Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Survivor: Heroes vs Healers vs Hustlers (US)-[**SPOILERS**]

• 21-08-2017 7:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭

Survivor: Heroes vs Healers vs Hustlers (US)-[**SPOILERS**]

250px-Survivor35Logo.jpg

Season 35 of the greatest show in town CBS Survivor is due to premiere on Wednesday 27th September 2017 8/7c,8 PM Eastern Time/7 PM Central Time,featuring 18 new castaways divided into three tribes based on dominant perceived trait: "Heroes" (courage),"Healers" (helping others) and "Hustlers" (tenacity).

The initial three tribes containing six members each;Levu ("Heroes"),Soko ("Healers"),and Yawa ("Hustlers").

This is the fourth season of the show filmed in Fiji,following Survivor: Fiji,Survivor: Millennials vs. Gen X,and Survivor: Game Changers.

The premiere will be the 500th episode of Survivor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

I can see Ryan being first boot or an early vote off. Looks like the classic 'survivor nerd' who instead of keeping it to himself will want everyone to know how much of a super fan he is! Probably flip his lid the first time he sees Jeff, tribal, a challenge etc :rolleyes:

1 week to the premiere!!!!!!!!

Getting closer!!:)

Less than 24 hours!!!!!!!!! YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

I've avoided all cast info so far. Going to do a binge on the preview videos now. I assume the first 5 minutes is up as usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

This season will have to go some way to better Australian survivor, the colourful presentation could be too jarring in comparison.

Here we go!!!! :)

I know thread titled mentions spoilers but I like to use spoiler tags in case someone catches something by mistake as they are scrolling:

Thoughts as the episode airs
    Hustlers tribe suck at rowing! No communication so at challenges I don't see them doing too well. Can't believe the nerd got the advantage although the super idol sounds cool!

Amazed at all the talk of "power couple" and let's get a 4 way alliance going.
    It's day 1 ffs. These tribes are full of survivor nerds by the looks of it. :rolleyes:

Why oh why did the nerd tell the surfer dude about the advantage?!?! No benefit apart from maybe gaining a little bit of trust but can back fire big time. Alan is bloody annoying, trying to create drama by claiming there is an idol ... think it's going to backfire although he is strong and probably won't get voted out early.

Great immunity challenge! Surprised that the rail puzzle was chosen last! If the nerd (Ryan?) is clever he will give the advantage to the lady who threw up so that she stays and someone strong goes! Can't imagine that tribe not picking her to go ...
    So Ryan gave the super idol to one of the moms! Clever move. Imagine if she plays it to save the other mom but ends up getting voted out herself lol
    OMG she didn't use the super idol! Can't believe she let Katrina get voted out. They are both moms and definitely would have worked together.
    Oh well no harm in getting the weak people out first :) Boy is Alan paranoid

Enjoyable first episode!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,063 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

That feeling when a new Survivor appears in your download queue :D

Thargor wrote: »
    That feeling when a new Survivor appears in your download queue :D

Sickbeard? :)

I try to watch it live when I can so I don't see any spoilers on facebook etc but love having sickbeard as a backup (and also so that I have a copy of each episode)

Great summation kingtut.Can't believe she didn't playing the idol,typical high flying ultimately single minded financial analyst,the million bucks is the bottom line.

Second thoughts she stated she was going to leave it until after the tribal council discussion to make a decision on whither to play it,was she mistaken re her ability to play it post the vote and for another player?

Some of these survivor super fans really do overthink their pre conceptions... Power couple my ass,crazy paranoia by Alan.Trying to be too clever by half.

Hustlers are pretty useless.

Amazing the decision to leave the easiest maze for the stragglers!

First impressions are Jeff recruited pretty much the whole cast from his local gym!Seriously buff individuals.

Early favourite Ben,seems pretty sound.

kingtut wrote: »
    Sickbeard? :)

I try to watch it live when I can so I don't see any spoilers on facebook etc but love having sickbeard as a backup (and also so that I have a copy of each episode)
    No I dont like streaming, I find I cant relax because Im waiting for the buffering to start even on a beast of a connection. I use torrents and nothing else and will probably never change.

There are websites like ShowRSS that you can use to keep track of all your tv shows, they just tell you when the next new episode is coming, but if that website offers an RSS feed you can connect that RSS feed to your torrent application then every time you start the torrent app it will check for new episodes of all your shows and download any it hasn't got yet, takes a bit of setup but it works flawlessly afterwards and saves so much time if you're a tv junkie, you can tell it to only download 1080p aswell, or 1080 but grab a 720p if it cant find the 1080...

EDIT: Oh I just looked at Sickbeard and it looks like the exact same thing, yeah its the only way to go, Im set up to send stuff to the tv folder on my phone with 2 clicks for watching at work aswell.

No I dont like streaming, I find I cant relax because Im waiting for the buffering to start even on a beast of a connection. I use torrents and nothing else and will probably never change.

There are websites like ShowRSS that you can use to keep track of all your tv shows, they just tell you when the next new episode is coming, but if that website offers an RSS feed you can connect that RSS feed to your torrent application then every time you start the torrent app it will check for new episodes of all your shows and download any it hasn't got yet, takes a bit of setup but it works flawlessly afterwards and saves so much time if you're a tv junkie, you can tell it to only download 1080p aswell, or 1080 but grab a 720p if it cant find the 1080...

EDIT: Oh I just looked at Sickbeard and it looks like the exact same thing, yeah its the only way to go, Im set up to send stuff to the tv folder on my phone with 2 clicks for watching at work aswell.

That sounds great,must give it a go!

seligehgit wrote: »
    Great summation kingtut.Can't believe she didn't playing the idol,typical high flying ultimately single minded financial analyst,the million bucks is the bottom line.

Second thoughts she stated she was going to leave it until after the tribal council discussion to make a decision on whither to play it,was she mistaken re her ability to play it post the vote and for another player?

Don't think she mis-understood what to do with it, she didn't seem to flinch at all (as in didn't even glance down at her bag etc). The fact that she voted for the lady who got voted out shows that she didn't want her around. Just so surprising as they are both weak and guaranteed to work together! Although without the strong guys they might not do well.

I'm lucky that I have a pretty strong internet connection and don't have a buffering issue although I know how much of a pain it is! Just hate risking going on facebook before I have seen the episode (if I don't see it live)

Yup sounds like the same thing. You set up a list of shows you watch and anytime a new episode is available (or an episode that it does not detect on your computer) it downloads it. I find I get the latest survivor episode around 4am Irish time so whoever uploads it is pretty quick in fairness! :)

Based on the actual votes that feels like the typical first boot edit being very different to what actually happened just so they can give the audience a pretty simple narrative in the limited time with people we don't know.

If they didn't have the idol maybe they could have explained what actually happened.

Solid but unspectacular first episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Just not getting anything from this cast at all two disappointing episodes for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I'm warming up to most of the cast now - wasn't crazy about last week's premiere and something was a bit off for me, but this episode was back to the Survivor I know and love. Ali, Ryan and Devin from the Hustlers Tribe, and Ben and Chrissie from the Heroes Tribe are my early favourites. Haven't seen enough of the Healers Tribe yet to make proper judgements.

Just not getting anything from this cast at all two disappointing episodes for me
    This.

Think they're still playing catch up from not having started with a double episode.

Episode 3 let's go!!!!!!!!!

......well that was a pretty boring episode. Wouldn't say I'm super surprised that Patrick got voted off given his sh1t social game and constant idle hunts although I did expect it to be the slightly lager lady.

Mike ftw.

I say this every year but Im struggling to get into this one 3 eps in.

Episode 3 let's go!!!!!!!!!

......well that was a pretty boring episode. Wouldn't say I'm super surprised that Patrick got voted off given his sh1t social game and constant idle hunts although I did expect it to be the slightly lager lady.

Pretty disappointed Patrick went,deserved it on the basis of his performance in the IC but heck I found him highly entertaining.

This season is brimful of gym fanatics and not so street smart players.

Great tribal and use of advantages and idols.

The correct use of the idol made the advantage irrelevant but would it not have made more sense to take a vote away from one of the other duos in the new tribe as opposed to the swing voter?

Forgot to mention re last week's episode how telegraphed it was from the get go that Patrick's tribe would go to tribal council.

Anyway it was a great episode this week.Good mix up of the tribes,Cole has got to be the most naive players to every grace Survivor.Loving Jessica,definitely hope she progresses deep into the game.

Super tribal,Joe is a kind of hybrid of Hantz and Vlachos,very well played.

S.M.B. wrote: »
    The correct use of the idol made the advantage irrelevant but would it not have made more sense to take a vote away from one of the other duos in the new tribe as opposed to the swing voter?

Indeed, rookie mistake, swing voters rarely get booted.

I was praying that Chrissy would be voted out but as expected Ryan did the needful to keep her in game.Chrissy is pretty easy to dislike,she is devious and a hard nosed alpha female.Quelle surprise as a successful financial analyst.

5 eps in now and Im seriously starting to worry we have a dud season on our hands :(

Totally agree! Overall it's sh1te so far :(

Strange move by the bellhop, my main man Doctor Mike finds the idol, certain winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭noveltea

Bit disappointed with who was voted out tonight. quite like the immunity challenge

Disappointed with the vote out also and with the whole season so far!
    I'll keep watching but it's tough as it's super dull :(

Cole does appear selfish in nature but is suffering greatly from a lack of adequate nutrition.This was ably demonstrated by his syncope.

Delighted JP survived the vote,I've an in built bias towards the physical players who rock at challenges.He's a nice guy,unfortunately at this point in time he stinks as a strategic player.

Hoping the weasel that is Ryan doesn't win the game but himself and Christina are forces to be reckoned with from a strategic viewpoint.

Doctor Mike is destined to save this season, a shining beacon of light, Mike makes right.

Yeah kind of started coming together there in EP6, Ill definitely stay watching anyway. And tbh its been a while since a series was any good pre-merge anyway.

Average merge episode. Ugh! Never thought I'd find it tough to watch survivor.

At least there was a blindside :)

Well battlelines are drawn and predictably Ben came down on the side of the wicked witch of the west Chrissy.:)She's in a strong position to dominate the game.

Enjoyable tribal,Joe is a classic Tony Vlachos like player.He might pick up that clue that klutz of a player Cole somehow missed.

Hope Jessica gets her date with Cole with no need for any further mention of her virginal status.

The whole virgin shtick was just annoying as fcuk.

Doctor Mike has it in the bag.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

The whole virgin shtick was just annoying as fcuk.

She is desperate for some action with him, tbh hes a god but christ is that lad stupid, he got lucky hes good looking

Give the new Australian survivor a whirl, far better viewing.

There appears to be no way back for the Healers.Ben,Chrissy and Ryan have cemented their status as the all powerful triumvirate,dislike all three to varying degrees.Lauren is going nowhere in spite of her advantage.JP is seriously impressive in physical challenges but continues to lack any sort of a strategic/social game.He'll be jettisoned at the appropriate moment unless he goes on a serious run in the ICs.

Fed up of the focus on Ben's Marine Corp veteran status and his obvious issues with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

Shame to lose Desi,serious threat in challenges and a very attractive lady.

I found that to be the most entertaining episode so far this season! Seems literally every challenge has a hidden immunity idol clue or some sort of secret advantage though which seems excessive.

Can't believe it took so long for someone to hide the feckin plate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭noveltea

GreNoLi wrote:
    Give the new Australian survivor a whirl, far better viewing.

Where would one find this show ?

noveltea wrote: »
    Where would one find this show ?

Not to be a smart ass but eh...google.:)

Poorest season in recent memory, not even Mike's inevitable win can save it, time for a shake up.

Ah I think its redeeming itself a bit now, Im suddenly invested in a good few of the contestants after the last 2-3 episodes, before the merge I couldn't even give you their names. Joe getting a rise out of the marine guy when he kept repeating the lie about him swearing on the Marines was hilarious, he'd make a good villain in another Heroes vs Villains.
    Can't believe it took so long for someone to hide the feckin plate!
    It was a really nice plate, I was thinking Kingtut will be eating his spaghetti off that in a few weeks time :D

Ha ha :D I certainly have some unusual items in my Survivor collection but don't plan on adding a plate to it :D ... you never know what will go up for auction at the end of the season though ;)

Jessica's virginity?

GreNoLi wrote: »
    Jessica's virginity?

I almost choked on my coffee :D