Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 4) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Maybe I'm a fool, but the mood seems to have changed from two guys laughing hand in hand to the bank, to some kind of strange nasty semi racial genuine hate between them.

Well it is well known that if you want to prove you aren't racist, the best way to do it is by racial stereotyping.

Not for one minute would I assume he can *make* Conor do anything but a little word in his ear from John would be wonderful.
    I think the days of John having any influence on Conor's behaviour are long gone. His entourage is full of scummers from his childhood now including some lads with family connections to organized crime. The same scummers Tony was trying to get Conor away from when he moved to Lucan.

I would say these lads have more influence than John nowadays and they probably think Conor's coke-fueled racist tirades are hilarious. Im sure they're egging him on and saying it was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭ooter

Adelf wrote: »
    You're an awful bitch. Get cancer, you queer.

Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Sweet mother of Jesus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Mod: Sitebanned

Lowest of the low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

Well it is well known that if you want to prove you aren't racist, the best way to do it is by racial stereotyping.

Do you seriously think he is racist or is just another thing you want to use against him??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

darced wrote: »

To be fair, If I hadnt seen the press conference, I would have thought that Conor was a chick from that pic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Only caught bits of the New York presser, will give that a miss...El Chapo was back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

'Member hip hop?

Member Berry's. South Park reference that went over most people's heads

Who dafuq is duggy fresh hahahahhahahahah actually in stitches here

New York Hip hop star from the 80s I thought it was pathetic, an obvious attempt to fill in time and keep the crowd entertained. But nobody gave a sh1t.
    Stop sucking Dana off already.

It was part of Mayweathers insinuation that Conor is a whore and Dana is his Pimp, making the real money. Conor only gets a percentage cut of what Dana has agreed to give him. Floyd throwing money over Conor, again is treating him like a strip club bytch.
    Conor went from phenomenally good last night to embarrassingly bad tonight.

Completely agree. Conor won in Toronto but Mayweather won tonight, Not really because he said anything great, but because Conor made a fool of himself. The excessive cursing, the comments about black people, the inappropriate comment to Floyds daughter. It was embarrassing stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Conor defo can't bring up the woman bashing he was convicted of however was surprised Floyd mentioned it in a backstage interview today. Crying that his good deeds don't get more mentions.

I think Conor should prob roll it back in a little and give him some props however at the end of the day its a circus, roll on the fight, tonight may be flat as **** as both will be wrecked

Dozyart wrote: »
    Do you seriously think he is racist or is just another thing you want to use against him??

I don't think he is a cross burning, pillow case wearing KKK member. But i do think that there may be some casual racism behind his remarks, there have been too many for them to be described as slips of the tongue, or not knowing the implications of them. I think he knows they are racist slurs, but uses them in a way to rile his opponents, which is not a very nice, or clever thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Inviere

Awful, awful, awful stuff last night (this morning!). Conor went the wrong way about things I feel, maybe it seemed different in his head, but it didn't come across as funny or entertaining at all in reality. Mayweather didn't sink as low, but just repeating the same stuff as before. The scrum thing, childish from Mayweather...if you want to get under someones skin, do it yourself, don't send a bunch of goons to do it for you. Imagine Conor sending Roddy (not that Roddy is a goon, far from it!) etc over to surround another fighter, it'd look horrendous, and immature...which I feel it did for Floyd.

Conor needs to draw a line under this race thing clearly and effectively, and move on from it. It'll never have its intended affect over in America, so best not to play that game. Fingers crossed they sort it out for the final one tonight, because it the tour ends on a bad night like last night, it stands a good chance of leaving a lasting sour taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

Jaysus just finished watching it there, what a load of ****e, that "scuffle"" looked so fake and forced.

Roll on August 27th when this ****show is over and we can go back to talking about Conor fighting in mma, just over 6 weeks until it will all end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

xtal191 wrote: »
    Jaysus just finished watching it there, what a load of ****e, that "scuffle"" looked so fake and forced.

Roll on August 27th when this ****show is over and we can go back to talking about Conor fighting in mma, just over 6 weeks until it will all end.

My thoughts exactly. Cannot wait for all this ****e to be over and for conor to be back in the octagon.

Last night for me was easily the lowest moment of Mcgregors career

Inviere wrote: »
    Awful, awful, awful stuff last night (this morning!). Conor went the wrong way about things I feel, maybe it seemed different in his head, but it didn't come across as funny or entertaining at all in reality. Mayweather didn't sink as low, but just repeating the same stuff as before. The scrum thing, childish from Mayweather...if you want to get under someones skin, do it yourself, don't send a bunch of goons to do it for you. Imagine Conor sending Roddy (not that Roddy is a goon, far from it!) etc over to surround another fighter, it'd look horrendous, and immature...which I feel it did for Floyd.

Conor needs to draw a line under this race thing clearly and effectively, and move on from it. It'll never have its intended affect over in America, so best not to play that game. Fingers crossed they sort it out for the final one tonight, because it the tour ends on a bad night like last night, it stands a good chance of leaving a lasting sour taste.

In fairness, I think the "scrum" was 100% orchestrated beforehand. McGregor had come out alone for the last two pressers, as soon as I seen his team with him I knew there was gonna be some sort of coming together. Would have been more realistic looking if Mayweather had sent his goons over to McGregor and the Irish hads had come in from the side of the stage to back him up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

noc1980 wrote:
    6/1 for the fight not to go ahead is looking more and more like a decent bet. If Conor continues to walk this thin line he's on with race there'll be protests and an organised campaign against Showtime and sponsors. With a 100m on the line he needs to wake up here, this isn't Rio where he can get away with edgy material against Aldo.

Exactly. Conor is digging a hole for himself by talking about race. When a white person starts talking about black people in America It never ending well.

I fear that Conor may forget himself and say the N word, with would really cause a shyt storm.
    Dozyart wrote:
    I'd hate to see these commentators or journalists that got bent out of shape from an Irishman saying boy if they ever ended up in Cork,their heads would explode,bai!!

It's all about context. "Boy" between Cork people is harmless. When "Boy"is used by a white man, directed at a black man in America, It does have racial context, Boy is a less harsh way of saying the N word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

They probably think Conor's coke-fueled racist tirades are hilarious.

You're crazy if you think Conor is doing coke this close to a fight like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

ricero wrote: »
    My thoughts exactly. Cannot wait for all this ****e to be over and for conor to be back in the octagon.

Last night for me was easily the lowest moment of Mcgregors career

Comments like this are bizarre and generally are used in every one of his build ups. For Conor it was probably a highlight in his careeer. He just wants money, this is a massive publicity booster for him, he doesn't give a single fook.

• Effects wrote: »

It's an easy stereotype to say he's coked up or he'd be a bum if he wasn't doing UFC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Is Mc Gregor allowed mention Moneys previous assaults on women? You'd think he'd have used it by now if he could or is he waiting for tonight?
    I'd be surprised if Floyd hasn't found some evidence of Mc Gregors out of ring behaviour and is ready to use it should the need arise. With the "i'm doing this for Dee and Conor Jr." line it really could land a big hit on him.

Anybody know was that Floyds daughter behind him onstage that Mc Gregor was getting involved with? Classless by any standards if it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Mayweather referred to the shirtless McGregor as a “stripper,” then threw dozens of dollar bills over the Irishman. When McGregor noted that they were all one-dollar notes, Mayweather replied, “Because that’s all you’re worth!”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

.ak wrote: »
    Comments like this are bizarre and generally are used in every one of his build ups. For Conor it was probably a highlight in his careeer. He just wants money, this is a massive publicity booster for him, he doesn't give a single fook.

A highlight :pac: it was down right embarrassing imo and i am sure some of Mcgregors friends and family felt the same. Dana White looked mortified.

I am a big fan of Conor but last night he sounded awful and some of his comments were downright bizarre and uncalled for. People came away from Wednesday nights press conference laughing and in good form. A contrast from last night where i reckon most people felt disappointing and were scratching their heads from what they witnessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Effects wrote: »

You're crazy if you think there's no chance of this.

ricero wrote: »
    A highlight :pac: it was down right embarrassing imo and i am sure some of Mcgregors friends and family felt the same. Dana White looked mortified.

I am a big fan of Conor but last night he sounded awful and some of his comments were downright bizarre and uncalled for. People came away from Wednesday nights press conference laughing and in good form. A contrast from last night where i reckon most people felt disappointing and were scratching their heads from what they witnessed.

Conor didn't look embarassed.

Exactly. Conor is digging a hole for himself by talking about race. When a white person starts talking about black people in America It never ending well.

I fear that Conor may forget himself and say the N word, with would really cause a shyt storm.

It's all about context. "Boy" between Cork people is harmless. When "Boy"is used by a white man, directed at a black man in America, It does have racial context, Boy is a less harsh way of saying the N word.

The last paragraph here is a head scratcher. People will hear what they want to hear I suppose.

I think people are forgetting McGregor is the biggest living troll of our generation. He's always said things that verge on questionable, but in reality he isn't saying anything at all, but you better believe there will be people reading between the lines and crying over it. That's exactly what he wants. Always amuses me he gets so many people hook line and sinker by it.

I'd say he's giggling reading the headlines this morning.

As a separate note, I don't understand this logic that either fighter have "won" any of the press conferences. What are people judging them by? Witty remarks? Power plays? Getting under the opponents skin? If so I'm not sure how any one am say mayweather has "won" any of them. He hasn't said anything that seems to have riled Conor up, unlike Nate he seemed to know how to push his buttons.(*) The only real "battle of words" won or lost was between mayweather snr and McGregor on the first night, that was gold and showed McGregor in his natural relaxed state. All this other stuff is just show, he changes it up depending who's standing infront of him. He's a clever sod, even when putting on the WWE/Rapper/Don act.

*Remember the Diaz scuffle? Remember how calm he was afterwards? Remember what John said about it after the fight? Nothing is scripted, but don't confuse what Conor does infront of the circus as what Conor is. It's a game to him, and from the outside it may look embarrassing, or cringe, or whatever but at the end of the day his stocks are rising because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

The "Jersey Shore Rejects" .................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

.ak wrote: »

*Remember the Diaz scuffle? Remember how calm he was afterwards? Remember what John said about it after the fight? Nothing is scripted, but don't confuse what Conor does infront of the circus as what Conor is. It's a game to him, and from the outside it may look embarrassing, or cringe, or whatever but at the end of the day his stocks are rising because of it.

Yes but it is ineffective and he won't succeed in riling Floyd up as Floyd has been there so many times before, that's why last night he was escalating things and making the dodgy race comments he is trying every which way to annoy floyd. I think Floyd had the best lines of the night anyway, Conor is wasting energy but selling pay-per-views. He has no new lines it's basically all the same schtick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,929 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

That was next level crap last night...please make it stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,306 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Haven't seen it yet but just reading these posts, glad I went to bed last night when I did :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,929 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

And this "if this was a real fight" crap, the sooner this is dropped the better.

Just makes people look stupid and bitter.