Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sarah McInerney's voice

• Registered Users Posts: 17,657 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Maybe she wouldn't need to be such a feminist if people afforded her the respect of ignoring her physical attributes, or didn't talk about pulling the plum off themselves whilst listening to her, and stuck to discussing her work as a journalist.

I dont give a crap what she looks like shes annoying as hell and is the epitomy of everything that is wrong with 3rd wave feminism ie "anyone who disagrees with me is sexist"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭Pictures Of Lilly

VinLieger wrote: »
    I dont give a crap what she looks like shes annoying as hell
    I don't care what she looks like because she sounds so good.
    VinLieger wrote: »
    and is the epitomy of everything that is wrong with 3rd wave feminism ie "anyone who disagrees with me is sexist"
    Really? does she come across that extreme? If you recall any particular examples, I'd like to know.

I did hear a texter text into the show once that she was an annoying feminist!

I'm referring to the amount of references to porn, sex and sexual attraction in a thread about a current affairs presenter, just because she happens to be female. I've never seen this kind of dialogue relating to Sarah McInerney's male coevals.

For example:
    Her voice is sexier than she looks, but when you're just listening, you'd imagine the other presenters would have a hard time keeping their hands away from their shafts!
    And I actually think he's quite good at taking the initiative actually! Unless you meant 'taking the initiative' with her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Soft dulcet tones, alluringly seductive, pulling in the listener like a siren from Greek mythology, utterly mesmerizing, in a warm & sultry kind of way :-)

Oh, suits you Sir.

I'll get my coat...

• Administrators Posts: 13,772 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Really? does she come across that extreme? If you recall any particular examples, I'd like to know.

As a previous poster mentioned, the day she got all hot and bothered that Leo demoted 3 ministers and 2 of them were women.

Now, there was no mention of how qualified/suitable these people were for the jobs they were originally given by Enda. I believe one had been a secondary school principal who had been given some business and enterprise position (or something) Leo put in her in an education position.

So it sounds like Enda had gone with "jobs for the boys/girls" and Leo reshuffled. And Ciara got very upset because he reshuffled 3 people, 2 of whom were women. Would she have been ok if he reshuffled 3 people, but only 1 woman? Or no women?

Chris was trying to point out he also demoted a man, and should that man feel aggrieved. And she was having none of it because HE DEMOTED TWO WOMEN.

And yes, she shouted him down.

I've switched off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

As a previous poster mentioned, the day she got all hot and bothered that Leo demoted 3 ministers and 2 of them were women.

Now, there was no mention of how qualified/suitable these people were for the jobs they were originally given by Enda. I believe one had been a secondary school principal who had been given some business and enterprise position (or something) Leo put in her in an education position.

So it sounds like Enda had gone with "jobs for the boys/girls" and Leo reshuffled. And Ciara got very upset because he reshuffled 3 people, 2 of whom were women. Would she have been ok if he reshuffled 3 people, but only 1 woman? Or no women?

Chris was trying to point out he also demoted a man, and should that man feel aggrieved. And she was having none of it because HE DEMOTED TWO WOMEN.

And yes, she shouted him down.

I've switched off!

I was listening and was very surprised that she wasn't getting or taking on board his point, at all. Best suited for the job should get the job no matter the gender.

Is this thread about her voice, or .......

LordSutch wrote: »
    Is this thread about her voice, or .......

Or the overuse of ellipses?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I thought that she made a bit of a show of herself there alright, it was all oestrogen fuelled rant and very little substance. Basically her arguing that merely possessing a vagina should qualify you to be a government minister, but having none of it when it was pointed out to her that it was clearly nonsense. In fairness to Chris he stuck steadfastly to his point as she got more and more hysterical - he's usually so PC that he daren't offend anyone.

But - she still sounded good ranting - which is the OPs point:)

I don't know! I think the content of what she says overshadows how it's said! Doesn't matter what her voice is like, I can't listen to her. As soon as I hear her voice at all I'm irritated, because I know she's just going to rabbit on foolishly.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,105 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Maybe she wouldn't need to be such a feminist if people afforded her the respect of ignoring her physical attributes, or didn't talk about pulling the plum off themselves whilst listening to her, and stuck to discussing her work as a journalist.

Ahh FFS.
    I thought you would like the fact someone reckoned she sounded like a horse. ;)

Are we now supposed to totally ignore what a woman looks like or indeed sounds like.
    Granted some of us don't have to tell all and sundry how they like to pull the mickie off themselves because of said woman.
    I'm referring to the amount of references to porn, sex and sexual attraction in a thread about a current affairs presenter, just because she happens to be female. I've never seen this kind of dialogue relating to Sarah McInerney's male coevals.

For example:

IT IS AFTER HOURS !!
    You do know that, right ?

BTW you are free to start a thread about how sexy Vinnie Brown sounds, or how much of a ride Shane Coleman is.

And in your case it would actually be refreshingly downbeat in comparison to your last effort at starting a thread around here. :D

She's a bad presenter.

Not Paul McWilliams bad mind you. He's head in hands stuff, although love his rants every now and again. He actually lost it about bowls of peanuts in hotels and people not washing their hands as if (i) this was breaking news or (ii) a serious issue.

She's a bad presenter.

Not Paul McWilliams bad mind you. He's head in hands stuff, although love his rants every now and again. He actually lost it about bowls of peanuts in hotels and people not washing their hands as if (i) this was breaking news or (ii) a serious issue.

Meanwhile not a peep out of him re whistleblowers. :rolleyes:

She's a bad presenter.

...with a lovely voice.

She's a bad presenter.

But sure they were discussing hygiene as far as I can remember...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

As soon as I hear her voice at all I'm irritated, because I know she's just going to rabbit on foolishly.

You'd be wise to utterly avoid Global Village with Dil Wickremasinghe

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

jmayo wrote: »
    Ahh FFS.
    I thought you would like the fact someone reckoned she sounded like a horse. ;)

:D:D

Yamanoto wrote: »
    You'd be wise to utterly avoid Global Village with Dil Wickremasinghe

I do!!!

And yer wan Orla Barry...

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    But sure they were discussing hygiene as far as I can remember...

Joined it late to hear him give his "I'm an ordinary punter but I've been in 5 star hotels" routine. He loves to rail.

I only listen to Newstalk, but it's mainly for their sports. I'd listen away to Shane Coleman and Chris O'Donoghue, even George Hook, and Sean Moncrieff's show is light entertainment when on a car journey...but Paul Williams, Sarah McInerney, that Doctor Ciara Kelly who for some mysterious reason got her own show, the truly awful Dil Wickremasinghe, who can take potentially interesting topics and grind them into boredom, Down to Business where they interview cafe owners about business management strategies...some desperate stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

She does have a nice voice and I don't mind her as a presenter.

She has this endearing thing where she's just really...square is the only word I can think of. I remember after Christmas the two of them were talking about what they got up to for New Year's Eve.

"I ended up in a pub in Connemara where there was a Ska band playing. Did you ever hear of Ska, Chris? Oh you have, really? I'd never heard of it and I have to say...I don't like it"

LordSutch wrote: »
    The vocal equivalent of a finely tuned purring sports car, smooth, classy & sophisticated :))

No idea what she's really like, but her voice ain't half bad.
    That is so hot, comparing her to a ferarri. It's not making it any easier for me!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭blastman

Was listening to her banging on this evening about how there was no way she would use reuseable nappies as disposable nappies were SO much better and who has the time to wash nappies these days, I have much more important things to do with my time, etc. This was during a discussion about the proposed new bin charges and how we should cut down on waste at source to reduce costs and help the environment. I just thought would you ever go and fcuk yourself, my mother worked full time (unusual enough in those days) and still managed to keep us in reuseable nappies (and in fairness, my dad helped) throughout the time we were growing up. Your time is too valuable, my hole! You're not curing cancer, FFS....

blastman wrote: »
    Was listening to her banging on this evening about how there was no way she would use reuseable nappies as disposable nappies were SO much better and who has the time to wash nappies these days, I have much more important things to do with my time, etc. This was during a discussion about the proposed new bin charges and how we should cut down on waste at source to reduce costs and help the environment. I just thought would you ever go and fcuk yourself, my mother worked full time (unusual enough in those days) and still managed to keep us in reuseable nappies (and in fairness, my dad helped) throughout the time we were growing up. Your time is too valuable, my hole! You're not curing cancer, FFS....

I don't have to hand any statistics on the uptake on disposable nappies vs reusable nappies, but I would be fairly confident in assuming that almost every parent in Ireland agrees with her.

Anybody - male or female - who works full-time outside the home, has about 3 or 4 hours in the evening to see their toddlers. Very few of them will want to spend that time scraping poop from, and boiling, reusable nappies.

I wonder if Pat Kenny's or George Hook's opinion on this matter would stoke your ire to the same extent?

Did she sound sexy when saying it?

No, but she was talking about some real durty stuff. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,657 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

but Paul Williams, Sarah McInerney, that Doctor Ciara Kelly who for some mysterious reason got her own show, the truly awful Dil Wickremasinghe, who can take potentially interesting topics and grind them into boredom, Down to Business where they interview cafe owners about business management strategies...some desperate stuff.

Completely agree with all that except Ciara Kelly, the difference between her and the others is she doesnt have an opinion on everything, she knows what she knows and she knows what she doesnt know if you get my drift. If she isnt 100% up on a topic she won't jump in feet first to a discussion with a completely uninformed opinion like Paul and Sarah regularly do spouting opinions as false facts and sound like an eejit

• Registered Users Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭blastman

I wonder if Pat Kenny's or George Hook's opinion on this matter would stoke your ire to the same extent?

That would depend entirely on what their opinion was on this matter, I should think

• Registered Users Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

I do!!!

And yer wan Orla Barry...

All the women presenters are the ones who rabbit on foolishly so?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Having three kids I would say she is absolutely right - but heaven forbid that someone talks about something you clearly view as womens work (in fairness my dad helped too :rolleyes:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Richcoffee

If people are so busy these days how come people can spend hours every day on social media, I think some people just like the idea "being too busy".

It's not that Sarah would be too busy to recycle properly, it's that recycling properly is not a priority for her, other things such as scrolling through social media are more important to her. That's fine, but she is bullsh1tting people by teeling them that she is "too busy" to recycle properly.