Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pairc Ui Chaoimh

• 20-07-2017 10:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭

A few thing here.
    1 l used to always park around Blackrock ,is that still viable?
    2 Surely the Cork county board will pay guards to direct the flow of traffic ,before and after a game...
    3 how is the pitch there?
    4 many shops etc..
    5 is WiFi available to everyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,064 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

It was last night as we got parking by the Balintemple stores but may not be for the weekend
    CCB and the guards encouraging people to park in town and get bus or walk out

Going on last plenty of guards on duty and they have a traffic plan for Saturday/Sunday

Pitch seemed in good knick. Seemed good few of players had difficulty rising the ball but that could just be the poorer standard. Didn't particularly notice people slipping

Yup very similar to croke park. Shops for tea/coffee/sweats etc , bars and fast food kiosks

Apparently there will be wifi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    It was last night as we got parking by the Balintemple stores but may not be for the weekend
    CCB and the guards encouraging people to park in town and get bus or walk out

Going on last plenty of guards on duty and they have a traffic plan for Saturday/Sunday

Pitch seemed in good knick. Seemed good few of players had difficulty rising the ball but that could just be the poorer standard. Didn't particularly notice people slipping

Yup very similar to croke park. Shops for tea/coffee/sweats etc , bars and fast food kiosks

Apparently there will be wifi

If the availability of wifi is that important to you, you may want to have a gander at the last couple of pages of the Dublin forum. At game time, Croke Park block the wifi for the sections of the lower stands, closest to the pitch. I wouldn't be surprised if they do the same thing in the Pairc.

That makes sense I suppose

answering thesultan's question there should be Vodafone wifi in the ground. I didn't check last night if it was working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭thesultan

Why bring them to the city ,why not leave people in Blackrock? I take it I can bring in a bag?

presume it is to placate the residents

I would imagine that small bags will be fine and that security will be like Croke Park

http://www.gaa.ie/news/large-bags-backpacks-allowed-croke-park/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Are they doing park and ride..?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭carq

cant wait to see the traffic jams at killeagh and castlemartyr on sunday.
    Shambolic decision having the match there

https://www.joe.ie/sport/travel-advice-pairc-ui-chaoimh-595751

Guards will be on duty in Killeagh so that should help a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭gizmo23

carq wrote: »
    cant wait to see the traffic jams at killeagh and castlemartyr on sunday.
    Shambolic decision having the match there

Yep they are indeed http://www.gaacork.ie/news/10026638/Bus_Service_from_Kent_Station_Cork_to_Pairc_Ui_Chaoimh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Where was the old Mardyke? Was at a game there around 1975/76. Someone told me it was where PUC is now but my memory of it was it was pretty central,.

The Cork Athletics grounds were where PUC is now

Closed in 1974

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cork_Athletic_Grounds

The Mardyke is central enough and is home to UCC Gaa, rugby and soccer as well as a gym

Right next to Fitzgeralds park

http://www.mardykearena.com/

data=6NPNKRJMEXVJzlL8c7HNzaOlXIFhkqoUKLL4ElezL0DVsjRQZuzFunTBb0eYKSuBebghQZHGr_oTkb-Dqf_x5MQDuVMSUqCjKp82qUuzvy7kNIkvk0RfFvFRswhDVhyS9bnPs15KlmzTu4S0xPArbfTX7BZ0o-hGQYsIAMcIs2SyctaHQ4mOabokev11yWw5kFToYKwGnhm_NPByXtLp-dqORkAyN5KyY2fzQV_A7kypONSkxxm22TR7hWHBM07s1O6yspYyX-yFjlfDKvTGcp8Aqcd_afjjqNtRMPSmyUJwVbcDXJpAIh6k4kcYhL9HWEavx5gruFablVssYjR2ot3McpVPhtAuWIfzaybhvgpR96ek2LNBuegPPlZHmAlH6QJc74mMFHN-fjyoFWApNsxnicOB2Qs5g7rR1NPsQVg8_H-JPBNrbjhKyaLUiPl5F6ME4wbxPzSIp7iFbpULxtpaVnUFbhHH18Qe9bg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭thesultan

Markcheese wrote: »
    Are they doing park and ride..?

I must get onto a few in Blackrock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Driving to midleton/carrigtwohill/glounthaune/little island and grabbing the train to Cork is probably worth considering, BÉ are running shuttle buses to the stadium I think, or you could walk it in about 30-35 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,481 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Then

f5_0086.jpg

Now
    mainMediaSize=537x291_type=image_publish=true__image.jpg

the area outside the north stand still looks a bit rough today. looking forward too seeing the stadium on sunday

amazed that nobody was killed coming out of Bruce Springsteen in 2013

How many rows are in the North stand? Got tickets for row JJ, surely that's in the last two or three rows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

How many rows are in the North stand? Got tickets for row JJ, surely that's in the last two or three rows?

You're 36 rows back there so view should be excellent

Must congratulate Cork on the beautiful new stadium. so comfortable and easy to view the action from. An awful pity about the location. It creates a huge bottleneck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭kala85

What's it like in the premium section is there restaurant there like croke park or just shops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Mac1978

As a Cork man, I must say I'm very proud of our new house. Liked the old one too - always had a great atmosphere. And for me, there is no urban stadium in Ireland in as beautiful a location. The tree lined avenues, the harbour opening up below you, the Tivoli docks and Blackrock Castle, all overlooked by the wooded slopes of Montenotte. Croke Park and the Gaelic Grounds pale into insignificance by comparison. Thurles looks ordinary and Killarney, a different kind of beautiful.

The complaints about the bottle neck never really seemed valid to me. I know the place. I know the ways in and out. I usually walk about 30 minutes, sit into my car, and drive home in very light traffic. If non Corkonians take the time to do a Google Earth, or even look at a map, there's no real need for everybody to head for the same road. As a city, Cork can accomodate much more traffic than Thurles or Killarney (less than Limerick or Dublin right now), so if people just had a wee bit more knowledge of where they're going, traffic shouldn't be a major issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭redlead

Mac1978 wrote: »
    Liked the old one too

Yeah, you lost us there .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

kala85 wrote: »
    What's it like in the premium section is there restaurant there like croke park or just shops

There's a carvery space there and lots of tables alright, along with shops and bars.

Stadium is grand, it's roomy and the views of the pitch look decent from everywhere. Would have no complaints, wouldn't rave mad about it either. Would stick to the positive side, great to see inter county games there, good buzz about the place. Handy that I don't have to drive to a game there, train was very handy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Is this going to mean PUC becoming the main stadium and being used for Munster finals ahead of Thurles from now on? I hope this doesn't lead to Thurles wanting to get a big renovation for their ground also.

The new stadium looks great on TV however looking at the wider view €80 million on a stadium that will barely be used seems like an horrific waste of money.

Is this going to mean PUC becoming the main stadium and being used for Munster finals ahead of Thurles from now on? I hope this doesn't lead to Thurles wanting to get a big renovation for their ground also.

The new stadium looks great on TV however looking at the wider view €80 million on a stadium that will barely be used seems like an horrific waste of money.

Thurles made a fúck of the redevelopments years ago. Surely a fully roofed stand without support poles could have been constructed? I'd imagine things will be the same with Tipp v Waterford, Cork v Kerry, Cork v Tipp (every 2nd occasion) being guaranteed to be played there at least.

Other than Tipp v Waterford though, it's not a neutral option for other pairings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,352 ✭✭✭threeball

This rush to built giant stadia which are no more than ego trips for county board executives are the bain of the gaa and a complete drain on funds. The association should only have one large high quality stadium in each province with each county having a top quality 5 to 12k stadium with great facilities and a fantastic pitch surface.

Now we're going to piss away another 60million on Casement park. Imagine the investment in the development of our games in weaker counties that would be possible if Croke park weren't chipping millions into these white elephants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

It's a fantastic looking stadium on camera so I wouldn't really have issues with the cost and if Ireland want to attract any major sporting events going forward we need stadia like this outside Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

surely when Munster rugby need a big stadium that is where they will play games now, instead of the Aviva?

or will Frank allow that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Good news. Just in my seat and the stadium is looking fantastic.

I'll just have to ignore the fact that I set out to make the Tipp game yesterday, but got stuck in that bloody traffic.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    It's a fantastic looking stadium on camera so I wouldn't really have issues with the cost and if Ireland want to attract any major sporting events going forward we need stadia like this outside Dublin

I have a feeling when it comes down to it most people aren't really bothered whether we get to host any major sporting events so I think there needs to be much more sense to stadium building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

I have a feeling when it comes down to it most people aren't really bothered whether we get to host any major sporting events so I think there needs to be much more sense to stadium building.

Maybe most aren't but we have spent how much on stuff like electronic voting machines or propping up failed banks. We pride ourselves on our sporting legacy and pat each other on the back when we do well but our sporting facilities for the most part are third world standard.

I would much rather we spend 80 million on something like this new stadium than the 160 million it cost to fund the Ray Burke tribunal or the 80m we spent on consultants for Irish water or 500m we spent installing water meters with a 15 year life span.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Is the grass real or synthetic?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Maybe most aren't but we have spent how much on stuff like electronic voting machines or propping up failed banks. We pride ourselves on our sporting legacy and pat each other on the back when we do well but our sporting facilities for the most part are third world standard.

I would much rather we spend 80 million on something like this new stadium than the 160 million it cost to fund the Ray Burke tribunal or the 80m we spent on consultants for Irish water or 500m we spent installing water meters with a 15 year life span.

I'd much rather we spent €80 million on our health system or education.

Jut because a **** load of money was wasted on those things you mentioned above doesn't mean it's a good idea to keep wasting it.

Oversized stadia are not an example of good sporting facilities, almost nobody gets real use of them, sport is about participation and maybe a better idea would be to use that sort of money to aid participation in sport rather than watching of sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,352 ✭✭✭threeball

I'd rather we spent it on kids and teenagers learning the games especially in weaker counties, not some vanity project that we can invite our rugby buddies around to use to promote their game and have a laugh at us drowning in debt for crumbing under used stadia.

Four 40,000 stadia in this association would be more than enough

Group of scumbags hanging around the area avoid them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    surely when Munster rugby need a big stadium that is where they will play games now, instead of the Aviva?

or will Frank allow that?

Not up to Frank .. Munster big games will be played in Thomond ...

As a Cork man, I must say I'm very proud of our new house. Liked the old one too - always had a great atmosphere. And for me, there is no urban stadium in Ireland in as beautiful a location. The tree lined avenues, the harbour opening up below you, the Tivoli docks and Blackrock Castle, all overlooked by the wooded slopes of Montenotte. Croke Park and the Gaelic Grounds pale into insignificance by comparison. Thurles looks ordinary and Killarney, a different kind of beautiful.

The complaints about the bottle neck never really seemed valid to me. I know the place. I know the ways in and out. I usually walk about 30 minutes, sit into my car, and drive home in very light traffic. If non Corkonians take the time to do a Google Earth, or even look at a map, there's no real need for everybody to head for the same road. As a city, Cork can accomodate much more traffic than Thurles or Killarney (less than Limerick or Dublin right now), so if people just had a wee bit more knowledge of where they're going, traffic shouldn't be a major issue.

Yesterday, it took me an hour to drive four miles to Dunkettle. Fair enough there was a crash but that is all it takes. A simple thing like 2 cars bumping into each other could cause a huge delay. That's a huge bottleneck right there. it didnt help that there was other events on around the City and nearby towns yesterday either. A diversion by Glanmire for the city centre folk heading out of town or to the east of the city might have been an option and then give right of way to traffic heading right to the city or straight on for the jack lynch at the dunkettle.

But to be honest, I'd say your first mistake was heading for Dunkettle. I wouldn't go through the tunnel on match day, almost reagrdless of where I was parked. Now I know it's a bit much to expect people from outside Cork to go all over town looking for alternative routes, but perhaps the Gardai should have a look at how much traffic they're moving through the tunnel, and how much is going over the 30 odd bridges in town.

I've sat in a field in Killarney for well over an hour after various Munster finals. It can take up to two hours to see the motorway after Munster Final Day in Thurles. Dublin was a nightmare for many years, though it is better now. There are four roads leading right up to the Pairc from East, West and South. Limerick is about the same - though the city is the best served in Ireland by ring roads that, frankly, seem far too big for it. Killarney has two roads into/around town, and one (closed on match day) road to the stadium. Thurles town is not accesible to traffic on match day. Yet Cork seems to be the only place that gets branded a 'bottleneck.'

You cannot drive up next to teh stadium and park the car, and you cannot drive away in free flowing traffic after the match. And you can't do those things anywhere else either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

Nobody complains about going anywhere else in Ireland, but when Cork gets selected everyone ****s themselves.

But to be honest, I'd say your first mistake was heading for Dunkettle. I wouldn't go through the tunnel on match day, almost reagrdless of where I was parked. Now I know it's a bit much to expect people from outside Cork to go all over town looking for alternative routes, but perhaps the Gardai should have a look at how much traffic they're moving through the tunnel, and how much is going over the 30 odd bridges in town.

I've sat in a field in Killarney for well over an hour after various Munster finals. It can take up to two hours to see the motorway after Munster Final Day in Thurles. Dublin was a nightmare for many years, though it is better now. There are four roads leading right up to the Pairc from East, West and South. Limerick is about the same - though the city is the best served in Ireland by ring roads that, frankly, seem far too big for it. Killarney has two roads into/around town, and one (closed on match day) road to the stadium. Thurles town is not accesible to traffic on match day. Yet Cork seems to be the only place that gets branded a 'bottleneck.'

You cannot drive up next to teh stadium and park the car, and you cannot drive away in free flowing traffic after the match. And you can't do those things anywhere else either.

If the public transport and park and ride options improved then id be glad to park the car up in a commuter town in Cork say Glanmire, WGH, Dunkettle even, en route from Tipperary. I currently do this for Dublin. Its such a convenient option. The problem all over ireland is that there is no joined up thinking. Cork GAA should go to Bus Eireann or Ianrod Eireann and come up with a plan to shuttle people from the various commuter towns. Spread out the traffic and everyone earns a few quid in fares and i think Thurles should do this too tbf.

You're correct. Cork's public transport is terrible. And it's the same everywhere else - bar Dublin.

Train from Thurles or Limerick Junction might be an option? Only about an hour from Cork - so similar to some of the Dubkin commuter lines. Half hour walk from train station to Park. Waterford and Wexford fans could have taken trains from Midleton today. I wonder if they did? Or how it worked out?

Traffic was not as bad as feared today and we got in and out quite handy

We parked 2 mins away from the entrance too the park place(across from mace garage) and it was grand although there was a group of trouble makers hanging around the area who were throwing stones and shouting abuse. They were hanging around the bridge after the game

Loved the stadium and the South stand is very similar too the lobbies in the Aviva Stadium. Views were superb and the smoking area near section 312 is nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Pablo Escobar

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Traffic was not as bad as feared today and we got in and out quite handy

We parked 2 mins away from the entrance too the park place(across from mace garage) and it was grand although there was a group of trouble makers hanging around the area who were throwing stones and shouting abuse. They were hanging around the bridge after the game

Loved the stadium and the South stand is very similar too the lobbies in the Aviva Stadium. Views were superb and the smoking area near section 312 is nice
    This was my point in the lead up. Cork handles far more traffic every day of the week and this was Sunday so it was never going to be an issue around the city once people didn't think that they could drive to the stadium. The traffic on Saturday really was nothing out of the ordinary. The last time I went through Dunkettle was last Thursday week and I got stuck there for an hour and a half. Needless to say there was no game on in PUC. All it takes is a small incident and it can happen (and frequently happens) at any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    Nobody complains about going anywhere else in Ireland, but when Cork gets selected everyone ****s themselves.

Have you looked at a map? Because it's about as uncentral as you can get...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

I was one of many moaning about the fact that it was going to be in Cork.

I went from Clare across by Caherconlish - Mitchelstown because I had planned to park in the Cork Camogie Grounds out Mahon Point direction. Changed my mind half way down because I got a text from a friend who was down already and decided to park in Kent Station. Followed Sat Nav to get me there which brought me off the M8 at the Glamire exit, through Glanmire no bother at all - Straight into the station.

Walked from there out to the Pairc with a couple of Kids. Didn't feel the walk at all as there was a great buzz around.

I was in the City End Terrace and the view was just brilliant (see the pic below). Also worth noting that the the place was very well served with stewards, gardai etc etc. Pity about the result but both sets of supporters got behind the teams from the start and great atmosphere in the stadium.

Walked back to Kent Station - Hopped in the car and drove home the old Cork Limerick road - No bother with traffic. I was home at 8:30 from a match that started at 3 and that included stopping for a good 45 mins in Mallow.

I'd be 100% happy to go to Cork again. Maybe we just had a good day traffic wise, but I'd certainly give it another shot.

423176.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

The new stadium is fantastic but did anyone else hear the persistent noise coming from some refrigeration/air conditioning or some sort of industrial source from the top/back of the stand?

I was in the upper stand and it was extremely loud, so much so that it drowned out the atmosphere and was louder than the noise from below.

I'm sure it'll be sorted next time surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Moggy13

The new stadium is fantastic but did anyone else hear the persistent noise coming from some refrigeration/air conditioning or some sort of industrial source from the top/back of the stand?

I was in the upper stand and it was extremely loud, so much so that it drowned out the atmosphere and was louder than the noise from below.

I was in Blackrock Terrace and I was only thinking the same..very noisy and definitely took from the atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭DE DEISE

I also was in Blackrock terrace the noise was also drowning out the man on the Tannoy could'nt hear him name out the teams , or announcing time added on in each half . Other than that Fantastic Stadium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Yeah very noisy. Seems like some extraction equipment or something. Not sure how easy it'll be to silence it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭webpal

You're correct. Cork's public transport is terrible. And it's the same everywhere else - bar Dublin.

Train from Thurles or Limerick Junction might be an option? Only about an hour from Cork - so similar to some of the Dubkin commuter lines. Half hour walk from train station to Park. Waterford and Wexford fans could have taken trains from Midleton today. I wonder if they did? Or how it worked out?

I looked into it and I think the last train to Middleton on Sunday was 6:15pm. It would have been very tight with tired children in tow and would have had to miss extra time were it to happen.

webpal wrote: »

I looked into it and I think the last train to Middleton on Sunday was 6:15pm. It would have been very tight with tired children in tow and would have had to miss extra time were it to happen.

Was one at 8:15, they really should be put one on at 6:45 or something though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

I don't know why people are moaning about traffic, it was a Saturday and it was going to be busy.
    Lots of Clare and Tipp fans parked at Mallow Station and go the train in and with trains every hour up until 11.00 pm, this was one of the better options.
    I heard it was pretty clear down around Mahon, friends arriving from Tipp got stuck in Castlemartyr but otherwise flew in.