Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this how boards works now?

• 03-09-2017 09:55PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭

I keep seeing threads that work like this...

Question: I have planted potatoes and I'm looking for a way to store them once they're ready to be dug up. It needs to be mouse-proof and preferably airtight. Any suggestions?

Answer: Why didn't you plant parsnips? They're nicer and you'd get a higher yield.
    Answer: Don't use a spade to dig them up, use a fork.
    Answer: Use poison to stop the mice from eating them.
    Answer: Put them in a container.
    Answer: You don't need somewhere to store them. What you need to do is invest in a commercial deep-fryer and make cast quantities of artisan crisps. Sell the crisps at festivals.
    Answer: Don't use a fork to dig them up, use a shovel.
    Answer: You're an amateur, you shouldn't have been allowed near a garden.
    Answer: Shovels and spades are best.
    Answer: The most important thing about growing potatoes is to watch out for blight.
    Answer: Have you considered storing them in some sort of container? That's what we do and it works.
    Answer: Don't bother storing them. It makes more sense to get a stall at a farmers' market and sell them there. I have thirty years' experience in farmers' markets, I know what I'm talking about.
    Answer: OP, use a fork to dig them up and then store them somewhere safe. This is what you need. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Spear-Jackson-Elements-Digging-Fork/dp/B002W6YYUM.
    Answer: Seriously OP, you need to stop wasting your time with potatoes. Parsnips are the solution to your problem. You get a better price at farmers' markets for parsnips.

I have had some really excellent advice from boards too, from people who know what they're talking about, but that somehow makes the useless stuff
    more annoying.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Irish and their potatoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Why didnt you post this in Feedback?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

Shove them up your hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭beveragelady

Why didnt you post this in Feedback?

Perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

Stop whingeing and make us a cuppa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

It depends on where you post the question. That particular one would have been answered honestly and expertly in the Gardening forum, for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Perfect!

LOL

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,178 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Don't use a spade to dig them up, use a fork.

Was it not always like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭alberto67

Perfect!

See... you didn't answer the question. Is this how boards works now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭Benjamin Buttons

I'm not sure if AH would be the most suitable place to ask about potatoes and the digging and storing thereof.

To paraphrase Fr. Jack: ''That would be an agricultural matter'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Cervantes2

??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,764 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Hydroponics is the future of potatoes and other plants of the deadly nightshade family.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Have you tried the Fruit and Veg forum OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Why didn't you plant parsnips? They're nicer and you'd get a higher yield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭alberto67

Try the nutrition and diet forum OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Don't use a spade to dig them up, use a fork.

Compromise and use a spork

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 119 ✭✭mezzz

does the meal come with potatoes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,342 ✭✭✭limnam

Just wait till you find spots on your willeh

Esel wrote: »
    Hydroponics is the future of potatoes and other plants of the deadly nightshade family.

They are in the nightshade family. Deadly nightshade is just one species and not a family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Don't use a fork to dig them up, use a spade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,794 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Hydroponics
    I love that band.

Liamalone wrote: »
    Don't use a fork to dig them up, use a spade.

Compromise and use a spork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,764 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

They are in the nightshade family. Deadly nightshade is just one species and not a family.

Ah here - I knew you would correct me! :)

What's your opinion on hydroponics?

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Shove them up your hole

See, that's where you've been going wrong, you're supposed to shove them DOWN your hole.

Ah here - I knew you would correct me! :)

What's your opinion on hydroponics?
    New age hippy nonsense. Grand for watercress but I like a bit of muck on my spuds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Forget spuds and parsnips, Carsnips is whee the future is, ftw.........;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

When a question starts with “does anyone know...”

Yeah someone does know and it’s usually not some random lads on boards

Does anyone know know why my welfare payment was stopped?

WTF?! Like what are you going to do, head to the welfare office and tell them billy95 on boards told them they had to reinstate payments?!

What time does Harvey Norman close at? Eh.....

Or better.....

Q: Is PC World open today?

A: Yes definitely was there last Sunday

A: No, I went last Sunday and it was closed

Great, what then??? If only there was some way to search the internet for a phone number and use the least used function on your smartphone to actually call someone

.... like people are just becoming so lazy! It’s boards not f’in Wikipedia

It’s boards not f’in Wikipedia

Ah now, it's often more accurate than Wikipedia, in fairness.