Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

biker salute

• 10-06-2017 7:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 vt750shadow

after being at killarney bike fest last week i have to say alot of bikers were not giving the salute mainly down to bwm owners [bring my wallet] and hog crowd or as i like to call em the wba [the would be americans] this sad that its come to this because most these folks only started driving bikes during the boom and never had a bike with a kick starter or even saw one .i got so peeved i gave up the salute myself but this is not the answer so i say to all jap and triumph owners salute away and keep the tradition goin coz this nice to get a wave from a comrade on the road maybe their just jealous of us because their bikes have a failure rate of 30 to 40% any way my rant is over ride safe and keep the salute going and dont mind the badge snobery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Hi there & welcome to boards.

I've moved your thread from Help Desk to the Motorbikes forum as this is a more relevant place to discuss the topic you've raised.

tHB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,103 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I like that you go on about badge snobbery by being snobby about badges.

The wave doesn't matter. Was in France a few years ago and everyone there waved. My mate dropped his bike in the middle of the road and loads of bikers waved as they rode past. It's the person that stops when you need help, regardless of the badge, who is the true biker and none stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Badges mean f*ck all. I went from Ducati to a BMW, now a Harley. I find the older Harley owners are the worst for snobbery. Myself I don't care, it's about the bike and nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Another post about "the wave"....ignorant people ride bikes too...get over it....i still get unanswered waves ....i just think "pr1ck"....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭COH

The correct protocol for when someone fails to wave back is as follows:

A - Jam on the back brake
    B - Skid into U-Turn
    C - Pursue offender
    D - Punishment overtake that motherf*cker into oblivion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

Yiz are all a bunch of snobs.

When Im out on the R1 or the S1000rr you will all give me the nod.

But when im out on the Suzuki Burgerman 400 and i nod at yous all,you all just ride past as if i dont exist.

Yiz bunch of snobs.....lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

Another post about "the wave"....ignorant people ride bikes too...get over it....i still get unanswered waves ....i just think "pr1ck"....:)

Respect my authoritha....lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Some do, some don't, I always make the effort, if it's not returned they're a kant (unless you're on it then it's exceptional circumstances) ;)

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Bushmanpm

COH wrote:
    The correct protocol for when someone fails to wave back is as follows:

COH wrote:
    A - Jam on the back brake B - Skid into U-Turn C - Pursue offender D - Punishment overtake that motherf*cker into oblivion

On Ghostrider's turbo 'busa presumably

Many moons ago I had a matt black CM250 with a straight through 2-1 and a black and yellow TDR250 and depending on my mood would decide what I'd ride to work on. Whenever I was on the CM a hardtailed grebo going the other way would wave. Next day I'm on the TDR and said grebo would blank me. Lesson learned- there's all sorts out there, don't get too bothered about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Hi there & welcome to boards.

I've moved your thread from Help Desk to the Motorbikes forum as this is a more relevant place to discuss the topic you've raised.

tHB

I dunno. The post does sound like a cry for help....

Sorted.....

armsignals.jpg

1349f998fa81c4d7161986ca8f495879.jpg

I'm gonna tear you open............:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

i nod at deliveroo scooters and bicycles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭rat_race

after being at killarney bike fest last week i have to say alot of bikers were not giving the salute mainly down to bwm owners [bring my wallet] and hog crowd or as i like to call em the wba [the would be americans] this sad that its come to this because most these folks only started driving bikes during the boom and never had a bike with a kick starter or even saw one .i got so peeved i gave up the salute myself but this is not the answer so i say to all jap and triumph owners salute away and keep the tradition goin coz this nice to get a wave from a comrade on the road maybe their just jealous of us because their bikes have a failure rate of 30 to 40% any way my rant is over ride safe and keep the salute going and dont mind the badge snobery

I started driving bikes after the boom, and I ain't ever owned a kickstarter. What does that make me?

rat_race wrote: »
    I started driving bikes after the boom, and I ain't ever owned a kickstarter. What does that make me?

Privileged :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,103 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Lucky, there's nothing worse than jumping up and down on a kick-starter and getting nothing. At least with a battery it'll go dead after a few tries, with a kick-starter you'll keep going in the hope that it'll start after 30 kicks.

Actually there is something worse. Trying to bump start down a hill and not starting, then you have to push the lump up the hill.

A hipster...............:p:D

My classic usually starts first kick....its all about maintenance..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 X20DTL

Tis a shame to think we have come so far folks who ride a GS or a GSXR or a Triumph or a Goldwing won't acknowledge each other. It wasn't that long ago when the only two wheelers on the roads in this land were Nifty's (C50's) and Noddy's (CD175's), the former being the mount of choice of auld lads & ladies, the latter being the choice of the "serious" biker or an old boy with access to ample stocks of fertiliser bags to adorn the front crash bars. Back in the day if you happened to be on the road it wasn't a question of whether or not you would get a salute or not, it was more the worry that any of these unlikely pilots would stop and hold you half the day talking about the secrets of the parish! Nowadays the Nifty & the Noddy have all but vanished into the mists of time and we are now at risk of not even giving a Nod! Well I say, f*** the bugrudgers and salute em all irrespective of badge and if they don't reciprocate then their loss.
    Rose tinted rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭rat_race

I can't believe there are so many threads on this...

Man-up, men...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭bigar

Surprised to hear there seems to be a salute in Ireland. Never was given or returned one when I still bothered waving. If there is one it must be so minute that no one can see it.

bigar wrote: »
    Surprised to hear there seems to be a salute in Ireland. Never was given or returned one when I still bothered waving. If there is one it must be so minute that no one can see it.

Well if i see a BMW coming towards me i usually give this salute..........:eek::D

1270039491_jesse-james-290.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Very little (if any) of that rant makes any sense what so ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Sense when do rants on here ever make sense.....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 vt750shadow

thats only yer opinion lads and opinions are like ass holes everyone has one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 X20DTL

thats only yer opinion lads and opinions are like ass holes everyone has one

Isn't that the whole point of these threads & posts i.e. to have an opinion & be able to express it, Jeez, next thing you will be giving out about Goldwing owners, , :eek:

and opinions are like ass holes everyone has one

"....and they all stink"

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

Ducati owners are the least likely to nod/wave back from my experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 vt750shadow

ah now lads the wing is the ultimate machine their is only one word for bikers who slag them [jealousy ] and the gwoci are sound lads they always give me a wave no snobbery at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,063 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

i nod at deliveroo scooters and bicycles

Nice one! I was on my bicycle in traffic in East Wall in Dublin this winter and a dude on his motorbike pulled up and nodded at me in a friendly fashion at a red light. Sound fella, a nod of acknowledgment from one road user to another, brothers, children of the tarmac, friends on two wheels... BOOM!

His helmet looked like he was a wasp and his bike looked like a fast, aggressive angry animal engine on wheels. Respect. He accelerated off impressively and left his phone on the road.

There was another moter biker beside me and we both saw the phone. I jumped off my bike and went to retrieve the phone, but people in their cars (even though I was waving at them and gesticulating like there was something wrong) drove over the phone.

The other moter biker caught up with the wasp and called him back while I secured the phone from the traffic and the kids that were trying to rob it.

Result - Phone delivered back to the wasp. He was very appreciative.

Analysis - Buy a Galaxy phone. It was still working. Be nice to cyclists.

Pugzilla wrote:
    Ducati owners are the least likely to nod/wave back from my experience

Prolly too busy worrying when it'll break down next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,612 ✭✭✭✭blade1

bladespin wrote: »
    Prolly too busy worrying when it'll break down next.

Or enjoying the ride too much!

I passed one Ducati(a Multistrada) yesterday and passed over 10 BMW GS's.
    Multistrada rider saluted and none of the Gs's did.

I wave at children too by god do they love bikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,612 ✭✭✭✭blade1

You're supposed to wheelie past them!!:D

Careful there now Ted.............:D

Lots of waves today...must be the good weather ...:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭Synthol

I nod at everyone expect scooters and couriers as they never nod back so **** them.

They never went over Wheelie etiquette on my ibt I promise to wave with my front wheel from now on

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

photo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I'll tell you who never waves. Harley riders. They're in their own clique and they're not bikers - they're Harley riders. Also, BMW riders. They never wave. They think they're all high and mighty on their BMWs, think they're better than everyone else. Also, sports bike riders. I think they're too busy concentrating on being in the power band for max acceleration, and they're not real bikers anyway, a trip across the gap when it's sunny is all they do. Also tourers never wave. They're out for their sunday jolly, trying to do 800km a day with sore arses, only waving if you have panniers and a top box. You can forget about scooters or noobs on their 125's, probably don't even know what a wave is. Ducati riders never wave either, I think they only wave at other red bikes. Not real bikers anyway, doing about 50 miles a year and spending 2k to cover their services. Forget about couriers and commuters too, they're not real bikers anyway because they just have a bike for convenience, not because they love it.

Can we put this biker wave shíte to bed now?

Lots of smiles, nods and waves yesterday, everyone in a good mood!

I got waves from b@nd!tos yesterday.. then ended up sitting beside them at a pub..!!!! be careful who you wave at!!!!

Probably @rse-b@nd!tos..........................:D

It was one of those days, sure i was waving at cyclists n all............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,134 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Probably @rse-b@nd!tos..........................:D

It was one of those days, sure i was waving at cyclists n all............

I waved at a cyclist this morning who had decided to lean on the back box ... as the lights went green. I waved back at him as he lay on the ground in shock :D

GBX wrote: »
    I waved at a cyclist this morning who had decided to lean on the back box ... as the lights went green. I waved back at him as he lay on the ground in shock :D

Maybe he was tryin to rob a pizza..............:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

Daffodil riders like to wave at everyone.

Commuters dont give a rats ass who waves at them. They just want to get to work. Unless someone pulls up beside them for a chat.

You could end up waving at the same guy 600 times a year on a commute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,562 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

bladespin wrote: »
    [Ducatisti] Prolly too busy worrying when it'll break down next.

Counting down the metres to the next service.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

I noticed on my ride to larragh on Saturday I passed about 50 bikes and the only bikes to nod or stick a leg were fellow sportsbike riders.

Don't give a **** but thought it was odd.

I noticed on my ride to larragh on Saturday I passed about 50 bikes and the only bikes to nod or stick a leg were fellow sportsbike riders.

Don't give a **** but thought it was odd.

Probably just hard braking coming to a bend...........:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 JGZero

There's a salute! The IBT instructor didn't mention this 😀

As a noob am I even allowed to yet? Would I get laughed at in my shiny L Hi-Viz on my 125 Maurader? I was thinking I'd wait a few months till I'm riding something decent and have passed my test before making gestures at other riders. Not gonna be rude and ignore anybody but I don't feel right initiating salutes atm. Only contact with another rider so far has been a nod with another guy on a Maurader at lights.

What's the general done thing? A nod?
    Sorry for the noob waffle but I'm a bright shiny noob!!

JGZero wrote: »
    There's a salute! The IBT instructor didn't mention this ��

As a noob am I even allowed to yet? Would I get laughed at in my shiny L Hi-Viz on my 125 Maurader? I was thinking I'd wait a few months till I'm riding something decent and have passed my test before making gestures at other riders. Not gonna be rude and ignore anybody but I don't feel right initiating salutes atm. Only contact with another rider so far has been a nod with another guy on a Maurader at lights.

What's the general done thing? A nod?
    Sorry for the noob waffle but I'm a bright shiny noob!!

It costs nothing.....if they dont nod/wave back then you have the pleasure of thinking "they were right, fcuking BMW/Ducati riders"....:D