Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what jobs pay pretty well that dont need a degree?

• 05-09-2017 9:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭flipflophead22

Looking to get out of i.t all together and wondered if any of you folks have changed career without having to spend a fortune on re training as i dont have it:D

Just throwing it out there to see if anyone has done this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Tenigate

If you find a career be sure to let me know.

But some advice.. if there's something that interests you that could be a worthwhile career, don't be afraid to invest some cash in formal training. You don't need a big ball of money upfront. a combination of making ends meet and a few student loans could be the difference between a fulfilling and interesting career, and something you waded into with the promise of a paycheque.

Fwiw, seems to be money to be had in childcare. You can earn a good chunk tax free and due to government interference in the market the demand is huge, particularity after hours and for younger kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Try getting a plumber or electrician... there you go.

There is training/apprenticeship required though.

But, there is no well paying (legal) job that doesn't have a barrier to entry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

What about dangerous jobs.....like mining, oil drilling or the likes?

These jobs might be safe and houses and require all sorts of degrees for all I know.....but fundamentally I'd imagine there is a danger premium. Same goes for jobs requiring long stays away or antisocial hours.

Edit: thought of something else. Sent you a pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭frankyboy1986

In Dublin Bus you can make over 50k if you do a bit of overtime all you need is a learner permit for the bus

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭dbagman

The government have put paid to this. I'm an electrician. Work for a company. I spent years doing jobs in people's homes as nixers. Extensions, attic conversions and the likes. It's now illegal for me to do so without being able to issue a certificate. Something which doing small jobs on the side just doesn't justify me setting up on my own for. I'm more than capable of doing the Work, just not willing to take the risk. I'm sure I'm not the only electrician out there unwilling to do so forcing people to try employ registered contractors that don't have the time. Not to mention it driving up the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭flipflophead22

Tenigate wrote: »
    If you find a career be sure to let me know.

But some advice.. if there's something that interests you that could be a worthwhile career, don't be afraid to invest some cash in formal training. You don't need a big ball of money upfront. a combination of making ends meet and a few student loans could be the difference between a fulfilling and interesting career, and something you waded into with the promise of a paycheque.

Fwiw, seems to be money to be had in childcare. You can earn a good chunk tax free and due to government interference in the market the demand is huge, particularity after hours and for younger kids.

do you mean seting up a creche of some sort or just general?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭mel123

dbagman wrote: »
    The government have put paid to this. I'm an electrician. Work for a company. I spent years doing jobs in people's homes as nixers. Extensions, attic conversions and the likes. It's now illegal for me to do so without being able to issue a certificate. Something which doing small jobs on the side just doesn't justify me setting up on my own for. I'm more than capable of doing the Work, just not willing to take the risk. I'm sure I'm not the only electrician out there unwilling to do so forcing people to try employ registered contractors that don't have the time. Not to mention it driving up the cost.

If you were not set up on your own in the first place how were you paying tax on nixers? Or do you mean you werent and you were doing it illegally, and the government have rained on your parade of making a side line of cash?

mel123 wrote:
    If you were not set up on your own in the first place how were you paying tax on nixers? Or do you mean you werent and you were doing it illegally, and the government have rained on your parade of making a side line of cash?

Hook line and sinker. There's always one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Life coach.

If really desired could get NLP accreditation or something, but not necessary.

Theoretically, I could offer to charge 100notes per 45min session. This on the back of a couple of strong coffees, a recent listen to some TonyRobbins CDs, and perhaps a few testimonial quotes from the odd Joe or Jane to stick on the back of a business card.

You can do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭micks

mel123 wrote: »

Tax compliance is only one aspect of it
    Its easy to be set up for tax legitimately and do nixers for builders etc ie not your main job
    Now you have to be a registered contractor
    The way its been done is just a poor attempt at correctly regulating the industry
    thats failing and the only real result is prices going up for domestic electrical works

Looking to get out of i.t all together and wondered if any of you folks have changed career without having to spend a fortune on re training as i dont have it:D

Process operator/technician in pharma
    Many only require leaving cert for entry
    50k would normally be the lower end of the payscale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

micks wrote:
    Process operator/technician in pharma Many only require leaving cert for entry 50k would normally be the lower end of the payscale

That day is long gone of a fella walking in with to swing a hammer with only a leaving cert on a process line.

Big company's don't even like employing basic fitter s or electrician or anyone having done an apprenticeship in that type of work environment anymore. Since the down turn people up skilled to become more employable and it's a competitive market. You can employ for those jobs but you have to have up skilled in all sorts of areas . Mostly company's now are looking for college educated people.

Depending on the sector 50K may get you a 4 shift job.

dev100 wrote: »
    That day is long gone of a fella walking in with to swing a hammer with only a leaving cert on a process line.

Big company's don't even like employing basic fitter s or electrician or anyone having done an apprenticeship in that type of work environment anymore. Since the down turn people up skilled to become more employable and it's a competitive market. You can employ for those jobs but you have to have up skilled in all sorts of areas . Mostly company's now are looking for college educated people.

Fitter / Electrician - you're talking about maintenance?

I am talking about production
    Yes all these companies will like you to have degrees but in reality they cant get people with the qualifications
    I've worked in 2 of the bigger pharmas in Dublin over the last 15 years and know 3 people that have started with them with only leaving certs

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

What are you good at?
    That is your best starting place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

There is training/apprenticeship required though.

But, there is no well paying (legal) job that doesn't have a barrier to entry.

Erm he mentioned no training these take 4 years to become longer than many degrees!. Hardly a short hop is it 4 years!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭ArnieSilvia

dev100 wrote: »

Second this.
    The market got very, very busy these days, as you mentioned lots of people upskilled during recession and I found it extremely difficult to find a job. Ironically enough, I had no problem whatsoever find a high paying, experience based, professional job in the sector (albeit far away from home) but no response whatsoever from production type of roles due to no science degree (being addressed atm) and probably being overqualified to be honest about it. Being Irish would probably help due to team fit which is important for these jobs, says a lot about jobs themselves too:).

In terms of pharma manufacturing (20k-35k with shift these days) - maybe, if you're lucky, you might get a job at some stent assembly line or basic high volume pharma manufacturing (inspection, packaging) but don't fool yourself - the wages there are shoite.
    I started myself in such a role 11 years ago and I was on 20k plus shift 25% up to 25k + 25% after 5 years. Room for progression for you would be minimal because there'll always be that elephant in the room (degree). A friend of mine applied recently for such a role and having a ton of experience with stents, got offered minimum wage with a company near Galway.

In terms of Biotech (35k basic, usually with 33% shift - 50k for people with tons of experience, doing very responsible job (millions worth of product that can turn into waste with one keystroke or wrong connection):
    I've been at recent Pfizer recruitment day for Process Technician (Biotech), room filled with graduates, fairly power hungry at that :rolleyes:
    Same at Regeneron Limerick, have seen plenty of recent graduates there but no, haven't seen "LC only" type of people unless they had lots of experience (5-15 years including 5+ years in Biotech)
    For these types of roles, I've seen plenty of people who wanted to do it but didn't realise how many things they had to learn and in many cases they didn't have capacity to comprehend it all.

In regard to shift work if that crossed your mind:
    To put it into perspective, 30k is a base salary at Pfizer plus 33% shift (35k after 5 years) but and a big but - 4 cycle shift WILL turn you into a zombie that's living in a vegetative state. Over my 5 years there my mental capacity (learning etc) decreased by 70%, got cranky from tiredness and lack of sleep, always tired, gave it up to save my marriage and progress my career.

One more thing to consider - usually the only way to get more money from a job is to go to competition however Pharma sector has changed greatly in this regard (IMO) - leaving a "good job" to go to a different place is not seen well these days at all - you might be stuck in one place for long. Maybe pharma companies have some unwritten rules? (just speculating)

Erm he mentioned no training these take 4 years to become longer than many degrees!. Hardly a short hop is it 4 years!.

Aren't these usually paid apprenticeships?

About 200 odd quid a week for the first year. You'd want to be at least a 3rd year to be getting anything half decent. And even then it's about 400. Depending on allowances. He also said well paid....but like with anything the cash comes with the experience.

He didn't say high pay had to be instant. Just that he couldn't afford to pay for training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

I'd agree with previous posters re apprenticeships, the days of walking into agood pharma jobs on the back of 4 years as a fitter/sparks/mech are over. The norm now is that + a nighttime earned degree in a related area. That takes massively from the long term earning potential a trade can give you.

He didn't say high pay had to be instant. Just that he couldn't afford to pay for training.

You'd assume he wants to walk from one well paid job to another. Isn't that the entire premise of the initial question.

He mentioned not doing training because he couldn't afford it, not because he was unwilling. But, we're only speculating.

He's looking for a well paid job that requires no training. To me that says he's looking at walking straight into it. If he can't afford training he's hardly going to be able to afford taking a massive pay cut for 3 or 4 years doing an apprenticeship. Not really speculation when they're the facts we've been presented with.

Some free advice, if you ever sit an exam again, remember to answer the question set, not the question you hope it to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,671 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

if I remember correctly, those LUAS drivers take home decent money.

• If you can drive maybe you can become a taxi driver. If you have no ties there has to be a bit of money for drivers who are willing to hang around Dublin airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Dark Rabbit

I'm in the same position myself considering getting out of the IT industry. Considering applying to Dublin bus but my wife thinks that will waste the years of studying. Keeping an eye on this post ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Esse85

Sales jobs pay well if your good at it, if you know your product or service inside out and that of your competition your on your way.

You need to be good with people too and consistently offer them value and back it up.

Some free advice, if you ever sit an exam again, remember to answer the question set, not the question you hope it to be.

Should maybe try taking your own advice before dishing it out. OP asked for a well paid job that requires no training fees. You suggested an apprenticeship. I was merely pointing out the fact he wouldn't be walking straight into a well paid job. In fact its not even minimum wage for the first few years. Not to mention the fees apprentices have to pay for the time they spend in college on top of having to kit himself out with tools etc. So in effect a direct contrast to what he's looking for. Remember to answer the question set and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

mel123 wrote: »

You can pay tax on additional income while being a Paye worker through self assessment without having to be "set up" in business.

Should maybe try taking your own advice before dishing it out. OP asked for a well paid job that requires no training fees...

Where are you getting NO training fees?
    Looking to get out of i.t all together and wondered if any of you folks have changed career without having to spend a fortune on re training as i dont have it

There’s a huge difference between a) NO fees and a spending a FORTUNE on re training. In fact, you cannot read into the OP’s post and say training is not being considered. Nor can you read into it that he expects an instant switch into a well paying job without a degree. b) there’s an even bigger difference between “without having to spend a fortune” and actually getting paid an apprenticeship.

I eagerly await your latest response :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Prision officers are pretty well paid too.
    What ever you do you need to have an interest in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭Tayschren

Politics is where its at

Where are you getting NO training fees?

Funny enough it was YOU that said he couldn't afford fees

you cannot read into the OP’s post and say training is not being considered. Nor can you read into it that he expects an instant switch into a well paying job without a degree..

May I suggest you have a quick look at the title of this entire thread......literally exactly what he is looking for.

I smell a WUM

I eagerly await your response

^^^ I'm done trying to fix the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

If you have a strong aptitude for sales a degree often isn't needed.

pauliebdub wrote: »
    If you have a strong aptitude for sales a degree often isn't needed.

This is true, but it takes time to get the decent sales gigs. You usually start off at lower levels until you build up a history of sales experience/business development.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

Tilers. Just paid one for two days work, it was more than I earned.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 Funny how?

If your into I.T just do some of the Microsoft exams, Oracle exams, Cisco exams etc and you'll get a job. Theres also dumps available so would have the exam answers before you went in.

Have a friend who is a manager in a hotel doing 70 hours a week getting 28k a year. **** that.

I started off as an administrator, then to level 1 IT support, then level 2 support and now an I.T manager getting 50k a year and only 27 with no degree but did a lot of Cisco ecams witout the dumps.

Nothing will fall on your lap, need to up skill or send off 20 cvs a day to get decent money. As others mentioned even driving buses is not bad money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

micks wrote: »
    Process operator/technician in pharma
    Many only require leaving cert for entry
    50k would normally be the lower end of the payscale

Lol what. 50k? :pac:

35K was what Pfizer were offering me as a new process tech.
    Intel start new process techs on a little less money, about 29-30k, however it's a competitive entry.

And you wouldn't have a hope getting in with only a LC. Most were looking for trades or those with experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

Funny how? wrote: »
    If your into I.T just do some of the Microsoft exams, Oracle exams, Cisco exams etc and you'll get a job. Theres also dumps available so would have the exam answers before you went in.

Have a friend who is a manager in a hotel doing 70 hours a week getting 28k a year. **** that.

I started off as an administrator, then to level 1 IT support, then level 2 support and now an I.T manager getting 50k a year and only 27 with no degree but did a lot of Cisco ecams witout the dumps.

Nothing will fall on your lap, need to up skill or send off 20 cvs a day to get decent money. As others mentioned even driving buses is not bad money.
    Did you not read the first post?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 Funny how?

Pelvis wrote: »
    Did you not read the first post?

Missed the it part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I just had laminate floors fitted in pretty much my whole house with beading, hired a carpenter from the Midlands. Took him 3 days and paid 650 quid for it. It's not hard to do with a bit of practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

Mycroft H wrote:
    Lol what. 50k?

Mycroft H wrote:
    35K was what Pfizer were offering me as a new process tech. Intel start new process techs on a little less money, about 29-30k, however it's a competitive entry.

Add in the shift rate if applicable and you are not far off 50k ....😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Jaysus, reading this thread has me feeling lucky with my lot. The prison service stint was always considered a quick way of making money in a short time span when I was younger.

Horrible work in my opinion and certainly not for me, but I know a few people that did it (with silly overtime) for properties sake!

I find employers expect a huge amount from employees these days though. Much more than when I started out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Hi op,
    It's a very hard question to get an answer to. Because (1) anyone who is making decent money doing something that anyone else could do is not gonna tell you about it. In fact you'd get the poor mouth.

(2) Assumptions. Easy to assume how much a job earns without actually knowing someone who does it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭wiz569

LirW wrote: »
    I just had laminate floors fitted in pretty much my whole house with beading, hired a carpenter from the Midlands. Took him 3 days and paid 650 quid for it. It's not hard to do with a bit of practice.

Between tax and overheads he will only clear about €250

^^^ I'm done trying to fix the internet

Sorry I can't let this go but I'm intrigued, fix the Internet how exactly? You quite literally said we can't assume the OP is looking for a decent paid job he could walk into without a degree, when in fact the title of this thread says exactly that.

I do often wonder about people sometimes.

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Lol what. 50k? :pac:

35K was what Pfizer were offering me as a new process tech.
    Intel start new process techs on a little less money, about 29-30k, however it's a competitive entry.

And you wouldn't have a hope getting in with only a LC. Most were looking for trades or those with experience.

As macker1 pointed out 35k basic is prob >50k

Pfizer and Intel would not be where i'd be looking if I wanted a job

Pfizer in GC is almost like a training school for grads now
    Ever wonder why they're almost permanently hiring process techs?

Here is an example looking for LC as entry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

I work at Pfizer Grange Castle and from my point of view it's great. I joined back in 2006 and only have Leaving Cert. That said I had a great deal of work experience and general cop on that got me what I consider a good position in a great company.