Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray Darcy on 400,000 a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I'm calling Joe Duffy about this, it's a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

KungPao wrote: »
    I'm calling Joe Duffy about this, it's a disgrace.

You have never heard a person change a subject as quick as Joe Duffy when someone brings up RTE salaries or the licence fee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

The News Readers on the guts of €200k per annum is the real scandal here

Think about it.

News.....

Reader......

They get paid 200k to read the news.

At least the lad that does the sign language news for the deaf folk uses an acquired skill that goes beyond reading a fcuking autocue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭redlead

I think there is something very shady going on in there. Who approves all these salaries? Are they just taking tax payers money and giving themselves a rise every year? It's disgraceful.

Marian Finucan is actually the highest paid when you look at the quantity of work they all do. She's getting 300K for two mornings work a week for half the year. Darragh Moloney getting nearly 200K a year for what is basically a part time job. It's absolute nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Ah, Ray is a good aul skin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

But if we don't pay him that, he might leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Rays not worth even 5% of that, smug, arrogant bastard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Ah, Ray is a good aul skin

huh ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I believe he likes to grease himself up in low salt porridge before he takes his old bald head out for a run in the park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

Can't believe he is still in the country, on many occasions he promised he would leave if enda kenny was taoiseach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

He's worth every single penny of it ....( I may not have ever heard his show on 2FM )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Their contracts will be based on delivering an audience, and therefore an advertising share. They do seem high, especially when you've the Taoiseach on half what Tubridy makes. The ESB chief makes less than half as well. However, Tubridy, Duffy and the like do make a profit for RTE.

People listen to them in very large numbers. Not sure I'd be keen on disposing with a public service broadcaster. It's a cornerstone of a good social democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Nice to see AH moaning about highly paid and sh1t radio presenters and news readers that they pay for via the license fee. Makes a change to moaning about low paid workers outside the tax net and those on Social Welfare.:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Their contracts will be based on delivering an audience, and therefore an advertising share. They do seem high, especially when you've the Taoiseach on half what Tubridy makes. The ESB chief makes less than half as well. However, Tubridy, Duffy and the like do make a profit for RTE.

People listen to them in very large numbers. Not sure I'd be keen on disposing with a public service broadcaster. It's a cornerstone of a good social democracy.

But should those who dont use it or enjoy it have to pay for it anyway?

Fcuk all else to listen to

That should be RTE tag line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Well Ray!

Gi's a loan......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

redlead wrote: »
    I think there is something very shady going on in there. Who approves all these salaries? Are they just taking tax payers money and giving themselves a rise every year? It's disgraceful.

Marian Finucan is actually the highest paid when you look at the quantity of work they all do. She's getting 300K for two mornings work a week for half the year. Darragh Moloney getting nearly 200K a year for what is basically a part time job. It's absolute nuts.

Totally agree with you about the salaries,but I'm sure Darragh Maloney's job is full time and he is excellent both at presenting and commentating.His salary obviously went up when he replaced the late Bill O'Herlihy.

But RTE still had a deficit in 2016 and it was excused on the basis of sporting and cultural programmes.

The average wage in the place for technical staff is also very high.

huh ?

Ray Darcy. I like him and enjoy his show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Rick Shaw wrote: »

Think about it.

News.....

Reader......

At least the lad that does the sign language news for the deaf folk uses an acquired skill that goes beyond reading a fcuking autocue.
    I'm not going to justify the 200k a year, because, if that's true, I don't see how you could. But it is not the case that a news anchor just comes in and reads and then leaves. They have a massive input into the content of the broadcast and decision making about how reporting is going to be carried out. They are journalists.

Like I say, not justifying the actual salary, but people have an awful habit of assuming they know what's involved in other people's jobs when they demonstrably don't. We do this with a lot of professions when we're annoyed about them.

Ironically George Hook is often guilty of this, complaining that university lecturers do shag all work based on the reasoning that they don't have that many hours of lectures in a given week and therefore must be at home pulling themselves the rest of the time. By the same logic, I see Bryan Dobson reading the news from an autocue, therefore that must be all he does to earn his living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

€400,000?

If I pay the licence fee for 2,500 years, it equates to Ray's salary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

Think about it.

News.....

Reader......

Jesus, and there's that lad who is always f*cking up !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dampsquid

Typical Ireland....

BBC release their salaries, and people complain that women aren't paid as well as men.

In begrudgory old Ireland, all people complain about is that "some one" they "don't like" is not worth what they are paid.

Get your own f**king job for 400k a year if you don't like it.

Market rates dictate pay... if you don't like it... work f**king harder or better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 903 ✭✭✭MysticMonk

I'm not going to justify the 200k a year, because, if that's true, I don't see how you could. But it is not the case that a news anchor just comes in and reads and then leaves. They have a massive input into the content of the broadcast and decision making about how reporting is going to be carried out. They are journalists.

I feckin hate journalists.

Pero_Bueno wrote: »
    Jesus, and there's that lad who is always f*cking up !!

His salary is worth it for the bloopers alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

You misrepresent their value to RTE on a couple of fronts. Firstly, they don't make a profit for RTE, because RTE don't make a profit. Secondly, every employee works towards the profitability of the company that employs them. These individuals are just doing a job. The listeners would tune in regardless of their salaries and let's be honest most of them would not get those salaries at any other broadcaster,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Think about it.

News.....

Reader......

Ah, but who'd even bother watching the news if Brian Dobson wasn't presenting it?

Then there's the Exposé girls on €9.50 an hour, or so I'd assume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Inviere

eviltwin wrote: »
    Rays not worth even 5% of that, smug, arrogant bastard.

Couldn't agree more, obnoxious, odious, & pompus. Pure ivory tower man.
    Dampsquid wrote: »
    Typical Ireland....

BBC release their salaries, and people complain that women aren't paid as well as men.

In begrudgory old Ireland, all people complain about is that "some one" they "don't like" is not worth what they are paid.

Market rates dictate pay... if you don't like it... work f**king harder or better.

When it comes from public purses & wallets, you're damn right I'll begrudge it. Not as is the quality even remotely reflects what the cost is.

Typical Ireland....

Calm the fcuk down Ray!

You will drop all your money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Absolutely crazy money for darcy. 40 grand a year would be fair and if he can do better, let him on! Couldn't care less if the private sector want to fund him but that type of money from public funds is absolutely disgusting and that's before we take into account his atrocious broadcasting skills

Totally agree with you about the salaries,but I'm sure Darragh Maloney's job is full time and he is excellent both at presenting and commentating.His salary obviously went up when he replaced the late Bill O'Herlihy.

I could be wrong but I heard that he is basically a stay at home dad as most of his work is at weekends or in the evenings. I've nothing against him and think he is excellent at his job but what's he generally doing most weeks when there are no matches?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Typical Ireland....

What market rates? What market? A small pond here and the vast majority of these people would not be paid those salaries by any other employer.

Irish tax payers are balls out unhappy with so much. Ray Darcy in the same company as a dole lifer, single mother and dare I say again, a min wage worker. The middle class need to down tools and rebel.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Typical Ireland....

How do they set the market rate for the wages....if he was getting paid less

There's not exactly a world of other comparable jobs he could go to?

If there is no market, why don't you get a job for 400k at RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

This actually is a scandal. That is apart from the fact that the programme schedule and content are so weak.
    I am in my early 40s , and listen to a lot of radio. I honestly do not know anybody who listens to his show on RTE Radio 1. I only know a handful of people who watch his TV show. Most people I ask cannot stand him. How is he getting away with it.

What market rates?

No other Irish media employer can afford those fees, which do not compute with UK audiences of similar size.

Furthermore, it's a bit odd referring to market competition in the context of a national broadcaster which eats up almost every cent of the licence fee. That's not a free market. RTE is in receipt of public money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Exactly...no market

Why are Rte paying so much,if they have no competition for those they are employing??

*slow clap*

Good rebuttal. Do you think he is worth €400,000 for the work he does?

Never mind the begrudgery label you have introduced. It is perfectly fine to question that amount of payment for such little output.

You must be connected to RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Wasn't Brendan O'Connor pulling in a bigger audiance than the late late, yet they replace him with Ray D'Arcy whose today fm show was stagnanting, so it's a bit galling to hear the suites saying it's necessary to pay the ludicrous wages to bring in the audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Ray is on a brutal salary if you compare his workload to Joe Duffys and were paying them both for income they bring to the organisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

How much are they on per hour on the air /tv. The newsreaders are probably the highest!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Bad and all as those top salaries are, I'd say there's alot of ~100k salaries plus, floating around Montrose doing **** all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

This makes me glad I don't pay a tv licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

not in RTE they don't. The operate at a huge competitive advantage over the market place as they are backed up significantly by the licence fees. Remove either advertising or the licence fee from their income and see how well RTE go, not that they seem to be able to manage with both incomes at the moment either!

Lol - no connection to RTE or Ray. But if RTE offered you 400k to do a radio program - which he ain't bad at. And a TV program on a prime time on a Saturday night which he is woeful at. Would you not accept it. Nobody is screwing the tax player. Ray doesn't hold a gun to RTE to demand payment. that is what he negotiated with them. If you have a problem with what some one is paid, why don't you have a go yourself.

The income to the station thing doesn't wash. How many listeners followed Pat Kenny to newstalk as opposed to just tuning into Sean O Rourke? Most regular listeners of Radio one that I know will always just listen to radio 1 regardless. The draw of these guys to the station for commercial reasons is vastly overstated. You could put a monkey in charge of the late late show and the viewership would probably stay the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

A solid investment of public money.

Lol - no connection to RTE or Ray. But if RTE offered you 400k to do a radio program - which he ain't bad at. And a TV program on a prime time on a Saturday night which he is woeful at. Would you not accept it. Nobody is screwing the tax player. Ray doesn't hold a gun to RTE to demand payment. that is what he negotiated with them. If you have a problem with what some one is paid, why don't you have a go yourself.

We end up in jail if we dont pay for this sh1te

Thats how serious it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

redlead wrote: »
    The income to the station thing doesn't wash. How many listeners followed Pat Kenny to newstalk as opposed to just tuning into Sean O Rourke? Most regular listeners of Radio one that I know will always just listen to radio 1 regardless. The draw of these guys to the station for commercial reasons is vastly overstated. You could put a monkey in charge of the late late show and the viewership would probably stay the same.
    I'd actually watch it if that were the case.