Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Expressions you love

• 04-08-2017 4:03am

Shameless flip of the 'expressions you hate' thread.

Most of mine are purely nostalgic (and probably rural?), things I hear from older people, which seem to be disappearing.

'By-and-by' [later-on]
    e.g. Finish that job and we'll get the dinner by-and-by

''Middle of next week' [very far away, I assume]
    e.g. Finish that job or I'll throw I'll throw you into the middle of next week

'Declare into God' [oh jaysus/ I swear]
    e.g. I was belting it down the Nenagh Road and, declare unto God, there was the Gard.

'Got dead' [died/ was found dead/ Fuair sé bás]
    -Did you hear about Josie Hogan?
    -What?
    -She was got dead!

What are your favourite expressions? Not necessarily common Irish expressions , but whatever you find memorable or appealing yourselves, perhaps from childhood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

" Horse it up there, Boss! ".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

"I'm gonna smash your back door in later"

That one always goes down well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Shitehawk

A sad loss to the Irish vernacular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,169 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Put it on the long finger. (To probably, possibly get around to doing something, eventually)

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

A spurt in the hand is worth two in the bush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Wait, Josie Hogan is dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Now we're sucking diesel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I work like a japanese beaver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

"All fur coat and no knickers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Open bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

I'll shove this effin pitchfork up yer hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

"Your dinner's in the oven love, I'm taking the kids to their granny, we'll stay the night"

Heard it only once.

Ending or breaking a sentence with "says he" or "says I". Only hear it from older generation Irish anymore.

Also, living in London which has a much bigger Indian population. I read on another forum about how they love to play with unusual English words so I sort of engineered the situation where I could shoe-horn the word "bamboozle" into a conversation with a Sri Lankan. His face immediately broke into a huge grin as he replied "no sir, I can assure you there will be no bamboozlement here". Bless :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Ending or breaking a sentence with "says he" or "says I". Only hear it from older generation Irish anymore.

Also, living in London which has a much bigger Indian population. I read on another forum about how they love to play with unusual English words so I sort of engineered the situation where I could shoe-horn the word "bamboozle" into a conversation with a Sri Lankan. His face immediately broke into a huge grin as he replied "no sir, I can assure you there will be no bamboozlement here". Bless :)

I also love the "do the needfull" you hear Indians say :D

some of my favourites
    "To throw the cat amongst the pidgeons"
    "shes fond of the fella that runs with the hens"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

To described someone as being "goosed" when they're in an unfortunate situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

"Go on outta that!"

Stop talking nonsense

"Get outta that garden!"

I don't believe you

Two of my favourites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

"I nearly brained myself coming down the stairs."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

tailgunner wrote: »
    "I nearly brained myself coming down the stairs."

When I was younger my mother used to say "I'll ****ing brain you!" When I did something wrong. She never followed through thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Alright cock?

Cookin on gas, "now she's sucking diesel" .... as the engine fires up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Ride me sideways was another one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,169 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

I don't give a flying ****. Or I don't give a flying continental (as a variant). As in, I jolly well don't care.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭essgee268

as usefull as a one legged man in an arse kicking competition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Them cúnts are cúnts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Mutton dressed up as lamb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Belle E. Flops

Well I declare to Moses!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Bockety
    The table is bockety, stick a book under the short leg.

Banjaxed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

You've got to piss with the cock you're given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

"You might as well be reading a donkey his horoscope"

You're wasting your time talking to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Thanks love that was amazing

Does the pope **** in the woods?

Best line I have ever heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

"Collar don't match the cuffs" or "curtains don't match the carpet"

"Will I ****e" (Northern English expression meaning "no, I won't be doing that")

Will we go have a look see.

By Jaysus.

I'm bate.

You can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear.

As dry as Gandhi's slipper.

C'mon so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

"By Odin's beard!!!"

-a term of amazement/excitement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

Remembered another..."you can't polish a turd"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Daledge

"Yeah, no, I'll do it now in a few minutes"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

"The Cuffs and the Collar don't match. "

And any sentence that has the word 'Gallivanting' in it gets a double thumbs up from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Most of mine are purely nostalgic (and probably rural?), things I hear from older people, which seem to be disappearing.

'By-and-by' [later-on]

e.g. I was belting it down the Nenagh Road and, declare unto God, there was the Gard.

'Got dead' [died/ was found dead/ Fuair s
    -What?
    -She was got dead!

What are your favourite expressions? Not necessarily common Irish expressions , but whatever you find memorable or appealing yourselves, perhaps from childhood

I haven't heard anyone say that since the 70's, the real meaning is in the future, I'll see you bye and bye :)

'By-and-by' [later-on]

'Got dead' [died/ was found dead/ Fuair sé bás]
    -What?
    -She was got dead!

"You can say that again"
    I was in Nenagh for a few days last month and I never saw as many checkpoints. I was stopped 5 times and breathalysed 3 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭sadie1502

osarusan wrote: »
    Shitehawk

A sad loss to the Irish vernacular.

I love that saying always use it. Dunno what it means though. A ****ehawk of a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

get up the yard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

"Like looking for a pube in an afro".

More hirsute take on the "needle in a haystack" analogy.

An african in a coalshed trying to find a blackhead on his ar$e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

When reminiscing over someone who has died after a long illness;

"He went quick in the end" :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Stall the digger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Not so much an expression, as a very Irish habit of identifying people by way of a physical trait

e.g. "You know your wan Mary with the gammy leg?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,146 ✭✭✭Ms2011

"ye laid down & enjoyed it now sit up & mind it"

Anyone complaining about having kids:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Technophobe

Ah, will you whisht...

Please desist from talking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Head like a well slapped arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Hoor's melt.

Gob- insults:
    Gobsh1te, Gobdaw, Gobaloon, Gobtard, etc.

I'd ate a farmer's arse through a blackthorn hedge. (I'm starving)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

fxotoole wrote: »
    "By Odin's beard!!!"

-a term of amazement/excitement

Really??? you searched google for old sayings and that was the best you could come up with :rolleyes:

I'd safely say no one alive has ever actually said that.