Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael Duignan on the Sky Deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭slegs

Michael Duignan can well afford to pay for Sky for his folks. Jaysus this "why don't they think of the old people" sh1te beats all.

If they get Now Tv they can pay 10eur for 1 day Sky Sports.

Give it a rest for the love of God

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

slegs wrote: »
    Michael Duignan can well afford to pay for Sky for his folks. Jaysus this "why don't they think of the old people" sh1te beats all.

Give it a rest for the love of God
    or if you're abroad, you must pay a tenner just to watch the Sunday Game highlights show, to hear how nobody should pay for watching GAA
    (noting too, that RTE International, not a nasty multinational, are happy to take this tenner !)

also worth standing back and seeing what WASN'T on TV, for the hard pressed geriatric fan.
    Westmeath v Armagh was a cracker, not on telly, at all.
    Cavan v Tipp saw a 6 point lead overturned to see the away team win, not on telly
    Meath v Donegal was close the whole way and won with a last minute injury time point, not on telly
    Tipp v Dublin in the hurling was scheduled on the same evening as lots of club games in Dublin, yet was not on telly for the hoards of club players and members not able to travel.
    And thats ignoring a list of other games which also werent shown live, or delayed

I get that its a pain to not have a televised game for free, I love free stuff too, but jesus its a damn sight better to have the game on sky ,than for fans of over a dozen counties who either had to travel to the game or make do with 5 minutes highlights on the Sunday game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Cazale

slegs wrote:

I'm sure the old boys down the country with no or limited broadband would have no bother setting up a one day subscription to Now Tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

I just dont get how people havent been able to get their heads around the concept that Sky are showing additional games over and above what RTE used to show. RTE isnt showing less matches and still has the pick of the matches.

Also it's quite simple-if you want to watch it then go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,736 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

This is only an issue because it was Waterford beating Kilkenny for the first time in nearly 60 years in a extra time thriller.

Sky have the rights for these Saturday night qualifiers.

Few expected this matchup at this stage in the championship

Had it been Offaly v Limerick no one would give a toss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Fair play to him for having the courage to speak out. He's only echoing what a lot of GAA people are saying.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/rte-pundit-michael-duignan-passionately-criticises-the-gaas-deal-with-sky-35911772.html

Took him two years to speak up in fairness!

I just dont get how people havent been able to get their heads around the concept that Sky are showing additional games over and above what RTE used to show. RTE isnt showing less matches and still has the pick of the matches.

That's not true! Sky have first pick for the qualifiers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Sky's coverage is streets ahead of the dross cooked up by RTE.

If Michael Duignan was that arsed about ensuring his father could have got to see it he could have done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,245 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

The arrogance of posters to comment saying Duignan could have got it for him...Maybe Duignans father hates the fact that gaa is on Sky in the first place and refuses to watch it. You haven't a clue so don't comment.

Anyway it's a joke, I know folks who have been involved in GAA clubs all their lives, from playing to coaching to administration, etc and can't afford Sky. Disgrace that they have to go to the pub or their kids house to see games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

I do feel for some of the older GAA folk and his comments have some foundation, but I think that applies to many areas of life & consumerism nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

This just isn't true though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The GAA is more about money than sport now.
    We shouldn't have to pay these over inflated prices to watch our national sports.

ClanofLams wrote: »
    The arrogance of posters to comment saying Duignan could have got it for him...Maybe Duignans father hates the fact that gaa is on Sky in the first place and refuses to watch it. You haven't a clue so don't comment.

Anyway it's a joke, I know folks who have been involved in GAA clubs all their lives, from playing to coaching to administration, etc and can't afford Sky. Disgrace that they have to go to the pub or their kids house to see games.

To slightly contradict my own post, affordability is a red herring anyway. These are people who pay club membership, buy lotto tickets, pay into games, etc not to mention all the time they give up volunteering with local clubs.

Whether they can afford it or not, they shouldn't have to pay for Sky, they give more than enough to the GAA as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

If Michael Duignan was that arsed about ensuring his father could have got to see it he could have done.

nah

This has to be the most incorrect post ever!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭deadybai

It's a disgrace end of.

Duignan is completly correct .

Why should people have to suffer because the Gaa apparently want to show the games abroad ?

It's literally one of those 'only in Ireland' things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭bodun

Yea but these extra games used to be shown on TV3 for free, now you require a sky subscription to view them.

danganabu wrote: »
    This has to be the most incorrect post ever!!

When is the last time you've watched a game on sky?

There is no contest between the quality of analysis and presentation by McGuinness/Horan/Canavan compared with the continual bolloxology and nonsense dredged up by Messrs Spillane, O'Rourke and Brolly.

The only people saying otherwise are those pretending to be offended it's not free to air.

deadybai wrote: »
    It's literally one of those 'only in Ireland' things.

Unlike in England of course where their national sport is shown entirely fre.... oh actually, no. You pay for some of that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

In my opinion Sky coverage is awful. All has to be about the computer and circling players and saying where they should have been, the "moving on " and circling. Jaysus its like the soccer
    At least on RTE they can sit and talk about the match without the need of computers .

I think you missed the point Michael Duignan was making or did you really think he was just talking about his father alone?

GAA making more money than we can imagine and yet had to sell the rights
    to SKY . SHAME ON THEM. Saying they are trying to promote the game abroad.
    I say BULL**** on this as well. Its about money and nothing else IMO

There is no contest between the quality of analysis and presentation by McGuinness/Horan/Canavan compared with the continual bolloxology and nonsense dredged up by Messrs Spillane, O'Rourke and Brolly.

The only people saying otherwise are those pretending to be offended it's not free to air.

Last weekend I watched Kilkenny V Limerick, none of those you mentioned were on it. However Brian Carney and Rachel Wyse offered some really good insight :p The camera work is suprisingly poor for a sports dedicated channel and I have lost count of the number of times they miss some of the action while showing replays of nothing.

Unlike in England of course where their national sport is shown entirely fre.... oh actually, no. You pay for some of that too.

Yeah and the players are well remunerated for their efforts. The amateur status of the GAA makes such comparisons void.

If they want to give it to Sky, fine let sky show it but they shouldn't have exclusivity over games. Let RTÉ/TV3/TG4 show them too. This will mean slightly less money for the GAA but they aren't hurting for money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭RuMan

I generally switch off once the games finish. I have an allergy to "analysts" in all sports.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Can I ask those who are so vehemently against Sky's GAA coverage, are you equally opposed to EirSport (formerly Setanta) showing games that aren't free to air? Setanta began showing league games years before Sky started showing games yet I can't remember anyone having an issue with it.

I think RTE should concentrate on improving their coverage (i.e. not dedicating 90% of their highlights show to games that they showed live on Saturday or Sunday).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,125 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

One of the reasons I posted this is, I have a relative in his late 70's sick in hospital at the moment. He's a lifelong GAA supporter. Played hurling for his club and goes to all their games, even the underage. He even trained underage for a while. He watches every GAA game on the telly, even football, which he doesn't care for.:D
    Well anyway, he was forced to listen to the Kilkenny/Waterford game on the radio. He could only get extra time.:mad:

RuMan wrote: »
    I generally switch off once the games finish. I have an allergy to "analysts" in all sports.

Fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Is Duignan forgetting that its only in relatively recent times that a lot of these games are on TV at all? He himself, never mind his oul fella, can surely remember when it was only the provincial finals, semi's and final that were shown live on TV.

Even if RTE had all the games I'm not sure that they could or even would want to show them all - for logistical and cost reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

I personally think sky's coverage is great. They actually analyse games and all the focus isn't on the soap opera antics of one or two pundits in the studio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

One of the reasons I posted this is, I have a relative in his late 70's sick in hospital at the moment. He's a lifelong GAA supporter. Played hurling for his club and goes to all their games, even the underage. He even trained underage for a while. He watches every GAA game on the telly, even football, which he doesn't care for.:D
    Well anyway, he was forced to listen to the Kilkenny/Waterford game on the radio. He could only get extra time.:mad:

And if Sky hadn't been showing the game where would he have watched it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

rossie1977 wrote: »
    I personally think sky's coverage is great. They actually analyse games and all the focus isn't on the soap opera antics of one or two pundits in the studio

It's better by miles.

Can I ask those who are so vehemently against Sky's GAA coverage, are you equally opposed to EirSport (formerly Setanta) showing games that aren't free to air? Setanta began showing league games years before Sky started showing games yet I can't remember anyone having an issue with it.

I think RTE should concentrate on improving their coverage (i.e. not dedicating 90% of their highlights show to games that they showed live on Saturday or Sunday).

I am. That obviously attracted less attention because of lower interest in league. The point, or mine anyway, isn't about RTÉ showing them. They used to be on tv3 and that was fine from my viewpoint.

The GAA exists only because of thousands of volunteers across the country who give up their time and money. Asking them to then go pay to watch inter county action on tv is taking the mick.

And if Sky hadn't been showing the game where would he have watched it?

On TV3 which previously had those games presumably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

On TV3 which previously had those games presumably.

And did TV3 show a lot of Saturday evening games before Sky came along?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I am. That obviously attracted less attention because of lower interest in league. The point, or mine anyway, isn't about RTshowing them. They used to be on tv3 and that was fine from my viewpoint.

The GAA exists only because of thousands of volunteers across the country who give up their time and money. Asking them to then go pay to watch inter county action on tv is taking the mick.

Why would you be against eirsport showing league games :confused:

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Is Duignan forgetting that its only in relatively recent times that a lot of these games are on TV at all? He himself, never mind his oul fella, can surely remember when it was only the provincial finals, semi's and final that were shown live on TV.

Even if RTE had all the games I'm not sure that they could or even would want to show them all - for logistical and cost reasons.

RTE already have a full monopoly of radio coverage. They outbid Newstalk for their rights earlier in the year.

You know what the problem is? RTÉ haven't been able to provide any more coverage on the radio because there's so many games on and they still have the same 2/3 slots.

So in a nutshell, RTÉ outbid for Newstalks rights for the simple reason that Newstalk didn't have them. If they did, then the likes of Tipp/Cavan and Meath/Donegal could have got some radio coverage.

So for Michael Duignan to cry foul of Sky providing games on a pay basis (which people abroad have to pay for anyway) on a platform which literally took away national radio coverage from people is a bit rich in my opinion.

And did TV3 show a lot of Saturday evening games before Sky came along?

Yes.

Why would you be against eirsport showing league games :confused:

Because they should be on free to air tv.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

At least they use their rights to provide the games they've claimed.

Unlike RTÉ Radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Duignan complaining about:

1) Sky having games, when he works for one of the parties directly in competition to them
    2) all because his own father couldn't watch a match that
    3) RTE likely wouldn't have shown anyway.

That doesn't sit right with me, regardless of how you feel about the Sky deal. He clearly has a personal and professional agenda.

Is he as concerned about great GAA men and women in Australia paying 150 quid a year to watch these games, and getting none free-to-air, because the games are geo-blocked on his employer's website?

Is he as concerned about lifelong GAA fans in the US paying 20 dollars to have to watch a match in the pub?

Why don't RTE pick up some of the minor/u21 games if they're so selflessly concerned with the average football/hurling fans around the country?

No mention of Donegal/Meath not being offered anywhere, on television or radio. I suppose his Dad isn't keen on the football, so not worth a mention. Was that Sky's fault too?

Selfless Michael Duignan seems to be pretty uncritical of the organisation paying him to be on television.

Faugheen wrote: »
    At least they use their rights to provide the games they've claimed.

Unlike RTÉ Radio.

I am not defending RTÉ. I dont like some of their coverage. I don't know much about the radio deal but if your post is accurate, then I would agree that was poor form by RTÉ.

I am saying people shouldn't have to pay to watch GAA.

Even though RTE werent showing them prior to this. Ok. :rolleyes:

I'm sure Tv3 or TG4 would be willing to. Were RTÉ offered them previously? Genuine question.

I'm sure Tv3 or TG4 would be willing to. Were RToffered them previously? Genuine question.

I honestly dont know. I cant recall them ever showing any interest

Well I wouldn't imagine the GAA is getting massive money for the package. Why not settle for a few quid less and put them on TV3? Let anyone in the country who wants to watch them see them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Well I wouldn't imagine the GAA is getting massive money for the package. Why not settle for a few quid less and put them on TV3? Let anyone in the country who wants to watch them see them.

Why wouldn't RTE let Newstalk offer live radio coverage of the football Saturday evening that was covered by nobody? Meath and Donegal fans would have greatly appreciated it, I'm sure.

Surprised Duignan didn't pull RTE up on their shameless blocking of GAA games from old men in those counties.

elefant wrote: »
    Why wouldn't RTE let Newstalk offer live radio coverage of the football Saturday evening that was covered by nobody? Meath and Donegal fans would have greatly appreciated it, I'm sure.

Surprised Duignan didn't pull RTE up on their shameless blocking of GAA games from old men in those counties.

For the second time, I couldn't care less about RTÉ. I don't know anything about the radio deal but I agree that the more radio coverage, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭westcork67

Lot of old cobblers from Duignan - I am not a fan of paying to watch matches however a few points

There are more matches being televised than ever - no way RTE would should all the extra games - Sky are allowing us to see more games and the pub is not the worst option in the world if you have to go

GAA is about promoting the games of the GAA - To do so in this modern era, where the GAA is competiting with the multi-billion industries that are Soccer and Rugby, you need cash. If the GAA can raise money to promote our games to younger people, and Sky can improve the marketing and media perception of same, to compete with the hype machine that is the premiership and rugby, so be it.

Now that RTE have a "proper" competitor it will force them to raise their standards as well - RTE have been getting away with poor overall coverage until competition came in

Michael - fork out a few quid for sky sports for the auld lad if it matters that much to you - why should the GAA be hamstrung when sports like Rugby and Soccer are wholescale on the paid for platforms - didn't see anyone whinge about the Lions games

westcork67 wrote: »
    Lot of old cobblers from Duignan - I am not a fan of paying to watch matches however a few points

There are more matches being televised than ever - no way RTE would should all the extra games - Sky are allowing us to see more games and the pub is not the worst option in the world if you have to go

GAA is about promoting the games of the GAA - To do so in this modern era, where the GAA is competiting with the multi-billion industries that are Soccer and Rugby, you need cash. If the GAA can raise money to promote our games to younger people, and Sky can improve the marketing and media perception of same, to compete with the hype machine that is the premiership and rugby, so be it.

Now that RTE have a "proper" competitor it will force them to raise their standards as well - RTE have been getting away with poor overall coverage until competition came in

Michael - fork out a few quid for sky sports for the auld lad if it matters that much to you - why should the GAA be hamstrung when sports like Rugby and Soccer are wholescale on the paid for platforms - didn't see anyone whinge about the Lions games

Are sky showing more? They originally took the package TV3 previously had which wouldn't have included any extra games. I think I read they retained these rights so that wouldn't be any extra.

The lions players got 80k sterling per head for those who were on the full tour. Likewise soccer and rugby players are obviously highly paid professionals, the GAA don't have this issue.

The GAA have a massive built in advantage in thousands of volunteers across the country, there is no fear of them losing out to rugby and soccer as long as they maintain this network. It is that army of volunteers that will keep the GAA at the forefront of Irish society not an extra million or two from Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

I appreciate his gripe, but picking on the sky deal only highlights his own bias to be honest about it. They aren't the first pay per view channel showing gaa, indeed you need to pay a licence fee to watch it on 'free-to-air' also, and have done since the start of televised gaa.
    Picking on the English channel who are charging for gaa is a bit like the EPL commentators blaming the foreigners for introducing diving into soccer. There is no real basis to it, it just makes them feel better to believe it.

Maybe he could redirect some of the money he makes from the gaa himself, to buying a sky box for his parents? Amateur ethos and all that...

I appreciate his gripe, but picking on the sky deal only highlights his own bias to be honest about it. They aren't the first pay per view channel showing gaa, indeed you need to pay a licence fee to watch it on 'free-to-air' also, and have done since the start of televised gaa.
    Picking on the English channel who are charging for gaa is a bit like the EPL commentators blaming the foreigners for introducing diving into soccer. There is no real basis to it, it just makes them feel better to believe it.

Maybe he could redirect some of the money he makes from the gaa himself, to buying a sky box for his parents? Amateur ethos and all that...

Not true, that's a daft argument