Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jobs you think would be really boring.

• 17-08-2017 4:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭

Lifeguard - Trying to lose a few pounds at the moment and was in the pool the other day doing a few lengths. Struck me how depressed the lifeguard looked, sitting staring abjectly into space with a vacant look in his eyes. Sitting there for 8 hours a day must be fairly boring. Doubt they get to see much 'action' in the job, bar giving out to a few kids for doing cannonballs in the shallow end. At least if you were a beach lifeguard there is a the possibility of a shark attack, or you could check out the hotties in bikinis, or rip around on some jet ski's, or intercept some international drug shipments ( ok maybe too much baywatch as a kid)but a swimming pool lifeguard, feck that. Also have to give a mention to anything to do with payroll or finance. Anytime I walk by that part of the office they all seem manically depressed, again with the vacant stares into endless excel spreadsheets. Seems quite empty or something. Any other jobs you think seem really boring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,825 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

President.

'Tis nothing but a pain in the hoop. Bastards won't even let me bomb that fecker in North Korea, or as I call it "nuke the gook".* Mr. Jim Kim Ming Ping Ill Will or whatever his name is.

Fuck you Mickey-D and your cushy number. Try running the free world. (into the ground maybe but running it nonetheless)

Banned.

*Only taking the piss. Don't take offence. It's what the donald might actually say. 'tis only satirical if you will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭rekluse

BTW no disrespect to anyone doing any of those jobs and wouldn't mean to bash anyone who is out trying to make a living. I'm Sure they have their perks, but from the outside looking in they seem a bit dull to me.

President.

'Tis nothing but a pain in the hoop

Fuck you Mickey-D and your cushy number. Try running the free world. (into the ground maybe but running it nonetheless)

Early start in the mornings for ya aswell Donald.

rekluse wrote: »
    President.

'Tis nothing but a pain in the hoop

Early start in the mornings for ya aswell Donald.

It's only 12 minutes past midnight in the Whitehouse. I still have to give Melania a good seeing to before sending some lunatic tweets on the twitter machine before I hit the oul' leaba

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

It's only 12 minutes past midnight in the Whitehouse. I still have to give Melania a good seeing to before sending some lunatic tweets on the twitter machine before I hit the oul' leaba

So you'll be in bed and asleep by 12?

I'll sleep when I'm dead.

Given that I might start the oul' WWIII soon enough we might not have to wait too long atall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭alberto67

BTW no disrespect to anyone doing any of those jobs and wouldn't mean to bash anyone who is out trying to make a living. I'm Sure they have their perks, but from the outside looking in they seem a bit dull to me.

I am a lifeguard, felt disrespected when I read your first post. Feel much better after reading your second post, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

A static security duty. Nothing to do for your shift but sit or stand for hours on end. At least with mobile security you will see something different when on the move. And this isn't just for private security the Police and Army have loads of static security tasks.

The other is being a soldier, 99% boredom and 1% terror if in combat. So out of combat must be 100% boredom.

alberto67 wrote: »
    I am a lifeguard, felt disrespected when I read your first post. Feel much better after reading your second post, thanks.

How do you find it Alberto? Is there anything else to do other than sit and keep an eye on people swimming? I imagine that might be quite dull, but would think that giving swimming lessons to the kids would be quite rewarding.

Del2005 wrote: »

The other is being a soldier,  99% boredom and 1% terror if in combat. So out of combat must be 100% boredom.

What? You mean that "Dad's Army' lied to us? It seemed like great craic.

Strawberry seller on side of the road

You could probably read a book, listen to radio or browse the internet so might not be too bad. The council guy that 'operates' the stop/go sign when they doing road works is another that would be fairly mind numbing I imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Irish defence forces The scouts

What a pathetic excuse for an army. They even limit the bullets they can use during training exercises.

Remember the life less ordinary advert on tv of them blowing up a giant poster of a tank :D

I hear they are getting cheap tin $hite Hyundai diesel vehicles this year to replace aging fleet of Toyota and Nissan 4x4s. Even Isis and Hamas can afford brand new Toyota Hilux'.

How do you find it Alberto? Is there anything else to do other than sit and keep an eye on people swimming? I imagine that might be quite dull, but would think that giving swimming lessons to the kids would be quite rewarding.

There is more to it than just sitting and keeping an eye on people. Also, you see lovely women in bikini. Yes, coaching is very rewarding. I like emptying the pool too.

You could probably read a book, listen to radio or browse the internet so might not be too bad. The council guy that 'operates' the stop/go sign when they doing road works is another that would be fairly mind numbing I imagine.

I always taught that job was prime for automation tbh

alberto67 wrote: »

There is more to it than just sitting and keeping an eye on people. Also, you see lovely women in bikini. Yes, coaching is very rewarding. I like emptying the pool too.

I presume that's a euphemism for having a ****?

I just hope it's the ladies in bikinis that are inspiring you, and not the kids doing cannonballs.

I presume that's a euphemism for having a ****?

I just hope it's the ladies in bikinis that are inspiring you, and not the kids doing cannonballs.

No, not an euphemism. I meant emptying the pool. We don't have a **** here, we do other things but no **** ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Working in a box factory

jamesbere wrote: »
    Working in a box factory

Not as much fun as boxing in a work factory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Working in a box factory
    Just a wild guess. You work in a box factory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Working in a stable with a shovel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

anyone working in a clothes/ accessories shop- the higher end the more boring. Particularly in places like Kildare Village, where they sell one or two handbags a day maybe. How many times can you adjust the stock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Working with the council, imagine spending all day trying to do as little as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,581 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Sitting there for 8 hours a day must be fairly boring.

On the other hand, if they slack off then kids could die.

A four year old face down in the water while you sit daydreaming will really **** up your day I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Working in a box factory

I heard that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Any of those kiosks you see in shopping centres selling e cigarettes, vapping paraphernalia, phone covers etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

data entry, database administrator. Dead boring with zero job satisfaction to boot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Any job in an office. A job where the amount of walls you get to look at per day is in single figures is a prison sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Irish politician / TD. Sitting in the Dail listening to waffle. Going to meetings listening to waffle. Holding clinics for constituents...waffle. Funerals - Waffle central.

edit - Oh yeah and in general, talking a lot of waffle too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

I'll sleep when I'm dead.

Given that I might start the oul' WWIII soon enough we might not have to wait too long atall!

No you won't you just decay into nothing

A job that is either boring or fantastic depending on you personality.

Walking along a train track to check that that noting has falling on the line.

Depending on you personality all day every day walking up and down the same bit of tract talking to no one in all sorts of weather or on the other hand for some it would be heaven the quite, the lack of people, observing nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

What a pathetic excuse for an army. They even limit the bullets they can use during training exercises.

Remember the life less ordinary advert on tv of them blowing up a giant poster of a tank :D

I hear they are getting cheap tin $hite Hyundai diesel vehicles this year to replace aging fleet of Toyota and Nissan 4x4s. Even Isis and Hamas can afford brand new Toyota Hilux'.

Looks like someone didn't make the cut, it seems ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Solomon Pleasant

I always wondered if the stereotype of working in accounting was true. It's supposedly the most boring and uninspiring of professions out there but I imagine it's quite a competitive environment in many ways, particularly in one of the big 4 accounting firms.

I personally think call centre work would be very grim with regards to job satisfaction and mundanity. I don't think I've heard of anyone that says they enjoy it and the the remuneration is often quite low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Comidien for under 5's.
    Effort has to be put in for the tots to understand the jokes, so they don't go over the little ones' heads.

Just look at the documentary made with the presenter trying to explain the Simpson's cartoon some years ago. Painful to watch for grown ups, and clearly the presenter was trying very very hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Telemarketer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Doylers

There's a job where people sit in the situation room at the whitehouse all night watching TV, then prepare a daily report for the president. Sounds boring as ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,180 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Motorway Toll workers . Maybe they enjoy it but I would be bored silly handing back the change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    M50 Toll workers . Maybe they enjoy it but I would be bored silly handing back the change

Good job there's none of them on the M50 then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,180 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Avada wrote: »
    Good job there's none of them on the M50 then :D

Haha true .! It was further up north on our way to Belfast !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

Any non IT role, any business people here are puppets to technology here muahahaha

Clerical officers .....pay is decent though for what should be €10/hour role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,642 ✭✭✭cml387

Customs in Dublin airport.

Hah...smuggled cigarettes!!
    mmmm...more smuggled cigarettes.
    What..? More smuggled cigarettes.

Meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

It's not as though ISIS or Hamas are known for their pensions, though.
    iamwhoiam wrote: »
    M50 Toll workers . Maybe they enjoy it but I would be bored silly handing back the change

There's noone on the M50 handing back change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

Any of those kiosks you see in shopping centres selling e cigarettes, vapping paraphernalia, phone covers etc

I was walking by the luggage kiosk in the airport last month, and the aul lad manning the kiosk was slumped asleep in his chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

cml387 wrote: »
    Customs in Dublin airport.

mmmm...more smuggled cigarettes.
    What..? More smuggled cigarettes.

Meh.

Then think of all the stuff that they miss.

We're known as the Sieve by European traffickers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Mine. I work in a shop selling specialised equipment for a sport I have zero interest in. Spend all day pretending I know and care about it.

Someone just shoot me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

kylith wrote:
    Someone just shoot me.

Where you working? Think I found a new career!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭drake70

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Where you working? Think I found a new career!

Life termination engineer?