographic watching the McGregor fight also watch porn? STOP THE PRESSES

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

I wonder will the site see a drop off in activity while Last Night of the Proms is on BBC2?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

There wouldn't be a man standing if Meisha Tate and Paige VanZant started grappling......

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

You've literally listed 1 person you're sure of that has any iota of decency. In terms of scientific empiricism that is labeled an outlier - which again, in case you can't identify, is wholly irrelevant in the grand scheme of things.

Make no mistake MMA as a whole (and the notion of tackling people to the ground and hitting them) is a "sport" that attracts a specific class of people with a particular cultural compatibility. In other words .... uneducated, lower class scum that is in need of having their dole money scrapped.

Well I listed them off the top of my head. Do you want me go digging up stats? You said nobody involved in college would ever have anything to do with UFC and I told you straight away of a former champion and hall of famer that holds a Masters Degree.

As for your talk of fans of the sport having their dole money stripped off them, that says more about you than anyone else. All my friends and I work respectable jobs and we enjoy the odd ppv as a good get together. We'd invite you round but you'd probably judge us for drinking straight from the can.

I've been an MMA fan for 10 years and been to 20+ UFC events plus numerous local events.

I've never been on the dole though, what should my punishment be?

OK I've had a spare minute so Googled a few more.

1 - Rich Franklin, former high school maths teacher, masters degree in education, bachelors degree in mathematics

2 - Jeff Monson, masters and bachelors degree in psychology, worked as a children's and family counsellor in his spare time during his fighting career.

3 - Shane Carwin, bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering, bachelor’s degree in environmental technology.

4 - Rosie Sexton, degree in mathematics, PhD in theoretical computer science and since retirement is working as an osteopath.

Plus I found the stats I remember from last time I had this discussion.

In the US, the percentage of the population who have college degrees is 28%.

In the UFC, it is (or was at the time of the study in 2013) 80%.

Have a read of this site and then we'll decide who lacks education, the average UFC fighter or the OP...

http://www.thearenamma.com/mma-facts/

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Conors coach, John Kavnagh, also has a degree in engineering.

Chuck Liddell, biggest savage ever in MMA is an accountant.

Shane Carwin has a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering and also a degree in environmental engineering.

Rich Franklin has a bachelor's degree in mathematics and a masters degree in education.

Mirko Crocop was a police officer, and later elected to the Croation parliament.

Chael Sonnen was a very successful real estate broker, and also an Oregon state Senate candidate.

Tyron Woodley has a degree in agricultural economics.

Rosie Sexton has a pHD in mathmathics.

Most American mma fighters have been through college of some sort with wrestling.

Edit. Just seen other users post the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

I've no idea about the education standards of the fighters themselves, however the fans who travelled to Vegas certainly didn't cover themselves in glory.

Packs of scruffy eejits draped in tri colours drunkenly ambling around casinos in the middle of the day singing out of tune. I'm sure it was very annoying for regular holiday goers in Vegas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Mostly J1 students! How many MMA fans do you actually know personally or how do you know the educational level of its fans?

Football hooligans are probably more suited to your stereotype.

I'm sure it was very annoying for regular holiday goers in Vegas.

Lol, because the average Vegas visitor hates the thought of drinking or partying...

I've been to 3 events in Vegas, including one where McGregor's presence prompted an Irish invasion.

Yeah plenty were drunken loons and a pain in the ass. But sorry to break it to you, that's because they were Irish, not because they were MMA fans.

As a nation we tend to have 2 main groups. Begrudgers and bandwagoners. The bandwagoners head off to support their team in whatever sport it may be, the begrudgers sit at home and moan about them.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,180 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Ufc is entertainment like anything else. But I do hate those certain fans who are "experts" without having actual experience doing MMA. you know the type.

Then again every sport has its share of those type too. Football is probably the worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Make a correlation about two data points, print it knowing you'll get a reaction. Inspirational journalism.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,572 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I don't have any interest in UFC and don't watch it.

So from that perspective as somebody who is 'outside' the sport, I've never had any encounter with a UFC fan, in real life or otherwise, that made me think UFC fans are any more likely to be **** than fans of other sports.

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭jeff bingham

You try watching Paige Van Zant or Miesha Tate for 20 minutes and not having a stiffy

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I've no idea about the education standards of the fighters themselves, however the fans who travelled to Vegas certainly didn't cover themselves in glory.

Packs of scruffy eejits draped in tri colours drunkenly ambling around casinos in the middle of the day singing out of tune. I'm sure it was very annoying for regular holiday goers in Vegas.

I suppose you've never travelled for a soccer or rugby event overseas involving an Irish team then? :rolleyes:

Also, I have to say that your attitude in this thread is in stark contrast to your username. You're not worthy of the Paddy Losty brand. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,139 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

What has the education level of the participants got to do with it?
    Someone who is involved and plays the sport might have an genuine interest in watching it.  Others are spastics whose understanding of the sport extends to knowing there's a bit of blood involved along with some "ole ole"ing and a few pints in the crowd for mad craic.
    It's like soccerball. Plenty of people watch those matches. I can understand it if a kid wants to watch it to learn how a good player positions himself or makes run or controls the ball. What I can't understand is the 40 year old man-child who religiously dresses himself up in this seasons jersey and shorts and plonks himself on the couch with a can of beer in one hand and a box of curried chips resting on the belly because 15 hired sportsmen - who happen to be wearing the same jersey as him because they were hired by the random English team he picked when he was 10 - are playing against some other random English team.
    I don't expect the sports participants to be less educated than anyone else. In fact, probably more so. Due to the fact that to get to the top, they are probably people with a decent work ethic anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

MMA fans are lower class scum, its glorified human cock fighting should be banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Feckofff

It's a scumbag sport that is enjoyed mostly by uneducated lower class people. Violence and "boxing the head off people" is a part of their everyday life and culture. It's what attracts them to UFC which they find legitimises their barbarism.

Not really, there is a substantial cross over with the younger rugby crowd.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Feckofff

Gamebred wrote: »
    MMA fans are lower class scum, its glorified human cock fighting should be banned.

Trolls got to troll!

MMA is very complicated sport so it is difficult to understand the layers and tactics required to win a fight.

Most pro MMA fighters retire in much better shape than pro rugby players.

But we should do what we can to improve the safety of both sports.