Customs

• 14-07-2017 09:58AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭

Where did custom get the power to set up a checkpoints by themselves pass one yesterday with no garda present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

They have it for as long as I can remember. They also have the power to break in to a vehicle in order to test the fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭2forjoy

They don't even need to set up a checkpoint as they can stop you anywhere at random .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭mikeecho

tom85 wrote: »
    Where did custom get the power to set up a checkpoints by themselves pass one yesterday with no garda present

They have it for as long as I can remember.....

you have a long memory 1876

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1876/act/36/enacted/en/print.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,980 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The Customs guys would nearly have more power than the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭tom85

Didn't know that. But when custom have so much power how don't they have blue lights on there cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

I passed a customs car on Tuesday morning this week and it had blue lights on top of the car. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Tom, would you like to tell us what happened?

I'm getting the feeling that you have a chip on your shoulder after coming across that customs check point, but then, maybe my spidey sense is off today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Didn't know that. But when custom have so much power how don't they have blue lights on there cars
    I don't think they count as an emergency crew, but that's just a guess.

Just always thought garda people in charge of animals plus a few more where the only ones that can stop you on road. Plus the customs car there only has a few red flashing lights on them

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Blue lights are to get you out of the way not to pull you over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,856 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Were they wearing their hats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭corglass

Are those my feet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Was Bruce there? Did he show you his badge?

mikeecho wrote: »
    Tom, would you like to tell us what happened?

I'm getting the feeling that you have a chip on your shoulder after coming across that customs check point, but then, maybe my spidey sense is off today

Just was looking if there was any loophole to get me off. And what was bazz26 saying about a Hat? As they found mgo in the tank cost me €2000 there and then or they were going to seized the jeep fu*k it looks like I have no ground To appeal It. Or do I ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭goochy

Sorry whats mgo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,233 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Marked Gas Oil
    Green Daysul in everyday language.

goochy wrote: »
    Sorry whats mgo?

Marked gas oil. . Green diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Just was looking if there was any loophole to get me off. And what was bazz26 saying about a Hat? As they found mgo in the tank cost me €2000 there and then or they were going to seized the jeep fu*k it looks like I have no ground To appeal It. Or do I ?

What's there to appeal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

NIMAN wrote: »
    The Customs guys would nearly have more power than the Gardai.

No nearly about it. One of them crashed into me before. When the Gardai arrived, they refused to identify themselves to them, and there was nothing the Guards could do about it.

You gotta love those Government Department Pissing Contests :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    You gotta love those Government Department Pissing Contests :D

my only question is, if you're customs and you won't identify yourself, what makes them believe your'e customs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,094 ✭✭✭✭ED E

What's the appeal? Sorry judge I'm a scrounger?

my only question is, if you're customs and you won't identify yourself, what makes them believe your'e customs
    I'd say that a Car Reg check told the Boys all they needed to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

No nearly about it. One of them crashed into me before. When the Gardai arrived, they refused to identify themselves to them, and there was nothing the Guards could do about it.

What would happen if they seriously injured someone or mowed over some pedestrians? I doubt they could just drive away into the sunset with no consequences.

gerrybbadd wrote: »
    What's there to appeal?

What about petrol station as when they say how did mgo get in to tank I said I told my polish friend last night would he go down to petrol station and fill Navara with diesel. He went down to petrol station seen a pump saying green diesel and fill it up thinking it was some new eco friendly diesel well that what I told custom anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

They just didn't personally identity themselves, the guards collected enough info about which branch they were attached to etc and I was able to get my car fixed.

What about petrol station as when they say how did mgo get in to tank I said I told my polish friend last night would he go down to petrol station and fill Navara with diesel. He went down to petrol station seen a pump saying green diesel and fill it up thinking it was some new eco friendly diesel well that what I told custom anyway

TWO GRAND....I'd have given them the Navara and a few hundred extra to make up the difference. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

Which garage? And will your Polish mate stand up in the box and swear on same?
    Just asking because the Customs Officer will be in court along with a state solicitor. Get your story straight.

Donal55 wrote: »
    Which garage? And will your Polish mate stand up in the box and swear on same?
    Just asking because the Customs Officer will be in court along with a state solicitor. Get your story straight.

Well but the pump just say green diesel which is not a legal name for it

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    TWO GRAND....I'd have given them the Navara and a few hundred extra to make up the difference. :D

Well if you would give them 2013 Navara for 2000 euro the only thing I could say is good for you