Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tGC AMA with ancapailldorcha!

• 17-07-2017 6:42pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭

I suppose that it's only fair that at least one mod step up...

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Best/worst part of being a scientician?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Best/worst part of being a scientician?

Hmmm....

I'd say the best part is the work itself. It is really cool to be able to do some of the stuff we can do with cells nowadays. In my current role, I basically use a form of microscopy to select and isolate specifically modified cells for further work for researchers.

The worst is probably the career progression. I wanted to be an academic until very recently. It's a very punishing career path with little reward beyond personal satisfaction. A lot of graduates of University be it undergrads or PhD grads just head to the private sector which is often less interesting or leave altogether because academia just isn't worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Where do you see your career progressing to? Sounds like you're lab based, would you like to move out of that area at some point and if so, where?

Does working in a non-lab area of pharma e.g sales, supply chain, development strategy, clinical operations etc. interest you? If so, which areas do you think you'd be suited to from an enjoyment or personality perspective rather than qualifications or experience.

Why are you a dark horse? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Are you a Gaeilgeoir?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

What is or has been your biggest vice?

Sugar Free wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

I am lab-based, yes. Well, currently I am working in a core facility which isn’t a lab from a technical standpoint. I like working with my hands and dislike staring at a computer screen for work. I don’t think sales would suit me as I lack that essential extroverted, outgoing personality. I wouldn’t say I’m particularly good at schmoozing people either. I was thinking about changing a short while ago. One avenue I looked at was IP law which you can’t actually qualify in from University, you have to work in the relevant industry first. Pay is decent and I’m quite technically minded so I thought it’d suit me. I do like the lab though so I decided to stay for a little while longer. Another thing I think I’d like would be evidence-based policy which would involve working for someone like Science Foundation Ireland or the UK’s National Institute for Clinical Excellence (NICE) which decides whether or not the NHS will fund a certain drug. It’s something I thought about earlier this year actually.
    Why are you a dark horse? :)

When I was in University, it was my dream to do a J-1 in San Francisco. Ultimately, the parents talked me out of it but when I was researching it a lot the info I got came from this site. I decided to start a thread for which I’d need an account which required a username. I was called “Dark Horse” once or twice growing up for reasons I don’t quite recall and a friend at the time was using this moniker on another site so I nicked it.
    Permabear wrote: »

Flee.

Seriously though, if you’re referring to someone filling out applications for a science-degree or similar I would encourage them to try a general degree as they have specialisations. I know people who picked a specific subject who were trapped in it from day one whereas I did a few in my first 2 years and was then able to specialise. I would also implore this person to look into the different careers available in science which is easier than ever in this day and age and to make full use of asking questions of teaching assistants (who are often more knowledgeable than lecturers!) and other University staff. There are also options outside University such as Springboard courses though I don’t know much about them.

To answer the first question, I’d probably say George Orwell to pick one. Not sure if I have a favourite author. I do like his use of simple language and he has a way of very accurately surmising aspects of life. I recently read Down & Out in Paris and London and found parts of it harrowing. The example that springs to mind was:

“It is curious how people take it for granted that they have a right to preach at you and pray over you as soon as your income falls below a certain level.”

In terms of favourite book, I wouldn’t say that I have one. I’m trying to get into a habit where I’m reading daily. I’m going to give a shoutout to Dr. Ben Goldacre’s Bad Science though. It taught me quite a bit as well as properly exposing how science is mis-reported by the media and how people don’t understand very basic scientific concepts.

One ever been on one long haul journey. I made sure I had my Kindle but I was with a friend. We ended up chatting, drinking and watching a few movies. If I were going alone, I’d try and take a bit out of a book I think. I’m not a fan of having games on the go. Never gelled with me for some reason though I do like games in general.
    Are you a Gaeilgeoir?

Don’t know if that’s intended as a loaded question or not!
    Anyway, I do feel pride that I can speak some Irish. My problem with it isn’t the language itself, it’s the way that teaching it has been set up by the state which I think fosters resentment and apathy towards it. I’d rather it were made optional in secondary education at least. My preferred solution would be for the state to set up a trust established to protect and foster interest in the language as well as funding things like Irish cinema, websites and podcasts via grants for entrepreneurs. The technology is there to facilitate this. All we need is to encourage content generation and innovation which I think is very possible but it means that acknowledging that DeValera’s dream of a Catholic, fully self-sufficient, Gaelic-speaking Ireland is dead.
    What is or has been your biggest vice?
    Not really sure. Probably my sweet tooth. I do enjoy a good sugary or savoury treat. There was a Café on the campus of the last University campus I worked at where they sold extortionately priced fairtrade white chocolate chip cookies which I ate far too many of.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

If you had a time-machine (i.e. Tardis) which historical era would you visit first?

Manach wrote: »
    If you had a time-machine (i.e. Tardis) which historical era would you visit first?

It'd have to be Classical Antiquity I think. The birth of the Roman Empire which laid the foundation for much of modern society.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Is this a popularity contest between yourself and Wibbs?

If the Zombie apocalypse happened tomorrow, which boards member would you hit over the head and feast on their delicious brains?

Which is more insufferably hipster - Dublin or London?

What is your favourite series of Blackadder?

For you is home a feeling or a place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

What type of watch do you wear?
    What type of music do you listen to?
    One of your favourite concerts?
    Where do you see yourself in 5 years time... besides the mirror?

From your area of work what advice would you impart to an ordinary Joe on the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Don’t know if that’s intended as a loaded question or not!
    Anyway, I do feel pride that I can speak some Irish. My problem with it isn’t the language itself, it’s the way that teaching it has been set up by the state which I think fosters resentment and apathy towards it. I’d rather it were made optional in secondary education at least. My preferred solution would be for the state to set up a trust established to protect and foster interest in the language as well as funding things like Irish cinema, websites and podcasts via grants for entrepreneurs. The technology is there to facilitate this. All we need is to encourage content generation and innovation which I think is very possible but it means that acknowledging that DeValera’s dream of a Catholic, fully self-sufficient, Gaelic-speaking Ireland is dead.
    Not a loaded question at all, just curiosity. I went to all-Irish school so it's something that interests me and seeing you had an Irish username, I thought of it.

I agree a lot with your ideas and opinions regarding its future. It'd be nice to preserve it but it needs to be fun and useful, not rammed down our throats.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I agree a lot with your ideas and opinions regarding its future. It'd be nice to preserve it but it needs to be fun and useful, not rammed down our throats.
    +1. After my admittedly now ancient schooling I know more Latin and French than Irish.

Why are you drawn to science?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Is this a popularity contest between yourself and Wibbs?

<Checks other thread>.. Of course not!
    If the Zombie apocalypse happened tomorrow, which boards member would you hit over the head and feast on their delicious brains?

Interesting question. Permabear probably. He lives in the US so he might have a gun to boot. Honourable mention to Mr. Wibbs of course.
    Which is more insufferably hipster - Dublin or London?

London methinks. I do feel a bit more pressured to conform than when I was living in Dublin though I was much younger then. I'd say London, especially certain areas like Soho, Notting Hill, Camden, etc... The trendy areas are very, very hipstery.
    What is your favourite series of Blackadder?

Blackadder is something I only watched a few years ago. The first season was ok. The second was quite good with the third being an improvement. The final season was absolute perfection IMO. It seems to improve upon subsequent viewings, includes some of the top British comic actors and is one of the best examples of satire I can name. Possibly one of the best seasons of any programme and a heck of a way to end the series.
    For you is home a feeling or a place?

Interesting. Probably the former though having a network of people is the main thing IMO. I've lived something of a peripatetic existence for the last few years and London is just hilariously unsuitable to live in long term so that seems like it'll continue. There are a few places I've lived in that just.... felt right, y'know. Can't quite put a finger on it. I just felt settled. So, the former I think.
    Gebgbegb wrote: »
    What type of watch do you wear?

Only ever owned three, not including the odd Casio digital monstrosity. All three were and are Seiko's. The first was an Automatic given to me by my Father but he never wore it and it had sadly degraded over time. The second was a Seiko Kinetic. I loved that watch but it got nicked in a burglary. I bought another one very similar about a year afterwards with a gift voucher. I love Seiko watches. They're solidly built, elegant and affordable.
    What type of music do you listen to?

Mostly rock/metal. Used to be fairly hard stuff but I've mellowed a bit over time.
    One of your favourite concerts?

Rammstein. Dublin, March 2012. Chaotic perfection. Loved every minute.
    Where do you see yourself in 5 years time... besides the mirror?

Honestly, I have no idea. Hopefully in a more senior lab role, ideally in the private sector. Not sure if I fancy the wife and kids thing. Maybe a bit closer to owning a property if prices fall a bit.
    From your area of work what advice would you impart to an ordinary Joe on the street?

Hmm... I'm in a technical role which involves solving problems with cell sorters and analysers. I'd probably advocate patience, a clear head. The sky won't fall in which is a very easy thing to forget when things aren't going your way. I managed to dowse a machine worth about as much as a Ferrari or two last week but it thankfully survived. Stress isn't going to do you any good so try not to let it affect you.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Why are you drawn to science?

I'd read a lot of nature books as a child and it seemed to be the most logical career choice. It always felt like the route I was supposed to take in life. My first career choice was to become a Garda but my folks talked me out of that one thankfully*. The next one was to become a teacher but I did a week of work experience which cremated that ambition, again to my benefit. My favourite subjects in the Leaving Cert were Biology and History. I had an absolutely incredible History teacher but I didn't want to do an Arts subject that might not have lead to employment just because I'd had a great teacher so Science it was though I ended up leaving the country anyway. Ironic, I know. I liked the idea of discovering something new or doing a novel piece of work as well and it encourages a good mindset I think, intuition coupled with a healthy degree of scepticism. Or, at least it should...

*No disrespect intended. I think it takes something special to become a Gard and a lot of those lads seem to work damned hard for little to no recognition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

1) What's your favourite tradition, should you keep such things

2) Where's your favourite watering hole / spot to wet your beak?

3) I like your views on the Irish language. From looking at other cultures, is there anything you'd like to see Ireland incorporate as part of our own culture - siesta, how languages are taught et?

D'Agger wrote: »
    1) What's your favourite tradition, should you keep such things?

Don’t think I really do. When I was living in Sussex, I enjoyed a fair few Saturdays hiking on the South Downs. There were usually lovely little Cafés nearby serving Victoria Sponge which I’d always capitalise upon. Sublime way to kick off a day out.
    2) Where's your favourite watering hole / spot to wet your beak?
    My all-time favourite pub would be a lovely little Irish pub in Sheffield called The Grapes. It’s run by an Irish family. Last time I was there, they had live trad music and a lovely sheepdog doing the rounds. Like being back home!
    3) I like your views on the Irish language. From looking at other cultures, is there anything you'd like to see Ireland incorporate as part of our own culture - siesta, how languages are taught etc.?

Thanks! They’re often expressed in much hotter threads.

I think that it is a multi-faceted problem. If you take the Welsh, most of them are bilingual and quite proud of being Welsh. It’s not just the language, it’s their history, their culture, their countryside, etc… Ireland is blessed with a rich rebellious heritage which could be used to inspire interest in the language. Festivals celebrating important events are a good idea since you mention siestas. Technology is getting to a stage where computers will be able to teach you languages on a one-to-one basis. That’s something that should be invested in.

The other problem is that I don’t think that the current curriculum is up to scratch. Asking pupils to answer questions on illegible comprehensions is a pretty good way to bore them and thus discourage them from taking a further interest in the language. Unions need to be brought to heel on that front and teachers properly trained to deliver a more effective curriculum. Learn from our European neighbours.

Much of Europe is bilingual, there simply is no reason why Ireland can’t be as well.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

If you could head out on the lash with any historical figure, who would it be?

mzungu wrote: »
    If you could head out on the lash with any historical figure, who would it be?

Michael Collins. I find the man to be a source of endless fascination and I'd wager he'd be good craic as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

If you could go on a dinner date with any female who is relatively well known, living or dead, who would you choose?

What does love mean to you?

If you could go on a dinner date with any female who is relatively well known, living or dead, who would you choose?

I think I'd go with J.K. Rowling. She's inspired generations of children to read in a world awash with various gizmos, gadgets and other distractions. I liker her political views as well and she seems pretty sound.
    What does love mean to you?

I think it's the little things, like making someone a cup of tea when they're not at their best and actively trying to help. Big gestures are all well and good IMO but it's the little stuff that happens on a daily basis. I'm a perennial singleton by the way so apply salt if necessary.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Favourite fictional scientist, or portrayal of science?

Ever listened to a science audiobook?

Spot in the UK you'd recommend visiting for a few days - not a big city/obvious tourist destination.

Favourite fictional scientist, or portrayal of science?

I'm enjoying the latest season of Archer at the moment so I'm going with Dr. Krieger. For portrayal of science, I'd say the film Outbreak with Dustin Hoffman. It's muck but I was doing my degree when I saw it so I found it particularly entertaining. In the film, the virus shown in the diagrams is actually ebola.
    Ever listened to a science audiobook?

Nope. Never listened to an audiobook period. I've got the first Alan Partridge one and Nick Clegg's Politics: Between the Extremes. That's the height of my collection.
    Spot in the UK you'd recommend visiting for a few days - not a big city/obvious tourist destination.

Tricky one. I'm going with Hastings. Had a lovely day out there once. Gorged on seafood, had a lovely hike, visited the aquarium, an art museum, a fishing museum and a cottage shaped like a piece of cheese. There's a town nearby called Battle which is where the battle of Hastings was actually fought. William the Conqueror vowed to build an abbey there if he defeated Harold Godwinson. Its ruins are still there. A few days activity and relaxation there I think. Hastings has a pretty dodgy reputation though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Is Boards.ie involvement a way for you to keep in contact with Ireland?

Will Brexit actually happen?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

It has been mentioned elsewhere that reporting of science in the media can be somewhat lacking. What changes would you make to rectify this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

I read on one of the other AMAs that you have Preacher on your Kindle.

Anything else similar on your Kindle re graphic novel/comics?

Doesn't it annoy you that you are only seeing it in black and white and that you can't see the colour?

Would you not put it on a tablet instead of Kindle, for full colour?

Any recommendations?

Is Boards.ie involvement a way for you to keep in contact with Ireland?

I would say yes. Even with technology that we have today, there’s no substitute for actually being in Ireland. It is nice to have Boards but I do miss just being able to meet the friends I have in Dublin.
    Will Brexit actually happen?

I don’t know at this stage! I dearly hope not. I was fully committed to remaining in the EU before the referendum and still am. The problem is that the relationship an EU member state has with the EU is like a marriage. The press here framed it as more of a slave-slave owner relationship and has been doing for years. Combine that with economic stagnation, a dearth of wage growth, automation and the failure of governments to adapt to the times and Voilá! The UK has become very integrated into the single market which has been instrumental in helping it to become as economically successful as it has. Businesses depend heavily on it. The EU buys over 40% of UK exports. In addition, EU bodies have taken over regulating various sectors. To just leave would be a disaster for businesses. The two main parties depend on corporations and trade unions who both favoured remain so they’ll be pressing to ensure at least membership of the single market which puts the whole in question in all but name. Various people I know are convinced that it won’t and I’m slowly beginning to agree with them.

It’s unlikely is my answer but very possible.
    mzungu wrote: »
    It has been mentioned elsewhere that reporting of science in the media can be somewhat lacking. What changes would you make to rectify this?

Teaching of basic scientific concepts in school would sort a lot of this IMO. Things like study design, bias, randomisation, sample sizes, experimental design, ethics and such. We already teach science anyway so this would be quite straightforward. There’s a good bit of room in the Irish curriculum for this sort of thing. Any subjects like philosophy for instance which give people the tools to think about a concept and break it down should be at least available in school IMO.
    I read on one of the other AMAs that you have Preacher on your Kindle.

Anything else similar on your Kindle re graphic novel/comics?

Doesn't it annoy you that you are only seeing it in black and white and that you can't see the colour?

Would you not put it on a tablet instead of Kindle, for full colour?
    Any recommendations?

I went through a phase of reading graphic novels when I was younger. I’m from rural Donegal so moving to Dublin was a bit mind blowing back in the day because there was a mad array of shops, or so I thought back then.

After reading Preacher, I picked up Garth Ennis’ next series, The Boys which is a biting, dark satire of superhero culture. It portrays a world where they actually exist and behave in a similar manner to footballers when they go a bit mad. Depends on what you’re into. I also read 100 Bullets by Brian Azzarello, a very good noir series. Ennis’ Punisher MAX was the first set of graphic novels I ever read and it got me into them in a big way. The Marvel MAX imprint has no superheroes at all, focusing on dark, gritty storytelling instead. Vertigo’s Hellblazer is another favourite of mine. It features John Constantine and spawned a film starring Keanu Reeves in 2005.

I haven't read but have heard great things about Mike Carey’s Lucifer, Brian K. Vaughan’s Y: The Last Man and Warren Ellis’ (author of The Walking Dead) Transmetropolitan which follows a deranged gonzo journalist á la Hunter S. Thompson.

Excellent mini-series I’ve read would be Watchmen (Alan Moore), Wanted (Mark Millar), Kick-Ass (Mark Millar), V for Vendetta (Alan Moore), The Dark Knight Returns (Frank Miller) & Batman: Year One (Frank Miller)

I have a Kindle Fire. When I bought Preacher, I found that there was a page or two missing, much to my chagrin. Fortunately, when you buy them off Amazon you can download them through Comixology which seems to be pretty good. The Kindle Fire isn’t ideal for them but it’s better than having a bag of paperbacks to carry around.