Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What industry is dodgier than most people realize?

• 07-07-2017 12:59pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 142 ✭✭

I recently learned that Yelp are basically blackmailing companies to pay them for good reviews.

Someone even made a documentary on it

It's extortion and I found it very surprising.

What other industries are dodgier than most people realize? It can be one you worked in or maybe one you're just aware of.

I'm sure certain chinese take-aways, certain restaurants etc must have some awful behind the scenes practices. I haven't ordered a chinese in years after the last one tasted like rubber covered in curry sauce.

RedTie wrote: »

What other industries are dodgier than most people realize?..............

Non main dealers within a few miles of RedCow.
    (second hand car sales)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm sure certain chinese take-aways, certain restaurants etc must have some awful behind the scenes practices. I haven't ordered a chinese in years after the last one tasted like rubber covered in curry sauce.
    I'd say Chinese's aren't all that bad, mainly because everything is frozen out of a packet. It's not quality food by any means but it's probably had every preservative thrown at it for shelf life, the same as you'd get in any fast food place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 142 ✭✭RedTie

Augeo wrote: »
    Non main dealers within a few miles of RedCow.

Car dealers?

Moore Street dealers?

Heroin dealers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

English Language School business.

Often a cash business for both students paying and teachers being paid. Little protection for students or teachers.

Very little regulation or widely accepted accreditation, until recently, then a few of the dodgier places started going out of business.

Potential for customers to just buy visas into the country is a serious one. I personally know of a school that was offered a quarter of a million quid if they'd accept a certain number of 'students' and then mark them present every day, falsify test results and so on, even though the students wouldn't ever be coming to school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

ScumLord wrote: »
    I'd say Chinese's aren't all that bad, mainly because everything is frozen out of a packet. It's not quality food by any means but it's probably had every preservative thrown at it for shelf life, the same as you'd get in any fast food place.

That and the inspections that are carried out.

My local one is excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I'll go with nightclubs and the adulterated alcohol phenomenon.

http://www.thejournal.ie/fake-alcohol-warning-3287852-Mar2017/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

The Gaming Software Industry: If you do a good bit of digging here on boards, there is a story about how a programmer developed a GAA sport simulation. The same programmer was sorry they ever began the project in the first place.

Model Trains. I won't say why, I'd have a lynch mob against me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,097 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Estate agents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    The Gaming Software Industry: If you do a good bit of digging here on boards, there is a story about how a programmer developed a GAA sport simulation. The same programmer was sorry they ever began the project in the first place.

Model Trains. I won't say why, I'd have a lynch mob against me.

Trainspotting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭seanrambo87

Roads, ie resurfacing, maintenance and the traffic management game. Some fairly dodgy practices going on re the big companies. Money and workers rights etc.

Car dealers?

Moore Street dealers?

Heroin dealers?

Apologies, 2nd hand car dealers in that area.

osarusan wrote: »
    School business.

In General. Quite a prevelance of such businesses giving out 'qualifications' of questionable merit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Roads, ie resurfacing, maintenance and the traffic management game. Some fairly dodgy practices going on re the big companies. Money and workers rights etc.

I can believe it considering the state of some new works done recently. Lumps, holes and uneven surfaces in brand new tarmac. I wonder how much tax payer money they're given to half-ass it, head home, and leave it like that to annoy people for the next twenty years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Public works are full of all sorts of dodgy dealings. Hiding left over tarmac, general waste, "it'll be grand" approach to safety and efficiency. Of course the government do nothing but encourage that kind of behaviour with their rules and the people doing the bad stuff would only get in trouble if they tried to do the right thing.

Curriculum Vitae preparation industry.

Sounds interesting. What's the TLDR on that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

Online payment processors. Moneybookers, PayPal etc. They are essentially financial institutions that don't need to operate within the same restrictions that apply to banks. There was a thread on reddit detailing peoples horror stories with PayPal yesterday.

looksee wrote: »
    Estate agents.

I think everyone realizes they're a shower of fúcks.

Sounds interesting. What's the TLDR on that?

I've been slapped before by the mods for posting links. Go on .. role up your sleeves and don't be a snowflake.

Online payment processors. Moneybookers, PayPal etc. They are essentially financial institutions that don't need to operate within the same restrictions that apply to banks. There was a thread on reddit detailing peoples horror stories with PayPal yesterday.

Got a link handy? I use PayPal quite a bit and never had an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

Broadband providers. If poor countries can have FTTH services for half the price, what can't we. Prices can often be 2x or 4x times more in Ireland compared to other countries.

eBay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Zillah wrote: »
    I can believe it considering the state of some new works done recently. Lumps, holes and uneven surfaces in brand new tarmac. I wonder how much tax payer money they're given to half-ass it, head home, and leave it like that to annoy people for the next twenty years.

As far as I can see, EVERYTHING that goes out to tender from the public sector is treated as a cash cow. I've worked on a couple of government contracts in the IT sector and it really opened my eyes to how our money gets spent.
    Government agencies are clueless and get bilked for 2 to 3 times the amount they need to spend by 'consultants' who deliver needlessly complex, expensive barely functional solutions to do very basic things.
    Never trust consultants in general. They're like ticks, they bury themselves in your skin, suck your blood and won't let go until they bleed you dry or you burn them off.

Zillah wrote: »

In fairness alot of that is bad planning, a company who is subbing work off the Co.Co. come and resurface a road then a couple of months later another company comes along to do civil works i.e. water, fiber optics etc and so the road is badly patched and in sh1te for the next ten years and then it's rinse wash repeat.:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Employment agencies. Take a percentage of workers wages and all their rights.

The care sector. We have already seen how a service for those with disabilities up in Mayo was found to be abusive towards its clients. There is huge possibility for a certain type of person to take advantage of their position and abuse the vulnerable people in their care. It's also at times an incredibly stressful working environment which can create a kind of "I'm at the end of my tether" mentality where those being looked after cease to be human in the "carers" eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Banking. Rotten to the core. Lies and embellishment left right and centre to get money from ya. Mortgage = death grip in Latin.

Ticket websites. Viagogo have agreement to get "allocations" from promoters like 20% of tickets to charge €500 for a €50 ticket promoter gets like 50% of this. Great doumentary on it called the great ticket scam on youtube.. The staff in Limerick treated like dirt and are encouraged to lie lie lie lie and lie some more. No doubt viagogo and stubhub will get plenty of tickets to any sold out show.

Chinese takeaways. Youd never eat their spare ribs again if you seen the meat before its "treated"!.

Agreed scumlord and conorhal, there is an obscene amount of money being washed down the drain. It's all done with a smile and a wink and it p1sses me off no end to watch how our tax money is being spent.

While we're at it, the civil service in general is appalling, obscene money being spent on top tier wages and pensions and all off the back of the private sector workers. I do not include essential services in this I reckon they should be paid more, however this is probably not the right place to vent about it.

The Game Console HARDWARE industry. Examples like the Atari Jaguar and Sega Dreamcast and Nintendo 3D.
    Why has nobody replied to my thread here on the Ataribox? Why? :(
    Grrr...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Phone/repair shops are largely a front for drugs and prostitution I hear...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The Game Console HARDWARE industry. Examples like the Atari Jaguar and Sega Dreamcast and Nintendo 3D.
    Why has nobody replied to my thread here on the Ataribox? Why? :(
    Grrr...

This is the second post in this thread regarding about the Gaming industry that doesnt tell us a whole lot at all.

Care to elaborate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Insurance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

The Game Console HARDWARE industry.

This is simply planned obsolescence in a fast moving competitive industry.

If your next console hasn't got 4k VR and 360 Atmos sound capabilities it will quickly loose it's value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Those stupid speakers that constantly record everything you say for 'convince'.

If you feel the need to constantly add things to a shopping list, here's an idea: pen & notepaper.
    If you need to know the weather look out the window.

This is simply planned obsolescence in a fast moving competitive industry.

If your next console hasn't got 4k VR and 360 Atmos sound capabilities it will quickly loose it's value.

Speaking of planned obsolescence. If you own an Apple device you should try hold out updating your iOS for as long as possible. Most updates completely fúck up older devices.

Source: updated my Ipad 2 and it slowed it down, It's still usable but I'll never update an Apple device again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Charities . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Going by recent scandals and revelations I'd say the charity industry has a few skeletons in the closet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Librarians - I've seen them snigger when paying overdue fees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Drumpot wrote: »
    Charities . .

Great minds think alike.
    Beat me to it by a minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,818 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Agreed scumlord and conorhal, there is an obscene amount of money being washed down the drain. It's all done with a smile and a wink and it p1sses me off no end to watch how our tax money is being spent.

While we're at it, the civil service in general is appalling, obscene money being spent on top tier wages and pensions and all off the back of the private sector workers. I do not include essential services in this I reckon they should be paid more, however this is probably not the right place to vent about it.

Scraping along near the bottom....

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/irish-civil-service-ranks-close-to-bottom-in-review-of-31-countries-796794.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭studdlymurphy

Dodge ball bitches

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Management Companies in apartment and housing complexes

so many of them controlled by the original developer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Augeo wrote: »
    Apologies, 2nd hand car dealers in that area.
    Second-hand car dealers in general, never mind in that area.

That's not to say they're all dodgy, but they amount of them that are fronts that launder drug money, that clock cars, that take in stolen vehicles, would blow your mind.

Even the respectable ones are routinely involved in sales trickery around cash prices and trade-ins to hide income from the tax man. That's why the cash price is cheaper and why when you trade in your car, it'll appear for sale in some other dealership on the other side of the city next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Banking. Rotten to the core. Lies and embellishment left right and centre to get money from ya. Mortgage = death grip in Latin.

Yeah but who doesn't realise that banking is dodgy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭223vmax

Solicitors/Barristers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

I'd say em lads that buy your old cloths are fairly dodge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I was in my local Chinese takeaway in Stillorgan yesterday.
    Two food inspectors were getting into their paper overalls and caps before going into the kitchen.
    I'm sure all food businesses are inspected regularly. If they were not well run they would be closed.

I've been a customer for 35 years and never had a problem.