Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Between the Lines with Sarah McInerney

• 02-09-2017 7:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

Off to a bad start. Why doesn't Sarah do some proper research? Not looking the smartest on the Public Service card. Very aggressive still - she hasn't learned from her sacking from the Drive show. Silly soundbites and shouting about hacking..... Not sure she is suited to live media at all !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Yeah I was about to post the same. Like a secondary school student asking questions.

"Can you guarantee that the database wont be hacked?"
    What a stupid question, can Newstalk guarantee that the phone numbers and email addresses on their database wont be hacked?

I don't understand why is she so belligerent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

Yeah I was about to post the same. Like a secondary school student asking questions.

"Can you guarantee that the database wont be hacked?"
    What a stupid question, can Newstalk guarantee that the phone numbers and email addresses on their database wont be hacked?

I don't understand why is she so belligerent?

Trying too hard to be the new VinB don't you know.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Well done on being persistent guys.

First sentence of new thread on new show and it's a negative one.

You think she's so bad you followed her immediately to her new show. Surely not just so you complain?

Well done on being persistent guys.

First sentence of new thread on new show and it's a negative one.

You think she's so bad you followed her immediately to her new show. Surely not just so you complain?

It's on where I work so I didn't chose to listen. Anyway can you give opinion on the show instead of sniping at posters?

Jobs OXO wrote:
    It's on where I work so I didn't chose to listen. Anyway can you give opinion on the show instead of sniping at posters?

Ha ha. Sniping is annoying isn't it.

Not to me but staying on topic is a nice trait. Try it some time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Jesus, lads. It comes across like you're just stalking her to complain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

I actually just switched over today to see if Sarah Carey was gone. There was a story going around that she had a screaming match with somebody in NT about her imminent removal.

I like Sarah McInerney, but I think she needs to sit down with somebody and go through a few of the tapes of the show. She is just carrying on from where she left off on the other show. And she's got to understand that there was a reason that people were switching off. She was brought in with really no broadcasting experience, so I don't think it's realistic to expect her to be brilliant straight off the bat.

Do Newstalk (and other radio stations) not do focus groups to help the presenters to see where they were going wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Five Green Bottles

Nope, didn't learn a thing, no preparation, attack attack attack, usual type of aggression.

failure to prepare is in itself preparation for failure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I thought she, and Chris, were on holidays :( she's not fantastic but she's ten times better than Ciara Kelly (I think that's her name?)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    I thought she, and Chris, were on holidays :( she's not fantastic but she's ten times better than Ciara Kelly (I think that's her name?)!

It's DOCTOR Ciara Kelly :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

Guys, did ye enjoy listening yesterday morning with your trousers around your ankles waiting for her to f**k up so ye could "paint" the radio !!

Ridiculous thread but what I've come to expect from some of the muppets in this forum !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭bot43

Are threads only allowed be positive?

From what I see the criticism is fair. She is a really really bad interviewer. If she disagrees with you she shouts you down. Nothing has changed it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Five Green Bottles

s8n wrote: »
    Guys, did ye enjoy listening yesterday morning with your trousers around your ankles waiting for her to f**k up so ye could "paint" the radio !!

Ridiculous thread but what I've come to expect from some of the muppets in this forum !!

What a fine perspective you have on things, your radio appears to be easily painted.

bot43 wrote:
    Are threads only allowed be positive?

No. Of course not. But it's a trend on all media entertainment threads here that the 80:20 rule is predominantly in the favour of negative posts.

It means that genuine criticisms are lost in the noise of negativity.

You don't like the show? Ever? Newstalk has told you how to deal with it. Move the dial.

Please adhere to discussing the content of the radio programme, its presentation, and production.

Any more references to 'painting radios' or other sexual innuendo will result in cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭wally1990

Just listened to it there ... Christ ... it sounded like Sarah wanted to have a fight with her v aggressive tone :) and Kept speaking over the minister which was v annoying and she even had to ask to let her speak at one point

Whilst I really like newstalk this was terrible in my opinion

And Christ , the hacking questions *rolls eyes*

wally1990 wrote: »
    Just listened to it there ... Christ ... it sounded like Sarah wanted to have a fight with her v aggressive tone :) and Kept speaking over the minister which was v annoying and she even had to ask to let her speak at one point

Whilst I really like newstalk this was terrible in my opinion

And Christ , the hacking questions *rolls eyes*

If she keeps this up she'll be booted from this show as well. Obviously she needs the steadying hand of an editor and perhaps should consider to just staying with print.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

i actually credit her with doing a good job on that one.

particularly with the Orwellian nonsense regina doherty was coming out with in relation to biometrics. i know for a fact theyre used for the card as when i was ordered down to get one (charming ! ) the fuking thing broke down twice and the IT guy had to come sort it out.

TBH i couldve spoofed me arse off in relation to the card as well as they sent the letter to me mas house- which i havent lived in since 2002 !

seeing as i still get a bit of banking post sent there too it'd be no prob to have it look like i still lived in a totally different area. so there goes her best way to ascertain identity rational

the whole things a fuking scam TBH. some spa forked out millions of euro for 3 million cards and were on the hook for em whether theyre handed out or not . That the REAL reason for the push.

theyve forced every granny and scobbie to take em up and now theyre trying to target the working population (hence why i seem to have got the letter when ive been in work nonstop since 1993 and claimED NO social payment in my life )

and all for a card you cant even open a bank account with. something youve no prob with your passport/drivers license.

i'd still rather the OTHER sarah still had her show in that shift but mcinerny seems to be more tolerable on her own than when paired with chris. least IMO . deffo looks like carey's legged it in a stropp though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

well i lasted 5 mins yesterday when she started going on about women preforming abortions on themselves with coat hangers.

so off to "country wide" i went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Funny how the reference point for how bad one female presenter is is another female presenter. There's a clue in there somewhere.

I see she has quit Newstalk now - no doubt you lot will be delighted.

For my own part I'm glad she's left as I thought she was comfortably the best DJ on Newstalk and wasted on some graveyard weekend slot. I hope she gets a proper mid week slot, preferably with RTE.

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Funny how the reference point for how bad one female presenter is is another female presenter.

I see she has quit Newstalk now - no doubt you lot will be delighted.

For my own part I'm glad she's left as I thought she was comfortably the best DJ on Newstalk and wasted on some graveyard weekend slot. I hope she gets a proper mid week slot, preferably with RTE.

Ciara at the time had filled in for her, hence my reference to her. Nothing to do with her being female.

Ciara at the time had filled in for her, hence my reference to her. Nothing to do with here being female.

There have been seperate boards threads in recent months on Dil Wickrasimghe, Sarah McInerney and Ciara Kelly and they have all been categorised by negative and aggressive commentary mostly coming from male contributors. Ironically one of the biggest problems the 'boardsies' have with these presenters is that they are 'too aggressive'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

There have been seperate boards threads in recent months on Dil Wickrasimghe, Sarah McInerney and Ciara Kelly and they have all been categorised by negative and aggressive commentary mostly coming from male contributors. Ironically one of the biggest problems the 'boardsies' have with these presenters is that they are 'too aggressive'.

These thread criticisms are NOT restricted to female presenters so wind your neck in. You see what you want to see and are seeking to be offended

I'm not sure what that has to do with my previous post. I wasn't a fan of Ciara, I'm not a fan of Ryan Tubridy either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Hattie Old-fashioned Police

Not familiar with Ciara, but the other two when I listened to them, both came off as aggressive, unable to debate and shout the loudest ..and the overly Politically correct/bullying of their opinions the only one that matters stance they take are annoying people (and Matt Cooper is another one who'se going down this route as well)

These thread criticisms are NOT restricted to female presenters so wind your neck in. You see what you want to see and seeking to be offended

I see what I see. Every female presenter that has appeared on Newstalk has been castigated on boards, thats a fact.

George Hook is just as aggressive as any of these, but aggressive on things people (here) agree with - so thats ok.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Birneybau wrote: »

She was likely going to be sacked. Numbers were appalling

I see what I see. Every female presenter that has appeared on Newstalk has been castigated on boards, thats a fact.

George Hook is just as aggressive as any of these, but aggressive on things people (here) agree with - so thats ok.....

The male presenters get criticised too. Jonathan Healy, Chris Donoghue, Paul Williams,Sean Moncrief, Shane Coleman,Pat Kenny all get criticism.Even George Hook did but he's been forced off the air for now.
    Looking at other threads, Ray D'Arcy,Joe Duffy and many more get loads of criticism
    So yeah, you do see what you want to see. It's not some kind of misogynistic conspiracy. People can like or dislike people and they don't see everything through the prism of gender! Imagine that!
    You're the one with the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Newstalk really need to get a grip, the roster is all over the place. Pat Kenny and Moncreif seem to be the only "rocks" in the weekday schedule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I wonder if Newstalk have considered bringing Kevin Myers in from the cold. He'd be a perfect fit at the station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭vince

That would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Jobs OXO wrote: »
    She was likely going to be sacked. Numbers were appalling
    what numbers?

Numbers of listeners

The male presenters get criticised too. Jonathan Healy, Chris Donoghue, Paul Williams,Sean Moncrief, Shane Coleman,Pat Kenny all get criticism.Even George Hook did but he's been forced off the air for now.
    Looking at other threads, Ray D'Arcy,Joe Duffy and many more get loads of criticism
    So yeah, you do see what you want to see. It's not some kind of misogynistic conspiracy. People can like or dislike people and they don't see everything through the prism of gender! Imagine that!
    You're the one with the problem.

I wouldnt say its a conspiracy - just a bunch of lads with the same view point coming together to reinforce one another's opinions......

Do you want to say 'you do see what you want to see' again? Its a great line. Three times is good, but if you go the fourth time that would really hammer home the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,709 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Whoever refers to Newstalk's presenters as D.J.s doesn't really have a right to have an opinion.

Newstalk can only be described now as a full on train wreck, it needs an experienced station controller with full autonomy to do a root and branch job on it, or it will be sold off and hollowed out. In fact that goes for all of Communicorp's stations given the 12 months they have had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,514 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Whoever refers to Newstalk's presenters as D.J.s doesn't really have a right to have an opinion.

Damn you beat me to it, seriously lol at the poster refferring to talkshow presenters as "DJ's"

I wouldnt say its a conspiracy - just a bunch of lads with the same view point coming together to reinforce one another's opinions......

Do you want to say 'you do see what you want to see' again? Its a great line. Three times is good, but if you go the fourth time that would really hammer home the message.

You used the line first genius. I merely suggested, correctly, that criticism of presenters on boards is not confined to females so your ire is misplaced.
    You then suggest it's a bunch of lads reinforcing each other. About what Tombo? Presenters in general or just the female presenters, as was your original point.
    I don't expect you to have the integrity to leave it there, but I will.
    Good luck on your crusades. God may well be a 'DJ' as you call them. You may get your celestial reward for your trojan work on the internet battlefields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Numbers of listeners
    which were what?

i'm having trouble figuring out how you could know what her numbers are when she hasn't even had her show for one JNLR quarter....

which were what?

i'm having trouble figuring out how you could know what her numbers are when she hasn't even had her show for one JNLR quarter....

There more sources than just the JNLR you know.

You can either share the figures or you cant.

Enough of the procrastination......

You can either share the figures or you cant.

Enough of the procrastination......

Pm sent

Pm sent

No PM received? Cant see it.....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

In fairness a political show at that time on a Saturday morning ain't going to do much listener wise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

CatFromHue wrote: »
    In fairness a political show at that time on a Saturday morning ain't going to do much listener wise.

Esp opposite the farming/countryside programme on Radio 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

This morning, when discussing with Richard Bruton about the new Minister Josepha Madigan's lack of Irish:
    (Paraphrased)
    RB:"She did Irish in school, and she admits herself her Irish is not as good as it was then, so I'm sure that she'll brush up on Irish now that she's in office".
    SM:"But the previous Minister made a commitment that he was going to be fluent in a certain period of time"
    RB: "Well, she's only in the job one week".
    SM:"Yes but she hasn't made a commitment".
    I don't remember Sarah being this childish and petty when she was a contributor to the VB show. I think the fact that she is now the presenter, she thinks that she has to mimic VB's similar childish and petty nature. Richard Bruton was too polite to say "Would you ever f**k off Sarah, she's a week in the job, and if she did make an announcement saying that she was learning Irish the media would vilify her for not spending time on Ministerial issues". Honestly, who would be a TD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭vince

No news on Georges return very odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

I don't see how the George return actually happens. I absolutely hope it does, but can't see how they will put him back on the air, given how many of those "rights"groups who took offense to him, and all the liberal clones that they have in the own offices. I just cant see it working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

I don't see how the George return actually happens. I absolutely hope it does, but can't see how they will put him back on the air, given how many of those "rights"groups who took offense to him, and all the liberal clones that they have in the own offices. I just cant see it working.

There are not as many liberal clones now as there were at the time of the "incident". No Chris Donohue and isn't Sarah leaving herself. Not to mention Irish broadcasting's greatest loss since the official retirement of Gaybo: namely Dil Whatishername.