Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terrorist attack in Dublin scenario

• 09-09-2017 1:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7

I wanted to signup to post this, as I think it is one of the most serious problems in Ireland recently.

Given the recent terror attacks in London and Manchester, and the questions asked and answered about security here, we have established already that we are not prepared to handle a terror attack.

So, here is my scenario.

Call me a troll all ye want, but this is a good point:

If a suicide bomber hit the All-Ireland final, while the thousands of fans inside Croke Park were leaving, he could easily kill 100+ people. But we just don't seem to care all that much, because, after all, we are a "neutral" country, aren't we?

The unarmed Garda there wouldn't be able to cope.

So, in your own personal opinion, what would happen in this scenario?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

You will find armed Gardai at such an event in Croke Park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

What are the armed garda gonna do when he blows himself up?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Big slap on the back for yourself OP for being the first with such a "what would Ireland do in the event of a terrorist attack" type thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Shoot him in the guts, that'll teach him!

• Registered Users Posts: 7 crokermun

Exactly. I was in Zaventem airport after the Brussels attacks in 2016 and there were so many soldiers around, what are they going to do, shoot him, he falls over and detonates?

What would happen in the Croker scenario?

crokermun wrote: »
    Exactly. I was in Zaventem airport after the Brussels attacks in 2016 and there were so many soldiers around, what are they going to do, shoot him, he falls over and detonates?

Not even that. They wouldn't have the time to react to seeing a chap detonate a bomb.

Armed police are just a show of force for the public. Not gonna stop some gowl blowing up a bomb in a bag.

Goderator wrote: »
    Sure that would never happen in Ireland doesnt everyone love us.
    Rick Shaw wrote: »
    Big slap on the back for yourself OP for being the first with such a "what would Ireland do in the event of a terrorist attack" type thread.

Ye are hilarious! I'm sure the teenagers going to the Ariana whatshername concert in Manchester didn't fathom an attack happening there either.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

I would imagine a replay of the final?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,572 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

If the bomb is big enough it could become Hill 17.

frag420 wrote: »
    I would imagine a replay of the final?

Very funny. Back on-topic please?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

People die, metal detectors at every public event after that. Ireland is so west and so small that Islamic terrorists wouldn't bother with it, bigger and closer countries to them.

Bomb blows up. People die. There is chaos. Same as all the other attacks.

Why would they attack croke park, premiership game in london would have a bigger impact.
    Set a bomb off outside Wembley, dont even need to kill anyone to have the same impact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭user53

Add an Irish flag to their profile pictures on Facebook.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭minikin

Plasters n bandages five for fifty

Is it likely and what would the response be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I would imagine much the same as every other time there was a terrorist attack in Dublin with added nutjobs posting crap on the internet.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Call me pure cynical, or what have you, but hear me out.

A new user signs up to chat about terrorism.
    Within 1 minute, another new user replies to your chat about terrorism.
    It's Saturday, lunch time, when the site is busy.
    There hasn't been a terrorist incident in a while, even though some proclaim it's a daily occurrence, in Europe.

You wouldn't just be here to scare people, would you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 637 ✭✭✭rtron

Hon Mayo...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Is it likely and what would the response be?

Why don't you ask the gardai and other emergency services as they're the ones that would be dealing with it?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,115 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If ISIS (or someone else, for that matter) decides it wants to hit Dublin with a terrorist attack, it's going to hit Dublin with a terrorist attack and there is **** all Dublin can do about it. For a start, we're an island. Getting the required materials in will be easy. And as per anywhere else, they don't even need to get to a specific place to do it. If you want to talk Croker - the Manchester bomber detonated outside thr arena and he still caused havoc. And there was/will be very little any defence/police/security force is going to be able to do about it.

My question would be why someone would want to hit Dublin with a torrorist attack. Waste of a suicide bomber if you ask me.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I work in the security detail in Croke Park OP , it's more secure than you realise.

We're all issued with sandwiches which we wave about on sticks.

No ISIS bomber can get past is.

Very funny. Back on-topic please?

Apologies! Well I guess if there was a terrorist attack then every sports shop around the country would sell out of Celtic jerseys...

If you want a serious answer take it out of after hours, what did you expect here, serious debate and cordial replies?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Ham I presume?

Hang...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I work in the security detail in Croke Park OP , it's more secure than you realise.

Triple sausage, bacon and lettuce? Red flag to a bull :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

There hasn't been a terrorist incident in a while, even though some proclaim it's a daily occurrence, in Europe.

It's interesting that three weeks now qualifies as a "while".

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I wanted to signup to post this,

So, here is my scenario.

Call me a troll

Ok

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Ham I presume?

Don't be ridiculous, culchies have eaten every hang sandwich and drank all the tae within ffourty miles of Croke Park of a Sunday.