Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home heating automation

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭bittihuduga

i have 2 zone plus hot water (current one is from CTC brand)

i bought drayton wiser 2 zone plus hot water kit.

i rang many electricians to install this for me but all refused as they had not heard of this brand.

finally one person agreed to help me out but he has never installed drayton wiser before.

@deezell and other specialists, is there anything i need to keep an eye during installation?

my wireless router is pretty close to the utility so internet connection is strong.

i read through few older posts where drayton wiser had trouble establishing connection or registering online via app, etc

please let me know what kinda problems i may get and how to resolve them.

sorry trying to be prepared. thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭deezell

One thing you can do is connect power to the unit, with a length of flex and a three pin plug, locate it loose near the ctc it will be replacing. You can then pair the stats and establish the Internet connection. Then you can run the app or operate the wireless stats and turn the CH zone temperatures and HW timer on and off, and check that the outputs pins of each zone go live. You can check that the stats are communicating from your preferred locations. This will establish the device is working fully before transferring the ctc connection wires to it.

The Drayton kit 3 is one of the easiest swaps to do. Its baseplate wiring is almost a match for standard 3 zone timers, so an electrician will easily identify the live, neutral and three zone output switched lives. Here are CTC baseplate wiring and Wiser baseplate to compare

CTC ESI 3 ZONE

WISER 3 ZONE

The CTC outputs live on terminals 3, 4 and 6 for HW, CH1 and CH2. (The Off pins are generally unused except with rare priority flow type installations.)

The Drayton uses terminals 2, 1 and 3 for HW. CH1 and CH2. No off terminals.

If there are mechanical wall stats for the two existing CH zones, these are either simply turned up full, or removed and their switched live wire pairs joined and insulated. Otherwise these stats will still be in the loop for each zone, and if left in and accidentally turned down, they would prevent the Drayton from turning on that zone. Good luck!

https://www.draytoncontrols.co.uk/sites/default/files/6490238_N_A4_Web-compressed.pdf

They've put in an eph 'relay' to 'boost' HW? I've no idea what they've done or why. Is this a wireless device? Can you set your HW timing from the Nest app, or is it redundant. I assumed they'd found or installed a second CH zone. Can you heat HW from the app, and without having CH on. Did you get an extra zone valve installed to give you S plan independent zones. It just seem they reverted to what they knew, which is mostly EPH. I wonder if they installed the wireless cylinder stat which is the one innovative product that EPH has.

I suggested a nest e because it seemed that they had discovered a second CH zone, with a mystery 'wire', but now it would appear that all your heating is on a single zone. Whatever works for you is good. App control of HW is overkill, unless you hav can old uninsulated hw cylinder. (a lagging jacket is not insulation in the modern sense).

Post edited by deezell on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭BobbyT28

@deezell Here is a pic of what was installed at the Gas boiler downstairs and the boiler upstairs.

upstairs at boiler

EPH TR relay

Heatlink

I can boost hot water from the app, and also set schedules for heating to come on or off. I can also turn heating on and off from app.

downstairs

They used the EPH Tr1 TR2 RF transceivers.

I don’t think they installed that relay to boost HW, as you’ve probably already gauged I have a clue with this stuff 🤣. ,The kids running around at the end when I got home and wasn’t really listening as I’m sure Plumber was looking to get out too. I just tested that I could boost water, turning heating on and off and was able to schedule heating to turn on .

How does the setup look to you? I am assuming that there is now a second zone created now?

BobbyT28

All is clear. The Two EPH are just a wireless link from the wiring box SL out to the boiler SL in. Its possible in your old system that there was no wire to the boiler from the hotpress to fire it, as boiler was controlled locally, and the old stat just turned on the CH valve. It would have cost more in labour to run a cable than fit the transceivers. You're good to go so, abd you do have twi zone valves, so you can schedule HW only and CH only. Maybe add a few cable clips to tidy up those loose wires. These will cost you €2 for a pack in Screwfix or any hardware store.

Btw, your cylinder is a top grade insulated type. There is no great advantage in having HW timed, as it will retain its heat with tiny losses.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭BobbyT28

Super. Glad to hear that.

Yeah I’m actually tidying those wires now.

So just boost hot water whenever I need it? All I have scheduled is Heating to come on each morning from 07:15 for 30mins, for when the kids get up. No other schedule.

thanks again for all the help on this Deezell.

Now for TVRs!! That’s next on the list to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 howaya12

Hoping to upgrade my Home heating to a smart system and looking for suggestions on what might best suit my needs and skill level!

My house currently has a 3 zone system (Upstairs, Downstairs and Hot Water) controlled by a standard digital programmer on an 8-pin backplate and uses a conventional boiler with separate hot water tank.

I have searched around quite a bit and found several options... namely, Drayton Wiser, Tado and EPH.

At the moment the drayton wiser product seems like the best fit!

Has anyone had any experience installing this product themselves? They mention the hub unit mounts using a uk standard backplate - is this the same as an 8-pin backplate?

As I'm a novice I'm interested to hear if the wiring needed to get the product up and running is challenging or not?

Thanks for your help!!!

Drayton wiser is perfect for easy DIY. Plenty of lads here have installed and posted. The wiser kit 3 backplate is different from other 3 zone backplates, which are not standardised. Their two zone will fit to a 6 terminal backplate and if its wired N,L,1 unused, 2 unused, 3 HW, 4 CH, then the Drayton is a drop in fit.

3 zone controllers vary quite a bit, so you will likely have to swap backplates ( see my reply a few posts back for images of common CTC/ESI controller and Drayton 3 zone.) The most you can expect to reuse is the backplate screw holes, which is actually a significant time saver.

WISER

EPH

CTC/ESI

• Registered Users Posts: 6 howaya12

Thanks a mill for the info! Think I'll go for the Drayton Wiser system so!

Will check back on some of the previous posts and I'm sure I'll be up and running in no time!! Thanks again!

• Registered Users Posts: 7 DonZee

Hi everyone,

So much valuable and interesting information here, thanks to everyone posting here.

I'm experiencing a few hiccups with my heating system, mainly the programmer. Every now and then it resets to January 1st 2000 or appears to get stuck on a screen with the message "the date and time have now been saved". The getting stuck part happens usually after a boost event or scheduled heating event.

This is our current system (it was in the house when we bought it 2 years ago):

Systemlink HomeZone programmer and controller operating 3 motorized valves (HW, upstairs heating, downstairs heating). I've not found thermostats anywhere and the programmer doesn't have a set temperature option, only configure thermostat. So I think it's fair to say there are no stats in use 🙂

Viessmann Vitodens 100-W WB1B 26kW regular boiler open vent

Gledhill StainlessLite hot water tank with immersion heater and a manual controller - Flash immermat - to be honest, we've never used it.

We've 12 radiators in the house and 2 towel rail heaters. All radiators except one in the hall downstairs have manual TRVs. One of the towel rail heaters also has a manual TRV.

The HomeZone programmer is located in our upstairs landing right outside the hot press with the hot water tank and immersion heater controller. The rest of the system is located in the garage (I know, I'm lucky) which surprisingly doesn't really get that cold in the winter. We control hot water and heating mainly via scheduled events and if necessary might boost here and there.

For now the system is working except the occasional programmer glitches. Nevertheless, I'd like to upgrade the system in the not too distant future. I've read good things about Tado and Dayton Wiser here and I believe they would be interesting for us. I like the idea of being able to start with a smaller kit utilizing mostly just the TRVs and then expand to add more and smart TRVs. I also like to be able to control the heat in our north facing bedroom based on temperature to avoid condensation.

Here are a few questions I have and I'd be grateful to read people's comments (especially deezell 😁)

I'm leaning slightly towards the Dayton Wiser system as I've read it can be controlled, at least with minimum features, even if there is not internet. Is that correct? Also it appears to be a somewhat easy DIY install.

Smart TRVs are pretty close to the heat source so maybe the reading isn't accurately representing the room temp. Thus, would it be better to have a stat in every room that has a smart TRV or is that overkill?

Can I use the existing SystemLink controller which controls the motorized valves or do I have to change this? Is there a difference between Drayton and Tado?

Deezell described in an earlier post how the Tado system can be used in conjunction with one or a few smart TRVs and manual TRVs (capped temp in manual TRVs via dial setting). I assume the same is possible with the Drayton system?

The Tado system appears to be a bit tricky in that it doesn't like two wireless stats in the same system? Did I understand that correctly? Is that the same issue with Drayton Wiser?

With the Drayton it seems I can use kit WT734R9K0902 3-channel HubR and 2 room thermostats to start off and then add smart TRVs as I want. I'm not 100% clear what exact kit combo I'd need with Tado - as said, I'm confused about the two wireless stats situation.

Do I need to be careful about anything in relation to the boiler when choosing the new system (it says its open vent)?

Thanks to everyone taken their time to help with my questions.

You have the system in the first two images below. The systemlink homezone is a bit of an outlier in terms of wall thermostat and controller-receiver. All the connections to zone valves and stats are made at the receiver, using push fit connectors for each component. This receiver is actually a wiring centre, making a neat, simple and well labelled connector centre for all the wired devices, stats, pumps and zone valves, and significantly, it provides common SL to fire the boiler from an internal isolating relay. Here's the systemlink wiring centre terminations, compared to what most installations will have as a wiring centre, ( apologies to @BobbyT28 )

The systemlink wall stat and programmer is connected to the receiver/wiring centre by a low voltage power and data cable, (black yellow green red on the right). There are no mains devices connected to this unit. External wall stats or HW cylinder stats are wired back to labelled push fit terminals in the receiver. The programmer has a built in thermostat which can be enabled or disabled. In the event you wish to uses your own wall stat. The internal stat controls the living space zone, so if enabled, the stat programmer would need to be located downstairs.

Because the receiver wiring centre is heavily integrated into your existing system of zone valves, and because the combined firing voltage for all zones may be sourced from the receiver relay, and not via the combined zone valve relay outputs, it will require a keen regard for existing wiring on the receiver when transferring control to say a Drayton receiver. You will have two options.

1. Remove the Homezone programmer and receiver in its entirety, and reconnect your zones valves, boiler SL and new 3 zone Drayton zone live outputs to a passive wiring strip connector like in the second image above, or

2. Retain the receiver as a wiring centre, with the homezone programmer set to always on for each zone. The Drayton receiver can be used to insert its three zone live SLs into the three labelled external thermostat returns of the homezone receiver zones. The Drayton will need to be powered from the same fuse circuit as the homezone receiver, which has plenty of L N spare connectors.

I'm well familiar with this Systemlink homezone, as it was the first system I installed in my own home. Later, when deciding to add a Tado smart wired stat, I opted to keep the homezone and use it for HW timing, with a Tado wired stat connected into the homezone receiver to control the living zone.

Now read on.

You might be surprised to know the the Homezone forms the basis of my control system, despite my use of Tado. It came about when I gutted the original house plumbing which had an oil boiler and an open fire back boiler clumsily cross connected, with a single mechanical timer on the oil and a pump on the back boiler with a manual wall switch. I replaced the ancient boiler and converted the back boiler to a stove, replumbed them together using this NRG zone blending manifold,

This enables isolated blending of oil boiler flow and stove flow, pumped out to three seperate zones. As the zones are pumped, not separated by zone valves (stove must always have a gravity and open loop), the system requires a controller which can fire the boiler via a single live output for any of the HW and CH stat inputs, plus a special relay to disable the oil boiler firing when the stove 'takes over', and requires at least one pumped zone to operate and dissipate stove flow. Stove also has an open gravity feed to a second coil on the HW cylinder in the event of a power cut.

For this reason, I installed a wiring center relay box, often know as a lex box. I ended up with the systemlink because it had the wall stat programmer and timer as well as the wiring centre for a knockdown price back then. (it's programmer does have a thermostat built in, as well as timing, for the living room zone, but as yours is on the landing, it's probably in the wrong place). There are four pumps in my system, plus HW thermostat, external Tado wired stat, and stove stat. I have prepped for an extra plumbed pumped zone, which could be the bedrooms, but this will involve digging concrete floors to split the single bungalow CH flow. I found it easier to use Tado TRVs to created semi zones for kitchen and master bedroom, and when I get the finger out I'll add a few more, which in my case requires swapping rad screw type valves to TRV ones. (BTW, @VinLieger posted on another forum that he was quoted €450-500 for 7 TRV valve swaps, so its nice to have a ballpark figure for this as it often comes up here). I'll change my own, all in good time.

These were my reasons for keeping the systemlink. Like you, I do get some 'funnies' on it when it's powered down in a power cut, and it often restarts with the living zone off, though its set to 'permanent on'. This, and your date problem is likely caused by a failed backup battery in the programmer processor board, which loses its settings after a certain time powered down. If I were to get rid of it, I would need to replace its receiver wiring centre with a relay equipped powered wiring centre such as this one from NRG systems

Because your system does not have a solid fuel heat source and has motorized valve zones, you could remove the Homezone and rewire (neatly) with a passive connector strip box. Unfortunately, it will be a bit more involved than just swapping the Drayton receiver for an older standard 3 zone controller, whose valves are already wired to a passive wiring centre. Perhaps post a few images of what you can see, receiver, valves, any wiring boxes etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

About the TRV fitting 450-500 is probably the cheapest you could see for 7, i was also getting an expansion cylinder replaced so it suited to do both at the same time and save on labour costs. For 7 by themselves and no other work I was getting quotes of up to 600.

😭😭😭

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Yup I was pretty shocked about the cost considering you can depending on what you want for features and the brand, trvs are between 15-30 euro. If you know what your doing about draining the loop, are confident enough with removing and replacing valves and then happy with draining airlocks after refilling it's definitely worth doing yourself.

Thank you for the super detailed reply deezell. You've got quite the setup there. Really cool to see how all of the different parts come together in your customized solution.

I do like the neatness of the receiver unit but I'd like the programmer out of the picture and it seems the receiver can only be used together with the programmer. The last few weeks the programmer got stuck a bit more often after one of the zones was on and the time is also running behind after a week or so. Not sure how much longer it'll be going for.

Here are a few pics of my setup. Let me know if you need more details or if you want me to take the lid off of the receiver.

Pic1: Main overview

Pic2: Valve and receiver detail

The grey cable to the very right of the receiver appears to be coming from the programmer. The grey cables in the center - 2 come from upstairs (see pic5 below) and one goes to the boiler. White is power and black are connections to valves.

Pic3: Hot press

Grey cable to the right goes into back of programmer. Control below is for immersion heater

Pic4: Hot water tank

Pic 5: Hot water tank detail

I believe the two grey wires here are the ones that go into the middle of the receiver (see pic2)

Btw, I've been in touch with SystemLink and they mentioned the systemlex which can be used with any 230v clock (presumably that means something like the HubR?). I also got a quote for a Tado installation with 13 smart TRVs for €3,700.

€3700. Sweet jeez.

your system is as neat as a pin. It would be a pleasure to install a 3 zone Drayton receiver here. 11 of your rads/ have TRVs, so there's no plumbing required to fit 11 smart trv heads.

If you spend €229 in Amazon for the three channel Drayton wiser kit 3 controller and two stats, and about €18 for the EPH 12 terminal passive wiring centre, https://www.plumbingproducts.ie/motorised-valves-ireland/5796-eph-wiring-centre-12-terminal-.html , a decent electrician will in a morning have the mains, zone valve cables, cylinder stat pair, the three zones' switched live from the wiser receiver hub, and the live call for heat to the boiler, all connected in to the wiring box, as well as power back to the Drayton hub. The simple diagram below for this box for a three zone S plan is easy to follow. Z1 On, Z2 On, and Z3 On are the three live outputs from CH1, CH2 and HW from the Drayton hub. ZV1, ZV2 and ZV3 are the brown actuator wires to your 3 EPH zone valves in the same order. Your two cylinder stat wires go to 8 and 9, order doesn't really matter. The remaining blue, orange and grey wires from the zone valves are combined by colour and go into 3, 5 and 10. The SL to the boiler also goes to 10, it may have a blue neutral wire also. And that's it. Stats are wireless to the hub, no wiring.

With that done and up and running, another €500 will get you 11 TRV heads, which a child could install in place of the old manual TRVs. You associate each TRV with the zone its in. Thats it. Package up your Systemlink and flog it on Donedeal.

If you prefer Tado, its almost as simple. Though Tado only have a single wireless connection from a stat to its 2 zone receiver, you can use a wired stat for the other zone if its easy to get a wire pair from the stat to the wiring centre. Im thinking there's already a set of wires from the Homezone to the programmer on the landing, and if they're mains grade, they'll do fine. Alternatively, if all your rads are going to be smart TRV equipped anyway, you can revert to a single CH zone and stat, by combining the ZV1 and ZV2 brown wires onto the single CH on live from the Tado receiver. You could do this also for the Drayton if you wish, using the €151 kit 2 stat and hub, with outputs for a single CH zone and HW. You won't need the lex box as your wiring is so orderly and complete, all the zone valves have the necessary relay, and everything is in the same space, so a passive terminal box is perfect. After you buy the stats and TRVs, you'll have nearly 3 grand left from your quote to pay the sparks for his half day!

deezell, you're a star mate. Thanks a mil for the very clear explanation 👍️.

Funny story, last year I had an electrician stop by to clean up the wiring and label everything along with a few other jobs . Might give him a call to see if he would be interested to wire above up for me. To be fair, it does look pretty straight forward thanks to your explanations along with the diagrams.

I dug around a bit and going out and replacing all 11 valves right away (I actually could to 12 as the towel rail in one of the bathrooms has a mechanical TRV too) would actually be the most cost effective solution. Screwfix is selling a a combo kit with 2 smart TRVs for €235 at the moment. Just add 9 more TRVs for €405 from Amazon plus the wiring center and that's it. Black Friday isn't too far away either so deals might be available. I guess the beauty about the 3 zone kit would be the 2 wireless stats and the flexibility to not have to go with smart TRVs right away. But with smart TRVs in place the question is if there really would be a need for 2 stats.

Btw, I found the video link to Charlie DIYte in one of your earlier posts. Very good overview and explanation - thanks for posting this. Just a few questions I have left. I read that there should be at least one radiator with a manual valve set to fully open to account for expansion or backflow if I understand correctly. Would the small rad in the hallway be sufficient for that in my case? I'm not sure if my boiler has OpenTherm and if so if I need to be mindful of something when the Drayton would operate it? Regarding the cylinder stat, what do I do with the temp setting on the little adjustment wheel? I don't quite get its' function and as far as I understand Tado and Drayton can only do on or off for hot water (kind of what we do now). Are there any features that don't work or issues with the app because Drayton is not officially released in Ireland yet? Last but not least - this is a general question. Let's say one room upstairs falls below its temp threshold but all other rooms in the house are OK. Assuming smart TRVs installed everywhere the boiler would actuate both of my zone valves. It will shut off once the temp threshold in the cold room has been reached. Would having effectively one big zone use more gas than having a two zone system for CH in this case? Or does it not matter because the boiler only heats for as long as the cold rad needs to get back to the temp threshold and because all other rads don't require anything it'll therefore go faster?

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭WildCardDoW

€500 will get you 11 TRVs

Can either of you put up best prices / links or are these for non Tado TRVs?

I'm probably doing bad / lazy online shopping as getting a price of £800 (with one spare) or £750 from Amazon and Tado directly to have 11 valves.

Amazon 3 for £200 * 4 = 12

Or else screw Fix, 4 for €280 * 3 = 12

Some mix of the above plus individual units off Tado/Screwfix (depending on best price).

Help appreciated haha.

Those estimates were for Drayton wiser TRVs, priced about €45 on amazon. Tado a good bit more expensive currently. Tado new model Basic thermostat is now available, hovering at around €60 each, and Tado premium TRVs can be had as factory refurbished for about €67. With Tado, you have to be patient for the occasional discounts that used to pop up, though with current world inflation, supply chain issues and consumer demand for everything that saves energy, I'm thinking the bargains will be scarcer.

So roughly in order if your comments, these are my thoughts;

I guess you have two rads without TRVs, one in each zone, so these can act as bypass for each zone. If only a single TRV in a zone calls for heat, all others closed so only that one will heat, plus the towel rail with the standard valve uostsirs, or the small hall rad downstairs.

One big zone will not make a significant cost increase, other than the non trv rad and towel rail will both heat if anyTRV calls for heat. If heat was required at all in the house, you'd want a bit of heat in bathrooms anyway, keep down damp and mould.

Unheated rooms will still draw heat from the corridors through open doors and through non insulated party walls. A-rated houses have spring doors to keep rooms sealed, so heating is more localised, but it does make the house cell like. It's mandatory in new builds, and one of the first things the new owners defeat, as the constant door banging would drive you mad, and the disconnect between your living and kitchen feels oppressive if the doors are always shut.

The HW is only timed by the controller, you set the HW temperature on the manual cylinder stat. This is wired into the valve control, so will interrupt a timed HW event when the cylinder heats to the set stat temperature before the timed period is up. There's no change in this regard to your old system, except you can now set times in the app. Theres no huge saving to be made with timed HW when you have a modern deep insulated cylinder. You could just as easily control the HW valve and boiler entirely by the stat, the cylinder will always have HW and the heat losses from the cylinder would be trivial with normal daily use. Perhaps when away on hols You'd save a euro or two, but its not like the old days, when the copper cylinder was little more than a giant radiator, (Arrgghh, TURN OFF THE IMMERSION!!).

The Wiser combo kit with 2 TRVs is good value, single CH zone and HW. Depends on if you'd prefer to retain two CH zones prior to TRV install.

OpenTherm not really an option with zones, smart TRVs and valved HW. Works optimally with a single zone CH system with passive TRVs, and direct HW fron system boilers, no cylinder, (or 4 pipe flow/return with separate HW cylinder circuit and an internal boiler valve to supply HW flow at a different time and temperature from CH flow). OT will fire up then modulate the heating flow temperature as the main stat target temperature approaches, greatly reducing the return flow temperature to maximise condenser boiler efficiency. Your boiler does have an OT connection though, it's quite an advanced model, with auto fill, optional 4 pipe flow flow and return allowing direct to HW cylinder independent of CH flow and return, and cylinder temperature sensor for boiler controlled HW. An image of your boiler underside would confirm your system is installed as a conventional 2 pipe flow and return.

That's everything covered I think. Just post a pic of the boiler underside.

That'll be it - thought I was doing a bad job of estimating costs ha.

Regarding the €3700 costs for DonZee - many plumbers or electricians should suggest that people buy their own system but they'll also request quotes from suppliers - I don't know if this person did it themselves or if the supplier did. I'd have some insight on this but I'm not aware of any supplier using Tado so they may have priced it up themselves but with the below (non price saving) logic it doesn't add up, even ignoring the labor costs:

11 TRVs at ~ €100 = €1,100 (They're €93 on Screwfix, roughly €86 on Tado).

One wireless starter kit at ~ €250 (as they've gone for white)

One wired add on Thermostat at ~ €100

So, considering a lot of rounding it would be at most €1500 for materials? Maybe add 11 * €20 (€220) to account for buying TRV heads if they made the mistake of thinking DonZee had none.

Many can't keep up with all the new players on the market (or don't want to) - especially as those players don't easily serve the unique quirks of the UK and Irish market (well, largely Tado for this)

Quotes for fitting TRV Valves before adding the cost of smart heads was running at €65-85 per rad on a recent post. Surely the plumber would establish if the rads already had TRV valves, or maybe he knew but assumed client could be fudged on this. Tado have a trade site for vat registered installers, where wireless starter kit, wired stat and three by 4 TRV packs will come to €964 ex vat, at 13.5% installer rate this would be €1094. They're out if stock of lots of stuff though.

https://installers-shop.tado.com/

Yeah I agree DeeZon's quote doesn't make sense.

I was trying to make sense of it, and since I went to the effort posted regardless of not finding a good reason for such a high price haha.

The actual total was €3,775. Supply & fit wireless starter kit, motorized valve (if required) & bypass valve €869. Supply & install 13 smart rads and TRVs €2,197. I'm pretty sure I said I have mechanical TRVs and only need 11 smart TRVs. BER cert €260 (I forgot to mention that - probably didn't see it due to sticker shock).

Subtracting the BER cert would make it €3,515. A motorized valve at TJ O'Mahony runs €94 (sorry, can't post links yet). Surely they get that a bit cheaper but let's just subtract 94€. Now we're at €3,421 and taking off the €1,094 from deezell above brings it to €2,327. Because they've included the mechanical TRVs let's further subtract €85 per fitted mech TRV which is €1,105 and brings the total cost for fitting 13 smart TRVs to €1,222. At €100/h that would be 1 1/2 days of work assuming 8h work days. Not sure but that feels like a fairly leisurely pace and I'm pretty certain they won't set up your app and to the pairing.

Of course, above doesn't account for any margins on the Tado stuff and surely there will be some. Since they also mentioned that I could avail of a government grant for €700 let's subtract that (€1,222 - €700 = €522). That would be a much more manageable 5 hours at 100/h. Again, no margins on material in that but what appears to be happening is that they just add the €700 grant into their quotes to allow either for more hours or higher margins on material. At least that's the feeling I get looking at the numbers.

ANY work that has a grant increases by the value of the grant plus vat. The grant is theirs you see, not yours. To get the measly grant you've got to get a BER cert, which is NOT an actual instrument measure of your energy retention and insuation, but a list based calculation, based on box ticking. This just lists all the stuff, internal insulation and type, ceiling insulation and depth, windows type, draught strip on doors, springs on internal doors, vents, boiler type, and so one. They arrive at a score, and you could be C or D, but your house might still be hard to heat. It was this methodology that allowed unscrupulous purveyors of cheap thermostats to swamp government and EU with puffed up stats about their products ability to 'save' energy, that sent millions in grants and energy rebates to the utility companies and their subcontractors, while the consumer got his two zone heating converted back to one, or got a €50 non smart Chinese made stat, with a sim card and an effing annual sub to pay! Shove the grant.

I'm curious when he quotes provisionally for an extra motorised valve. Did he do a site visit? I could determine from your images that your system was on the money., it has three valves, two labelled for CH and the third most certainly for the HW. The bypass valve is interesting, across the boiler loop I presume, and probably because of the possibility of having a boiler call from a zone with only a single rad open. I'm surprised your original installation didn't have a small loop or some element of this already installed, as it looks tidy and competent. This looks like the bypass to me.

Anyway, at the end of the day, you can achieve 99% of what you want by simple electrical substitution, no plumbing required. It won't be any different than what's already there, your zones can currently be fired by timer even if all the manual TRVs have closed because the house is warm, so your boiler most likely can loop the flow somewhere, before it reaches its own stat limit and cycles.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

Apologies if this is the wrong place but I’ve been looking at getting a smart thermostat installed for controlling the heating. I’m looking to be able to switch the heating on and off from my phone. I’ve gas fired central heating with standard gas boiler which is about 7 years old. The brand is Logik.

The heating also heats up my copper cylinder in the hot press providing hot water. This cylinder can also be heated up on its own by an electrical immersion switch next to it.

The switch for heating is an old timer mechanical switch which seems to be disintegrating.

what’s the best system to get me started as there is so many options and also sub-options for the type of heating system and I don’t know where to start.

I see screw fix have the hive but I’m unsure of the correct unit to purchase. Is the below correct?

My current heating switch

TIA

thank you @deezell for the guidance. we had a sparky who was able to do it for us. it was pretty straight forward as you said.

but now i have problem. on the app when i try to setup a room and allocate a channel, channel1 and channel 3 is displayed.

i can select channel 3 and it stays for good.

if i select channel 1 and get out of screen and come back to same screen, i see none selected.

could it be that the channel 1 is not connected properly?

now we dont have heating working downstairs.

Is it an app configurations problem? I'll have a read back tomorrow, drinking right now, so I'd only be talking sh¡,te if I tried. 🥴

haha..thanks. no hurry.

i downloaded the app. set the hub

i added rooms - upstairs - assigned channel 3 and downstairs - assigned channel 1

i can trigger water heating fine and room heating for upstairs fine.

i can see boiler firing up.

but when i power on downstairs heating, boiler doesn't kick in.

temperature set is 30 degrees.

so i went back to the app to check the room and it has channel set to none.

i set it back to channel 1 but then again it doesn't get saved.

so i was assuming channel 1 is not available

I pressed the heating button on the hub and it triggers heating for both zones.

so i dont know why i cant trigger from the app.

update

when i switch on heating upstairs, and downstairs both, heating works down and up

when i boost/override from the hub, both down and up heat up

when i switch on heating upstairs only - up heats up fine

when i switch on heating down only from the app - down doesn't heat up

i can see green light on hub but boiler does not kick in

Post edited by bittihuduga on

this is my setup @deezell

contacted customer care..they are no clue why hub cannot call the boiler for downstairs heating only.