Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lady Bird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

I've just been looking at the trailer for this.
    Looks promising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Saoirse Ronan continues to impress with her picks, would not be surprised to see her, Laurie Metcalf and Greta Gerwig buzzed for award season

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Not due for release until February, I wonder might they bring this forward a bit? Seems like a long wait for a film that already has a lot of buzz, and was released in the US in November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

This has just become the best reviewed film in Rotten Tomatoes history over taking Toy Story 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

This has just become the best reviewed film in Rotten Tomatoes history over taking Toy Story 2

You're making the wait even harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭ArthurG

Not due for release until February, I wonder might they bring this forward a bit? Seems like a long wait for a film that already has a lot of buzz, and was released in the US in November.

Feb?! FFS. And they wonder why people torrent stuff.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

This just won for Best Film and Best Actress for Saoirse Ronan at New York Film Critics Circle, the first big indicator of who be in the running for awards season.

This could be the dark horse of the awards season, Greta Gerwig always gets a pass for me for France Ha, still Noah Baumbach best film to date for me. But I always felt that had more of Gerwig in it then Baumbach. So nice to see her break out and do her own thing.

Ronan is really one of the best actresses out there and she's still only 23, she could be this generations Meryl Streep or Cate Blanchett if she continues on. Looking forward to this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 158 ✭✭joombo

personally I think it's one of the best movies of 2017
    I give it 9/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Gotta say.. this didn't do much for me!

Bar some top-notch performances from Ronan and Metcalf (particularly!), it all seemed a tad familiar.

A story detailing the coming-of-age of a troubled teenager with some religious overtones is hardly breaking new ground.. and the dialogue didn't really set it apart.

Typical Oscar bait.. it'll probably be lapped up however!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

I liked it more than I thought I would. Nothing spectacular or new but a grand watch. It's a coming of age tale (ugh) of a 17-18 year old girl so I expected to hate it but I didn't. High praise indeed :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 233 ✭✭Hooks Golf Handicap

Coming of age tale, naturalistic film making, nice right script which adds up to very little unfortunately.
    Not one I'd watch ever again, boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Formulaic coming of age with quirky characters who all have issues.

Come back Garden State. All is forgiven! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

me_irl wrote: »
    Formulaic coming of age with quirky characters who all have issues.

Come back Garden State. All is forgiven! :pac:
    Well let's not get carried away here... let Zach Braff stay wherever he is... :D

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

I thought it was going to be a sequel to that Ken Loach movie about yer wan having children with loads of different fellas who beat her up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

cliggg wrote: »
    .. let Zach Braff stay wherever he is... :D
    Zach Braff still probably trumps Richard Kelly in term's of extremely promising directorial debuts to then see a career go to sh*t!

I got a strange feeling with Lady Bird in that I enjoyed it a lot but I also don't get the 99% it's gotten on Rotten Tomatoes from critics, it's definitely a film that runs out of steam in it's last 20 minutes (it's only 93 minute film) and I can see it been the "Juno" or "Little Miss Sunshine" of this year's award Season, good solid American Indie but nowhere near the best film of the year imo.

The good about it, thought Laurie Metcalf stole the film and is the only one I could see winning awards. Saoirse Ronan is very good, although not a patch on her performance in the wonderful Brooklyn, I don't see this getting her a Oscar. I thought Timothee Chalamet delivered a fine role as douche love interest, this guy definitely is one to watch. Also Beanie Feldstein is great as Lady Bird's put upon friend and Tracy Letts as her depressed but loveable father is great too.

As I mentioned above it's a film that runs out of steam around the time
    Lady Bird says goodbye to her friend after prom and her graduation and falling out with her mom
    . Although I did love the phone call outside the church. Greta Gerwig definitely is a talent to watch behind the camera, I definitely give this a rewatch but sorry don't get the universal praise its getting from the critics but it's a enjoyable watch. 7/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I love Great Gerwig (such charm) and most of the stuff she's done but I'm near the end of this and started scrolling through Twitter about 20 mins ago.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

So decided there was no way I'm waiting until February to see this and instead used ahem... alternative means. Good movie, but after all the hype I was expecting a little more. Great acting and lots of funny moments, but not a great deal better than most coming of age movies I thought.

7/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 1world1people

JUST good, more of a series of events displaying the growth to independence and responsability of a teenager and the strains it puts on the established parent child relationship. THOUGHT Laurie Metcalf was really great, last oppertunity for Saoirse Ronan to be in school uniform as she's too old now to be playing a kid, this was a leap of belief, found it hard to take her as a clueless teenager, good movie, 7/10 for me. Would be surprised if it won an Oscar for Ronan.

• This did absolutely nothing for me. Would be a crime if she got an Oscar for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Looper007 wrote: »
    I got a strange feeling with Lady Bird in that I enjoyed it a lot but I also don't get the 99% it's gotten on Rotten Tomatoes from critics, it's definitely a film that runs out of steam in it's last 20 minutes (it's only 93 minute film) and I can see it been the "Juno" or "Little Miss Sunshine" of this year's award Season, good solid American Indie but nowhere near the best film of the year imo.

I see where you are going with the comparison but I think that Juno and Little Miss Sunshine actually did have something to offer, they explored something in a novel way, they had moments anyone who watched will remember afterward, the stood out among peers.
    Ladybird offered nothing we haven't seen before and not even one notable moment. Not only was it most definitely not film of the year but I was left wondering how it caught anyone's attention at all in the first place.

I love Saoirse Ronan but I really feel that if this is the role that sees her talents recognised in award ceremonies she's been radically shortchanged. Her acting was every bit as great as the dreary premise and script allowed but her work in roles like Brooklyn and Atonement towered over this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

I’d have to agree with the above post. This film is completely forgettable. Ronan as usual fully inhabits the role and the mundane is probably meant to be an underlying theme but unfortunately it creeps out and takes over.
    Really not seeing what the fuss was about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Enjoyable film but really cannot see this as film of the year in anybodys mind.

Ronan is good, but the character just not have the depth to be oscar worthy material. If you put this performance up against Frances McDormand in 3 Billboards Outside Ebbing, there is only one clear winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 1world1people

Enjoyable film but really cannot see this as film of the year in anybodys mind.

Ronan is good, but the character just not have the depth to be oscar worthy material. If you put this performance up against Frances McDormand in 3 Billboards Outside Ebbing, there is only one clear winner.

I think this will win Ronan a Spirit award. probably also Metcalf,, screenplay and Film, but limited Oscar recognition, some award Nominations and maybe an original screenplay. The academy and the Globes will want to put Streep and Hanks on a platform to make a speech about gender Equality and trump. This years awards are too political to allow films like ladybird to shine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

I thought it was fantastic. Btw Ronan is 1/3 at paddy power for best actress in comedy/musical at Golden globes basically a dead cert. Though I think it was more a drama even though it has plenty of funny parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I thought it was fantastic. Btw Ronan is 1/3 at paddy power for best actress in comedy/musical at Golden globes basically a dead cert. Though I think it was more a drama even though it has plenty of funny parts.

To be fair in the comedy category she was always in a good position to win it. She was purposefully being kept out of the drama category as Frances McDormand was far and away the clear favourite.

That is a bugbear of mine with the golden globes where companies can be a bit selective in the category they put the film forward for in the awards, Get Out being another good example.

Well done to her for winning the globe , but i would say her odds in the Oscars are poor enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,832 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Ladybird offered nothing we haven't seen before and not even one notable moment. Not only was it most definitely not film of the year but I was left wondering how it caught anyone's attention at all in the first place.

This I'd agree with 100%.
    An utterly forgettable film. Harmless, but to say its vanilla is an understatement.
    "I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

No surprise that Saoirse took home GG last night

• JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    No surprise that Saoirse took home GG last night

Can’t see her getting an Oscar for it against Frances mcdormand though...and she shouldn’t

She looked stunning last night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

DvB wrote: »
    This I'd agree with 100%.
    An utterly forgettable film. Harmless, but to say its vanilla is an understatement.

My cousin thought similar to you, but he would be more the typical mainstream moviegoer who enjoys Star Wars, etc. He thought for example, Birdman was the worst film he ever watched, could not understand how I thought it was a brilliant piece of art or how it won best picture.

I loved Lady Bird because I love films that are true to life and illustrate life as we live it today, it might seem vanilla to you but it's actually one of the hardest things to get right, avoid cliches, and still make for an entertaining watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I watched this two nights ago, mainly because I knew by the time it reaches the cinema the hype will have completely ruined it. To an extent it nearly already has. It was a nice little film and the performances are great, but I'd loved to have seen it on the big screen without the weight of expectation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Enjoyable if somewhat standard coming of age movie. Good performances and interactions between mother and daughter. Felt a lot like Juno in spots.

6.5/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭4Ad

I really didn't think much of this..I cant understand why there is such praise on Saoirse Ronan.
    Granted I am a 40+ year old male..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭danmanw8

My cousin thought similar to you, but he would be more the typical mainstream moviegoer who enjoys Star Wars, etc. He thought for example, Birdman was the worst film he ever watched, could not understand how I thought it was a brilliant piece of art or how it won best picture.

I loved Lady Bird because I love films that are true to life and illustrate life as we live it today, it might seem vanilla to you but it's actually one of the hardest things to get right, avoid cliches, and still make for an entertaining watch.

I haven't seen Lady Bird yet but I know what you mean. I love movies that feel real and move away from the usual status quo of setting the scene, challenge arises, overcoming of challenge and everyone is happy at the end movie, it's so predictable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Catcher7791

It was this month's Mystery Matinee at the IFI this afternoon.Went down a treat.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,172 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Watched this yesterday.

a mundane film about a mundane girl living a mundane life...... seriously.... i was an hour into the movie and still asking the question "what is this movie about? where is the plot?" If its supposed to be a coming of age movie about a girl in an important era of her life ie graduating from high school to college,, then it couldn't literally have been more average and boring.

the only half interesting thing she does in the whole movie happens in the first scene when
    she throws herself out of the car
    everything after that is, again, mundane......

as for saoirse getting a best actress nomination.... FMD hasnt much to worry about... in fact Saoirse isnt even the best actress on screen in this movie, that is by far Laurie Metcalf, who plays her mother. A much more complicated, torn, developed and (bloody) interesting character.

This could have been a much better movie had it had been about the parents struggles having a whingy whiny hormonal teenage daughter and a slightly unusual family make up.

Ive seen it described as a comedy-drama... its neither funny nor dramatic.

bang average and tremendously boring movie. nothing to see here, that you havent seen in real life thousands of times before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,213 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I have seen this film 100's of times before.
    Nothing original, and nothing to care about in it.

Ronan was good in parts and cringe in a few other places especially when engaging with the mother.

Won't be going back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Glad I avoided the 'hype' for this one because I went in expecting what a lot of posters above seem to have found: a quirky, fun, but forgettable coming of age story.

It seemed to be just that for the first 30 minutes or so but at some point it took a turn and totally hooked me in for the remainder of the film.

Outstanding performances and character writing all round. Really loved it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

Was ok nothing great. Saoirse did a good job. Shape of water for best film though in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭neirbloom

I was thinking of either going to see this the weekend or either rent out Edge of Seventeen which to me looks the more interesting movie. Suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

Saw this over the weekend and thought it was good, but not amazing.

For me it paled in comparison to Frances Ha, same writer and similar themes explored, but I thought Frances Ha was far better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,039 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Thought Laurie Metcalf was the best thing about it. If anyone deserves any awards, it's her. She had the hardest and most unrewarding role to play.

On the whole, 'Lady Bird' is a fine enough film, but it's being sold as something "important", which is bunkum. Not By Gretta Gerwig, who just wanted to make a film, but by the studio and other interested parties who are using it as Oscar bait.

It's not an "important" movie in any way, shape, or form. I don't even think it's Oscar worthy, TBH. It's just a low key slice of life flick with decent performances, that's worth a look.

It’s finally out in the cinema here tomorrow! Only took them 5 months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

As a male, this film is totally unrelatable. I found it laborious to watch, and not at all engaging. I thought from the start the
    lady bird character was a right bitch. the mom too but that's obvious

my wife loved it and found it very relatable and saw a lot of similarities with her growing up, and friends of hers etc.

tigger123 wrote: »
    Saw this over the weekend and thought it was good, but not amazing.

For me it paled in comparison to Frances Ha, same writer and similar themes explored, but I thought Frances Ha was far better.

Not a patch on Francis Ha, which gets better after each viewing. Plus Gerwig was just more likeable even though at times she wasn't supposed to be, complete opposite to Ronan in Ladybird who I found dislikeable throughout the whole thing. I still think it's still Gerwig's crowning moment.

I gave Ladybird, another rewatch or two. Just to see if I was a little harsh on it. But I think I came away with the same feeling that it was an passable indie flick, but cause we're going through the Me Too thing this year, that any film with a female director and lead and which was somewhat decent, they latched on it. I said it a few day's ago that it wouldn't surprise me in the least if the Academy threw Best Director and Best film it's way.I don't think it deserves the Oscar nod's for Best Director or Best Actress at all.

I think the critical acclaim to this film won't be as kind in say 10 to 15 years as it is now.

I loved it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

neirbloom wrote: »
    I was thinking of either going to see this the weekend or either rent out Edge of Seventeen which to me looks the more interesting movie. Suggestions?
    I really enjoyed both movies. Wouldn't be a bad double bill.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,020 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

****ing adored this, TBH.

I think it was a review of the inimitable Parks & Recreations that I read a few years ago that pointed out that perhaps its greatest asset was its focus on characters who, above all else, liked each other. Sure, they fought, annoyed each other, and were polar opposites in many respects... but above all they got on.

That struck me about Lady Bird too. Again, there's plenty of interpersonal drama here, and a few characters who are downright unlikable... but, for the most part, all our main characters legitimately like and love each other. I think this gives the film a warm-hearted edge above other films of its ilk - Lady Bird and her mother may fight, but in a way that never feels like it has the potential to destroy their relationship. They'll make amends, because they feel like people who have a real connection to each other. There is, I guess, a certain goodness to most of the characters here (except maybe Timothée Chalamet's Kyle, because **** that guy), even if they all have their irritating quirks and moments of passing cruelty. I think that's a big part of why I really wanted to see all their problems resolved and them & end up with something resembling a happy ending.

There's a whole lot to love beyond that, mind. Gerwig is a beautifully non-judgmental director who reminds me of perhaps Eric Rohmer above anyone else - characters are who they are, flaws and all. Her use of succinct vignettes and pretty fast-paced editing gives everything nice momentum even though the drama is pretty resolutely low-key. I love that it's a deeply social-realist film about the heartbreak of class inequality that never lets that side of things get in the way or take away from the characters' stories (even if it always impacts them). I love how it adopts a grainy, filmic-look that gives it a potently timeless quality even when it's actually set in a very specific period of time. It shares some of the 'quirky lead character' traits you see in many films of this ilk (and, indeed, in some of Gerwig's own work with Noah Baumbach), but I also feel it pretty significantly pares them back to create a more believable character than you get in a quirk-fest like Juno.

After being left a bit chilly by The Shape of Water last week, it was also nice to see a film that really nailed the emotional beats - got to confess it got completely in that respect. Scenes like
    Lady Bird and Danny's hug outside the coffee shop
    just felt like the best sort of gut punch to me - sentimental, but in a way that felt earned and true. It has familiar beats, emotional and story, but realised with a conviction that makes them feel fresh again.

Above all, it's all just so modest. It's a small film, that isn't particularly showy, nor is it particularly radical in any way. Instead, it simply commits fully to its characters and low-stakes drama, and as far as I was concerned worked wonders within a framework that'd be narrow enough to sink other films. It may not be as woozily sensual as Call Me By Your Name or as formally rigorous and unusual as Phantom Thread, the other two best films out of this year's 'prestige' lot. But it mounts a hell of a charm offensive, and consider me charmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭allym

Saw this last night, absolutely loved it.

There was so much to relate to as a woman, reflecting on what I was like as a teen and my relationship with my Mam at that time. Which would be the same for (I imagine) most women.

I think it is more of a “character” piece with not a huge amount actually happening so I can definitely see why some people wouldn’t be into it. But I definitely enjoyed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,069 ✭✭✭sporina

Went to see this today... WTF???? And I cannot empathize that enough!!!! It has gotten soooo much hype and attention - and now I ask, why???? Is it because I live in Ireland and Saoirse is Irish and a renown actress who has been nominated for an oscar and so ie Hype here at home????
    I may as well have gone to the cinema to see an episode of my So Called Life; which I loved as a young adult but it was a tv show and not a major movie in the run up to the Oscars!
    I kept thinking - am I missing something????
    So it goes through the journey of a teenage girl and her relationship with her mother - and????? Saoirse herself was grand, but Oscar worthy?

The acting was grand as were the characters; especially he Mum, Danny and Julie.

I cannot articulate how deflated I felt when it was over... I was utterly dumbfounded.
    I think that this is because there have been some fantastic movies out this year - which is unusual nowadays for mainstream cinema; noteworthy movies such as 3 Billboards, Phantom Thread, The Shape of Water, I Tonya.