Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Illegal number plates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Buyer beware of bat **** crazy old lady, more like.

I'd love to have so little **** going on in my life that all I had to do was nit pick with NCT's over some technicality like that.

She obviously went out of her way to get those plates and they are not an acceptable plate whether she likes it or not. If that was my only NCT fail I'd have a new set of plates on the car within hours and I'd be moving on with my life.

I'd say she was only delighted when she failed on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Oh great, another nutcase.

Those plates are used in many European countries and we can't reasonably have two different types just to suit a tiny minority. She already has the county in Irish on the top.

Has to be a retired teacher.

'Wanted to appeal the decision, but the form was not available in Irish'
    I'd say they conducted the interview in Irish or got an interpreter. No way she can speak English anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Buyer beware of bat **** crazy old lady, more like.

I'd love to have so little **** going on in my life that all I had to do was nit pick with NCT's over some technicality like that.

She obviously went out of her way to get those plates and they are not an acceptable plate whether she likes it or not. If that was my only NCT fail I'd have a new set of plates on the car within hours and I'd be moving on with my life.

I'd say she was only delighted when she failed on that.

Ní raibh aon fhoirm ar fáil i ngaeilge.

The form to complain was not available in Irish so she did not submit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

In your passport the country is IRL on the photo page, case closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Ha ha, I hope she gets caught for no NCT feckin loo la. Some people have little to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Female version of a dickhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Bored old busybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

KC161 wrote: »

How is this a buyer beware issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭honda boi

Needed a good laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

I dont ridicule or in any way disparage someone complaining or insisting conducting their official business through Irish. Its our first language and there are obligations to allow people transact with State agencies through Irish.

She may have an argument at least to say she could not appeal through Irish and fair play to her for trying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

aujopimur wrote: »
    FemaleGaeltacht version of a dickhead.

Fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

It must have been a decision taken long time ago, probably in 1949 Geneva Convention to assign IRL as country code for Ireland for marking vehicles.
    Possibly if Ireland wanted, they could get EIR instead, but looks like they didn't.

Other countries have symbols from their own language like Germany had D as Deutschland or Lichtenstein is FL, etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    How is this a buyer beware issue?

If you buy a car with those plates they won't pass the NCT ;)

How many people truthfully knew it (about the Eire bit) prior to this thread?

I didn't and i've had 20+ cars in my life time.

If you buy a car with those plates they won't pass the NCT ;)

How many people truthfully knew it (about the Eire bit) prior to this thread?

I didn't and i've had 20+ cars in my life time.

If it came to them failing it's only a visual, not really a big deal or something id look out for when buying a car :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I wonder does she know the Irish for Suzuki grand Vitara!

If it came to them failing it's only a visual, not really a big deal or something id look out for when buying a car :)

She might take a case to the European courts and fight it (in Irish) :pac:

I wonder does she know the Irish for Suzuki grand Vitara!

It wouldn't surprise me :rolleyes:

Blarney is only out the road from me, It certainly ain't the ghaeltacht :cool:

A new set of plates might work out a bit cheaper for her :)

No disputing that.

She seems like a woman on a mission though if she went to the media about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

As a bit of an aside, saw a Captur today and was struck by how low the plate is. Very easy for a dash cam to miss it. Car was parked at a curb and the plate was almost touching.

lXE0f6Jm.jpg

Is it much nearer the ground than on some non crossovers though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

CiniO wrote: »
    It must have been a decision taken long time ago, probably in 1949 Geneva Convention to assign IRL as country code for Ireland for marking vehicles.
    Possibly if Ireland wanted, they could get EIR instead, but looks like they didn't.

Other countries have symbols from their own language like Germany had D as Deutschland or Lichtenstein is FL, etc...

Interestingly EIR was previously used as Ireland's international oval in 1938 and changed to IRL in 1962. This list of international oval's lists both EIR and IRL for Ireland...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_international_vehicle_registration_codes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

I'd love to be there the day she has to go back in with the correct plates on. Big puss on her.

Her test is valid till 20 July anyway.

I'd love to be there the day she has to go back in with the correct plates on. Big puss on her.

She clearly never kissed the Blarney Stone :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

A number plate shouldn't be a fail. It should be an adviser. How can a number plate affect the safety of the car? Isn't this what this test is about.

The tester obviously was able to pick the car out to test it, so the number plate can't be that badly functioning.

Yet cars borderline passing on tyres are allowed to leave with advisers is madness.

Que ten posts telling me how important it is to test it and fail the car, fair enoght if the letters are faded and honestly you can't read it. But if your getting a measuring tape out to check if the font is 10mm rather than 9mm, just to fail a car.

Come on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

There's a marketing manager in a well known telecoms company who is sickened every day thinking about missing this opportunity.

Meanwhile a senior executive in another well known airline transport company has mixed feelings about choosing AER instead of EIR, but yet secretly glad that no-one chose CUNNI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I wish my life was so easy that's all I had to complain about. Must be nice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Back in 87, when the new plate format was introduced, there was no blue band, and the county in irish wasn't displayed.

That particular woman, and her complaining/campaigning caused for the introduction if the irish county name being Introduced in 1990.

pa990 wrote: »
    Back in 87, when the new plate format was introduced, there was no blue band, and the county in irish wasn't displayed.

That particular woman, and her complaining/campaigning caused for the introduction if the irish county name being Introduced in 1990.

So she has previous for this?

You laugh now ... but ... this won't be the end of it.

( I don't have the county in irish on my plate, and never had an issue with nct, same with last two cars)

So she has previous for this?

Yeah.. Don't ask me for a link. It was pre internet days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

TallGlass wrote: »
    A number plate shouldn't be a fail. It should be an adviser. How can a number plate affect the safety of the car? Isn't this what this test is about.

The country code on the plate is obviously less important here than say Belgium where you might pass through three countries on your way to work.

But imagine how difficult it would be for law enforcement on the continent if people decided they would just put whatever they felt like on the plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

Perhaps if she had put 'EIR' on the plate rather than 'EIRE' she may have a stronger case to argue?! :D

pa990 wrote: »
    You laugh now ... but ... this won't be the end of it.

( I don't have the county in irish on my plate, and never had an issue with nct, same with last two cars)

Yeah.. Don't ask me for a link. It was pre internet days.
    Wasn't it some lady in Dublin who wanted to have BÁC instead of D reg?

From 2007..
    Members of an Irish language lobby group in the Northwest have marked the new year by affixing EIR stickers this weekend over the existing official IRL blue EU-symbol on registration plates of several vehicles in Sligo, Leitrim and Donegal.

The group is campaigning to have the IRL tag on car registration plates discontinued in favour of EIR.

The campaign was launched two months ago by Radió na Gaeltachta presenter Máirtín Tom Sheáinín, who said yesterday: "Our aim is to have all Irish car registration plates changed, in order to display the name of the country in Irish, instead of the English version which is now in general use.

"We have begun the new year by having the new EIR stickers placed by our supporters on several vehicles, with the consent of the owners, and we hope to see EIR introduced officially, before the end of 2009."

He accepted there were some legislative avenues to be explored before such a change could be officially made. Mr Sheáinín said some members of the group had been using the EIR sticker since the campaign was launched. A number of Irish language lobby groups in the midlands and northeast said yesterday they were also supporting the campaign.

Videó here
    https://youtu.be/rU_WY9hmMz4

What are the chances these are just stickers on her number plates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

It's a visual retest like,free .. see dozens of jap and German style plates a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Wasn't it some lady in Dublin who wanted to have BÁC instead of D reg?

That's the last thing we need, more characters on our existing stupidly long reg plates

[152-BAC-12345]

ION08 wrote: »
    That's the last thing we need, more characters on our existing stupidly long reg plates

[152-BAC-12345]

Anything to swell the government coffers, you know yourself.

Wouldn't be surprised if something like this happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

The country code on the plate is obviously less important here than say Belgium where you might pass through three countries on your way to work.

But imagine how difficult it would be for law enforcement on the continent if people decided they would just put whatever they felt like on the plate.

In most countries on the Continent number plates are issued by car registration offices instead of being sold in shops like in here or UK.
    In general fiddling with your plate on a continent is a serious offence with severe fines so no one would really try to amend their number plates.
    Only in Ireland and UK I've seen people modifying their plates just for fun whether it be amending font, size, or some charcers or symbols.
    On the continent people just generally don't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Ní raibh aon fhoirm ar fáil i ngaeilge.

The form to complain was not available in Irish so she did not submit it.

Looking at the form in her fist,I'd be even more confused...after a lifetime of accepting that Number,as gaeilge,translates to Uimhir....I now see that in NCT Irish it's Numero......as in "Numero de Chassis"....who is kidding who on this issue ?

An Teanga Beo,appears to be far more fluid these days than ever before...?

Numero ?...givvus a break !!! :eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Next she'll probably want all the speed limit signs in irish

Km/ur.. or something similar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

the IRL on the EU symbol is the EU designation for Ireland....The words Eire and Ireland don't come into it, not relevant (does anyone belive she bought the car ten years ago with those plates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

Spot on Cinio, IRL was asaigned as the country code for traffic purposes on May 31st 1962 when Ireland acceded to the 1949 Geneva Convention on Road Traffic.

Prior to that the official code for traffic purposes was SE under the 1926 Paris Convention on Motor Traffic. Until 1962 the code otherwise for traffic purposes was still actually SE, not EIR as Wikapedia claims*.

Silvera wrote: »
    Interestingly EIR was previously used as Ireland's international oval in 1938 and changed to IRL in 1962. This list of international oval's lists both EIR and IRL for Ireland...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_international_vehicle_registration_codes
    Éire or Republic of Ireland. Formerly Great Britain, Saorstát Éireann. Currently there is a campaign by Irish language activists under way to have the name of the country in the native language represented by changing the code back to EIR or ÉIR, but this is unnecessary, as Statutory Instrument No. 269 of 1961 provides: " ... the letters EIR are used to indicate the name of the State but the letters IRL may be substituted therefor.

She may be in the right after all.

*The EIR code was never used for traffic purposes, or as a general country code - the exception being that EIR became the country code for Ireland for the purposes of the international motor insurance card since December 31st 1952. The Mechanically Propelled Vehicles (International Circulation) Order 1961 (SI 269/1961) simply allowed the option of using the correct IRL instead of EIR for the motor insurance card only.

Isambard wrote: »
    the IRL on the EU symbol is the EU designation for Ireland....The words Eire and Ireland don't come into it, not relevant (does anyone belive she bought the car ten years ago with those plates?

Nope the IRL was not assigned by the EU, rather the 1949 convention. The EU has never assigned any country a code.

Traffic purposes aside the official country codes for Ireland (since 1947 for the first) by the way is both IE and IRL (and also 372).

Isn't it a bit ironic that you can be failed for having an incorrect marking on a registration plate, yet you can't be failed for having defective/missing registration plates lights which allow you to see the plates in the dark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

GM228 wrote: »
    Isn't it a bit ironic that you can be failed for having an incorrect marking on a registration plate, yet you can't be failed for having defective/missing registration plates lights which allow you to see the plates in the dark.

My sister in law's car was failed for non working number plate lights, free visual retest but a fail nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

jca wrote: »
    My sister in law's car was failed for non working number plate lights, free visual retest but a fail nonetheless.

I've a test sheet in my hand,

Registration Plate Lamps Not working, faulty or not fitted Pass/Advisory.

jca wrote: »

You can't (and never could) be failed for such.

GM228 wrote: »

Maybe in an Alanis Morrisette kinda way.