Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog without water

• 19-06-2017 9:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭

Bo!!ox, put the dog outside this morning when leaving for work about 8am. Forgot to put his water bowl out with him. He had had his breakfast (nuts soaked in water) & will be in shade all day. Will try & get out early, be home at 5 by very latest.

Feel so bad, am such an idiot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

A Dog without water in this weather is cruel , you need to find a way to get back to him by lunch time .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Bishopsback

LCD wrote: »
    Bo!!ox, put the dog outside this morning when leaving for work about 8am. Forgot to put his water bowl out with him. He had had his breakfast (nuts soaked in water) & will be in shade all day. Will try & get out early, be home at 5 by very latest.

He should be grand as long as there's good shade. It sounds like he got some hydration earlier but if you can get someone to call and give him water, but he should be OK for the few hrs.
    I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

He should be grand as long as there's good shade. It sounds like he got some hydration earlier but if you can get someone to call and give him water, but he should be OK for the few hrs.
    I
    Not in this weather. It's hot enough to be serious. The dog will alternate in and out of the shade, but won't have the good sense to understand that he doesn't have any water.

OP, do you have a neighbour or anyone who could even hop the wall or throw a bowl over?

Pop home at lunchtime, probably the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

in normal Irish weather he may be grand but not in this heat - shade or no shade.

depending on his coat etc he could over heat quiet quickly.

Just as an FYI nuts, even if soaked could make him more thirsty.

OP - for peace of mind pop home make up an excuse in work and give him water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

On a day like today? It will be hot even in the shade. I would take a couple of hours off or else ring everyone I know and get someone to drop in and givr him water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

He could be dead by this evening. Definitely try get someone to call in beforehand

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I'd go home or get someone to call in. Too hot to be leaving an animal out with no water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Free-2-Flow

He will be grand

Could I get tomorrow's euromillions numbers off you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Flibble

Definitely find a way to get home OP if there's no one who can pop in for you. Take an extra long lunch. It's just not worth the risk, you'll spend the whole day worrying & you might arrive gone to a horrible scene this evening.

If ever the phrase 'better safe than sorry' was applicable, it's here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I definitely wouldn't risk it on a day like today. It's extremely warm even in the shade today.

19366153_10158826525820317_8023983882987334997_n.jpg?oh=d5afee8472e254f4d306bb53884cfa42&oe=599F04D8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

Long shot but if you're in Dublin 15 I'm happy to drop water in to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Maybe a bit late for today but we have a pretty big plant pot (no holes in bottom) and fill it up with water when empty, when it rains the rain fills it up for us, little feckers prefer drinking out of that than their own water bowl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭LCD

OP here, took a long early lunch & went home & came back.

He came in, took 1 sip from his bowl & went back to lying in the sun. He has his water now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Thats the job...my mammy just called over to put out a big block of ice for my one :P

On the same subject, my doggie, a miniature Yorkshire terrier drinks very little water, even when she's panting if I bring her to the bowl she won't drink any. Should I worry in this weather?

pilly wrote: »
    On the same subject, my doggie, a miniature Yorkshire terrier drinks very little water, even when she's panting if I bring her to the bowl she won't drink any. Should I worry in this weather?

If they have access to water they will drink it when they need it.
    They can be a bit daft and like us wait till they are parched before having a drink but if it is there and she has access to some shade she will be alright.

And share the prize? I don't think so.

Anyway, dogs have been taking care of themselves for 100's of 1000's of years.

I'm sure its capible of surviving more than 8 hours.

pilly wrote:

Panting doesnt necessarily mean they are thirsty, Dogs pant to lower their body temperature.

And share the prize? I don't think so.

Anyway, dogs have been taking care of themselves for 100's of 1000's of years.

And you can see no difference between a dog living in the wild or living off a farm with open access to travel and find shade and water and a dog bred for different traits locked in a dog proofed back garden.

He said the dog was in shade

He will be grand

He came in, took 1 sip from his bowl & went back to lying in the sun. He has his water now:)

Ok, he's a wizard. He has the sight.

I'll take those numbers by pm if you please.

MarkR wrote:
    I'll take those numbers by pm if you please.

PM sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Ashbx

My collie always seems reluctant to drink water so on hot days like this, I make water ice pops (and add in a little gravy mix to really bring out the flavour), but she would lick this whole thing right from my hands. Keeps them quiet for a few mins, keeps them cool and they feel like its a treat when its gravy flavoured! :)

Another favourite for my two is frozen watermelon (just be sure to remove the seeds first). I give them just a piece or two each.

Ashbx wrote: »
    My collie always seems reluctant to drink water so on hot days like this, I make water ice pops (and add in a little gravy mix to really bring out the flavour), but she would lick this whole thing right from my hands. Keeps them quiet for a few mins, keeps them cool and they feel like its a treat when its gravy flavoured! :)

Another favourite for my two is frozen watermelon (just be sure to remove the seeds first). I give them just a piece or two each.

Brilliant ideas! Thank you.

If that's your theory well then the same applies to Humans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Ms Doubtfire1

Ashbx wrote: »

I tried the (very cold not frozen) watermelon with my lurcher. he chewed a hole in it and got upset when he got stuck....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

I tried the (very cold not frozen) watermelon with my lurcher. he chewed a hole in it and got upset when he got stuck....:rolleyes:

Water bottle + Water + Dog food.
    Freeze it, cut away the plastic.

Dog ice lolly.

Always goes down well.

If that's your theory well then the same applies to Humans

Your assessment of the situation was wrong , accept it ,move on , stop trying to drag it into nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

I think I remember hearing that the Salt content of Gravy is a bit too high for dogs,

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

Glad that you went home op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

My little fella stays out the back when I'm at work (I come home every day at lunchtime to check him). I leave a big bowl of water for him in the shade. Never seems to touch a drop of it though. There are lines on the inside of he bowl to indicate the water levels and the water is still at the top level when I get in from work. For some reason doesn't seem to need it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Glad you got sorted OP. Domestic dogs are funny creatures. Some dogs won't drink fluids or eat food when their owners are away because they don't want to be bursting to use the loo while you're gone.

My lad is a little off normal the last 2 days. He's grand but not drinking fluids until he needs too and not finishing his meals in full. Guess he's as moody as me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

scudzilla wrote: »
    Maybe a bit late for today but we have a pretty big plant pot (no holes in bottom) and fill it up with water when empty, when it rains the rain fills it up for us, little feckers prefer drinking out of that than their own water bowl

My terrier does this also, he'll drink rainwater out of flower pots outside and ignore the bowl of water I leave down for him with his food.

I've always found it odd behaviour but it doesn't seem to do him any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭maggiepip

My collie is the same, so I blend a piece of meat through a jug of water into a "soup" and give her a few bowls of that a day. She loves it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

You can get small drinking bowls in either strong plastic or metal for calves in most coops, ye could plumb it up to a water supply in garden and bolt them to the wall low enough for dogs to drink out off, little float will turn on and off the water

That's terribly sad. Poor pups.

Have to say my own two are struggling in the heat the last couple days, especially Khali with her double coat. She was panting a lot yesterday and pretty restless even though she was indoors and drinking plenty of cool water. I ended up getting an ice pack from the freezer and rubbing her down with it. I thought she'd be annoyed but she loved it.

I was just fanning myself there with a magazine and Hiro came over and shoved his face up to it to enjoy the air too. :D

Love the idea of freezing melon. My two love fruit so that will go down a treat.

Open to any other ideas people have for keeping them cool. Khali really hates this weather. I wouldn't like to be wearing a fur coat in it either tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Bells21

Open to any other ideas people have for keeping them cool. Khali really hates this weather. I wouldn't like to be wearing a fur coat in it either tbf.

A damp towel rung out and left for them to lie on or put over them. Re wet it every now and again.

I've a little kiddie pool for my baby to swim in. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭adelcrowsmel

I've a little kiddie pool for my baby to swim in. :)

So do I....but do you think they will get into it....not a chance....I've tried everything to encourage them in!!! I lift them in then and they jump out immediately!!

:D:D:D:D

Probably think they're gonna get washed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Meeeee79

Does he have somewhere to get away from the heat? Like a kennel or shed or something? I really hope he is ok, dogs need access to water at all times especially in higher temperatures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭dizzyn

this thread made me go down to check on my boy. I'm was off anyway so he could come in and out as he pleases. Went to check on him anyway and couldn't find him anywhere. Started to panic and looked everywhere. Low and behold he was in the shed...STUCK BEHIND THE WASHING MACHINE. I couldn't breathe I was laughing so hard, I have no idea how he got himself in there.
    So thanks OP for this thread!!

Meeeee79 wrote: »
    Does he have somewhere to get away from the heat? Like a kennel or shed or something? I really hope he is ok, dogs need access to water at all times especially in higher temperatures

It's okay Mee, OP went home and gave dog water, this was yesterday.

We're just discussing other ways to keep them cool now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Meeeee79

sorry, didn't read this before posting, good on you, right thing to do even though inconvenient!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭Recliner

:D:D:D:D

Probably think they're gonna get washed.

Mine's the same..hates being washed so I think that's what she thinks.

She was digging a big hole in the back in the shade on Sunday. We thought it was to bury her bone...she hopped in, turned around and lay down. Obviously the clay was lovely and cool. Genius..

I've started to leave a water bowl upstairs for her as well because she has the run of the house and she's been drinking from that one most of all. Also loves ice cubes.