Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,814 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

bazermc wrote: »
    What's an Armenian. Somebody from Armagh?

What the fcuks an Armagh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Miner

Kevin needs to get himself a decent American/Irish accent. His isn't even the woeful oirish accent!

Last night Caddle ordered herself a vodka tonic and 2 minutes later when she was giving her speech to the pub saying "I was only 11", she had a red wine in her hand. Did I miss half a session or did she guzzle the voddie??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,181 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

pjohnson wrote: »
    Yup. She probably had to tell them all this :pac:

Thats very handy for FC .. who most probably had no intention of researching it themselves! ...

Miner wrote: »
    Kevin needs to get himself a decent American/Irish accent. His isn't even the woeful oirish accent!

Last night Caddle ordered herself a vodka tonic and 2 minutes later when she was giving her speech to the pub saying "I was only 11", she had a red wine in her hand. Did I miss half a session or did she guzzle the voddie??

if I was in the station I would have gone ... "yep you were only 11 and what? - dont just stop there!" I was just getting interested in what the drunk lush had to say.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,745 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

is the actress who plays Melanie Armenian? -

Definitely of Armenian extraction I would say, as is her son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,814 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

thats pretty bad that :D - have you got any infliction in the looks department or are you perfect? :)

It depends with Melanie what camera angle - if you get a full on side camera angle then yes its a fair size her shnozzle. - its what is deep inside innit that matters? :)
    Regardless of nose I thinks shes stunning.

Strazdas wrote: »
    Definitely of Armenian extraction I would say, as is her son.

her son looks like an armenian version of my Irish son .. especially when he hasnt shaved - in fact we were all sitting down last night and I said "here , he looks you! " haha :D

Regardless of nose I thinks shes stunning.

she might be saving up the acting fee to get her nose done at some time - I have heard of actresses doing that before, saving up to get cosmetic surgery.

Mind u if its true that I hear FC actors get a pittance of a wage and have to do other moonlighting jobs she will be waiting years til she can afford it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭RVD420

thats pretty bad that :D - have you got any infliction in the looks department or are you perfect? :)

It depends with Melanie what camera angle - if you get a full on side camera angle then yes its a fair size her shnozzle. - its what is deep inside innit that matters? :)

Just sayin'......

Ray reminds me of a fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Do we really have groups such as the one Miriam runs in Ireland?

You would be surprised at the amount of holistic and group therapy groups around. Plus Miriam said it was the first branch of Phoenix Way in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

Miriam is so creepy!
    It was like Emmet was a different person the way they were feeling Pete he didn't get the job!
    Next thing they'll be doing free personality tests and I just know Doug would be an easy target!
    Loving this story line!

laylag wrote: »
    Miriam is so creepy!
    It was like Emmet was a different person the way they were feeling Pete he didn't get the job!
    Next thing they'll be doing free personality tests and I just know Doug would be an easy target!
    Loving this story line!

I agree, I know I give this show some stick but equally, when I see a good episode or concept I'm the first to praise it and this emerging "cult" type story with Miriam is fascinating to watch even if only because its not a typical storyline at all, plus Miriam plays the leader very well.
    Emmet took a while but now hes sucked in completely to these ideals of the group. Its only a matter of time before Miriam signs up a few more and then that's where things no doubt get sinister with money or criminality expected from members if their lives are to be enriched!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I saw just the ad for Hidden Hearing with Trigger in it, and I could have sworn he looked like my English teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Curiosity took me to checking out Armenian culture. Actually they are tight knit and tend to stay amongst themselves. Quite old fashioned in that you must impress the parents before courting can commence and the parents often try to find an Armenian partner for their children. Its actually a cultural thing so fair play Fair City.

But Melanie is just being a hypocrite then she shouldn't be going with an Irish guy then and practice what she preeches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RubyXI

Fair City is after getting very religious. Armenian Sunday school. The old priest trying to convert people back to the church. Kerry Ann goes to mass regularly. Deco has his own arrangements with God. And who knows what Miriam is up to.

phi3 wrote: »
    Fair City is after getting very religious. Armenian Sunday school. The old priest trying to convert people back to the church. Kerry Ann goes to mass regularly. Deco has hid own arrangements with God. And who knows what Miriam is up to.

That scene with the priest guilting Kerri Ann into going to mass was so out of place for 2017, when the Catholic Church has practically zero power these days. Certainly I don't know anyone under 50 who goes to mass regularly and if they do, its hardly that sizeable a group to make a story about a priest trying to get you to mass!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I agree, I know I give this show some stick but equally, when I see a good episode or concept I'm the first to praise it and this emerging "cult" type story with Miriam is fascinating to watch even if only because its not a typical storyline at all, plus Miriam plays the leader very well.
    Emmet took a while but now hes sucked in completely to these ideals of the group. Its only a matter of time before Miriam signs up a few more and then that's where things no doubt get sinister with money or criminality expected from members if their lives are to be enriched!

Is this a cult story though? To me, this has just been a part of the Oisin v Katy/Charlotte story?

Maybe Miriam is a disciple of Martin, the leader of the original cult that Noeleen and Stephen McCoy joined

Is this a cult story though? To me, this has just been a part of the Oisin v Katy/Charlotte story?

I think its more than that because now we have several characters involved that have nothing to do with Katy, Oisin or Charlotte. We have already seen Damien throw her out of the house when she suggested sitting in on his argument with Caoimhe which is fair enough as its a bit weird for a complete stranger to be offering counselling.
    Now we have Emmet nearly brainwashed by Miriam and her cutting Pete out as a "toxic" person when he couldn't agree to her timeline. They made a point to show Miriam being defensive when Pete laughed about Phoenix Way being like a prison, plus she specifically mentioned the group having its "first branch" in Ireland, like a deliberate ploy to stop people researching it or getting opinions from friends.
    Miriam started as a seemingly helpful holistic leader but she let her mask slip once or twice the last 2 weeks and it was unnerving to see! She has signed up Emmet, soon Doug, Charlotte, and no doubt slowly over the next while she will have them eating out of her hand...
    Only Brookside did a real cult storyline in early 1990s and that got critical acclaim and involved a suicide pact and a huge bomb.

Coronation Street did a cult story as well

branie2 wrote: »
    Coronation Street did a cult story as well

I didn't know that, what year was this? Was it any good?

It was in in 1998 and it involved Zoe Tattersall being recruited by a cult called the Etheric Foundation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

phi3 wrote: »
    Fair City is after getting very religious. Armenian Sunday school. The old priest trying to convert people back to the church. Kerry Ann goes to mass regularly. Deco has hid own arrangements with God. And who knows what Miriam is up to.

Very dark too. It will probably end up going down this road -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

It's strange, but poor Trigger looked more relaxed last night in his coffin than he ever did in Carol's spare room. Oh well, he's gone now to that great camp- bed in the sky. By Thursday's episode, he'll never be mentioned again.
    Carol's idea of mourning is to go to the pub, order a vodka and tonic, empty it into her handbag, and instead sip a glass of red wine for all of ten minutes till she's so drunk that Greasy has to hold her upright.
    What the hell was in that glass ? .

Pete, for once, said what I was thinking.... How is it any business of Emmet whether Pete or Pigeon - head puts up a few shelves for Miriam?
    Jaysis, I'd do it myself only I have to fix that boiler in the Community centre first. You know me, sure I'd do anything to please Charlie.

Last night was the first time in weeks that Farrah and Yankee-doodle made an appearance. It never ceases to amaze me that a supermarket can even exist without a steadying hand on the till (even if it is only Farrah's sunburnt hand)

And the less said about the Yank the better.
    As the Bull McCabe was fond of saying in 'The Field" : "Go home, Yank! Dere' s nottin' for yeh here, bhoy!"

Those who know me well know that it's the little things that upset me.
    Like, where's Leo gone? And did he bring his guitar with him?

Has Cass been keeping up with his gardening chores? Does Rose still help him, or has she forgotten about him again ?

Is Dermish still on remand? Most importantly, how's his second - hand liver holding up?

Is Paul still throwing things around that huge semi-detached 3-bedroom mansion of his?
    Is Niamh still under the impression that rolling her eyes to heaven in every scene can legitimately be called 'acting'?

Where's Hughie gone? And Jane? And Seán? And Stripey? And little Ruthie?
    And even though Renee is nowhere to be seen, is she still frowning?

These are the kind of unexplained mysteries that keep me tossing and turning into the small hours.......

P. S. As far as I know, FC is not being broadcast tomorrow night. That's so we can all watch the Lovely Girls competition down in Tralee.
    All together now say, 'Awwwwwww!'
    Isn't that soooooo exciting?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Who is Robbie's work mate or friend Phil, he reminds me of someone

Farrah is going to be appearing in some cultchie show thing in a field on Thursday near us - heard it on the wireless today ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I think its more than that because now we have several characters involved that have nothing to do with Katy, Oisin or Charlotte. We have already seen Damien throw her out of the house when she suggested sitting in on his argument with Caoimhe which is fair enough as its a bit weird for a complete stranger to be offering counselling.
    Now we have Emmet nearly brainwashed by Miriam and her cutting Pete out as a "toxic" person when he couldn't agree to her timeline. They made a point to show Miriam being defensive when Pete laughed about Phoenix Way being like a prison, plus she specifically mentioned the group having its "first branch" in Ireland, like a deliberate ploy to stop people researching it or getting opinions from friends.
    Miriam started as a seemingly helpful holistic leader but she let her mask slip once or twice the last 2 weeks and it was unnerving to see! She has signed up Emmet, soon Doug, Charlotte, and no doubt slowly over the next while she will have them eating out of her hand...
    Only Brookside did a real cult storyline in early 1990s and that got critical acclaim and involved a suicide pact and a huge bomb.

Until now I sort of assumed this Miriam and her organisation was harmless. One of these many support groups in place. It was originally introduced as a place Emmett went to and was a subplot of the Katy story. With all the attention focused on Katy and Paul/Niamh, Miriam was someone we were not really thinking about.

I'm unsure if her organisation is a cult but one thing Sunday's episode showed is she is not as 'nice' as she lets on. Her attitude with Pete is an indication of that. I think the character was introduced first as part of the Katy/Ciaran kidnap storyline and then she became the love interest for Eoghan and then she was useful in the Charlotte/Oisin/Katy story. Now though I feel they have other major plans for her to have her own storyline. If she really is a cult leader, I can see what could happen: Eoghan, Emmett and Charlotte see Miriam as a kind and supportive person and persuade Katy to go. Katy will be reluctant as first but will be convinced by her father, brother and best friend to go. Katy will get deeper into it but Emmett and Charlotte will see through Miriam but will not be able to get through to Katy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,473 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Fair city spent €63,875 on wardrobe last year(Jane's little black skirt ad up) and €8,085 on hair and make-up.

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/rte-spending-hair-makeup-2016-11027855

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

That scene with the priest guilting Kerri Ann into going to mass was so out of place for 2017, when the Catholic Church has practically zero power these days. Certainly I don't know anyone under 50 who goes to mass regularly and if they do, its hardly that sizeable a group to make a story about a priest trying to get you to mass!

I agree Wanderer. No priest goes around evangelising today or he'd get a lot of grief. It's not the 1950s.

However having lived in Dublin for 10 years and then back to the country i find there's a big difference in Mass attendance for those under 50 in urban and rural areas. In Dublin none only one or two friends under 50 went to mass. My home is as rural as it gets and about 70% go to mass between 30 and 50 years at a rough guess. The reasons.. One the priest has a 15-20 minute mass! Two it's social, we all chat for about half an hour after and have a laugh. Another reason is we still have a belief i suppose, just generation after genertion from penal times. Most of those who are in couples bring their children. They might not agree with a lot of Catholic dogma but they kinda bring kids along as they feel it's some kind of moral compass they are passing on. So yes i've found a huge difference between urban and rural.

But agreed no one goes on like Fr. Bertie to Decco. It's Decco's own personal business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭nagdefy

Just in relation to my last post Wanderer. You'd think the various church scandals etc would have an effect on these very rural parishes. But post all the abuse scandals the Tuam babies last year it had no effect on church attendance at home which is kinda bizarre.

The parish priest is liked, no one felt like blaming him and things carried on as per usual.. Strange.