Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cadbury's Touchdown Bars

• 10-07-2017 9:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭

Anyone remember these? Nicest bars around at the time.

Cadburys-Touch-Down.jpg

But settle a bet for me - the above wrapper is Red with Blue writing. I recall there also being a Blue wrapper with Red writing, but no one else I've asked seems to recall this. I don't recall them being any different taste wise (ie. not a case of yellow vs blue Freddos), but does anyone else remember there being 2 varieties of wrapper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

I remember. You are correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

D9Male wrote: »
    I remember. You are correct.

That's all I needed. Thank you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

Yeah your memory is spot on. I remember them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Are you sure the wrapper wasn't navy?
    Can you still get Moro bars?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

Ipso wrote: »
    Are you sure the wrapper wasn't navy?
    Can you still get Moro bars?

It was Deffo blue, can see the colour in my head!

Didn't moro become boost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Yep, Moro is boost now.

Were 54321 bars similar to touch downs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Think they were more of a purple colour myself but in any case, yes, you are correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

368100 wrote: »
    It was Deffo blue, can see the colour in my head!

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Yep, Moro is boost now.

No, afaik nunch became star bar became moro, Boost was always a different bar as it was a coconutty flavour v peanutty flavour in the star bar/moro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Midnight Sundance

vicwatson wrote: »
    No, afaik nunch became star bar became moro, Boost was always a different bar as it was a coconutty flavour v peanutty flavour in the star bar/moro

Boost and Moro are the same. Have biscuit and caramel.
    Star bar is not the same as a boost/Moro -it has peanut and caramel inside. Don't know any coconut flavour bar apart from bounty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

vicwatson wrote: »

Star Bar and Moro existed at the same time, Star bar was more peanutty and Moro more caramelly.

Looks Star bar got re-branded.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moro_(chocolate_bar)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

368100 wrote: »

Yep, and like most bars now they have become f*cking tiny when compared to their 80s/90s counterparts.. cause it's "unhealthy" and all that.

Price hasn't similarly reduced though.. quite the opposite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭sassyj

Were touch downs the precursor to the time out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Yep, and like most bars now they have become f*cking tiny when compared to their 80s/90s counterparts.. cause it's "unhealthy" and all that.

I remember when they were both on sale.....moro was much nicer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭sassyj

Boost and Moro are the same. Have biscuit and caramel.
    Star bar is not the same as a boost/Moro -it has peanut and caramel inside. Don't know any coconut flavour bar apart from bounty?

Boost used to be coconut, was different to Moro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭QuiteInterestin

Yep, Moro is boost now.

Pretty certain 54321 bars had caramel and wafer in them, covered in chocolate while the Touchdown bars (both blue and red - no different in the content, just the wrapper as far as I remember) was just a chocolate wafer coated in chocolate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Danco

Degag wrote: »
    Think they were more of a purple colour myself but in any case, yes, you are correct.

They were definitely purple!

Sure the wrapper pictured is red and purple, not blue. The other wrapper just had the colours reversed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Anyone remember these? Nicest bars around at the time.

But settle a bet for me - the above wrapper is Red with Blue writing. I recall there also being a Blue wrapper with Red writing, but no one else I've asked seems to recall this. I don't recall them being any different taste wise (ie. not a case of yellow vs blue Freddos), but does anyone else remember there being 2 varieties of wrapper?

You could get them in a green wrapper too ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Danco

Autosport wrote: »
    You could get them in a green wrapper too ;)

Mind blown if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

Had a Moro/ Boost bar for the first time in ages recently. Think they have quadrupled the sugar content in them. Wasn't as nice a bar as I remembered :(

My kingdom for a Boost Guarana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Horrible yokes, I remember losing a tenner punts over the head of them bastards once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Danco wrote: »
    Mind blown if true.

It was mainly Blue and red bug in some (old) shops they had green ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭twill

Ah, the old dilemma of whether you would spend your 10p on one of these or a 10p mix, which might last a little longer. I wish they were still around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

If I had 10p it was sure to go on ten golf balls. I chewed those ****ers until I could taste the cheap rubber they were made from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

I wish they would bring back all the old type sweets or stop changing them! Got a wham bar recently and they have completely changed! Disgusted!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Ann_Landers

The companies argue that to keep them the same size they would have had to up the price due to production costs rising. Who knows? But personally I have no problem with the bars getting smaller, there's still plenty in them and I can't work up any annoyance in the price staying the same. Nobody has to buy them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I want a Telex.

Nabber wrote: »
    If I had 10p it was sure to go on ten golf balls. I chewed those ****ers until I could taste the cheap rubber they were made from.

Cigarrete sweets were what all the cool kids smoked at 4 and 5 years of age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Anytime a friend of mine in work buys a Snickers in the canteen, he covers the first 'S' in Snickers and asks the gorgeous, giggly Polish girl at the till if she likes these. Every time, she giggles and blushes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Go buy a macaroon bar. The feckers left the wrapper full size but cut the bar in half.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭gizmo81

Yep, Moro is boost now.

54321 Bars were the best bars ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I have fond memories of thinking I was being healthy when I bought peanut and raisin Yorkie bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Ipso wrote: »
    Star Bar and Moro existed at the same time, Star bar was more peanutty and Moro more caramelly.

Looks Star bar got re-branded.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moro_(chocolate_bar)

The almighty Star Bar was sold as Moro Peanut for a time, I believe. It is now Star Bar again, amen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

I used to love touchdowns. Right up their with the good aul chomp for me if I couldnt afford a 28p dairy milk. (The dairy milk has plummeted in quality).

Couldn't stand those orange smiley bars next.to the chomps though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Our aunt's family used to have a small shop in Cork. Sometimes she would borrow their merchant card for discounts at Musgraves wholesaler. She and my mam would buy in bulk and come home with boxes of chocolate, bottles of Taylor Keith, sweets etc. Enough to last us weeks. One afternoon, after we came home from School, our Kitchen looked like a supermarket ailse with the boxes upon boxes of goodies all bought at a steep discount. My brother, 8 at the time, thought his Christmas had come early. By chance, we heard a shrill siren off in the distance. It must have been an ambulance. Quick as a flash my Aunt, who loved to joke around, shouted to my mam "Oh no, it's the Guards! We're caught!". My mam responded in kind by getting faux-angry "I told you we'd get into trouble for stealing them!"

My brother practically wet himself. Through tears, thinking his mam and aunt were going to get arrested, he grabbed the 3 boxes of Touchdown bars and put the under the stairs. Unsatisfied with his first attempt at concealment, he then grabbed a bunch of coats and threw them over the Touchdown's, hoping he might at least save them being lovely and all as they were. Now satisfied, he lay prone over the chocolate, quietly sobbing at their imminent arrest. :D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Moro/Boost is known as 5star is certain foreign markets, Which may add to the confusion. They make them here cause my girfriends dad does some work for cadburies and gets them for fúck all.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

It was only Moro in Ireland, Oz and New Zealand (weirdly, we had a chat about this in work last week).

Starbar became Moro Peanut for a while and then reverted to Starbar where it remains the best bar available.
    Moro became Boost with Guruana first didn't it? Its now the same Boost as the UK market, who also have Boost Coconut too I think.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Degag wrote: »

Yep...as soon as I saw the pic I thought ''wasn't there a purple wrapper also''

And I'm always right. So you are correct too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭Crazyteacher

Anybody remember the freddo bars being called Taz bars for a while? In the 90's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Boosts were originally coconut. They brought out a moro coconut then around the time they brought out boost guarana and renamed starbars to moro peanut.

Original boosts and then moro coconuts were amazing.

Anytime a friend of mine in work buys a Snickers in the canteen, he covers the first 'S' in Snickers and asks the gorgeous, giggly Polish girl at the till if she likes these. Every time, she giggles and blushes.

Think everyone knows a few people like that. Mostly pricks IMO.

Anybody remember the freddo bars being called Taz bars for a while? In the 90's.
    Did they not exist at the same time though? I could be wrong but i thought a Taz only came with caramel in it while a Freddo was the solid chocolate equivelant - then they started making caramel Freddos.

All I know is that I could get taz bars, Only knew them as taz bars, then they suddenly became freddos. I must have missed them the first time around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭wally79

What blew my mind recently was an American colleague telling me that mars bars were called milky ways in the US. Mentallers

Now that's pushing it. Very different bars altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭wally79

Now that's pushing it. Very different bars altogether.

I know. Apparently our milkyways are their 3 musketeer bars

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Freddo's and Taz bars were out around the same time together and both done the caramel variety :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

jonnycivic wrote: »
    Freddo's and Taz bars were out around the same time together and both done the caramel variety :D

Oh the memories of the Taz bar and having no teeth afterwards :pac:

Called Freddo caramel now though :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Oh the memories of the Taz bar and having no teeth afterwards :pac:

Called Freddo caramel now though :(

Big Times were another that would pull the teeth out of your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭MoodeRator

Rowntree%27s%20Cabana.jpg.opt200x218o0%2C0s200x218.jpg
    I give you Rowntrees Cabana :)
    Caramel, coconut and cherry pieces. :)