Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Catriona, the lady in red..

• 28-06-2017 8:12pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 93 ✭✭

Looks like a master stroke by Catriona Perry, global front page news. Wearing a figure hugging tight red dress in front of a perverted old codger with a predisposition for young, toothy blonds. She may play coy, but it's straight out of a Ron Burgundy movie such was the predictability of it all. Oh and save your "she should be able wear what ever she likes crap", it was a carefully calculated move on her behalf that has sent her profile stratospheric.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

Ok then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Jaysus, I just watched this and can't believe all the fuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Not this sh*t again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Ballstein wrote: »
    Looks like a master stroke by Catriona Perry, global front page news. Wearing a figure hugging tight red dress in front of a perverted old codger with a predisposition for young, toothy blonds. She may play coy, but it's straight out of a Ron Burgundy movie such was the predictability of it all. Oh and save your "she should be able wear what ever she likes crap", it was a carefully calculated move on her behalf that has sent her profile stratospheric.

Are you serious? You're reading and seeing too much in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Poor Donnie, he fell right into her trap. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

My cat's breath smells like cat food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Yeah. What's this thread about? Is it Katy Perry? And did she wear a dress (and liked it)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Bambi wrote: »
    Poor Donnie, he fell right into her trap. :(

Yup, the old honey trap. He's not the first and he sure won't be the last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

If Obama had said it everyone would be saying what a nice guy he is complimenting her but, because trump said it, it's weird absolute bull****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Someone needs to buy her a chin.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yeah. What's this thread about? Is it Katy Perry? And did she wear a dress (and liked it)?
    You too? My first thought when I saw the previous thread was "Caitriona Perry? Has she gone all serious now and is about to release an emo-grunge album?". :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

If Obama had said it everyone would be saying what a nice guy he is complimenting her but, because trump said it, it's weird absolute bull****.

Obama wouldn't say it. So it would never come up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 93 ✭✭Ballstein

He's not the first politician to have an eye for the ladies and most certainly won't be the last (Hillary wouldn't have broken with tradition either) but he has all the subtly of a brick in the face. Makes you think what he's like when the worlds TV cameras aren't trained on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

He's not the first politician to have an eye for the ladies and most certainly won't be the last (Hillary wouldn't have broken with tradition either) but he has all the subtly of a brick in the face. Makes you think what he's like when the worlds TV cameras aren't trained on him.

I think we already know that what he is like without cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Murrisk wrote: »

Bill Clinton would though

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Really?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Imagine if Donny followed Rons lead.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Really?

Yeah, I don't consider that remotely as bad. An offhand term of endearment is not the same to me at all. Like, if someone called me 'sweetie' like that, I wouldn't mind, kinda like someone saying 'love' or 'dear'. I've never minded any of those terms. People generally mean well saying them. But someone making a point of noting my "nice smile" while I'm trying to do my job would give me pause. Side eye would be deployed. It's moving into the realms of objectification. 'Sweetie' most certainly does not have the same effect. Reminds me off all the creeps down the year who seem offended by the fact that I'm not smiling in their presence and jokingly instruct me to do so. Just not the same.

I could have predicted some of the users who would thank your post though and was not disappointed. I think I guessed five out of seven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Obama didn't have a history of being a complete ass with women though? I don't even have to provide examples because they'er probably in their thousands when it comes to Trump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Exeggcute

"You have a nice smile."

The nerve of him.

Imagine if she had blown him and he penetrated her with a cigar in the oval office....oh wait that was Bill and Monica.

The left in America has lost its marbles

Exeggcute wrote: »
    "You have a nice smile."

The nerve of him.

Imagine if she had blown him and he penetrated her with a cigar in the oval office....oh wait that was Bill and Monica.

The left in America has lost its marbles

Bill Clinton is also a disgusting lech and possibly worse. What's your point?

Yeah, I don't consider that remotely as bad. An offhand term of endearment is not the same to me at all. Like, if someone called me 'sweetie' like that, I wouldn't mind, kinda like someone saying 'love' or 'dear'. I've never minded any of those terms. People generally mean well saying them. But someone making a point of noting my "nice smile" while I'm trying to do my job would give me pause. Side eye would be deployed. It's moving into the realms of objectification. 'Sweetie' most certainly does not have the same effect. Reminds me off all the creeps down the year who seem offended by the fact that I'm not smiling in their presence and jokingly instruct me to do so. Just not the same.

I think the vast majority of rational people would agree that Trump is a deviant with a warped view of women. I think Perry used this knowledge to her own advantage though in a cynical move to advance her career. Surely a smart business suit would have projected a better image for a respected international news corespondent as opposed to a figure hugging bright red dress when in the company of one of the most well known philanderers on the planet.

I think the vast majority of rational people would agree that Trump is a deviant with a warped view of women. I think Perry used this knowledge to her own advantage though in a cynical move to advance her career.

That's certainly possible. We are living in the age of clickbait, after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I think the vast majority of rational people would agree that Trump is a deviant with a warped view of women.

Would these people only be considered rational because they agree that Trump is a deviant with a warped view of women? If anyone disagrees they are irrational?

I think Perry used this knowledge to her own advantage though in a cynical move to advance her career. Surely a smart business suit would have projected a better image for a respected international news corespondent as opposed to a figure hugging bright red dress when in the company of one of the most well known philanderers on the planet.

A what? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

If you lived here, you'd be home by now - Lionel Hutz.

Not sure it was appropriate...but not sure about her taking to tweeting about it afterwards.

Her job is to interview others for a national broadcaster, not really to publish comments about her take on incidents putting her in centre stage. Let others do that. It reminds me if when Charlie Bird used to think Charlie Bird's reaction to events was the news, so he'd describe his emotions rather than the real victims of an earthquake or flood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Not sure it was appropriate...but not sure about her taking to tweeting about it afterwards.

She tweeted once, calling it a 'bizarre moment'. It was a bit bizarre the way he cut into the call to Varadkar to call her over and talk to her. She wasn't exactly claiming to be a victim or anything.

He didn't say anything weird though, it's just his ham-fisted approach, his reputation preceding him, and a press that will seize on anything at all.

The notion that this was all some cunning masterplan of Caitriona's, though, is absolute nonsense.

osarusan wrote: »
    She tweeted once, calling it a 'bizarre moment'. It was a bit bizarre the way he cut into the call to Varadkar to call her over and talk to her. She wasn't exactly claiming to be a victim or anything.

He didn't say anything weird though, it's just his ham-fisted approach, his reputation preceding him, and a press that will seize on anything at all.

The notion that this was all some cunning masterplan of Caitriona's, though, is absolute nonsense.

Why would you think it's a nonsense? Are you saying Perry is above using her looks to her advantages? While I doubt she expected to be called out like that I've no doubt that she knew exactly what she was doing when she wore that outfit. Is it that far fetched that an ambitious, good looking female reporter, knowing that she would be in close to proximity to the most powerful man on the planet, a man with a proven reputation as a womaniser, wouldn't seek to improver her chances of getting noticed by said man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

What is the problem?
    There is a journalist who was commissioned to report about the phone call between Varadkar and that American imbecile who calls imself president, he couldn't handle a political conversation, if there ever could be one between people who don't know feck all about each other, or at least that Yank doesn't know know red from blue ... hang on, he knows red if it's a red dress on a blond woman.

Anyway, to distract from his ingnorance he hit on what he knows best: a young blonde.

So who is to blame? A female journalist who happens to be young and attractive or an old lecher who uses his supposed power as alpha male to suffocate any political conversation he hasn't a clue about anyway by distracting to "lovely smiles" (not his though)?

And what it is about red dresses? What association have the gentleman of AH with it?

I don't know this Catriona woman, don't know her work, I'm not on twitter either. But I watched that video because it was all over the place.
    If Varadkar on the phone had any backbone he would have shouted: Oi, I'M talking to you! Well, I would, and more ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Unfortunate choice of words there :P

You've posted that before, it's a grainy split second of him putting his leg up on the chair and then down again quickly. It's literally a few seconds. That shot there is not how it appears in the video and even that shot shows nothing really. That could be a trouser crease and actually when you watch the video, that's exactly what it is. I'm going to do a screengrab to demonstrate because it needs to be shown what the video ACTUALLY depicts. Actually, just won't bother. I implore people to PLEASE WATCH this pathetic video so you see how pitiful it is. I have never seen so pathetic. Watch it people and don't be taken in by that image above. Have you even watched it, Outlaw Pete? I suspect you have and well know that it's nothing. And if you have watched it and have still posted it here, scarleh for you. Where do you get this crap and are you not embarrassed to be posting it? Step away from the Youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Exeggcute wrote: »

More like the oval orifice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

He famously likes to grab women by the teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

"Nice smile, but still only 5 maybe 6."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

You've posted that before, it's a grainy split second of him putting his leg up on the chair and then down again quickly. It's literally a second. That shot there is not how it appears in the video and even that shot shows nothing really. That could be a trouser crease and actually when you watch the video, that's exactly what it is. I'm going to do a screengrab to demonstrate because it needs to be shown what the video ACTUALLY depicts. Have you even watched it? I suspect you have and well know that it's nothing. And if you have watched it and have still posted it here, scarleh for you. Where do you get this crap and are you not embarrassed to be posting it? Step away from the Youtube.

You're scarleh for me? :p Take a breath will ya.

It's a terrible video from deep in the Youtube rabbit hole. It's grainy and of poor quality. It basically looks a big crease in his trousers. There is no way to surmise that that is a trousersnake from the information given. It's truly dreadful. And it's not the first time you've wheeled it out, the last time was when Trump was taking some well-deserved flack over pussy-gate. This was apparently to show that Obama is as bad. I would be embarrassed to post something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

I doubt anyone would argue that Donald Trump is about as subtle as a bulldozer. But we're now living in a world of the constantly offended.
    I'm a fit and healthy person, more than capable of opening a door all by myself, and I still love it when a man holds a door open for me, or treats me like a lady and with respect.

If my husband or any man pulls out my chair for me in a restaurant, I don't spit on him and call him a sexist pig and I have no intention of ever going on a women's march wearing a giant vagina costume. I don't need a march to confirm that I am equal in every way.

Trump is a bullish and rude man, he's also from a different generation, and however inappropriate his behaviour towards women might seem to generation offended, I honestly don't think he meant any insult to Catriona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

It's a terrible video from deep in the Youtube rabbit hole. It's grainy and of poor quality. It basically looks a big crease in his trousers. There is no way to surmise that that is a trousersnake from the information given. It's truly dreadful. And it's not the first time you've wheeled it out, the last time was when Trump was taking some well-deserved flack over pussy-gate. This was apparently to show that Obama is as bad. I would be embarrassed to post something like that.

Is that you Barack?!

The more you try to deny your raging bull, the more obvious it is that you got one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

The worlds gone mad. Just watched the video and the uproar is ridiculous. Can't even conpliment a smile any more. No wonder lads are afraid to give genuine conpliments for fear of being judged.

PC gone mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Old Donnie should know better than wearing Sex Panther to work. On top of his world powers he's bound to get countless advances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Caitriona

This occasion reminds me of a song -

🎶

When Irish Eyes Are Smiling, sure 'tis like a morn in spring.

In the lilt of Irish laughter, you can hear the angels sing.

When Irish hearts are happy, all the world seems bright and gay,

And When Irish Eyes Are Smiling, sure, they steal your heart away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Pure tashte

Why would you think it's a nonsense? Are you saying Perry is above using her looks to her advantages? While I doubt she expected to be called out like that I've no doubt that she knew exactly what she was doing when she wore that outfit.

You'd swear she was wearing a low cut top and a pair of hot pants! The dress she wore looked perfectly professional and not unlike what you'd see many women wearing while working at a high profile event

It would make you wonder if more world leaders are susceptible to such trickery?
    You could get some old dear with a Zimmer frame and a blue rinse to grab Macron's attention or a fit young man in a leather vest and chaps to catch Leo's eye..

It would make you wonder if more world leaders are susceptible to such trickery?
    You could get some old dear with a Zimmer frame and a blue rinse to grab Macron's attention or a fit young man in a leather vest and chaps to catch Leo's eye..

Ahh here, Trump is no JFK, and Ms. Perry is no Marilyn Monroe!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

at least we have a story to mark the start of silly season

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I could have predicted some of the users who would thank your post though and was not disappointed. I think I guessed five out of seven.
    Sounded more like a patronising way to shut up a female reporter asking a question he didn't want to answer to me. (And assuming the narrator is righr, he never did answer it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Ahh here, Trump is no JFK, and Ms. Perry is no Marilyn Monroe!! :pac:

JFK has to be one of the most overrated looking guys ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

She isn't amazing looking like.

000d1a51-614.jpg

Trump should reconsider building that wall with Mexico

Yanet-Garcia-12.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2