Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wiper blades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Pete123456

Clareman wrote: »
    It's the rear that need changing. I do high motorway mileage every week (over 1,000 km) and I do believe that as the tyres are the only thing touching the road so you shouldn't scrimp on tyres. I don't want to be stuck on the side of the motorway somewhere with a can of junk that's not working.

Oh fair enough... the rears are wider than the fronts on the 2012 and the fronts are 225 that's why I thought that

Yeah I fully agree that they're a better option and to never go for chapel tyres, but it would be better for everyone if they had a spare and four regular tyres

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Pete123456 wrote: »
    I agree it's a lovely place to wait... and sitting into the cars is nice too.... aherns in Tralee had a long wheelbase 7 recently and I thought it was weird to have all the controls in the back...

Still, even with the paper, the coffee and the bishcuits, you still feel like you're entitled to the table and the chair too :pac:

They've kiddie cars above the door gathering dust, I made a comment "my kids would love 1 of those" and I was told "hold on and I'll get a price", I think the cheapest was €275

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Jimmyswinnin

I've Michelin Primacy on at the moment and have gotten ~75,000km out of them so I'll probably go the same again, I think they were €160 each when I got them last but I can't be sure, I'll let you know when I get them.

Sounds like a good price for them! Good value getting that kinda mileage!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Oh fair enough... the rears are wider than the fronts on the 2012 and the fronts are 225 that's why I thought that

Yeah I fully agree that they're a better option and to never go for chapel tyres, but it would be better for everyone if they had a spare and four regular tyres

This is my first rear wheel drive car and after the first time I went around a roundabout a bit quick I'll never have poor tyres on the back again

Sounds like a good price for them! Good value getting that kinda mileage!

I'm a tightarse drive, avoid using the breaks as much as possible, cruise control whenever I can and always make sure I've the proper pressure. I used to have a Civic and I was going through tyres to beat the band until a tyre guy (might have been in Shannon actually) pointed out all the break dust and told me to stop resting my foot on the break pedal when slowing down. .

Read an article recently about the amount of money being spent in R&D depts by the big german manufacturers trying to make the cars almost unserviceable by anyone but main dealer. Locks on software etc. They reckon within 2-3 years service depts will aim for 75% retention! Seems very high.

Wouldn't surprise me... I understand it's a main dealer, but to see this little piece of blue plastic in the shape of an L and thinking it couldn't have cost more than 5 cent and charging 17 quid and I think that might have even been ex VAT
    They've kiddie cars above the door gathering dust, I made a comment "my kids would love 1 of those" and I was told "hold on and I'll get a price", I think the cheapest was €275

Yeah for the one with pedals. If you want the powered with the little battery in it that flashes lights etc you have to tick them on the options list haha

Didn't even have pedals, 1 that they sit on and push themselves forward with their feat.

I'd like to get 1 of those battery powered 1's for them though if they're every "cheap" or imitation, spotted one last year but they were sold out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭GB FAN GALWAY 30

Wouldn't surprise me... I understand it's a main dealer, but to see this little piece of blue plastic in the shape of an L and thinking it couldn't have cost more than 5 cent and charging 17 quid and I think that might have even been ex VAT

Absolutely agree with you but the problem is simple. German infrastructure in an Irish market that hasn't the volume to support it unless everything is hugely priced..

This is my first rear wheel drive car and after the first time I went around a roundabout a bit quick I'll never have poor tyres on the back again

I'm amazed you got 75k Kms out of the michelins though, the sportsmaxx don't seem to last pi$sing time but they're bought because I seem to be the only one to notice the tyres are worn to nothing... (not my car btw but I organise these things)

Absolutely agree with you but the problem is simple. German infrastructure in an Irish market that hasn't the volume to support it unless everything is hugely priced..

That and the ABSOLUTE waste of people, there was 3 people there to handle customer's service, a service manager, 4 sales people, a receptionist and 2 old fellas who I didn't know what they were. That was just where you can see, I've no idea how many people were in the back

I'm amazed you got 75k Kms out of the michelins though, the sportsmaxx don't seem to last pi$sing time but they're bought because I seem to be the only one to notice the tyres are worn to nothing... (not my car btw but I organise these things)

There isn't a whole lot left on my tyres at the moment, but I've definitely gotten 65k out of them but as I say I try to be very light on tyres and I do mostly motorway driving on cruise control, I would say of the 1,000 I do a week 900 would be on cruise control on motorway.

That and the ABSOLUTE waste of people, there was 3 people there to handle customer's service, a service manager, 4 sales people, a receptionist and 2 old fellas who I didn't know what they were. That was just where you can see, I've no idea how many people were in the back

Don't forget you'll get a call in a few days to ask how everything went, and you'll be called to invite you to all sorts of sales events with champagne etc. There's surely a staff member for that too!

Ahh, the call, I forgot about the call. "Mr. Clareman, I'm calling from Conlons BMW about your recent service event, can you speak now", "Mr. Clareman how did you find the service" "Mr. Clareman would you change anything about the service" "Mr. Clareman did you avail of any other services".

If only Mrs. Clareman paid such attention after a service :pac::pac::pac:

Sales Event where they're all in their tux and you get a few sandwiches, I've been to 1 of those, they cleaned my car for free :D

I forgot about the offer of the summer safety check, €69 quid to get €150 worth of gear and the car checked, when I asked what they'd do as part of the check that wasn't covered in the service they couldn't answer

There isn't a whole lot left on my tyres at the moment, but I've definitely gotten 65k out of them but as I say I try to be very light on tyres and I do mostly motorway driving on cruise control, I would say of the 1,000 I do a week 900 would be on cruise control on motorway.

Still though that seems very good... I think there's about 140k Kms on this car and I think I've organised 3 sets of back tyres if not four.... now the driver has an 'odd' driving style with sudden braking at times and she would only be doing about 30 percent motorway and dual carriageway

I've 90k on mine but the first set only lasted less than 20 because of the first driver's extremely odd driving style, but I got a great deal on the car though. This was the passenger front tyre after about 20k

TlAGEhc.png?1

Ahh, the call, I forgot about the call. "Mr. Clareman, I'm calling from Conlons BMW about your recent service event, can you speak now", "Mr. Clareman how did you find the service" "Mr. Clareman would you change anything about the service" "Mr. Clareman did you avail of any other services".

If only Mrs. Clareman paid such attention after a service :pac::pac::pac:

Sales Event where they're all in their tux and you get a few sandwiches, I've been to 1 of those, they cleaned my car for free :D
    I forgot about the offer of the summer safety check, €69 quid to get €150 worth of gear and the car checked, when I asked what they'd do as part of the check that wasn't covered in the service they couldn't answer

Haha it's gas alright...

69 bucks for them to walk around your car, plug the key into the PC and give you a cooler bag, water bottle, frisbee and two high vis jackets... sound lads yere grand thanks

I've 90k on mine but the first set only lasted less than 20 because of the first driver's extremely odd driving style, but I got a great deal on the car though. This was the passenger front tyre after about 20k

TlAGEhc.png?1

Jaysus... must have liked going around and around roundabouts :rolleyes:

Haha it's gas alright...

69 bucks for them to walk around your car, plug the key into the PC and give you a cooler bag, water bottle, frisbee and two high vis jackets... sound lads yere grand thanks

When I bought my Avensis in Hogan's in Shannon they were great with free stuff, I was still using Toyota pens for years afterwards, in BMW you just get the coffee :pac:

Jaysus... must have liked going around and around roundabouts :rolleyes:

I don't know what he was doing to be honest, the rims are fine but I think he must have been rubbing off curbs the whole time, but I had to get 4 new tyres soon after buying the car and it's been fine since.

You can get about 8 high vis jackets, the frisbee, 4 carrier bags, loads of food and about 132 pens for free at the ploughing and still have change for an ice cream on the way home haha

I don't know what he was doing to be honest, the rims are fine but I think he must have been rubbing off curbs the whole time, but I had to get 4 new tyres soon after buying the car and it's been fine since.

Fair play... let us know what you sort out anyways, i think there'll be fronts needed here very soon so I wouldn't mind going to Ennis if it meant saving 100 quid!