Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

nonstick pan

• 12-06-2017 7:29pm

Has anyone every found a nonstick pan that stayed nonstick no matter what, there is an ad for a JML one that practically guarantees to stay non stick for ever something I doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Circulon brand for me all the way.

Tefal red spot are good too.

They will not stay non stick FOREVER, but will for a long time if looked after properly, they are good quality imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Price of cabbage is criminal these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Cant cook won't cook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭koumi

I did, weirdly. I was shopping in Dunnes one day and got to the til and the cashier asked me would I like a free wok, hadn't a clue what she was referring to but apparently uncle bens were having a promotion and there were a few left over and they just happened to be giving them away to the first come first served that morning. Not wanting to turn down a free anything I took it home. It's the best thing since non stick frying pans were invented and the main cooking utensil in the house now. I don't know what make it is, it just says uncle bens on the handle so in hindsight that's probably not going to be much use to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

cast iron is where it's at!

First they came for the socialists...

I am a bit of sucker for JML products they always looks fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

We've had a good few over the years and some were expensive enough. We got great use out of one in Lidl.
    Aunt hates them tough because they give you cancer.

PS, If you a good Non-stick pan look for advice on the cooking forum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Yes Regis pans are actually really good. Thought they'd be gimmicky and lose the non stick after a while but it's been about a year now and still going good. I love it so much that I curse having to use any other pan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

xjykw.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Teflon are great until you overhear them and the coating breaks down. Cast iron pans when properly seasoned will be nearly as slippy but can take silly amounts of heat. If they lose their non stickness you can strip them back to the metal with oven cleaner and re-season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

stimpson wrote: »
    Teflon are great until you overhear them and the coating breaks down.

That's what you get for eavesdropping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

xjykw.jpg

The ironing is delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

koumi wrote: »
    I did, weirdly. I was shopping in Dunnes one day and got to the til and the cashier asked me would I like a free wok, hadn't a clue what she was referring to but apparently uncle bens were having a promotion and there were a few left over and they just happened to be giving them away to the first come first served that morning. Not wanting to turn down a free anything I took it home. It's the best thing since non stick frying pans were invented and the main cooking utensil in the house now. I don't know what make it is, it just says uncle bens on the handle so in hindsight that's probably not going to be much use to you.

I get those woks all the time and they are always wear down.

I didn't know uncle bens did woks but sure it was free so it's easily the best money I never spent. (I'd happily get another wok if it does)

I know yeah, I'm just saying. I can't get a wok to last at all.

I had a ****ty little wok I picked up in tesco years ago, wasn't worth the trip to the shop and everything stuck to it so I wasn't sold on them but definitely have changed my opinion. It's proper size and very heavy base, amazing ability to conduct and control heat, multi functional so I use it for everything from steaming to frying or just making sauces and soups. Best thing ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

That's what you get for eavesdropping.

:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

mariaalice wrote: »
    I am a bit of sucker for JML products they always looks fantastic.

True - in a "cheap and a bit crap" sort of a way. Can't beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

No matter what you pay, non stick pans are only as good as the people using them. There are certain ways to clean them that will prolong their life and obviously there are certain ways to cook on them that won't burn the arse off them. Cheaper crap will require more care.

Uncle Bens woks are pure ****e like a lot of cheap woks. A cast iron wok is your only man. A cheap wok will go on fire if you take your eye off it for a split second, while heating it up.

15 years ago I spent €150 on a set of non-stick saucepans. They are still with me to this day and still making great food. But I look after them and they are worth looking after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Out of the frying pan into the..... Nope wait, still stuck in there.

Grandeeod wrote: »
    No matter what you pay, non stick pans are only as good as the people using them. There are certain ways to clean them that will prolong their life and obviously there are certain ways to cook on them that won't burn the arse off them. Cheaper crap will require more care.

Uncle Bens woks are pure ****e like a lot of cheap woks. A cast iron wok is your only man. A cheap wok will go on fire if you take your eye off it for a split second, while heating it up.

15 years ago I spent €150 on a set of non-stick saucepans. They are still with me to this day and still making great food. But I look after them and they are worth looking after.
    I'm still amazed uncle bens make woks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

I'm still amazed uncle bens make woks.

I'm still amazed they make that pollyfiller disguised as rice-in-a-box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Feisar wrote: »
    cast iron is where it's at!

I agree. I have one for fish, a grill pan for steak, a small pan for frying eggs or bacon and a cast iron wok. Wouldn't change now, love the cast iron.

Cast aluminium is not too bad either.

gctest50 wrote: »
    I was thinking that everything else they make is shíte so was expecting wok to be too. I didn't purchase any uncle bens products btw, I just got one for free because they were giving away what was leftover from a promotion and I just happened to be offered one. Maybe they should give up making rice in a bag and concentrate on making woks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

It's cheaper to divorce the wife and find a woman who can properly cook than keep replacing non-stick pans.

this is what we get for letting you win the poll, isn't it.

gctest50 wrote: »

Rice in a box. Rice in a bag and Rice in a pouch. All because so many people can't cook rice in a pot or steamer. Funny how Rice is so cheap, yet so many get sucked in to buying the more expensive version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Cast iron is the only way to go. You'll have a pan for life. The only downside is the weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭FreshCoffee

I've only being buying Titanium based frying pans / saucepans for years now. Here's an example from John Lewis:
    www.johnlewis.com/john-lewis-titanium-ceramic-frying-pan/p1613755

Titanium based cookware is not cheap but I have yet to throw any out. It's non-stick properties are excellent

Where would I get a cast iron wok? Argos?

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I've one of those JML regis stone ones and it's deadly - but the thing with non stick cookware is you've got to take care of it. No matter what is says on the packaging, never put non-stick stuff in the dishwasher, and never use those green scrubby sponges on them either. I'd love a big cast iron pan, but I don't think I'd be able to lift it (or afford it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

I got two of them in Superquinn one night. It was a battle to refuse taking home a third at the time; I only regret now that I didn't take two more; excellent yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Waterford foundry used to make them, they should have a list of stockists around the country, they're very very heavy. I find it almost impossible to hold in one hand and tilt to empty onto dishes.

Just had a look at mine it says ' Waterford Stanley Colorcast' but it's not enamelled and all cast in the one piece handle and all. Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Not sure but they sell dumbells in there if it's a wok out you're looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭dusty207

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    Waterford foundry used to make them, they should have a list of stockists around the country, they're very very heavy. I find it almost impossible to hold in one hand and tilt to empty onto dishes.

Hammond Lane in Dublin used to make them, the girlfriends dad worked there in the 70's, not sure they made them officially or in their spare time, real industrial yokes but over time they matured into incredible cooking devices. Whenever he fired his up we knew we were in for some decent grub.

Prepare to pay.

Le Creuset is the best and with a lid. Argos would be the last place. Debenhams. Arnotts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

There is an aga shop in dunlaoire that sells cast iron pans/pots. Not cheap though

PARlance wrote: »
    Not sure but they sell dumbells in there if it's a wok out you're looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I have had lots of non-stick pans and have thrown most out once they started peeling... some of them cost me over €100... remember that place Kitchen Compliments on Chatham St... well they seen me coming many a time and sol me non-stick cookware that wasn't the holy grail that they proclaimed it to be.

However, the last set of cookware (four saucepans, saute pans and two large frying pans, all with swappable handles) are non-stick and after eight years of use (and good care - only use non-stick cleaning pads and rubber utensils etc) are as good as new and showing no sign of even the slightest peeling and if send €20 to me via PayPal I have an ebook where I name this fantastic brand of cookware!

Only joking: it's Woll Titan Plus and why did I buy them? Simple, I seen Ramsey using them on one of his home cookery shows and I thought if that fcuker has them in his gaff, they must be good and damn if they're not only good, but they're fecking well exceptional. They cost me a mint now but worth every penny and the Brucie bonus is there's less chance of getting Alzheimer's too! Can't be bad.

http://www.woll.uk.com/titan-plus.html?mode=list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I don't notice any difference between Le Creuset and generic cast iron pans. I prefer stainless steel, mainly because it's easier to haul around the kitchen. It doesn't lose stick unless you burn the arse off it or scratch it with utensils. If you want something that lasts you could also look at copper with steel lining.
    I was reading something about Teflon 'Flu, a range of symptoms attributed to the fumes from degrading Teflon when heated, but I don't know whether to believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Here's Ramsey using one of the Woll Titan Plus pans:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I don't notice any difference between Le Creuset and generic cast iron pans. I prefer stainless steel, mainly because it's easier to haul around the kitchen. It doesn't lose stick unless you burn the arse off it or scratch it with utensils. If you want something that lasts you could also look at copper with steel lining.
    I was reading something about Teflon 'Flu, a range of symptoms attributed to the fumes from degrading Teflon when heated, but I don't know whether to believe it.

I've a Le Creuset griddle pan 5 years and I can see it lasting another 55 years easily... mainly due to the fact that it is never used. It took about 3 goes before I realised it wasn't worth Le Hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Le Creuset are a bit eye watering on the price side. I got an enormous Lodge cast iron pan for 70 aussie dollars. Use it every day and love cooking stuff on it.

I would like to splash out on a dutch oven but they're expensive and I have a slow cooker already.

PARlance wrote: »
    I've a Le Creuset griddle pan 5 years and I can see it lasting another 55 years easily... mainly due to the fact that it is never used. It took about 3 goes before I realised it wasn't worth Le Hassle.

I love Le Creuset but after seeing someone drop one and crack an expensive tiled floor I would be wary of buying them also think they are a bit of marketing con and there are similar but cheaper ranges out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

I used to think that non-stick pans were a myth.

But then I lived on my own for a year. AND DID THE WASHING UP PROPERLY.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Don't put your frying pan in the dishwasher!

I use a Tefal one, it's deadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Cast iron is cast iron. Even Le Creuset could have a flaw in it but it's made in the same way. LC do give a lifetime guarantee (but there are exceptions, if you mistreat them while cooking or if you drop them) but you're unlikely to ever need to replace the generic cast iron ones either unless you mistreat or drop them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Lidl regularly have a knock off version of the Le Creusset stuff that I've been picking up a piece from every time they come into stock. Still not cheap but pretty much indistinguishable from LC and half the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Dealz have a nice non sthick for 1.49 . buy 10 of these and you get as good value as some of the €35 one on the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Enamel iron. The frying pan will outlast me.