Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tullamore Show

• 04-08-2017 8:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭

So who's going to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

is it worth gong--debating about going.. choice go to it--or the ploughing, which be best?
    plan take wife+kids(all girls)
    I looking at the livestock, is there much else for the women???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Is Stradbally and Tinahely(sp) on the same day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

wiggy123 wrote: »
    is there much else for the women???

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Talking to someone from tullamore.
    Talk is that it might go to 2 days.
    I wouldn't go for the 2 days. So would miss whatever was on the other day.

Tinahely on this bank holiday Monday.
    That's a dear day out for a family.
    Most of these shows are gone too dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

wiggy123 wrote: »
    is it worth gong--debating about going.. choice go to it--or the ploughing, which be best?
    plan take wife+kids(all girls)
    I looking at the livestock, is there much else for the women???

Def worth going ,I prefer it to ploughing but will go to both ,lot of rubbish at ploughing ,always find tullmore a more ag focused show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

whelan2 wrote: »
    Is Stradbally and Tinahely(sp) on the same day?

we'd go through stradbally on the way to Tinahely and there's definitely something on there the same day, is it the vintage show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Ye I love this show. Way better then the ploughing imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Bellview

Have they improved site as last time I was there lots of little hills which made moving around a pain

Bellview wrote: »
    Have they improved site as last time I was there lots of little hills which made moving around a pain

When we're ya there last?
    They did flatten out bits of it

Re moving to 2 days ppl have been talking about that for 15 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Def worth going ,I prefer it to ploughing but will go to both ,lot of rubbish at ploughing ,always find tullmore a more ag focused show

Heading down ourselves, it's a nice size for a one day show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Bellview

ganmo wrote:
    When we're ya there last? They did flatten out bits of it

7 or 8 years. I went to the other site a number of times and that was a super site until the rain fecked it. I only went once to the new site and was there with my dad and we gave the day walking up and down hills...so haven't bothered since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

By far it's better than the ploughing. Everything is on a more manageable scale to see properly, with better livestock exhibitions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

Bellview wrote: »
    7 or 8 years. I went to the other site a number of times and that was a super site until the rain fecked it. I only went once to the new site and was there with my dad and we gave the day walking up and down hills...so haven't bothered since

They have levelled it a lot more since then...the field where the cattle are is like a snooker table now compared to the mountains there at the start, still a bit of one in the trade stands but it's not bad
    Hopefully will go, some serious cattle at it, nice variety of trade stands and other exhibits and nearly something there for everyone imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭cacs

Went to the ploughing a few years ago. Never again crowds of people, too much stands selling rubbish and too big. I figured if you bought anything bigger than a box of matches it would be like trying to pull a disc Harrow around with you.
    Tullamore is focused, more animals for all the family to enjoy and reasonably sized

Is it not time we had a purpose built national showgrounds with tarmac roadways like the Royal Highland Show with easy access to public transport and maybe an airport?

https://www.royalhighlandshow.org/

When will the Irish version happen?
    50 years time. 100 years time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Coolfresian

A brilliant day out, much more agricultural focused and relaxed than the ploughing I find. Also usually better weather and no need for wellies! Could spend half the day looking at the cattle let alone some of the great stands inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

pedigree 6 wrote:
    Is it not time we had a purpose built national showgrounds with tarmac roadways like the Royal Highland Show with easy access to public transport and maybe an airport?

Some of those english shows are fantastic and not wild expensive either. Royal highland is great with the airport there then is well. Entry to tullamore at 20quid is fairly saucy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Hoping to go. Thought the machinery stands were back a bit last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Definately going. We plan our break around it. Staying in the portlaoise hotel the night before.

Had planned the horse show the day before but going to Galway on the sat for a wiggles concert.

Some of those english shows are fantastic and not wild expensive either. Royal highland is great with the airport there then is well. Entry to tullamore at 20quid is fairly saucy

The Highland is £25 to get into and to be fair Tullamore is a bigger show so I suppose they're entiitled to charge €20

I see you can get the tickets for tullamore for €17 online...foolish to pay 20 so

rangler1 wrote:
    The Highland is £25 to get into and to be fair Tullamore is a bigger show so I suppose they're entiitled to charge €20

Tullamore? Bigger than highland? Am I reading this right
    If I had a choice between which one to go to for one day I know which one I'd take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I'd say we will go , much handier to get around than the ploughing

Tullamore? Bigger than highland? Am I reading this right
    If I had a choice between which one to go to for one day I know which one I'd take

Highland record attendance is shy of 190k over 4 days (about 47k per day)
    Tullamore 62k for one day

ganmo wrote: »
    Highland record attendance is shy of 190k over 4 days (about 47k per day)
    Tullamore 62k for one day

Highland site is 120 acres, tullamore is 250acres, I've no problem getting to see everything in the highland in a day but not so in TUllamore.
    Always a good idea to sign in at the international visitor stand in the highland, they have comlimentary tea and sandwiches and clean loos, they also give you a free badge that gets you into the members areas where there's a nice bar and restaurant that there's seldom a queue at

pedigree 6 wrote: »

Somewhere around Naas would be perfect for this.

Motorways from every direction. Could be served by the train and maybe have a station.

Let's make this happen folks. :);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Planning to go this year. Will bring the young lad for his first visit. Always enjoy it and hope to catch up with a few fella boardies. Will be there for 8 and out at 3, dinner in birr while watching the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Planning to go this year. Will bring the young lad for his first visit. Always enjoy it and hope to catch up with a few fella boardies. Will be there for 8 and out at 3, dinner in birr while watching the match.

Will keep an eye out for you again ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭thetangler

Totally agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Biscuitus

Its what the ploughing used to be 10 years ago. The ploughing is pathetic these days. I won't be setting foot there again.

thetangler wrote: »
    Totally agree

We had the Spring Show (not in my time) but from what I'm told it was very good.
    I get the nightmare it would be nowadays to bring cattle trailers in to the rds.
    Also the site is too small.

But if we had a purpose built showgrounds with a stand and more permanent structures with proper transport links provided.
    This tullamore site is a bit higgeldy piggeldy. You have to walk a mile over rough ground from the southeast carpark and then a traffic jam going in and going out. It's not elderly or infirm friendly. It puts a lot of people off going for the reasons mentioned above.

It's only a temporary site.

If we were to have a purpose built showground here the organisers I'm sure would screw the public for entrance fees. I'm perfectly happy to go abroad for a proper show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Motorways from every direction. Could be served by the train and maybe have a station.

Doubt it will happen. Part of the appeal of the Ploughing for me is seeing different parts of the country and meeting people from all over in the local B&Bs. All that would be lost in a permanent site not to mention the big boost different areas get from the visitors coming into an ares for 4 or 5 days. I'm not so sure the welcome would be as good if it were confined to one area for good.
    We had the Spring Show (not in my time) but from what I'm told it was very good.
    I get the nightmare it would be nowadays to bring cattle trailers in to the rds.
    Also the site is too small.

But if we had a purpose built showgrounds with a stand and more permanent structures with proper transport links provided.
    This tullamore site is a bit higgeldy piggeldy. You have to walk a mile over rough ground from the southeast carpark and then a traffic jam going in and going out. It's not elderly or infirm friendly. It puts a lot of people off going for the reasons mentioned above.

It's only a temporary site.
    I remember the Spring show well. One of reasons it declined so rapidly was the emphasis changing from an agricultural event to attracting more urban visitors. Once farmers weren't being catered for and unable to access the exhibitors, they started staying away and the show crashed out of existence in a short number of years.

I can see the same thing happening with the ploughing now with farmers and exhibitors complaining about prices and an inability to get to stands to discuss machinery with huge numbers of gawkers, for want of another word, that have little interest in buying anything making it near impossible to get to see anything.

Saying that, I will probably be going there for 2 days this year looking for a few bits because most businesses supplying farmers will be there even if is difficult to get to them all in the one day.

Doubt it will happen. Part of the appeal of the Ploughing for me is seeing different parts of the country and meeting people from all over in the local B&Bs. All that would be lost in a permanent site not to mention the big boost different areas get from the visitors coming into an ares for 4 or 5 days. I'm not so sure the welcome would be as good if it were confined to one area for good.

I remember the Spring show well. One of reasons it declined so rapidly was the emphasis changing from an agricultural event to attracting more urban visitors. Once farmers weren't being catered for and unable to access the exhibitors, they started staying away and the show crashed out of existence in a short number of years.

I can see the same thing happening with the ploughing now with farmers and exhibitors complaining about prices and an inability to get to stands to discuss machinery with huge numbers of gawkers, for want of another word, that have little interest in buying anything making it near impossible to get to see anything.

Saying that, I will probably be going there for 2 days this year looking for a few bits because most businesses supplying farmers will be there even if is difficult to get to them all in the one day.

Dealing with the ploughing first.

The days of moving all around the country are gone.
    It'll never be in wexford or cork or Galway again. It's gone too big now and too much moolla at risk now for the organisers to move it beyond the central counties and motorways are seen as essential for the volumes of traffic going.
    The amount and cost of internal infrastructure needed now for it means that they have to have it for 2 years at least now on a site. This will go to 3 and then 5 with a good site and possibly in the future will go to a permanent site.
    Wait and see. Money talks. A Euro saved is a Euro earned.

As for tullamore you can't compare that to the ploughing as an itinerant show.
    Tullamore or the National show or whatever you want to call it would love to have a permanent base and be able to plan facilities for the future.
    It's the same as yourself with your own farm and one rented. You're not going to spend everything you have on facilities if you could be out next year and the owner benefits leaving you with nothing.

Atm though this site is a bit crap though.
    The Dublin carpark is hills and hollows and the southeastern carpark is a mile away on foot. You have to cross the main road and dodge traffic, sometimes there's a guard there to stop traffic if you're lucky. Then you have to cross into a bog with a strip cut in it by a tractor and topper, hopefully. Then you have to go up the hill into the woods all the while wondering if you should have worn your wellies instead of your shoes with the muck. Then you get to deeper muck near the stream you have to cross while avoiding the abandoned buggies. Then if you've survived the wood and mad resident offaly people in the wood like from the film "Deliverence" you reach a field and realise there's another half mile to travel.
    If you have a pair of binoculars you should be able to see the tractors and wagons ferrying people from the Dublin carpark entrance which is 100m from the showground and then start wondering why they won't ferry people the half mile from the amazon to the showground.
    So then you have to start the trek leaving behind the old people and children to fend for themselves and sometime later then you finally reach the site.

So yea I wouldn't be enthusiastic about the site or the logistics of getting people in or out of it.

Dealing with the ploughing first.

The days of moving all around the country are gone.
    It'll never be in wexford or cork or Galway again. It's gone too big now and too much moolla at risk now for the organisers to move it beyond the central counties and motorways are seen as essential for the volumes of traffic going.
    The amount and cost of internal infrastructure needed now for it means that they have to have it for 2 years at least now on a site. This will go to 3 and then 5 with a good site and possibly in the future will go to a permanent site.
    Wait and see. Money talks. A Euro saved is a Euro earned.

As for tullamore you can't compare that to the ploughing as an itinerant show.
    Tullamore or the National show or whatever you want to call it would love to have a permanent base and be able to plan facilities for the future.
    It's the same as yourself with your own farm and one rented. You're not going to spend everything you have on facilities if you could be out next year and the owner benefits leaving you with nothing.

Atm though this site is a bit crap though.
    The Dublin carpark is hills and hollows and the southeastern carpark is a mile away on foot. You have to cross the main road and dodge traffic, sometimes there's a guard there to stop traffic if you're lucky. Then you have to cross into a bog with a strip cut in it by a tractor and topper, hopefully. Then you have to go up the hill into the woods all the while wondering if you should have worn your wellies instead of your shoes with the muck. Then you get to deeper muck near the stream you have to cross while avoiding the abandoned buggies. Then if you've survived the wood and mad resident offaly people in the wood like from the film "Deliverence" you reach a field and realise there's another half mile to travel.

If you have a pair of binoculars you should be able to see the tractors and wagons ferrying people from the Dublin carpark entrance which is 100m from the showground and then start wondering why they won't ferry people the half mile from the amazon to the showground.
    So then you have to start the trek leaving behind the old people and children to fend for themselves and sometime later then you finally reach the site.

So yea I wouldn't be enthusiastic about the site or the logistics of getting people in or out of it
    You make me want to park in the SE car park for the adventure of making it to the site alive:D

You wouldn't make it.

I'll start training earlier next year:)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

^^^Ah so that's why I never see any Wexford ppl at Tullamore:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Same here

Reggie. wrote: »
    Same here

I think I'd go home if i was directed into that carpark, all Tullamore want is your money, I've seen the poor divils having to walk from that carpark.
    there was always hassle with the sheep penning, if you wanted extra penning to split males and females you'd have to walk a mile for it.
    A cattle breeder was telling me that he now enters 30 or 40 percent more cattle than he's bringing to ensure they have enough room for what they do bring on the day.....not good enough for the profit they're making.

rangler1 wrote: »
    I think I'd go home if i was directed into that carpark, all Tullamore want is your money, I've seen the poor divils having to walk from that carpark.
    there was always hassle with the sheep penning, if you wanted extra penning to split males and females you'd have to walk a mile for it.
    A cattle breeder was telling me that he now enters 30 or 40 percent more cattle than he's bringing to ensure they have enough room for what they do bring on the day.....not good enough for the profit they're making.
    Have to agree. You providing sheep for the shearing this year?

No, don't think there's any shearing competition this year,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,148 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Did I read correctly, the National Charolais show will now be included at Tullamore instead of separate day in Elphin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

The year after the Spring show stopped they ran a show in Goffs (Kill) but it didn't have the appeal the the RDS had.
    I showed a few times in Tullamore but it was a disaster queuing for hours trying to get in and out of the show with cattle.

Base price wrote: »
    The year after the Spring show stopped they ran a show in Goffs (Kill) but it didn't have the appeal the the RDS had.
    I showed a few times in Tullamore but it was a disaster queuing for hours trying to get in and out of the show with cattle.

I went to that. It was very small. The smallest show I've ever been to. There was only about 2 dozen cattle in it and no horses and then any spectators that turned up felt like eejits for going to it.

Disaster of a thing.
    The Kerry breeders of cattle were the only ones that made an effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

what age would you risk taking a toddler to tullamore show? young lad almost 30 months old. 1/2 day and ill be in and out as wount be into the livestock and no way will be coming to the ploughing as herself will be asking him to tell her what daddy was "looking at" :rolleyes:

You'll be grand. Just bring the daddy harness :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,561 ✭✭✭visatorro

I don't like going to a crowded place with kids. Heart sinks if I lose sight of them. Just don't trust myself or them in crowds. Outings here are mainly during the week so places are quieter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

You'll be grand. Just bring the daddy harness :D

we don't have one. maybe a bit of baling twine.

Can be no worse than the zoo 3 weeks ago. spent the day on my shoulders and oh pushing the buggy. I wount bring a buggy to a field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

visatorro wrote: »
    I don't like going to a crowded place with kids. Heart sinks if I lose sight of them. Just don't trust myself or them in crowds. Outings here are mainly during the week so places are quieter.
    Write your mobile number with a pen on their arm, if they do get lost someone will ring you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

whelan2 wrote: »
    Write your mobile number with a pen on their arm, if they do get lost someone will ring you.

That's a good idea .