Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are some unwritten rules that should become actual rules?

• 03-08-2017 4:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23

I got thinking about unwritten rules today while driving - you know the things that we all should do but some people just blatantly ignore because its not illegal/easily commented on?

What started me thinking about this was when I was merging onto the motorway this morning. A car had been close behind me exiting the roundabout and stayed far too close while coming down the ramp (I was doing approx 100km/h, steadily increasing speed at this point) when he overtook me and blocked me merging into the lane. He did it so quickly that I easily could have began to merge without realising and edged into the side of him but was keeping a close eye on my mirrors because of his speed. I just thought surely people understand that each car merges in turn? And also, don't be a dick on the road.

Anyway, what are some unwritten rules that you think should be enforced?

EDIT: Apologies for the similarities between this and a reddit thread, genuine mistake and didn't mean to duplicate. Its been brought up a few times now and I've apologised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Driver gets to choose the music.

End of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

There is a written rule for that OP......Dangerous Driving.

My unwritten rule would be pedantic objections missing the point.

Always politely acknowledge when a driver lets you out, or gives you right of way, or is otherwise considerate. Manners are free, bad manners are cheap, no manners is unforgivable.

Able bodied young people should never let elderly people stand on public transport. One day you'll be older too, according to Jarvis Cocker.

Never honk a hearse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

On travelators and escalators, stand right, walk left.

Don't be the fecking eejit blocking it up for everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 islandlady

Candie wrote: »
    Always politely acknowledge when a driver lets you out, or gives you right of way, or is otherwise considerate. Manners are free, bad manners are cheap, no manners is unforgivable.

Able bodied young people should never let elderly people stand on public transport. One day you'll be older too, according to Jarvis Cocker.

Never honk a hearse.

Yes to all of these, especially young people letting older people take their seat! Another one of mine is people who take it out on cashiers/sales assistants who clearly do not make the rules/set the prices and have no power to change what they're giving out about - bit of cop on and manners wouldn't go astray!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Never honk a hearse.

Or overtake a funeral cortege as the Mayo football team did in 1951.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

dudara wrote: »

There was a study disproving this rule done in London tube stations recently. The issue is that on large escalators nearly everybody stands. Only a few walk up.

So the right hand side is packed full and left hand side is empty.
    Just hop on. If someone gets pissy because they're late then they need to work on time management. You only save 10 seconds max anyways.

My unwritten rule is that when you're in rounds, everyone buys a round. Also you can't up your drink preference when it's not your round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

There should be a brake pedal on the passenger side of every car for my mother. She always presses an imaginary one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

islandlady wrote: »
    I got thinking about unwritten rules today while driving - you know the things that we all should do but some people just blatantly ignore because its not illegal/easily commented on?

What started me thinking about this was when I was merging onto the motorway this morning. A car had been close behind me exiting the roundabout and stayed far too close while coming down the ramp (I was doing approx 100km/h, steadily increasing speed at this point) when he overtook me and blocked me merging into the lane. He did it so quickly that I easily could have began to merge without realising and edged into the side of him but was keeping a close eye on my mirrors because of his speed. I just thought surely people understand that each car merges in turn? And also, don't be a dick on the road.

Anyway, what are some unwritten rules that you think should be enforced?

Just say you were browsing reddit. It's okay.
    Saw this five mins ago.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/AskReddit/comments/6r9xur/what_unwritten_rules_should_really_just_be/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,859 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Never stand to have a conversation or do a think in a doorway.

Never pause at the top or bottom of an escalator.

Jesus Wept wrote: »
    Saw this five mins ago.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/AskReddit/comments/6r9xur/what_unwritten_rules_should_really_just_be/

I wasn't, I often do browse reddit so may have seen the title recently and not remembered. Apologies if anyone thinks I was stealing from there, honest mistake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I got thinking about unwritten rules today while driving

You mean you read the thread earlier on reddit and thought it be good on boards :D:D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Never skip a little child in the queue at the shop. Also, do not serve the adult first who has skipped the child.

Jesus Wept wrote: »
    Saw this five mins ago.

Ah you beat me too it! lol

dudara wrote: »

And when you get off the elevator, dont stand at the top or bottom of it while you decide where you are going next.

Edit: Candie beat me to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Don't use the toilet seat to wipe your arse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

You were thinking about it or read this exact question on reddit today ?

You mean you read the thread earlier on reddit and thought it be good on boards :D:D:p

Snap!

There should be a brake pedal on the passenger side of every car for my mother. She always presses an imaginary one.

I do that all the time. I'm a much happier driver than I am a passenger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Bros before hoes

Sisters before misters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Acknowledge when someone on the road lets you by, you ignorant tools!

Never stand next to a guy at the end of 3 urinals when you could pick the first one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Chew your food with your mouth closed , for the love of God , please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

This thread is the Oasis to reddit's Beatles.

michellie wrote: »
    Snap!

Edited my original post, genuinely must have been in my mind from scrolling through reddit but wasn't intentional. Apologies again, didn't mean to copy.

Ah you beat me too it! lol

Have apologised for this mistake three times now and edited my original post.

Don't apologise.

All great artists draw inspiration from their predecessors.
    Standing on the shoulder of giants.
    An evolutionary ascension of knowledge, insight and power.
    Would we have Descartes without Aristotle?
    Einstein without Newton?
    Taylor Swift without Britney Spears?

I think not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

Never honk a hearse.
    This has been mentioned elsewhere on Boards a long time ago. You give the driver right of way and, it's been my experience, he/she may in turn do the same for another motorist further along the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Don't be in a round if you can't afford it / keep up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Never get high off your own supply...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

This isn't going very well at all

giphy.gif

Edited my original post, genuinely must have been in my mind from scrolling through reddit but wasn't intentional. Apologies again, didn't mean to copy.

Don't panic, No need to apologise :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

dont leave steaming turds in dressing rooms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

If any elevator door is closing, it's too late. You've missed it.

Wait for the next one.

hold the door for everyone in close range, especially people with buggies and their hands full.

have your money ready when paying at the counter, and decide 100% what you want before you get there. dont hmm and haww for several minutes when theres a queue building behind you.

leave everything as you found it unless you're planning on improving it.

dont make personal comments to someone you barely know or have only known 5 minutes.

dont cheap out on absolutely everything. some things are worth the price you pay.

if you see someone has dropped their things, help pick them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭SecretsOfEarth

Everyone buys their own fcuking drinks. Fcuk rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    This thread is the Oasis to reddit's Beatles.

You can't copyright no beats.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

No farting when food is being consumed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Wear sunscreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

If the spoke on another person's umbrella comes within a couple of inches of your eye, it shouldn't be frowned upon to swat it away full force with one hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

If it's safe to do so, always move into the fast lane to allow traffic to merge at junctions.

No wonderwall covers at parties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Please realise that other people may use the pavement as well as you. No walking three aside with arms interlinked unless the middle person is infirm and you are trying to support them. No walking 4+ aside under any circumstances. This also applies to those of you with buggies.

Please do do barge out onto the pavement at high speed when exiting shops without looking where you are going. If you have young children this also applies to them.

Please do not attempt to board a bus swinging a large rucksack on your back from side to side. There may be a physically infirm person behind you who is in danger of being walloped in the face or knocked off the steps. You should bear in mind that the person who is exiting slowly from the bus in front of you may have a physical disability. Do try not to push them. Yes, this also applies to your children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

If you have BO and going out in public, do us all a favour and WASH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

No talking at the urinal.

No swimming in the urinal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

With the possible exception of their grandparents, nobody finds your children as adorable, entertaining and utterly delightful as you do.

Please bear this in mind on all occasions, notably when you are tempted to show an endless stream of photos of them to acquaintances who couldn't care less, when urging them to perform a song/dance etc to show how talented they are to acquaintances who really couldn't care less, or encouraging them to express their personalities unfettered by the rules of manners or common decency when in a public place within earshot (or ankle thumping range) of strangers who certainly could care less about being assaulted by your little darlings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

If you're a short haired white man and you're wearing one of those hats Rastas wear to hold in their dreads, indoors, in July, you're a cunt.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Extendable dog leads should be kept retracted on all footpaths.

When you're walking two or three people abreast on a footpath one of you must give way to on comers.