Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Property Porn

• Registered Users Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Carry wrote: »
    Gosh, they do have a very eclectic style of Victorian.

IF I wanted to live in a big city again, and IF I wanted to live in the US I certainly would outbit you on this one. :p

Never mind the money. I don't have it either.

Eclectic is a good way to describe SF property. I like walking through Pacific Heights and pointing out the houses I'd deign to live in (all of them).

I guess I'd let you have that one IF a Sausalito houseboat came on the market (which they rarely do - and they're so unique, you have to find one that's your style). They don't have the glam of SF, but that's some truly eclectic property porn!
    https://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270427

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Malari wrote: »
    I get you. This is kind of more like my ideal kitchen, but with fewer appliances cluttering it: https://www.houzz.com/photos/25783052/Contemporary-white-gloss-kitchen-contemporary-kitchen-london. And less of the Dermot Bannon gloss!

Ah yeah I can see why people like that style, it's very popular here in Germany, it's just too...well, modern for me.
    Malari wrote: »
    It's not to say I would hate your 40s style kitchen if it was in line with your style. I just couldn't live with a kitchen like that :-)

I understand, some people just don't like a more cluttered living space. I've settled on a style that I love as have you perhaps, so each to their own. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

Eclectic is a good way to describe SF property. I like walking through Pacific Heights and pointing out the houses I'd deign to live in (all of them).

I guess I'd let you have that one IF a Sausalito houseboat came on the market (which they rarely do - and they're so unique, you have to find one that's your style). They don't have the glam of SF, but that's some truly eclectic property porn!
    https://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270427

I changed my mind. You take the Victorian, I take the houseboat. Simple. :cool:
    Very handy considering climate change, I guess.

What do you think of this kitchen? I love it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I have a soft spot for this style of architecture anyway , but this is spectacular: http://www.themodernhouse.com/sales-list/st-anns-hill/

03-Drone-High-950x633.jpg

Persepoly wrote: »

If you put a terrazzo or terracotta floor on it, if you adorne the window with lots of kitchen herbs, if there is space for a decent espresso machine, if there would be shelves beside the cooker with lots of spices, if the dining table had more comfy chairs, if it would look more like actual people would inhabit it, if the dog had a cosy sofa to have a nap ... :pac:

I know, I know, you didn't ask me that (kitchen counter murder?).

But I do like the loft ambience.

I have a soft spot for this style of architecture anyway , but this is spectacular: http://www.themodernhouse.com/sales-list/st-anns-hill/

03-Drone-High-950x633.jpg

Oh wow. That really is amazing. I was curious when I saw the recording studio but then read a member of Roxy Music was a previous owner. I'm interested in the type of people who live in these fantastic houses.

If you put a terrazzo or terracotta floor on it, if you adorne the window with lots of kitchen herbs, if there is space for a decent espresso machine, if there would be shelves beside the cooker with lots of spices, if the dining table had more comfy chairs, if it would look more like actual people would inhabit it, if the dog had a cosy sofa to have a nap ... :pac:

I know, I know, you didn't ask me that (kitchen counter murder?).

But I do like the loft ambience.

:) I have just the one for you. I also love it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,065 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

TBH, not a fan of the big kitchens that are in style these days. I prefer the older style of it being one of the smallest rooms in the house. If you look at an iconic modernist building like Lloyd Wright's Falling Water(My dream house, but Rising Damp as the original owners came to call it :D), it's a very large house, but the kitchen is smaller than some kitchen extensions in Irish suburban semi dees. Not such a fan of open plan either TBH. Less easy to heat or cool and smells travel.

I quite fancy a castle, in the European style. Like this one in Italy. It stands on its own promontory as you do and check out the bridge to get to it. Over a gorge. Got to have a gorge. Pity it's only on around two acres. I'd sell off the 19th century "gothic" furniture though. Fill it with more modernist pieces. With a few actual medieval and renaissance pieces scattered about. Maybe convert the tower into a cool bedroom.

Or maybe this one, also in Italy. Bit more open, but with 70 odd acres more land.

There's also a villa up for sale in Capri, which was first used as Roman Emperor Tiberius' gaff. Fantastic location. Only the best for a caesar.

Castiglione-Capri.jpeg

I'd lose the swimming pool though. not a fan myself. Though if I was living in such a place maybe, for the bathing beauties that may come to visit, while I perve from bathchair underneath a blanket :D

Or buy a shedload of wild land say 600 acres upwards in somewhere like North West Spain and build a modernist house on it. Lotsa fantastic Spanish architects to choose from to make it a reality.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I must admit I like shows on TV like Grand Designs and Location, Location, Location. In the case of the former, I suppose I'm looking wistfully at stand out houses that I myself will probably never be able to afford to buy or build.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Oh wow. That really is amazing. I was curious when I saw the recording studio but then read a member of Roxy Music was a previous owner. I'm interested in the type of people who live in these fantastic houses.

Yeah, Phil Manzanera bought it in the 70's and did it up, current owner is a guy called Osman Kent he bought it in the late 90s.

Eh, not quite. But thanks. It's cute, but too small for my liking. And that wallpaper - just no.

Fierce fussy yoke so you are

So I am. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,542 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I'd be more inclined to dream of a few hundred acres of land, with some grassland and some woodland, a river too, in a climate that allows you to be outside a lot ...rather than a specific style of house.

With that land, any 'normal' house would do.

So I am. :cool:

I could easily dream my life away looking at this stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

For me, location is the most important aspect of a property.

I could easily dream my life away looking at this stuff.

So could I :)

But that's the point, at least in this thread.
    There is reality (that small kitchen that you can't bother to clean up every day and where you have to fight dampness and kick out the dog and the cat, and then the taps are leaking again, and the oven needs scrubbing, and don't forget to empty the bin) and there are dreams of space, light and clever design.

If you don't have dreams, future reality will never happen.
    And dreaming of beauty, whatever beauty means to you, keeps you sane in a world of insanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

425545.jpg

Very Hilda Ogden :pac:

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Very Hilda Ogden :pac:

Jesus. You're right. All I need is the blue rinse in my hair :p

Wibbs wrote: »
    TBH, not a fan of the big kitchens that are in style these days. I prefer the older style of it being one of the smallest rooms in the house. If you look at an iconic modernist building like Lloyd Wright's Falling Water(My dream house, but Rising Damp as the original owners came to call it :D), it's a very large house, but the kitchen is smaller than some kitchen extensions in Irish suburban semi dees. Not such a fan of open plan either TBH. Less easy to heat or cool and smells travel.

Lloyd Wright grew up as someone who never needed to enter a kitchen. He probably was used to dine out all the time or had staff to care for food for the family.

The kitchen should never be the smallest room in a house. Actually I think it's the most important place and should be spacious accordingly.
    Those who prepare food spend a lot of time in the kitchen and should be appreciated for their efforts, and believe me you do need space for proper cooking, unless the kitchen is a place where you only boil the kettle and heat the oven chips.
    I quite fancy a castle, in the European style. Like this one in Italy. It stands on its own promontory as you do and check out the bridge to get to it. Over a gorge. Got to have a gorge. Pity it's only on around two acres. I'd sell off the 19th century "gothic" furniture though. Fill it with more modernist pieces. With a few actual medieval and renaissance pieces scattered about. Maybe convert the tower into a cool bedroom.

Or maybe this one, also in Italy. Bit more open, but with 70 odd acres more land.

There's also a villa up for sale in Capri, which was first used as Roman Emperor Tiberius' gaff. Fantastic location. Only the best for a caesar.

Castiglione-Capri.jpeg

I'd lose the swimming pool though. not a fan myself. Though if I was living in such a place maybe, for the bathing beauties that may come to visit, while I perve from bathchair underneath a blanket :D

Or buy a shedload of wild land say 600 acres upwards in somewhere like North West Spain and build a modernist house on it. Lotsa fantastic Spanish architects to choose from to make it a reality.

Swoon.
    I don't even dare to look at Italian property. I'll turn into pure green envy...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,065 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Lloyd Wright grew up as someone who never needed to enter a kitchen. He probably was used to dine out all the time or had staff to care for food for the family.
    A practice I would be all too happy to accommodate. Since we're in the fantasy porn realm. :D
    The kitchen should never be the smallest room in a house. Actually I think it's the most important place and should be spacious accordingly.
    Those who prepare food spend a lot of time in the kitchen and should be appreciated for their efforts, and believe me you do need space for proper cooking, unless the kitchen is a place where you only boil the kettle and heat the oven chips.
    Well TBH C I'm not, nor ever was a foodie. Any food prep I undertake could be done on two hobs or a small open fire. No oven chips either. My veggies I'd eat raw or raw enough. I think sauces and the like are meh, a frippery, I'd rather taste the food. And my meat, red or white, fish or fowl can be prepared in an equally small space. My steak regime would be; hot pan, 10 seconds on one side, 10 seconds on t'other, kill gas(leccy cooking is the work of satan), wait another 20 seconds, drop on plate and serve. And I never or rarely eat in the kitchen, that's what a dining room is for. If others are involved or guests, I'd again prefer to keep the prep area from the consumption area. I prefer that barrier. Save for maybe breakfasting and supper and the odd snack.

Swoon.
    I don't even dare to look at Italian property. I'll turn into pure green envy...
    Aye, I'm with you there and ditto for me for French and Spanish and Greek.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

There I was , all set for an early night. Then that Wibbsy fella comes along with that Prestige property site.

Damn you Wibbs, Damn you to hell. :D:D

I never knew until tonight, that I would really love a French Chateau.
    Shocked at how affordable some of them are.

A practice I would be all too happy to accommodate. Since we're in the fantasy porn realm. :D

Well TBH C I'm not, nor ever was a foodie. Any food prep I undertake could be done on two hobs or a small open fire. No oven chips either. My veggies I'd eat raw or raw enough. I think sauces and the like are meh, a frippery, I'd rather taste the food. And my meat, red or white, fish or fowl can be prepared in an equally small space. My steak regime would be; hot pan, 10 seconds on one side, 10 seconds on t'other, kill gas(leccy cooking is the work of satan), wait another 20 seconds, drop on plate and serve. And I never or rarely eat in the kitchen, that's what a dining room is for. If others are involved or guests, I'd again prefer to keep the prep area from the consumption area. I prefer that barrier. Save for maybe breakfasting and supper and the odd snack.

Aye, I'm with you there and ditto for me for French and Spanish and Greek.

jesus, you may as well eat your steak in a pasture, its practically mooing anyway, by the sounds of it . :P

When I see really expensive houses on the likes of Daft they often are old mansions built maybe 150 to 250 years ago filled with furniture from back then, but personally I would feel suffocated by the duty to maintain the house and its historical contents and appearance. I'd much prefer an ultra-modern one-off mansion in a quiet part of the countryside with a bit of land and let others blow their millions on a Georgian mansion.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

A gorgeous houseboat up for sale! It's only a couple million (a girl can dream)
    https://sf.curbed.com/2016/8/17/12518930/sausalito-houseboat-boat-bay

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Most of the interest in this property is actually to see whats over the wall next door:)

Jake1 wrote: »
    There I was , all set for an early night. Then that Wibbsy fella comes along with that Prestige property site.

Damn you Wibbs, Damn you to hell. :D:D

I never knew until tonight, that I would really love a French Chateau.
    Shocked at how affordable some of them are.
    :D Yeah they can be quite "cheap" alright. Even more so in the middle of our Celtic tiger property madness. A French chateau on 500 acres of land, or a small flat in South Dublin. :D There's a few good reasons for the low enough prices though. They tend to be isolated as most of our European neighbours prefer city/town living(population in Ireland tends to be more spread out, hence "bungalow blight"). Even if they're close to some village or other, those picturesque little villages in France/Spain/Italy look great on property porn TV, or in high summer if they're on the tourist trail, but on the ground they tend to be near ghost towns full of the elderly and with few amenities. Then there's the upkeep on a gaff like that. Crazy money. Heating it alone could cripple all but the wealthiest. Plus they're in constant need of basic maintenance. They were also designed to house a lot of people. The family, the extended family, staff and their families etc. They were like small villages in one house. They can work as small hotels, but for an average modern family not so much.

Older smaller castles/keeps would be more practical. They were designed more for a single family in mind, so fewer rooms. They're also built of sterner materials so slightly less upkeep(and tend to keep heat in). A lot less internal light though.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

It's amazing! I'd prefer a polished concrete floor though.

The kitchen is the most important room in the house to me. I love cooking and baking and I need the space. For years I rented a place that had a tiny kitchen and the spare counter space was the size of a postage stamp! Impossible :o