Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,407 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

All you need, when you need it under the tree at Spar! :pac:

God! But that Spar must be doing a great auld trade and doubles as whatever you need on whatever occasion as well!!

I wouldn't mind but I find in the real world Spar as dear as f***!

The shops remind me of the shop you'd go to daily for just bread, milk, fags and a newpaper and maybe a bit of gossip if you're lucky.

I always thought ' The Hungry Pig' a strange name for an eatery. It conjures up images of the poor hungry pig that will eat any ol' swill when hungry.

I felt sorry for CarryAnn in the Garda station with her face all battered...I wanted to put my arms around her and give her a big hug and tell her everything will work out fine. It won't sit well with everyone, but I still can't believe she did it.

The dectective and John Deegan sitting in the interrogation room with a pregnant woman with blood running down her face was chilling.

Just wondering as I can't remember was Aoife Dan and Robbie in the army or were they mercenaries. If it was the army then it's strange that the three of them left it so young and you'd never guess they were once soldiers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

I usually just go there for those exact items, Mena, and the staff in my local aren't friendly at the best of times, more disinterested and just mumble hello, take your money and hand back the change, then go back to their phones (mostly those in their late teens work there at weekends), because it's usually quiet in there. I've never seen or overheard people, usually who I only know to see, discuss dastardly plans, affairs, have blazing rows, or any of the craic that goes on in the FC Spar... People just say the odd howya, buy a small basket or handful of things and leave.. :D Best get back to the grindstone now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭maurv2

What was that about Dolly bringing a bowl of stew to Aoife?? Why did she do that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

maurv2 wrote: »
    What was that about Dolly bringing a bowl of stew to Aoife?? Why did she do that ?
    Cos it was on her script!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,788 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

She should have brought Aoife a new jacket instead because she has been wearing the same one every time she is on for about 2 months now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Guilt as Kerri Ann who was like a daughter to her was the killer plus Wayne didn't help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Did anyone else notice Deegan and Yates looked at each other when Dolly said " so i grabbed the screwdriver ..etc".....is there something else to this..did she ever say she stabbed her ...??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭maurv2

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Guilt as Kerri Ann who was like a daughter to her was the killer plus Wayne didn't help

Poor old Dolly... Lucy a few years ago, Kerrianne, and Wayne a permanent fixture in her life :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Poor old Dolly... Lucy a few years ago, Kerrianne, and Wayne a permanent fixture in her life :p

Dolly needs Cleo back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

I love Sexy Cop Steve, hope he's kept on after they wrap up this Kerri-Ann case.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 EnMarche!

If no one has watched the preview for Sunday, I suggest you do.....

One word - hypocrisy.

I know the crew have limited access to locations because of the move or something but seriously, in Spar of all places. Could they not have just used the community centre. Someone posted a few days back that maybe the writers just have contempt for the viewers and just put in off the wall stuff to see if we say anything, they are so right. It's pretty clear that the writers just throw in whatever and don't care about the problems. I still remember Trigger trying to buy a gun off of Cathal Spillane in Spar last year, so ridiculous. Another thing, why do characters who suddenly become pariahs of Carrigstown immediately go to McCoy's or Vinos and then say something like "this us my local" etc.? Could they not just stay in tonight no?

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    The shops remind me of the shop you'd go to daily for just bread, milk, fags and a newpaper and maybe a bit of gossip if you're lucky.

I always thought ' The Hungry Pig' a strange name for an eatery. It conjures up images of the poor hungry pig that will eat any ol' swill when hungry.

Yeah, The Hungry Pig is the worst name possible for a fast food place ( and the FC parents aren't a great example, always bringing their kids there to eat junk) To me, every time I see that name it makes me want to join a gym, go on Operation Transformation although I'd be laughed out of it as I'm an awful skinny minnie anyway) eat a bowl of lettuce leaves or go on a power walk, because it makes me feel like I actually need to feel and be healthier and lose a ton of weight every time I see one of Bob's burgers or those extra large sugery milkshakes they buy for the kids - even though there's nothing wrong with the odd treat, those crowd are stuck there near permanently, even the older generation, who in real life usually only eat the odd bag of chips and a bit of battered cod from time to time! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,499 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Who remembers Bob's wife Emer?
    019_62a6d08e2084f37174c1f74693de746ddd7845bb.jpg

I love Sexy Cop Steve, hope he's kept on after they wrap up this Kerri-Ann case.. :)

I love him too CollyFlower!

Which is strange, because I have never found an older man attractive before! God, he must be old enough to be my dad, but still he's the most attractive man to turn up in Carrigstown in all the time I've been watching it.

I only hope the pair of us don't end up stabbing each other with screwdrivers in someone else's house over him, now that would be terrible :D :pac:

Who remembers Bob's wife Emer?
    019_62a6d08e2084f37174c1f74693de746ddd7845bb.jpg

My mam does, but correct me if I'm wrong, according to Mam, she had some sort of mental illness or other, or maybe it was brought on as a result of Bob and Renee's affair? I think she died too.... Can't be sure...

I remember the affair and I think she knew about it without letting on for a while.
    I think a lot of the story with them was focused around the property boom and buying property in Bulgaria and maybe wine.
    I can't remember her having a mental illness tough.

Because it's what soap female characters always do in a bereavement situation, the whole stew/casserole thing, IMO. (Shouldn't she have brought it to the wake and given it then???)

And because Dolores feels guilty over supporting Kerri-Ann and because, she'll likely be canonized for all her good works when she dies, she's - albeit a bit late in the day - trying to be a kind, understanding neighbour. (forgiving too, over the whole Aoife accusing Wayne and Orla thing)

And, too, don't know whether she mentioned it in that scene or not, she said, for the first time since Karen was killed that she had a daughter that died, but didn't she have two that died? Or did the scriptwriters forget the other one?

I remember the affair and I think she knew about it without letting on for a while.
    I think a lot of the story with them was focused around the property boom and buying property in Bulgaria and maybe wine.
    I can't remember her having a mental illness tough.

It could have been early onset dememtia or something.....? I'm not quite sure, I'll have to ask the fount of all soap knowledge again :D

When Dolores gave Aoife the casserole dish I said to myself in reality Dolores would be saying to herself 'I'm never going to get my dish back now'!

It could have been early onset dememtia or something.....? I'm not quite sure, I'll have to ask the fount of all soap knowledge again :D

They might have being something the more I think about it.
    I was really mesmerised by how Fair City portrayed the Celtic Tiger/etc. I was almost certain I was going to leave school and start buying property.

She should have brought Aoife a new jacket instead because she has been wearing the same one every time she is on for about 2 months now.

Aoife also has a coat in the same colour.... Even though I like her - I know loads of people don't, but, hey, life would be boring as hell if we all agreed on everything :D

Maybe the Helping Hand could be of service there? I'm sure they have lots of trendy colourful coats and jackets. :D

They might have being something the more I think about it.
    I was really mesmerised by how Fair City portrayed the Celtic Tiger/etc. I was almost certain I was going to leave school and start buying property.

And the banks were practically forcing loans on people IRL, my parents got plenty of those letters, which were, rightly so, though tempting, promptly binned....

Look at the state of us now....

Sorry for going off topic :)

Aoife also has a coat in the same colour.... Even though I like her - I know loads of people don't, but, hey, life would be boring as hell if we all agreed on everything :D

Maybe the Helping Hand could be of service there? I'm sure they have lots of trendy colourful coats and jackets. :D

Orla has a green coat with years now I can't see Aoife being given a new one!

And the banks were practically forcing loans on people IRL, my parents got plenty of those letters, which were, rightly so, though tempting, promptly binned....

Look at the state of us now....

Sorry for going off topic :)

Back in 2005 they did they two week special story. About these rich twenty somethings who were friends with Lauren Mcaleer. I was obsessed with the story. It was all to do with property off shore bank accounts. A guy called getting Finn murdered by somebody called Jake. It was witnessed by Mondo. Which resulted in his departure.

I'd say he will be, for the simple reason that they've given him a first name now and he frequents the local pubs..... Fingers crossed!

Back in 2005 they did they two week special story. About these rich twenty somethings who were friends with Lauren Mcaleer. I was obsessed with the story. It was all to do with property off shore bank accounts. A guy called getting Finn murdered by somebody called Jake. It was witnessed by Mondo. Which resulted in his departure.

Ah, I'd have loved to have watched it back then, don't remember any of those characters. It sounds slightly betterthan it is now.

Orla has a green coat with years now I can't see Aoife being given a new one!

And remember Niamh's coat.... For all the money she supposedly had and all the shopping trips she went on with Rachel, you'd think she'd have bought herself a new one!

Ah, I'd have loved to have watched it back then, don't remember any of those characters. It sounds slightly betterthan it is now.

This is the story I was referring to!

https://presspack.rte.ie/2005/07/26/fair-city-broadcasts-two-exciting-weeks-of-drama-in-which-mondo-gets-caught-up-in-murder-drugs-and-insider-trading/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,788 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I found it a bit odd that Charlotte even brought the picture of jesus to the Helping Hand, it's a charity shop so I doubt the people that would be coming in for assistance are going to be looking for a religious picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Niall_76

Are they angling to bring Niamh back with this seemingly pointless Ruthie story?