Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chapter 2 - Finding Nemo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Legend AMK. My log just became super interesting.

My own view, I'd be a hypocrite to boycot Nike. I'd also need to ditch five or six pairs of runners.

The only reason I wear Nike is some of them seem to suit me. I haven't made up my mind on the advantage of the vaporflys. I think part of me is slightly rebelling against it coz I think there is a tendency for some people to look for shortcuts and not put in the work (not on here by the way) . I know 18 stone lads with zero fitness buying these.

I do like the thoughts of the hoka but would like a test drive before buying. I need a good marathon shoe ;)

Wouldn't rule out eventually buying vaporflys but not 275 quid. I'd want to be running serious times to justify that. I also agree with L in the sense I'd rather know my gains were made through smart training. No judgement on anyone wearing these by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭MY BAD

By the time you pull the trigger to purchase Nike will have dropped the Kipchoge 1:59 shoe with a RRP of €350 and will have the Next% off the market! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭healy1835

You sign up for Trim before it sold out?

healy1835 wrote:
    You sign up for Trim before it sold out?

Trim will have to wait for another year I'm afraid. I'd only be running it for the sake of it. I'll be in no shape by then.plus Adare 10k a couple of weeks after it.
    Race plan is Adare 10k, limerick half up to May and see from there. Might do the country club five miler locally here in new years day as a fun run.

Solid week in challenging circumstances. Very sick household this week meant night duty for me all week plus work. Which meant the morning opportunities for stretching, strength and conditioning were non existent. Also had to skip Wednesday run as this was peak sickness day in the Swashbuckler household. So far me and the little fella have avoided it.

All that being said, it was a surprisingly solid week where, by the end I felt as good as I've felt in a long long time. 43 miles in total this week with an 80min and 90min run thrown in there. The other runs all had some "stuff" between strides, hill sprints or surges. Legs responding well. I'll be taking some of the advice I got on here and continuing to add and build stuff into most of my runs but very conservatively.

Plan this week is to hopefully get close to 50 miles with stuff included and see how the body responds. One long run, one medium long run and the rest easy runs with some stuff. Physio Wednesday. Sticking to my plan of physio every six weeks til the half marathon in May. Happy man. Long may it continue!

Solid week again just shy of 44 miles. Logging today as I suspect the way I'm feeling right now (cold symptoms) I won't be running tomorrow unless there's a big improvement overnight. So I won't hit my target of over fifty miles this week.

Rejigging the weeks depending on how things fall with family and work so long run was Friday this week. Decent one too just over 1hr 50mins. Lots of easy miles again this week but managed a couple of hill sprint sessions plus a 4x(20s/30s/40s) session to get the legs turning over. Midweek medium long run was decent too around 10 miles. Body feels good.

Highlight of the week was physio Tuesday. All very positive. For the first time in years I can say my left leg feels exactly the same as the right. Full sensation back in the thigh. It's a novelty. That being said it needs maintenance. The supplementary stuff has taken a hit the last couple of weeks with sickness in our house taking over. The hill sprints have helped. And I have managed some glute stuff. So I'm managing.

The big quandry I have at the moment is what to do next. Limerick Half in May is the main thing. I had expected to spend the rest of the year building back to fifty miles a week and then kicking into a half plan from Brad Hudson in early January. Progress has been quicker than expected though and looking at the first few weeks of the Hudson plan I'm already ahead of that right now. Contemplating a 10k plan for Adare at end of Feb and using that as a springboard for the Half marathon in May. Decisions decisions.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Strava return??

OOnegative wrote:
    Strava return??

Hmmm... Maybe....

Entirely up to yourself but we can be more analytical if we know what’s happening on Strava rather than taking your word for it.......(joking).

Hahaha. I have to say I've felt a certain freedom the last while. More than happy to connect with people on garmin connect by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭healy1835

Hahaha. I have to say I've felt a certain freedom the last while. More than happy to connect with people on garmin connect by the way.

Linky......

healy1835 wrote:
    Linky......

Request sent

I think you were one of the most vocal people for me to jump on the Strava bus!! As soon as I do ya disappear!!

healy1835 wrote: »
    Linky......

X2 please

OOnegative wrote:
    I think you were one of the most vocal people for me to jump on the Strava bus!! As soon as I do ya disappear!!

Haha in fairness I can't argue with that. Seen a lot of ****e (not from Boardsies) the past while on strava that just made me want to take a break from it. That, plus the injury.

OOnegative wrote:
    X2 please

I can't seem to find you?

Request sent P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

OOnegative wrote: »
    X2 please

X3 please if ya find me

Can't find you. Can you check for me

Managed to salvage something decent from the week after the head cold took full hold last weekend. Had to take a few days off the running. Chanced an easy 4M on Wednesday. Still a bit coughy and snotty but not bad enough to skip running for the rest of the week. Managed an easy 5.5M on Thursday and a 12M long run on Friday. Finished this week off with a solid 12x2min off 1min session. Dipping in and out of threshold for the session. Happy to have pieced together my first solid session in months. Probably averaged 6.20 pace for each. To be honest the pace didn't even matter. Just wanted to get the effort right. Total for the session was 10.5M.

At the moment the plan for setting up the week is Long Monday, easy Tuesday and Wednesday. Session Thursday. Longish Friday. Off Saturday, session Sunday. We'll see how that goes. Gonna piece together something not very specific for Adare with a plan for that to lead into a good ramp up to Great Limerick Half. Hopefully have a bit of craic along the way. Good to be back.

Other news, I now have way too many Nikes. The 4% were bought. That's it.... I'm done....

First race since Dunshaughlin today. Wheres that vomit emoji.........

30.09. Ran 30.06 two years ago...... Not all is lost! Race report will follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Great stuff P. Absolutely chuffed for ya. Looking forward to the report

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭MY BAD

Great race. Well done

What’s that for P, 5k.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭skyblue46

OOnegative wrote: »

:pac::pac::pac::pac:

OOnegative wrote:

5.01M ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Smashing race P, I know it's been tough with the injurys etc but running that time today has got to be a great little boost. Great way to start 2020!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Great start to 2020 and hopefully a sign of better luck with injuries etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Nice start to 2020. Hopefully a more consistent year for you but you did the right thing to pull back last year. Hope all good with the baby and you are getting sleep!