Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,651 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Lucky for Dublin we knocked out Cork, their bogey team.

That thought entered my head yesterday in relation to how many times the present Mayo Senior mens team have taken out the previous years AI championship winners to fall at the final fence,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

charlie14 wrote:
    That thought entered my head yesterday in relation to how many times the present Mayo Senior mens team have taken out the previous years AI championship winners to fall at the final fence,

It hasn't happened much in ladies football.
    In fairness Cork did a 5 in a row and the a 6 in a row.
    11 titles in 12 years missing only 2010

Some run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Yep but Cork always seem to have the measure of Dublin.

The Mayo ladies team owe Mayo people or supporters nothing. Wonderful ambassadors for the game. I hope Cora wins one more AI to cap a great career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Senior Club Championship back on this weekend. Was having a look online to see how the bookies viewed it but market not available yet. I premuse they'll wait for the QF stage.

Happened to click into the 2018 All Ireland betting. Mayo at 5/1... we'll probably get a better price if we get to a Semi Final :) They have Kerry back in as clear 2nd favs.

Any views on the Club championship? Mitchells seem to have been motoring along all Summer with plenty of competitive challenges up and down the Country. It'll be hard to look passed them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

PARlance wrote: »
    Senior Club Championship back on this weekend. Was having a look online to see how the bookies viewed it but market not available yet. I premuse they'll wait for the QF stage.

Happened to click into the 2018 All Ireland betting. Mayo at 5/1... we'll probably get a better price if we get to a Semi Final :) They have Kerry back in as clear 2nd favs.

Any views on the Club championship? Mitchells seem to have been motoring along all Summer with plenty of competitive challenges up and down the Country. It'll be hard to look passed them again.

Yip can't see past them,they'll probably end up playing a crazy amount of weeks in a row.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Happened to click into the 2018 All Ireland betting. Mayo at 5/1... we'll probably get a better price if we get to a Semi Final They have Kerry back in as clear 2nd favs.

Is there such a thing in challenge games? if you have a strong panel which Castlebar clearly do i think it's best to stick to A v B games for competitive action.

Their B team wouldn't be a patch on the teams they've been playing. Challenge games against some of the better Clubs in the Country (Clubs that will be going for their own County titles) afaik and even a challenge vs the Mayo B team right after the Semi Final win against Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Proof that bookies odds are meaningless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Knockmore are going well.
    They can win games on 40% posession as they have by far the best forward line. Yes, Ballintubber included. Ruttledge, McHale, Mcloughlin and Nuaghton are the best four forwards working together that I see.

Knockmore are going well.
    They can win games on 40% posession as they have by far the best forward line. Yes, Ballintubber included. Ruttledge, McHale, Mcloughlin and Nuaghton are the best four forwards working together that I see.

Was fairly impressed with them last year, a very well balanced team that have a bit of everything.

I'll be keeping an eye on Breaffy, they weren't blessed with good fortune last year with Seamie O'Shea not being right and Ruane getting injured. It's hard to tell how they will gel, with more than half the team returning, it isn't really ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

So Andy was injured :(
    Could he have been worth the point .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

is there any way to watch club games online. Anybody streaming them thru facebook live or periscope or anything like that?

kupus wrote: »
    is there any way to watch club games online. Anybody streaming them thru facebook live or periscope or anything like that?

"Local Streaming" are the guys to follow on FBook. It'll probably be the QFs before they start. Nothing up on their page yet. A lot of the games are on in the Centre of Excellence this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

mayo.mick wrote: »
    He had a great year and must be the favourite for player of the year .

Why would he stop if he is still enjoying it and he is physically fit .

Good man Andy .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

kupus wrote: »

http://mayogaatv.com/
    these lads have setup recently, you can watch games online, live, for 4 euros. They usually have 2 games.

it's quite a decent setup to be fair - worth supporting if you are interested in seeing games online and would like this sort of thing to develop. If people don't support it, it's unlikely to continue.

I have no connection with them by the way, I've used it for the games they were showing for free previously and also for the 2 pay per view events.

Its the same crowd that were involved in local streaming.

Blackjack wrote: »
    http://mayogaatv.com/
    these lads have setup recently, you can watch games online, live, for 4 euros. They usually have 2 games.

it's quite a decent setup to be fair - worth supporting if you are interested in seeing games online and would like this sort of thing to develop. If people don't support it, it's unlikely to continue.

I have no connection with them by the way, I've used it for the games they were showing for free previously and also for the 2 pay per view events.

Its the same crowd that were involved in local streaming.

That's a pity imo. Not that it's not worth it or that it wasn't a very good service, it's just that pay per view is a hard model to get to work. People want it for free these days.

Pity they couldn't get a sponsor to make it make sense for them. Not an easy task. Hopefully it works out for them and fair play to them for getting it off the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

That's a pity imo. Not that it's not worth it or that it wasn't a very good service, it's just that pay per view is a hard model to get to work. People want it for free these days.

Pity they couldn't get a sponsor to make it make sense for them. Not an easy task. Hopefully it works out for them and fair play to them for getting it off the ground.

There's no better price for the consumer than free, but all of these things do come at a cost. Like anything it needs to be marketed properly.

The clubs need to get behind it as well, particularly for the diaspora or people that simply can't attend the games but would like to see their clubmates/relations/friends in the latter stages of county championship.

From what I gather there are pubs in localities and London who've cottoned on to this - 4 euros is very little if you get a couple of punters in who'll have 4 or 5 pints each that evening because the game is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

The club u21 should be interesting. I think Westport will win it.
    Oisin McLoughlin, Colm Moran, both Lamberts, Emmet Rowley and Fionn McDonagh.
    Decent forward line at u21 level.

Was fairly impressed with them last year, a very well balanced team that have a bit of everything.

I'll be keeping an eye on Breaffy, they weren't blessed with good fortune last year with Seamie O'Shea not being right and Ruane getting injured. It's hard to tell how they will gel, with more than half the team returning, it isn't really ideal.

The Breaffy Knockmore contest was fairly niggly last year,Aidan O Shea shipped a lot of punishment.Nasty enough scenes at the end,Seamie was sorely missed.

Breaffy were a tad individualistic,not enough depth of quality.

blinding wrote: »
    He had a great year and must be the favourite for player of the year .

Why would he stop if he is still enjoying it and he is physically fit .

Good man Andy .

Fantastic news!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

mayo.mick wrote: »

Andy going to be on Off the Ball this evening.

Oldtree wrote: »
    Andy going to be on Off the Ball this evening.

Here's the interview,thanks for the heads up Oldtree.;)

The Andy Moran Interview.

https://cdn.radiocms.net/media/012/audio/000001/57719_media_player_audio_file.mp3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Ok, I'm not just ok with him winning Footballer of The Year. I actually want him to win it now.

30th September 2017

Mayo Senior Championship

Group 1

Charlestown Sarsfields v Garrymore 17.00
    Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence

Knockmore v Westport 17.00
    MacHale Park

Group 2

Breaffy v Ballaghaderreen 18.30

Davitts v Hollymount-Carramore 18.30

Group 4

Ballina Stephenites v Castlebar Mitchels 16.00
    Knockmore GAA Club

Ballinrobe v Crossmolina Deel Rovers 18.30
    MacHale Park

A couple of juicy games up in MacHale Park.:)

Andy's a Mayo man through and through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Yeah, important that he keeps reminding people of that. ;)

Gas that he and his wifes idea of a nice weekend away, was to head up to Dublin to watch a Mayo team play in an All Ireland final in Croke Park.

Jesus Andy, it's ok to feck off to Barcelona or Monart Spa for the weekend, ya know. You've earned it !

The club u21 should be interesting. I think Westport will win it.
    Oisin McLoughlin, Colm Moran, both Lamberts, Emmet Rowley and Fionn McDonagh.
    Decent forward line at u21 level.

I can only see Westport going from strength to strength at senior level and in the not too distant future with such a youthful team winning a county title.

You heard it here first!:D LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

seligehgit wrote: »
    I can only see Westport going from strength to strength at senior level and in the not too distant future with such a youthful team winning a county title.

You heard it here first!:D LOL

They'll be a force to be reckoned with in a few years. Cleaning up at underage.

Very informative article about Andy.

http://www.the42.ie/andy-moran-mayo-...16413-Sep2017/

All the indications are there will likely to be few if any retirements,he did come off with in the final with a hamstring injury as we all suspected.He's out for the remainder of the club championship.

Great news in the Moran household with a new arrival due in January.