Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you don't understand

• 03-07-2017 12:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭

Why do some people not buy blackout blinds? I absolutely detest waking up to a really bright room and when you're hungover lying in a bright room is the worst form of torture.

Why is the government finding accommodation left, right and centre for refugees while there is still homeless people sleeping rough on our streets every night?

Why do schools in Ireland still persist with stupid school uniforms? Most arguments in favour of uniforms are based on a few cliche assumptions about child psychology that have proven to be largely wrong in the countries like Sweden and Finland who have the best education systems in the world. Uniforms are expensive, often quite very uncomfortable and not even fit for purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

On your point about uniforms growing up I hated wearing one. Now I'd think differently because of the fact that one child could bully another because they're not wearing the latest fashion trends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Time dilation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

KKkitty wrote: »
    On your point about uniforms growing up I hated wearing one. Now I'd think differently because of the fact that one child could bully another because they're not wearing the latest fashion trends.

As I said, this is a cliche assumption about child psychology. I went too a primary school where we could wear our own clothes and this was never the case. Anecdotal evidence obviously isn't blanket proof but as I mentioned earlier in Finland, no schools have uniforms and empirically, bullying over clothes largely doesn't happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

I don't understand my life what am I supposed to do with myself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

1.I'm too cheap.
    2.To score pc points.
    3.Don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,368 ✭✭✭batistuta9

What do they wear when they get home & on weekends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I love waking up with streaming light coming through my blinds.

I don't understand why some people let their nasal hair grow when there's rechargeable trimmers available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭snapper1234

why is there a such thing as spoilers? like why not just let everyone else watch the movie, play the game or for the sake of the argument, watch the new music video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭mixery

tbh i was a fan of uniforms. they are generally of good quality and last. build a sense of identity with the school. but particularly for people like myself that would happily wear the same pare of jeans and tshirt every day they were a life saviour to not ever have to worry about clothes selection..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I went to a fee paying private secondary school in an upper class area of Dublin,travelling from Tallaght to do so. There was no uniform and I never experienced any issues.
    Wearing shorts and a t-shirt on a hot day beat the **** out of trousers, a shirt and jumper anyway. Being forced to wear a tie is an awful pile of bollocks too.

Ive experienced both systems and much prefer no uniform,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

The school uniform thing is rubbish. Poor kids were easy to spot...trousers too short, frayed jumper sleeves, massive shoes that they'll "grow into" etc.

I'll never get people's interest in 'celebrities'. Who gives a ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,764 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Why with the capacity to build circa 1 million homes within Dublin that homes are built outside with brutal transport infrastructure because people are hoarding land within and it's allowed to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

batistuta9 wrote: »
    What do they wear when they get home & on weekends?

Normal clothes obviously. Think of the cost on parents too. Parents fork out money on uniforms at the start of the school year. They should last an average child the whole school year give or take. Now imagine a parent having to spend money every couple of months on normal clothes for school because there's no uniform so they get damaged quicker due to wear and tear. Uniforms may seem outdated but especially if a school trip is going on it's better to have all pupils wearing the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,368 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Normal clothes obviously. Think of the cost on parents too. Parents fork out money on uniforms at the start of the school year. They should last an average child the whole school year give or take. Now imagine a parent having to spend money every couple of months on normal clothes for school because there's no uniform so they get damaged quicker due to wear and tear. Uniforms may seem outdated but especially if a school trip is going on it's better to have all pupils wearing the same thing.

Won't they get bullied wearing the normal clothes then if they can afford the expensive/latest clothes? Especially since they're wearing them for so long because uniforms saving on wear & tear

& what about where they live & what stuff they have? How do you hide that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

When I read the intro I thought this was a newbie. But Jesus OP, you've been on Boards for 4 years. Surely by now you'd already have all the answers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,094 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

"I'm eating my breakfast, Kate."

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Ending homelessness isn't as easy as picking up a homeless person and plonking them in a home. A lot of homeless people have addiction issues and are incapable of looking after themselves in a house. It sucks but it's the truth. Of course we should be helping them but I'm fed up of seeing this whole anti-refugee thing when people mention homelessness. They're totally separate issues.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I can't follow the logic here. Clothes that aren't uniform clothes fall apart quicker because...?

I've literally never had clothes fall apart on my kids (shoes are another story) and at least half their stuff is hand me downs from other children and/or passed on when they grow out of them. Also never heard of brand bullying at their school. Maybe it's a secondary school thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

I've literally never had clothes fall apart on my kids (shoes are another story) and at least half their stuff is hand me downs from other children and/or passed on when they grow out of them. Also never heard of brand bullying at their school. Maybe it's a secondary school thing.

I guarantee it does exist. I went to a school with uniforms but we wore our own clothes for PE once a week. Once a week was enough for me to get hell for my mismatched hand-me-downs. But it might be more common among girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I love waking up with streaming light coming through my blinds.
    It sucks in the summer when it's bright up till near 11 and bright again around 4. If you go to bed early or wake up early and it's bright, it's nearly impossible to sleep. I have black out blinds but they didn't stop all the light so I made my own out of black material and hang them up every night. Now my room is pitch dark and I get great sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

rawn wrote: »
    Ending homelessness isn't as easy as picking up a homeless person and plonking them in a home. A lot of homeless people have addiction issues and are incapable of looking after themselves in a house. It sucks but it's the truth. Of course we should be helping them but I'm fed up of seeing this whole anti-refugee thing when people mention homelessness. They're totally separate issues.

Plus we're taking in less than a thousand refugees. Housing that many in a country of 4.5 million shouldn't be difficult and it shouldn't result in an either/or decision.

I know there's a lot of stuff to discuss with the refugee issue but cost is actually one of the minor factors.

The kids go home and change out of the uniforms, meaning 2 sets of clothes a day. 1 uniform won't do for a week either. How many times to you wear a shirt or T shirt to work between washes? Personally I wear underwear , sock's and tshirts or shirts once then they get washed. So that's 3 needed a week unless you're going to wash them every day. If you're child is any way active the clothe's are going to be dirtier quicker. I know I played football for about 15 mind half an hour in the morning before school, then again on both breaks. Then you've pe .

If kids are not being bullied on the road about their clothes, why do people seem to think schools are some sort of hotbed for fashion nazis? A high proportion of kids going to school with at least some of their friends from the area too, so are theset kids suddenly turning on each other once the bell goes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Also saves money for parents as it prevents ware and tare of the kids own clothes .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I don't understand how people can justify paying like 30k for a wedding. I mean, whatever floats your boat but like 30k for a day. Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Don't understand people who take lifts regularly to work or whatever and don't even offer a few quid for petrol.

Also saves money for parents as it prevents ware and tare of the kids own clothes .

How does that make sense? Save money by buying two of X and using each half of the time?

Wear and tear doesn't exist in school uniforms. Maybe the answer is to go the other way and have an extra uniform for at home. 2 sets of clothes and the kids can live a grey existence 24/7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

The uniform issue is really kicking off. As a kid I liked them. Most elite schools have them.

What I don't understand is quantum physics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

Overuse (and often incorrect use) of the word "literally"

I literally thought....

It's literally about 5 miles away

Quite often I don't understand boards posts mainly due to use of Americanisms, acronyms, stupid buzz phrases etc

Already mentioned but "celebrity". Who cares what some z list clown does on Friday night. Maybe bring back Bo Selecta

Why people get so upset about ****e like new age feminism etc. Tbh that rubbish would probably annoy me too if I paid even an iota of attention to it. However I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I just can't get my head around why people litter, either small wrappers or people who flytip their waste.

Really it's just destroying our environment, makes everywhere look dirty, shows a complete utter disrespect for themselves and all of the rest of us.

People who litter are just the scum of society, I really just don't understand how an individual can reconcile it in their head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

The uniform issue is really kicking off. As a kid I liked them. Most elite schools have them.

What I don't understand is quantum physics

Uniform should be replaced with a suit of armour - that shít is built to last and has the added benefit of providing protection from the dreaded bully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Solomon Pleasant

Why people vote for Fianna Fáil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Bitcoin in particular and crypto currencies in general.

I was going to buy some bitcoin a few years back for a punt, but never did because I didn't understand it. It has since skyrocketed in value and would have made me a gazzillionaire. I still don't understand it - but I do understand not having an arse in your trousers and feel i would very much have enjoyed the gazzilionaire lifestyle.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Chinese Handwriting

Fanny **** wrote: »
    Overuse (and often incorrect use) of the word "literally"

I literally thought....

It's literally about 5 miles away

Quite often I don't understand boards posts mainly due to use of Americanisms, acronyms, stupid buzz phrases etc

Already mentioned but "celebrity". Who cares what some z list clown does on Friday night. Maybe bring back Bo Selecta

Why people get so upset about ****e like new age feminism etc. Tbh that rubbish would probably annoy me too if I paid even an iota of attention to it. However I don't.

Literally is fine in those cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

rawn wrote: »
    I guarantee it does exist. I went to a school with uniforms but we wore our own clothes for PE once a week. Once a week was enough for me to get hell for my mismatched hand-me-downs. But it might be more common among girls

Would agree with that. We had a uniform in primary school but we were allowed to wear runners with it. I can still remember the pressure to have a "decent" pair of runners. God forbid you'd stroll in in a pair of Ben Dunne's finest - slated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Rab.C. Nesbitt. Could never understand him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

Literally is fine in those cases.

In the first case (overuse) the word is completely unnessicary/redundant

In the 2nd it contradicts the meaning of literally (in a literal manner or sense; exactly)

However literally is used more and more these days - which is what I do not understand. Not long ago nobody would ever have contemplated using literally in the examples I gave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

Snapchat.

I just don't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I don't understand why everyone is in such a rush all the time.

Every time I take the Luas from Jervis there are people ready to rush through the open doors of the arriving Luas long before people have even disembarked the fecking thing to make room for them!

What makes it worse is that it's a 5/10min wait for the next one.

Relax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

I fed you, I played with you, I let you out and back in again at least 5 times in the last 20 mins. I've given you unconditional love. What the **** are you meowing for, you stupid bastard cat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Soaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Der Stier

_Brian wrote: »
    I just can't get my head around why people litter, either small wrappers or people who flytip their waste.

Really it's just destroying our environment, makes everywhere look dirty, shows a complete utter disrespect for themselves and all of the rest of us.

People who litter are just the scum of society, I really just don't understand how an individual can reconcile it in their head.
    Always amazed how people that just gently place an empty coke can on a wall think it's not littering, so for it to be litter you have to crush it and just chuck it on the ground carelessly ?

diomed wrote: »
    Soaps.

The trick is to wet your hands first, then pick it up. Get the lather going properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

The trick is to wet your hands first, then pick it up. Get the lather going properly.

It makes it very easy to drop the soap if you do it that way. I find it better to pick up the soap with dry hands and then run them under the tap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

I never understood the Irish necessity to talk up the dead. I mean everybody at a funeral knows the person, and understands any of the euphemisms that get thrown about:

she loved a tipple – raging alcoholic
    he had a short fuse – beat the crap outta his wife
    He’d give you the shirt off his back – then steal everything you have.
    And so on…..

Why not just tell the truth or say nothing.

Plus it waters down any nice thinks you say about nice people who pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

In the 2nd it contradicts the meaning of literally (in a literal manner or sense; exactly)

However literally is used more and more these days - which is what I do not understand. Not long ago nobody would ever have contemplated using literally in the examples I gave

The definition of "literally" was amended recently to include use as emphasis in non literal situations. Language gone mad.

I literally don't have a clue what point you're trying to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Couples at gigs, the way one gets on the others shoulders and blocks a good chunk of the main stage for the people behind. A good case in point, Outkast at Electric Picnic in 2014. Crowds of people blethering to each other on their boyfriends shoulders possibly about five of them blocking a good view of the stage. Did you not take enough selfies or something and do you not have cop on that you are ruining it for a whole bunch of others. No wonder people throw pints of piss, where to aim, thats quite easy.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

TPD wrote: »
    The definition of "literally" was amended recently to include use as emphasis in non literal situations. Language gone mad.

Dickens used literally to mean the opposite. In hyperbole. Goes way back.