Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Site Banned Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭political analyst

Again, with regard to what I said in post 2063, why was Dermot given an ignominious departure? Why has he been airbrushed out, i.e. not being mentioned in conversation at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,267 ✭✭✭jos28

I've watched FC since it began and definitely feel like putting my time to better use at this stage. :(

The past year has really turned me off it, the KT story was a great idea, started out well and descended into farce.
    We've had a year of bloody Paul and Niamh, months of the PLAN, the affairs , involving the entire cast in the PLAN, sums that would never add up etc etc...... to end with a fumble on the couch and everything back to square one. Seriously writers :mad::mad::mad: I really thought that they would have either Paul or Niamh having a road to Damascus experience and mending their ways. They had an ideal opportunity with Orla as Niamh's cousin, I'd have loved Orla to tell Niamh that Gina would be ashamed of the way she's turned out.
    Dermot has been forgotten about, his children scattered all over the globe. Dermot would never have behaved this way. He was a councilor,a man that loved his community and family.
    We, as viewers are subjected to a monotonous repetition of Carol shouting and roaring, Niamh clip clopping around 7 days a week in business attire and all the rest of the current drivel.
    Hang your heads in shame writers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

jos28 wrote: »
    I've watched FC since it began and definitely feel like putting my time to better use at this stage. :(

The past year has really turned me off it, the KT story was a great idea, started out well and descended into farce.
    We've had a year of bloody Paul and Niamh, months of the PLAN, the affairs , involving the entire cast in the PLAN, sums that would never add up etc etc...... to end with a fumble on the couch and everything back to square one. Seriously writers :mad::mad::mad: I really thought that they would have either Paul or Niamh having a road to Damascus experience and mending their ways. They had an ideal opportunity with Orla as Niamh's cousin, I'd have loved Orla to tell Niamh that Gina would be ashamed of the way she's turned out.
    Dermot has been forgotten about, his children scattered all over the globe. Dermot would never have behaved this way. He was a councilor,a man that loved his community and family.
    We, as viewers are subjected to a monotonous repetition of Carol shouting and roaring, Niamh clip clopping around 7 days a week in business attire and all the rest of the current drivel.
    Hang your heads in shame writers.

Too true Jos. I think Niamh and Paul has really annoyed a lot of us. Jesus could the not let them part and make storylines out of them coupling with others at least..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Have we seen the last of Louis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

branie2 wrote: »
    Have we seen the last of Louis?

Alas, no. They booked a flight home for Thursday.
    Unfortunately, the airline they booked with was Ryanair.
    So we'll probably see them at Niamh and Paul's Christmas dinner this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Once again, Caddle has shown us why she's a top contender for Mammy of the Year.

"Jack, c'mere till I tell ya sumpin'. Look, d'ya remember dat tall thin fella we saw in de park last week? Yeh had a 20 second chat with him, yeah? Well, I want ya to try and remember what he looked like. Go go, go on!
    Righ', I've arranged for yeh to go and spend de night with himself and his missus.
    A whole night's sleep-over! Won't dat be nice?
    Whaddya mean you barely know dem? Not to worry, sure by mornin' yeh'll know dem well. Now off yeh go with dem, good man yerself.
    Sure yeh'll be grand. ....."

What is it with the residents of Carrigstown that it's almost compulsory for them to pretend to have cancer?
    Why could it not be something simple and more easily treated , like maybe a bladder infection or violent, pulsing diarrhoea. It'd be easier to explain, and they could tear off to the jacks when the questions get too tough.......

Whenever two people meet anywhere in Carrigstown to talk about a third person, that third party inevitably turns up.
    Jackie and Hughie only have to mention Ryan's name when up he strolls.
    Kerry Ann and Chile-boy rifle through Decco's papers and who d'ya think appears out of nowhere? Yep!
    It's only a matter of time before two characters meet up and start discussing the dress code in the Dàil, then they look behind them and there's Mick Wallace hovering, in his pink tee-shirt, grey stubble and CatWeeazel hair style.

Fair City, that fantastical suburb where nothing, nothing, surprises us any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Ah Jesus Caddy, make up your mind, is it an 1hour or 2 hours you're willing to give Jack away for?.... Whooo-ahhh, sure let him stay the night, what? :eek :.... Ah here FC writers, get some concistuty going. Please. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

coolhull wrote: »
    Once again, Caddle has shown us why she's a top contender for Mammy of the Year.

"Jack, c'mere till I tell ya sumpin'. Look, d'ya remember dat tall thin fella we saw in de park last week? Yeh had a 20 second chat with him, yeah? Well, I want ya to try and remember what he looked like. Go go, go on!
    Righ', I've arranged for yeh to go and spend de night with himself and his missus.
    A whole night's sleep-over! Won't dat be nice?
    Whaddya mean you barely know dem? Not to worry, sure by mornin' yeh'll know dem well. Now off yeh go with dem, good man yerself.
    Sure yeh'll be grand. ....."

And at that, a sleepover in a tiny hotel room, with one bed. Seriously a room so small that someone has to be in the bathroom any time they have company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

The lad playing the transgender character is a truly atrocious actor, he is utterly appalling. He's like an extra who has never acted before and has been given lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,480 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I think the evening/night that Louis is spending with Jack would probably equal the amount of time Carol has spent with Jack since about June!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Sean 18

monkey9 wrote: »
    The lad playing the transgender character is a truly atrocious actor, he is utterly appalling. He's like an extra who has never acted before and has been given lines.

Have to agree his awful let's hope his just a figment of Jackies imagination and he doesn't exsist at all

But you have to admit that Fair City made history in Irish soaps by having a transgender character, played a transgender actor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

branie2 wrote: »
    But you have to admit that Fair City made history in Irish soaps by having a transgender character, played a transgender actor

But that just about sums up everything bad in Fair City. Tokenism at it's worst.

First transgender actor playing a transgender character. But the basics are lacking. He's introduced in a bizarre way, given a job already filled, a terrible actor.

Probably a reason he's a terrible actor is Fair City decided to be the first Irish soap having a transgender actor play a transgender character and he obviously had little competition auditioning:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,756 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

nagdefy wrote: »
    But that just about sums up everything bad in Fair City. Tokenism at it's worst.

First transgender actor playing a transgender character. But the basics are lacking. He's introduced in a bizarre way, given a job already filled, a terrible actor.

Probably a reason he's a terrible actor is Fair City decided to be the first Irish soap having a transgender actor play a transgender character and he obviously had little competition auditioning:D

It's too rushed. He was introduced as a character and we found out he was transgender and that he knew Jackie within about five seconds, crazy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,181 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

TG he/she may be - still a terrible calibre of an actor, so wooden, no emotions - if there was a short supply of TG actors out there, they should have waited to do the storyline when a better TG actor came along - sorry to be blunt to the person that plays the character, maybe its early days and when they find their feet and get a bit more experience from working on the show then maybe will get better as time goes on.

is it only me that thinks Charlie Manson in the Pheonix Way reminds me of NI minister Arlene Foster? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I thought Decco was his own only employee besides Mondo :confused::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

Hughie and new fella crossing the road yet again.....in comes Jackie.
    For the love n honour of jaysus how many times can they do the same scene.

"Let's not do this"....says Hughie's new sidekick. Yes let's not....!

I hope Bella gets kicked out of Vino's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,787 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I've started hitting the mute button when Jackie comes on, sick listening to her.

Pete was really fuming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Another stray for Niamh to look after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

That zoom in on Emmett at the end was pure comedy.

All he was missing was a moustache to twirl.

The Felix Way: it's a front for travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Does Pete have a full time job anymore or is he a permanent bodyguard in the centre?
    Interesting turn with Manson tonight- its clear that she wants to keep PW open at all costs, and is using Emmet as a pawn to get the big bucks in. When she has money and an influential client, people are much easier to get on board. I think its also deeper than that- Manson wants to brainwash and control people in this small town with a view to spreading PW message beyond.

Did anyone notice how Emmet didn't even REACT when he heard Manson describe his as a sick and emotionally desperate individual, he didn't even flinch talk about brainwashed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 meallat

Eh hello did nobody else see the builders bum on Robbie?!

meallat wrote: »
    Eh hello did nobody else see the builders bum on Robbie?!

Yes, I wasn't sure if it was poor editing or it was meant to be like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

So the holistic centre isn't raking it in after what, maybe 2 weeks so HQ is going to pull the plug? Ah yeah that sounds like good business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

What did your man mean when he said to Emmett about being young etc.. Cancer doesnt discriminate when it comes to age.

Again, I need to say the character, Ryan and his introduction is utter rubbish. We are supposed to believe that Jackie saw the "same eyes" and looked so "familiar" to a person she worked with years and years ago who now it would transpire is the mother of Ryan.
    And she could be so specific. PLEASE. Way too random. Total rubbish and such an insult by the writers that they expect the audience to buy this crap. Of all the people Jackie has worked with and continues to work with, she sees something familiar in a person, who was both a CHILD and different sex when she first was meant to know them.... AAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH

And if if see Hughie and Ryan cross the road one more time while discussing the POD , I will scream.
    I wish Hughes would go back on the Gargle!

There was an episode a good while ago and it looked like he was but it was like they forgot about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

Gas how there's never a mention of how heather is getting on!
    Deco and Kerriann story is v badly done. They are a young couple and only trying about a month coz the rest of the time they are too busy arguing to do the biz!.
    Their extreme reaction is very unrealistic!