Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Steam downloading nerfed?

• 20-07-2017 11:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭

For the last week I seem to be only getting 10mb/s on downloads.

I usually switch between servers in Ire and UK and get 50/60mb/s but for the last week its steadied at 10.

I generally come in from work and turn on PC, let it update my 103 games installed and make dinner. Last week or so all downloads peak at 10.

Im on virgin 480mb ( its really 180 maybe depands on the wind I guess).

Anyone else getting slow speeds from Steam lately?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Actually yeah, same here.

I thought it was my connection or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I've noticed over the past month it's gone crap, slow speeds and often stalls or dwindles to a crawl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Mine is fine, just tested now.
    I'm on a 1Gb/s line, so ye should be able to download at the right speed.

pEmYg5e.png

6473314211.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

SeantheMan wrote: »
    Mine is fine, just tested now.
    I'm on a 1Gb/s line, so ye should be able to download at the right speed.

Notes the Korea part :)

I know of 2 people not on Virgin who are having the same issue in Ireland. fair few on it so its not ISP specific I dont think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭bigphil2

Same here.. my wifi is fine rebooted the modem,laptop says im getting 280mb dl,but 0mbps showing for steam downloads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Notes the Korea part :)

I know of 2 people not on Virgin who are having the same issue in Ireland. fair few on it so its not ISP specific I dont think.

My point was though that everyone isn't being throttled to a certain limit, it's obviously still letting people download at high speeds...so the prob must be with individual ISP's

SeantheMan wrote: »
    My point was though that everyone isn't being throttled to a certain limit, it's obviously still letting people download at high speeds...so the prob must be with individual ISP's

Yeah dutch and US lads have no issues, seems to be only Irish people.

Anyone in UK confirm this?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

6474215798.png

Fastest speed I've ever gotten on steam is 1.5mbps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,583 ✭✭✭EoinHef

It started happening during the steam sale for me,thought it was just heavy load during the sale but speeds havent recovered since. Getting about 17mb max,pre sale i was getting around 30mb max. Average speed is all over the place too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭jumbobreakfast

Fine for me on Virgin Media, I have mine throttled to 25MBps (megabyte) so I don't choke the broadband to the house but I'm getting that consistently.

Only tyhing I can think of is for you to check that the download region in steam settings is set to Ireland.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Fine for me on eir 100mb fibre dloading at 11.9mbps right now.

Dcully wrote: »
    Fine for me on eir 100mb fibre dloading at 11.9mbps right now.

You should be getting 20mb? Have you ever gone above 11? previously?

Fine for me on Virgin Media, I have mine throttled to 25MBps (megabyte) so I don't choke the broadband to the house but I'm getting that consistently.

Only tyhing I can think of is for you to check that the download region in steam settings is set to Ireland.

Download on Virgin wont affect the house, what speed can you get without throttling? (we have issues with the 10 device limit and my kids youtube watchers, and wife tv watcher I have still hit 60/70mb on steam )

I had an 8gb Update for Wildlands on Uplay which oddly capped out at 10mb....

I switch regions normally use Manchester but tested LDN DBN ansd MNC last night and all capping out at 10mb.

Something is being nerfed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

it's far from 10mb download speeds you were reared

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

You should be getting 20mb? Have you ever gone above 11? previously?

Nah thats the usual dload rate for any 100 meg connection, my understanding is 10meg connection should give 1mb per second actual download speed,20 mb will give 2mb per second actual speed and so on unless im gravely mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Nah thats the usual dload rate for any 100 meg connection, my understanding is 10meg connection should give 1mb per second actual download speed,20 mb will give 2mb per second actual speed and so on unless im gravely mistaken.

8 bits in a byte and so on, so 100 megabits = 12.5 megabytes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭bigphil2

i normally get 27mbps.. nothing is a slight downgrade.. :(

It's confusing because people just say they have a 10 meg connection from their ISP which refers to Megabit (Mb) so they are not used to seeing Megabytes per second (MBps). To make it easier to compare your steam speed with your ISP's rate you can force Steam to show bits instead of bytes in Settings-->downloads-->"display downloads in bits per second"

Or else just multiply the MBps value by 8 and remember that lowercase b is bit and uppercase is bytes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I was getting 9MB/s or so last night, which is near enough the speed of my line (70Mb or something similar).
    No issues for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

Watch for the MS Compatibility Telemetry service in your task manager. Several times I've had bad downloads and found this chewing CPU at the same time. Killing it off instantly improved them to my line speed. There's various tutorials online to keep it from coming back which it will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

The conflation of Megabits and Megabytes in this thread hurts my head :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

The conflation of Megabits and Megabytes in this thread hurts my head :(

I Still need to add you for Bridge Crew.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,069 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

no problems here getting 35Mb/Sec with Eir 300 Fibre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Inviere

I'm on a 240Mb VM connection, & getting 1MB with Steam....ouch :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭platinums

same, 40mb eir fibre and getting 1.6mb download with steam - torrents fully utilise the conxion @ 4.8mbs which is nice but come on steam is paid for.
    I tried Manchester & NewYork too, same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Downloaded a lot of the games from the Capcom Humble Bundle today and was averaging about 9.0MB/s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Shougeki

EoinHef wrote: »
    It started happening during the steam sale for me,thought it was just heavy load during the sale but speeds havent recovered since. Getting about 17mb max,pre sale i was getting around 30mb max. Average speed is all over the place too.

I have never gotten over 10MB/s since i moved into the new gaff 9 months ago. On a 250MB line from virgin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

56Mbits from Sky here, sometime the dizzying heights of 57Mbits. Get 56Mbits on Steam or 7Mbytes.

Let's call it 56.6Mbits so it can be 1000 (1024?) times faster than the second internet connection I ever had. I miss my external 33.6 which was the first one I had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,583 ✭✭✭EoinHef

Shougeki wrote: »
    I have never gotten over 10MB/s since i moved into the new gaff 9 months ago. On a 250MB line from virgin....

Wireless or wired? 29/30MB/s second was the norm for me on that package.

EoinHef wrote: »
    Wireless or wired? 29/30MB/s second was the norm for me on that package.

Wired [Via TP Link plugs]. Get better with everything else. Moving gaff in a few weeks and moving Virgin with me, so lets see what happens.

End of the day not really an issue though, the games get down eventually anyways :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Weird for a while but probably early file unpacking.

cZk5V2x.png
    vTsCpeY.png
    9i5jvQk.png

Now its solid.

5EByRCm.png

About 158Mbps which is good for my homeplugs, the normally peak at 140Mb on a 240Mb Virgin link.

If you're having issue on Virgin get them to disable DSLite, IPv6 may be limiting your CDN options.

ED E wrote: »

If you're having issue on Virgin get them to disable DSLite, IPv6 may be limiting your CDN options.

Moving house so will investigate after :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Shougeki wrote: »
    Moving house so will investigate after :P

bit extreme

Skerries wrote: »
    bit extreme

All in. Go hard or go home [to a new house :P]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,560 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Started up Steam for the first time in a long while to download Inside. Didn't check download speeds, but it took long enough just to get it started. Every clocik took at least 5 seconds to do anything.
    Anyone else notice the client being really slow to navigate?

Go to Steam-->settings-->Web Browser and click delete Web Browser cache.

Was a bug from last week

Worked great. Cheers!

Still on 10MB from Steam, Origin and Uplay.

I dont think I am having a steam problem.

CastorTroy wrote: »
    ....Anyone else notice the client being really slow to navigate?

This, It was like wading through tar last night. I suspected my failing motherboar and was going to use it as an excuse for an upgrade :)

suppose its not just me then..

platinums wrote: »
    This, It was like wading through tar last night. I suspected my failing motherboar and was going to use it as an excuse for an upgrade :)

suppose its not just me then..

Hope you saw the fix after my post
    Go to Steam-->settings-->Web Browser and click delete Web Browser cache.

Was a bug from last week

Now I've noticed when I launch a game from the desktop shortcut that it tries to launch steam and gets an error saying it can't connect and to play offline. But if I open the steam client I can launch the game from there.

steam still nerfed for me. getting for Honor Free Weekend.

Just for contrast, a torrent wil go at 4.5mbs constantly, steam tops out at 1.9, which is suppose is an improvement on the 1.5 last week. :/