Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 car collision and i was in the middle car

• 12-07-2017 10:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭

The good people here on boards, can I please pick your bring on this. I am not looking for any legal advice but just to get a general feeling of where I stand.

I was involved in a 3 car accident and I was in the middle car.

Here is what happened that day-- I was coming to a set of traffic lights (red) and coming to a full stop. All of a sudden a car from behind hit my car (so fast that my car was written off by the insurance company for the damage caused) and the momentum carried my car and pushed it into the front car.
    Garda came and took statements off everyone involved and I was called into the Garda station 2 weeks after the incident to give further statement. The 3rd car’s insurance paid for my car and I thought everything is done and dusted. But no, I got a phone call from the Garda yesterday to inform me that they got witness from that night to indicate that I had hit the front car prior to the 3rd car crashing into my car. I said, no way.. That is absolute lie. I then asked, can you please get CCTV to verify? Garda said, no, there is no CCTV available. I would need to accept a fine of €80 and 2 penalty points for driving without due consideration. In hindsight, the crash would’ve happened within a fraction of a second. How are the witness so sure that I hit the front car 1st and then the 3rd car hit me? This is nonsense from my point of view.

This is really unfair and I am upset in my stomach to be informed of such a decision by the Garda.

I am thinking to contest it in the court but would like to see what you all think before going down that route.

Thanks a million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Absolutely contest it.

If you accept the points and fine you are accepting liability for the person in the front car.

This sounds very dodgy and I am questioning whether they either the witness or the guards know the person in the third car as they are seeking to apportion liability from that car to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭eimsRV

I was in a similar crash a few years ago, I was the middle car and stopped at road works. The car behind me came too fast and hit me and I then hit in to the car in front of me.
    The car behind claimed that I had already crashed in to the first car, but as the driver of the car in front confirmed they only felt one impact, then the insurance found that the third car had caused the incident. Did they speak to the driver of the first car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah definitely contest that.

It may be that a passenger in the 3rd car is claiming that you were the one going too fast, causing the 3rd car to have to jam on. The Garda asks you to accept the fine on the basis that if you do, you agree that you hit the first car. So don't accept the fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

That sounds very strange to me. Even if you had crashed into car in front I would be very surprised that the guards would follow up on it. There is heaps of crashes every day that the guards don't get involved with at all, they are just settled by insurance. I'd have the same worry as Mr. Incognito that there is some guard connection somewhere. I think could be worth your while having a chat with a solicitor. Also do you have details of other drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

God damn..This kinda stuff cries out for dash cams to be mandatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭tart29016

Thanks for all the reply here.

I believe that Garda spoke to drivers from the 3 cars that day and may have had further conversation subsequently as I was called into the Garda station to give my version of the event.

I actually do not believe that the front car will be claiming on my insurance as I have been talking to my insurance company and they had not received any claims from the 1st car. This incident happened over 3 months ago and I would definitely heard something from him if that is the case.

I am not sure what the garda is playing here. If I were to contest it I would be looking at at least couple of hundreds euro of solicitor's fee (who knows maybe even higher) and the possibility losing the case and pay double the 80€ and 4 penalty points.

Just feel like being bullied and absolutely gutted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Mod
    Unusual for Gardaí to intervene that way
    Talk to your solicitor and insurer before considering any admissions of liability
    Leaving open for general discussion, subject to compliance with rule against legal advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Absolutely contest it.
    +1 on this.
    If you accept the points and fine you are accepting liability for the person in the front car.

That would also make your insurance liable for a claim from the first car once found out. Instead there needs to be very substantial proof that the third car wasn't responsible for the sustained impact. I.e. the chances of two independent hits in a line at a traffic stop is remote.

Btw, that actually would be different if it was a motorway accident where car b hits car a and because it's an unexpected stop, car c hits b and then a again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Brian Lighthouse

I'm curious about this as I thought rolling collisions were dealt with from the front and working backwards.
    Wouldn't the OP have been dealing with two insurance claims - one from car 1 and his own issue with car 3?
    Or, has that practice stopped?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

If it didn't happen like that, of course you contest it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

nuac wrote: »

Unusual for Gardaí to intervene that way

More than likely, but my anecdotal evidence states otherwise, they are human afteral.

OP, definitely contend this in court. The "witness" may have materialized out of thin air, or they may not have seen the collision at all and just incorrectly interpreted the aftermath. Stick to the truth. Let us know how you get on please ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

as the other posters say - contest, contest, contest! Do not accept any liability/fines / penalty points whatsoever - you have no idea what kind of counter claims etc. could be waiting down the line if you do!

I would get solicitors advice / a solicitors letter as a response to the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Why do even need to discuss this? Of course contest it. Truth is on your side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

So hypothetically the OP contests this does the witness need to appear in court to say what they saw and if the don't appear is there a case to answer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

Realistically it's the witnesses word against the OP s . A guard would surely need more proof to prove a case.

I'd be having my day in court!!! I'd also go and check where the crash happened and see if there are any CCTV coverage around the area

Also the witness could of been any of the other parties involved in the accident so it could be a cause they're trying to deflect or have the blame shared around !!!

Stand up and have your day in court and hire a solicitor for it ....

Hearing this I'm going to order a dashcam

my3cents wrote: »
    So hypothetically the OP contests this does the witness need to appear in court to say what they saw and if the don't appear is there a case to answer?
    Afaik it's up to the defence to decide if a written statement is good enough or if the witness has to appear.

If the witness fails to show up, there's basically no case to answer since the Garda wasn't there and can't speak to what happened.

OP, it might be a couple of hundred euro, but you'd be silly not to contest this.

If you've been issued with a fixed charge notice, then submit a request for cancellation.

If you haven't been issued with anything, then do nothing.

Refuse to attend the Garda station to give any further statements.

If/when it begins moving towards court, then get a solicitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Does your insurance cover any kind of legal fee protection?
    If it did would it cover contesting something like this as a result of an accident?

Thanks for all the advice.

I will definitely contest it in court and get a solicitor as well.

I might try to re-visit the area where the accident happened and see if there are any CCTV. I do remember there are a number of take-aways and shops.

I think someone mentioned some where in the post about the current procedures of dealing with rolling collisions. Well, all I can say is that my insurance company has not heard anything about the 1st car claiming on my insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

I thought the middle car was liable for the first car in these cases? Theory of not leaving enough space (tyres AND tarmac people). Or was this so fast that wouldn't have mattered or is the third car always liable for both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Can a guard issue a fixed penalty notice on the basis of an uncorroborated witness statement? Particularly where other statements concerning the incident exist, at least one of which gives a different account of what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Ashbx

I thought the middle car was liable for the first car in these cases? Theory of not leaving enough space (tyres AND tarmac people). Or was this so fast that wouldn't have mattered or is the third car always liable for both?

Yeah that came to my mind too. Im not sure what the law is here but in terms of driving tests, they do say you should put on your handbrake when you stop. So if the OP had his handbrake on, he wouldn't have been pushed forward and wouldn't have hit car no. 1.

But again, if it happened quickly and the OP was just coming to a stop when car no. 3 hit him, then you would assume (and hope) that he wouldn't be considered liable because that's just not fair.

OP I would definitely contest it anyway.

Can a guard issue a fixed penalty notice on the basis of an uncorroborated witness statement? Particularly where other statements concerning the incident exist, at least one of which gives a different account of what happened?
    Functionally yes. Provided that a Garda has "reasonable grounds" to believe that an offence has been committed, they are authorised to issue the notice.

An FPN is in effect, notification of the allegation against you and the opportunity to plead guilty to it.
    It's not a conviction or proof in itself that an offence has been committed.

This kind of case is where the FPN system falls down. It should be for very specific and clear breaches of the law. "You exceeded the speed limit", "Your tyres were defective", "You broke a light". You did or you didn't commit the offence, there's no ambiguity about it.

"Driving without due care and attention" though, is far more fluffy, for more open to interpretation. How can someone reasonably agree that they committed this offence without a robust discussion on what it actually means? Is it even legal to accept a guilty plea from someone if you can't prove that they understand the charge against them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

tart29016 wrote: »
    I might try to re-visit the area where the accident happened and see if there are any CCTV. I do remember there are a number of take-aways and shops.

I'd say it would be very difficult to get CCTV footage from three months ago. It's probably already deleted. There's also data protection to consider.

Access Requests

Any person whose image is recorded on a CCTV system has a right to seek and be supplied with a copy of their own personal data from the footage. To exercise that right, a person must make an application in writing. The data controller may charge up to €6.35 for responding to such a request and must respond within 40 days.

When making an access request for CCTV footage, the requester should provide the data controller with a reasonable indication of the timeframe of the recording being sought - i.e. they should provide details of the approximate time and the specific date(s) on which their image was recorded. For example, it would not suffice for a requester to make a very general request saying that they want a copy of all CCTV footage held on them. Instead, it is necessary to specify that they are seeking a copy of all CCTV footage in relation to them which was recorded on a specific date between certain hours at a named location. Obviously, if the recording no longer exists on the date on which the data controller receives the access request, it will not be possible to get access to a copy. Requesters should be aware that CCTV footage is usually deleted within one month of being recorded.

Nothing to stop you checking though, just in case.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

****Data Protection myth alert!****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Appleguy

Firstly absolutely contest this if it's not true, even if it costs you.

Secondly I was in a similar incident years ago in the middle car. Fact at that time was that Car 3 was responsible for the damage to Car 2 and Car 2 was responsible for Car 1 no matter what happened. The insurance companies will not attribute all the blame to Car 3 as there is some fault with Car 2 for not leaving enough space.

Anyhoo, you mentioned that you don't think Car 1 will be claiming damage and it was 3 months ago, from what it sounds like Car 1 has discovered they want their car repaired (and may be the new witness) or they have an injury out of the accident (they have 2 years to lodge personal injury claim from the accident). But know this much that if that is what happened and Car 1 now want their car sorted your insurance company will be settling that one, from past experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Really Interested

dev100 wrote: »
    Realistically it's the witnesses word against the OP s . A guard would surely need more proof to prove a case.

I'd be having my day in court!!! I'd also go and check where the crash happened and see if there are any CCTV coverage around the area

Also the witness could of been any of the other parties involved in the accident so it could be a cause they're trying to deflect or have the blame shared around !!!

Stand up and have your day in court and hire a solicitor for it ....

Hearing this I'm going to order a dashcam

Just so people know cases are run at District, Circuit and even High court on the oral evidence of one eye witness every day from minor Road Traffic up to and including Rape and Murder. For example in Rape cases the only eye witness evidence is the victim. Forensic evidence is often inconclusive or in historic case non existent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭Barr

Very easily resolved . Garda /Insurance company need to ask the question to the front car how many impacts they felt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Seems a bit odd that these people magically reported what they saw to the guards well after the event.

I'm sure I could convince myself of events that happened weeks ago but in a totally different light.

The most accurate memories are the ones directly involved in the cars, particularly you, as being the only person to hit both the car in front and behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

ForestFire wrote: »
    Does your insurance cover any kind of legal fee protection?
    If it did would it cover contesting something like this as a result of an accident?

Insurers will always contest a claim. However, to do so, they need some ammunition.

Are there independent witnesses?
    Any dashcam footage?

Without these it is one word against another. The truth and proving the truth are 2 separate things. Please, Please everybody, get a dashcam. Mine was €70 on e-Bay. Insurers (wrongly) don't give a discount for fitting one, but take care of your own situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

Just my 10 cents worth.

The OP's motor insurance policy should cover the full costs of defending any prosecution in the District Court i.e. a solicitor. Insurers can nominate a solicitor of their choice to represent the defendant policyholder. This does help as insurers usually know who they are instructing and that they are suitable and experienced in this type of work.

Liability turns on the sequence of collisions. If car 1 - at the front end - reports only one impact that is not conclusive evidence that the accident flowed from car 3 to car 2 to car 1. Car 2 could hit car 1 first, be struck subsequently by car 3 and not be pushed in to car 1 a second time causing car 1 to report only one impact. I accept OP's version but make the point that a judge will look at all the possibilities that may be argued in front of them by the other parties.

OP's insurers will probably not be able to get hold of the statements of the witnesses who blame him until after any prosecutions are dealt with. At that stage the insurers can get a copy of the Garda abstract report to see who actually said what. It is one thing for a witness to tell a Garda what he says he saw and another to actually put that in a written statement. First sight of the supposedly incriminating statements may well be in any pre-trial discussion between OP's solicitor and the prosecutor about ten minutes before kick off. If Gardaí decide not to issue a FPN or prosecute the abstract report and the associated statements should then become available.

On the face of it, any party alleging that OP was going too fast or was otherwise at fault carries the burden of proving it as distinct from thinking that their version is what must have happened ! The standard of proof for any civil action is the balance of probabilities.

If car 3 is alleging that car 2 (OP) hit car 1 first I cannot see that he (car 3) has much to complain about in relation to his own driving as by his own evidence he has clearly failed to comply with the required standards of driving. It can happen that a car driving in to the back of a preceding vehicle may have a case to make but only in the most exotically extraordinary of circumstances e.g. preceding vehicle doing a handbrake turn !

In relation to car 1 - and any occupants therein - the proper drill would be for OP's insurers to deny liability and invite car 3's insurers to provide full indemnity for any actions from car 1. Failing this, car 1 - or occupants therein - should issue proceedings against 2 and 3 as co-defendants / joint tortfeasors and fix liability that way by establishing res judicata as between those parties.

My resident cynic suspects that if the "incriminating" evidence is from car 3 it is probably a hopeless rear-guard piece of rationalisation to seek to exculpate themselves. In typically modern style the attitude is probably that they know that the weight of the evidence is against them but they will still have a go anyhow in the hope of getting anything that they can out of it.

BTW, if a FPN does issue I would follow the procedure mentioned elsewhere in the thread to seek to have it withdrawn by sending in confirmation of receipt of full payment for the material damage by the insurers of car 3. Car 3's insurers will probably have made payment without prejudice and with a denial of civil liability. However, Gardai­ considering a request to withdraw a FPN cannot ignore such evidence which might not be definitive but which should be persuasive.

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a detailed response.

I still haven't received the FPN yet. As per the Garda a week ago, I should received it in the post. I understand they have 6 month timeframe to issue the FPN, so still plenty of time. The only thing is I can't start the process of requesting the withdraw of the FPN until I actually receive it. Would you say I should get in touch with my insurance company about the phone call from the Gardi and see what advice they may have? Or better wait until I actually receive the FPN?

Cheers
    NUTLEY BOY wrote: »
    Just my 10 cents worth.

The OP's motor insurance policy should cover the full costs of defending any prosecution in the District Court i.e. a solicitor. Insurers can nominate a solicitor of their choice to represent the defendant policyholder. This does help as insurers usually know who they are instructing and that they are suitable and experienced in this type of work.

Liability turns on the sequence of collisions. If car 1 - at the front end - reports only one impact that is not conclusive evidence that the accident flowed from car 3 to car 2 to car 1. Car 2 could hit car 1 first, be struck subsequently by car 3 and not be pushed in to car 1 a second time causing car 1 to report only one impact. I accept OP's version but make the point that a judge will look at all the possibilities that may be argued in front of them by the other parties.

OP's insurers will probably not be able to get hold of the statements of the witnesses who blame him until after any prosecutions are dealt with. At that stage the insurers can get a copy of the Garda abstract report to see who actually said what. It is one thing for a witness to tell a Garda what he says he saw and another to actually put that in a written statement. First sight of the supposedly incriminating statements may well be in any pre-trial discussion between OP's solicitor and the prosecutor about ten minutes before kick off. If Gardaí decide not to issue a FPN or prosecute the abstract report and the associated statements should then become available.

On the face of it, any party alleging that OP was going too fast or was otherwise at fault carries the burden of proving it as distinct from thinking that their version is what must have happened ! The standard of proof for any civil action is the balance of probabilities.

If car 3 is alleging that car 2 (OP) hit car 1 first I cannot see that he (car 3) has much to complain about in relation to his own driving as by his own evidence he has clearly failed to comply with the required standards of driving. It can happen that a car driving in to the back of a preceding vehicle may have a case to make but only in the most exotically extraordinary of circumstances e.g. preceding vehicle doing a handbrake turn !

In relation to car 1 - and any occupants therein - the proper drill would be for OP's insurers to deny liability and invite car 3's insurers to provide full indemnity for any actions from car 1. Failing this, car 1 - or occupants therein - should issue proceedings against 2 and 3 as co-defendants / joint tortfeasors and fix liability that way by establishing res judicata as between those parties.

My resident cynic suspects that if the "incriminating" evidence is from car 3 it is probably a hopeless rear-guard piece of rationalisation to seek to exculpate themselves. In typically modern style the attitude is probably that they know that the weight of the evidence is against them but they will still have a go anyhow in the hope of getting anything that they can out of it.

BTW, if a FPN does issue I would follow the procedure mentioned elsewhere in the thread to seek to have it withdrawn by sending in confirmation of receipt of full payment for the material damage by the insurers of car 3. Car 3's insurers will probably have made payment without prejudice and with a denial of civil liability. However, Gardai­ considering a request to withdraw a FPN cannot ignore such evidence which might not be definitive but which should be persuasive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

I understand they have 6 month timeframe to issue the FPN, so still plenty of time.

They have just over 4 months to issue a FCPN (6 months less 57 days) from the date of the offence, not 6 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭glic71rods46t0

Just my 10 cents worth.

Sorry to derail the thread but I have to say, its posts like this that really impress me in this forum, fair play Nutley Boy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Even if hypothetically you had hit the car in front, although you and your insurance company would be liable for compensating damage and injury, it would be unusual to assign criminal negligence to you. For a fender bender. These happen every day of the week. People don't get criminal prosecutions for this. And it's not just section 51 but is a section 52. That's a serious charge.
    You should ascertain if the driver behind you is being prosecuted for careless driving also. Did these alleged independent witnesses make themselves known at the scene to the garda or to the driver behind you.
    Did the garda seem young or inexperienced? Did you see him look for or examine skid marks or debris. Did he give you or the other drivers the legal caution before he questioned you? You said you made a statement at the scene, does this mean the garda wrote down your answers? Did he read them back to you and ask you to sign? Were any of the cars tested by the Garda to check their braking system etc. Were tyres examined.

It would be a hell of a coincidence that you failed to stop in time hitting the car in front and then the exact same thing occurred at that exact moment when the rear most car failed to stop in time when you had come to a halt.

Sorry to derail the thread but I have to say, its posts like this that really impress me in this forum, fair play Nutley Boy!

Thank you kindly.

Having operated in the sewage works of litigation for so long it would be most remiss of me not to share if it can help :D

SNIP SNIP Would you say I should get in touch with my insurance company about the phone call from the Gardi and see what advice they may have? Or better wait until I actually receive the FPN?

Cheers

Yes.

Just drop them a brief line to update them on that development. This prevents them flying blind if anyone has been in direct contact with them.

* update

Spoke with my insurance company and they are not interested in providing a solicitor to defend the case as there is "no case" for them to defend. Looks like I will be getting my own solicitor on this.

Also received the FPN yesterday and the alleged offence was indeed "driving without reasonable consideration contrary to section 51 (A) of the road traffic act, 1961."

I am of the same opinion as some of people who replied on this post that the alleged offence is somewhat fluffy.

I think my next course of action would be to go through the process of seeking a cancellation of the FPN. Has anybody had any success with this in the past? If so, what are your experiences? The FPN cancellation form looks straight forward and I presume that you can actually compete the form yourself without assistance from a solicitor? Would this be correct?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

If it's gone that far, I have to assume that the other two drivers both say you hit driver 1 first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

MarkR wrote:
    If it's gone that far, I have to assume that the other two drivers both say you hit driver 1 first?

I wouldn't assume that. It could be just car 3 trying to imply out was all the fault of the middle car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

Have the gards indicated whether it was an independent witness, or someone in car 3 that says you hit the car before being hit?

seagull wrote: »
    Have the gards indicated whether it was an independent witness, or someone in car 3 that says you hit the car before being hit?

no, the guards only said there are witness and did not specify. And when I asked him to clarify things he just went you either accept the fine or take this to court.

* update

Spoke with my insurance company and they are not interested in providing a solicitor to defend the case as there is "no case" for them to defend. Looks like I will be getting my own solicitor on this.
    ?

Your insurers reserve the right to handle any claim against you as they deem appropriate, they will not allow your solicitor get involved in this aspect. You can, of course, use your solicitor to pursue the 3rd party for your own damages

Yes, I presume so. And obviously in this case they did not feel that the impact of me winning or losing this case has any impact on themselves. They even advised that I should get my own solicitor as this is a case against me not them. They do acknowledge that there is a remote possibility that the result of this case may have some consequence further down the line but as things stand there is no case for them to defend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

* update

SNIP SNIP

I am surprised at that answer from the insurers which does not even make sense. However, from some recent dealings with insurers I should probably not be too surprised !

If the insurers do not want to appoint a solicitor to represent you that is fine as you have brought the issue to their attention. However, be very sure to get their confirmation that your policy does cover the costs of legal representation at the District Court prosecution as it arises from the accident which is the subject matter of your claim for indemnity under the policy. Get that confirmation in writing.

no, the guards only said there are witness and did not specify. And when I asked him to clarify things he just went you either accept the fine or take this to court.

They will not specify as they will keep their evidence - or the lack of it - to themselves until the day of court, if there is one. Remember that this is a summary matter so there is no book of evidence or the like.

I am surprised at that answer from the insurers which does not even make sense. However, from some recent dealings with insurers I should probably not be too surprised !

If the insurers do not want to appoint a solicitor to represent you that is fine as you have brought the issue to their attention. However, be very sure to get their confirmation that your policy does cover the costs of legal representation at the District Court prosecution as it arises from the accident which is the subject matter of your claim for indemnity under the policy. Get that confirmation in writing.

Your motor insurance policy will not cover you for legal representation in a court prosecution, it has nothing to do with them. The outcome of the case might have a baring though, on their position on liability

OP, to clarify. Have your insurers said there is "nothing to defend" or that they "have nothing to defend it with"? There is a huge difference

They will not specify as they will keep their evidence - or the lack of it - to themselves until the day of court, if there is one. Remember that this is a summary matter so there is no book of evidence or the like.

But the Court will order the Garda to give to the prosecution all evidence that will be produced, this is now standard even in Road Traffic. And before someone says they will not I can assure you having run cases in the District Court for Road Traffic all statements are provided. It may just be a outline of the evidence or in most cases the full statements. Most Districts Courts will make the order on the first day and then adjourn to for a plea or fix a date for hearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Rubycharlie

I phoned in to report a truck driver on a mobile phone recently and the garda stated that the garda themselves have to witness them on the mobile phone. Otherwise its my word against the driver. The garda stated that if they approached the truck driver, he could just say he wasn't on the phone. Id expect that the garda would have to witness you driving without any due care n attention. Is the witness a garda on duty?
    Contest

I phoned in to report a truck driver on a mobile phone recently and the garda stated that the garda themselves have to witness them on the mobile phone. Otherwise its my word against the driver. The garda stated that if they approached the truck driver, he could just say he wasn't on the phone. Id expect that the garda would have to witness you driving without any due care n attention. Is the witness a garda on duty?
    Contest

No often cases are brought where AGS have not witnessed the driving often there has been a crash. If you unhappy with Garda you could have brought a private prosecution. It sounds like your Garda did not want to do the work, but the evidence of one person may be enough to get a conviction. Of course the person would have to give a statement.