Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Dubliners really Insufferable?

• 24-08-2017 12:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭

From today's Irish Times:

Why I’m glad I can’t afford to live in Dublin

This article is rather hard on the Dubs, and includes such gems as:

We are flummoxed by Dublin GAA fans’s karaoke appropriation of English soccer supporter culture, stumped as to why the bric-a-brac skyline has not been consigned to history and modern skyscrapers allowed take its place.

though we may live among Dubliners we don’t want to be like them

When we interact with natives we find them not quite like the rest of us – Irish but with an asterisk.

To live among Dubliners is one thing. But to bring up your own mini Dubs? That is a leap many of us are reluctant to make.

I have to say as a culchie who works in Dublin, I thought it was a bit harsh, but with an element of truth. Though in my experience, northside Dubs tend to be far less self conscious about their "Irishness" than southsiders, and tend to not have the same parochialism. The company I work in is in the northside, and staffed overwhelmingly by northsiders, and I never get any of the culchie hatred that I notice among a certain cohort of southsiders, especially those who are a bit precious about how terribly middle class they are.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Haters gon' hate.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Gravelly wrote: »
    Are Dubliners really Insufferable.

Not me. I'm adorable;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭xalot

I dont know if the article is supposed to be tongue in cheek but the writer says they've no friends from Dublin, think the problem might lie with them and not the dubs!

As a culchie living in the big smoke nearly all my friends are from Dublin. They (the writer) just seem like they've an axe to grind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Sure Kildare is full of Dubs anyway, stupid article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

xalot wrote: »
    I dont know if the article is supposed to be tongue in cheek but the writer says they've no friends from Dublin, think the problem might lie with them and not the dubs!

As a culchie living in the big smoke nearly all my friends are from Dublin. They (the writer) just seem like they've an axe to grind.

I've loads of Dublin friends too and I'm about as culchie as it's possible to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Sad to see the IT publishing such vapid stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Irish Times articles are becoming increasingly elitist, insufferable,and sanctimonious. I cannot even look at the drivel that is expounded daily by that "progressive" newspaper.

Whinging ****ers trying to sublimate their mid live crises into journalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

There are insufferable pricks everywhere. There are just more in Dublin, because there are more people in Dublin.

I went out with a Dublin girl for a while, she was sound.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Meh. Dubs vs. Culchies clickbait

Bunch of scrotes in Dublin.

You're either a posh knob or a knacker.

osarusan wrote: »
    Sad to see the IT publishing such vapid stuff.

This is the same IT that Una Mullaly writes for. It's a long time since publishing vapid stuff was an unusual act for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭jamesthepeach

Dubliners are grand.
    The ones who aren't millenials at least.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Jaysus why do the Irish Times print such drivel?

Well you know what they say, Dub hating is a stepping stone to racism.

Hasn't Kildare always tried to be Dublin 2.0 anyway? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

What a load of pretentious old shyte. Painfully floral and over-indulgent and the most unoriginal argument you'll ever read. People don't like natives from the capital, what an inspiring revelation! It's not like English people generally hate Londoners or Americans generally hate and revile New Yorkers if they're not personally from there. Fcuk off Ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

It's for threads like this that you really wish Boards had downvoting

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I wonder which I am so........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Thats one hell of a bitter article. Who pissed on his cornflakes.

jonnycivic wrote: »
    I wonder which I am so........

Knacker if you drive a Honda! :-)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Thats one hell of a bitter article. Who pissed on his cornflakes.

That might have been me...... :pac:

Knacker if you drive a Honda! :-)

So im a posh git then... interesting.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

faceman wrote: »
    Jaysus why do the Irish Times print such drivel?

Because it works. It's their most read article today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

that article sums up what I have always thought about a lot of culchies and their culture.

around 150 years ago, someone defined what it was to be Irish and they still insist on that being the benchmark. Anything else just isn't Irish, with absolutely no realisation that like everything, culture moves on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

If everyone would just go ahead and stay in their own County, that would be greeeeaaat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

People are annoying.

Vita nova wrote: »
    It's for threads like this that you really wish Boards had downvoting

Shooting messengers is frowned upon in polite society.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Bambi985 wrote: »
    What a load of pretentious old shyte. Painfully floral and over-indulgent and the most unoriginal argument you'll ever read. People don't like natives from the capital, what an inspiring revelation! It's not like English people generally hate Londoners or Americans generally hate and revile New Yorkers if they're not personally from there. Fcuk off Ed.
    You won't find English people living in London. I tend to find Southerners rather soft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

Meh. Dubs vs. Culchies clickbait

Actually one of the main attitudes that turns people off dub.
    Your simple 1 line sums up exactly the attitude of dubs to anyone outside dublin.

Dubs think they are on a pedestal, above the rest of the country.

B-D-P-- wrote: »

Sorry you'll have to speak up, I cant hear you from up here :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Dublin three in a row on the horizon..it makes the boggers act weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Your simple 1 line sums up exactly the attitude of dubs to anyone outside dublin.

Dubs really don't care and I'm sure lots of people from the rest of the country don't either, this rivalry is in the head of some tiny minded people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Bit of a generalisation there. Do ALL Dubs think like that?

From a culchie. This Dubs v Culchies thing that people get wound up over is such a load of nonsense. In reality, no one really cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

People from Kildare wish they were culchies....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Not all of them, but definitely most of them.

The worst type of Dubliner are the ones that see themselves as being a 'gas man'. You'd find lots of these sorts on Hill 16 on Sunday. Loud mouthed bores laughing at their own terrible jokes. Mistaking vulgarity and bad language for wit. An accent that would cut glass. Substantial drink problem. John Player Blue smoker. Big fan of white runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,018 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Even Irish Times contributors can't afford Dublin house prices... where will it end???

At least this means one less insufferable person in my county.

They say Dublin 4 is a state of mind. Maybe we can move it to Rathlin Island or sth.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

1970_Dubliners_PA100412_533x300.jpg

The worst type of Dubliner are the ones that see themselves as being a 'gas man'. You'd find lots of these sorts on Hill 16 on Sunday. Loud mouthed bores laughing at their own terrible jokes. Mistaking vulgarity and bad language for wit. An accent that would cut glass. Substantial drink problem. John Player Blue smoker. Big fan of white runners.

:D:D:D I think we've all met that lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

The IT definitely have a bit of an identity crisis these days.

They seem to veer wildly between quality broadsheet journalism, lifestyle shilling; slightly crackers Personal Politics stuff and outright clickbait like this article.

Presumably they're torn between integrity and getting some of the hot click action enjoyed by other internet 'news' outlets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

No, they're not. Next?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Bambi wrote: »
    Dublin three in a row on the horizon..it makes the boggers act weird

and the all Ireland club hurling title going to a team from Dalkey....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Surely you mean, member of an 'ethnic Minority'

21/25

About 5 years ago, I was in a certain well-known northside drinking establishment. I was with a work colleague, and we were entertaining two American clients. A young lady entered the bar, dressed in an outfit that would have made a Manilla street hooker blush, wearing around 17 coats of fake tan, obviously the worse for drink, and trailing 3 or 4 similar friends behind her. She announced to the entire bar, in a voice and accent that could be heard by dogs a continent away, that she "was gettin' ab sol ooootly foooooookin hammered, and foooook the bleedin' lot of yous" Our two American guests stared at her open-mouthed, obviously not being used to such displays of youthful exuberance. The young lady caught their eyes and screeched "what de foooooook are yous loookin at yous foooookin culchies"

It took us quite a while to explain what a culchie was, and why this young sophisticate mistook them for one.

I'd say a muck savage from Galway like yerself has had plenty of occasions to stand on the hill while Jim Gavins charges show the tribesmen how football is played :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

The IT definitely have a bit of an identity crisis these days.

They seem to veer wildly between quality broadsheet journalism, lifestyle shilling; slightly crackers Personal Politics stuff and outright clickbait like this article.

Presumably they're torn between integrity and getting some of the hot click action enjoyed by other internet 'news' outlets.

True.

But they are trying to stay afloat in a stormy commercial sea. As are the Examiner and Indo.

Plain old news doesn't work any longer as a profitable commodity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

Gravelly wrote: »
    About 5 years ago, I was in a certain well-known northside drinking establishment. I was with a work colleague, and we were entertaining two American clients. A young lady entered the bar, dressed in an outfit that would have made a Manilla street hooker blush, wearing around 17 coats of fake tan, obviously the worse for drink, and trailing 3 or 4 similar friends behind her. She announced to the entire bar, in a voice and accent that could be heard by dogs a continent away, that she "was gettin' ab sol ooootly foooooookin hammered, and foooook the bleedin' lot of yous" Our two American guests stared at her open-mouthed, obviously not being used to such displays of youthful exuberance. The young lady caught their eyes and screeched "what de foooooook are yous loookin at yous foooookin culchies"

It took us quite a while to explain what a culchie was, and why this young sophisticate mistook them for one.

What's your point? You don't think there are tramps in other counties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

GLaDOS wrote: »
    Haters gon' hate.

image.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

uch wrote: »
    Surely you mean, member of an 'ethnic Minority'

To middle-class Dubs, the term knacker always meant a working class scrotebag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Yamanoto wrote: »
    To middle-class Dubs, the term knacker always meant a working class scrotebag.

No it didn't

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Jayzwoodyalissentayerman!

Wha? Story, buddy?

What's your point? You don't think there are tramps in other counties?

Whoah there petal, did I say, or even insinuate that?

and the all Ireland club hurling title going to a team from Dalkey....:D

They're technically dubs alright :D