Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incident at Notre Dame, Paris

• 06-06-2017 2:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭

French radio is reporting that police are dealing with an incident at Notre Dame and advising people to avoid the area.

Hopefully it's just something minor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

This **** needs a megathread. AH reads like a redtop these days.

First reports say someone tried to assault a cop and was shot dead. Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Strange. I was there recently and the place is full of armed military and police. You wouldnt last long if you tried something there. Don't think this is the usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

First reports say someone tried to assault a cop and was shot dead. Fingers crossed.

Which a hammer it seems. But is alive, as is the perpetrator.

Could be anything at the moment.

Last week a Muslim police officer was attacked at the arche de triomphe

The wait and see and blame game?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The wait and see and blame game?

The four letter goons will claim responsibility either way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 97 ✭✭AzcuzCoz

French police say they have shot a man who began attacking a police officer at the Notre Dame cathedral. There are also more unconfirmed reports that a number of people are wounded.

More to follow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Every
    ****ing
    Day
    Now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Oh great.

Paris has changed a lot IMO. The last time I was there was in summer of 2015, we went in just for the day because we were at Disneyland. It didnt feel the same and honestly I just didn't feel safe. Couldn't wait to get out of there. This was before the Bataclan attacks. I can't see myself taking my daughter there again anytime soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

....yeah, hopefully they are dead....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

A Lutheran with a hammer apparently, damn Lutherans

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Every
    ****ing
    Day
    Now

Might have been lads unhappy with the parking arrangements around the church and nothing to do with religion.

Now the BBC say that Paris police have established a cordon around the cathedral after the incident in which a number of shots were fired.

People reportedly seen running in huge numbers away from the cathedral area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Its probably nothing, the media is trigger happy and jumping on any story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

Every
    ****ing
    Day
    Now

This is the problem with modern day communications, half the world probably know something happened in Paris and instantly jump to conclusions thus spreading panic and hysteria.

Police in the French capital warned people to stay away from the site, on the Ile de Cite island on the River Seine, via a Twitter message.

The assailant's condition is as yet unknown, but it is believed he attacked a number of police officers on the scene with a very large hammer, possibly a sledgehammer, or an axe. Eyewitnesses reported three people lying motionless on the ground. Another woman said that she heard about 25 loud bangs.

Tourists subsequently flocked for cover.

Doesn't look that big an incident on France 24. Kay Burley miking every bit of fluid out of it on Sky News along with the obligatory phone call to someone over there with her dumb questions about how that person is feeling and other nonsense.

In fact France 24 are finished with the story for now and have moved on to another but Sky are replaying bits of the stupid phone call again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Girlfriend is over in Lourdes for the week volunteering. Dont want to text her saying about whats happening in Paris as I know she'll freak out :(

The attacker was neutralised and the front of the building remains sealed off. A picture from the scene:

notredame.jpg?strip=all&w=852&quality=100

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

AzcuzCoz wrote: »
    The assailant's condition is as yet unknown, but it is believed he attacked a number of police officers on the scene with a very large hammer, possibly a sledgehammer, or an axe. Eyewitnesses reported three people lying motionless on the ground. Another woman said that she heard about 25 loud bangs.

Tourists subsequently flocked for cover.

****ing Thor up to his ****e again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Girlfriend is over in Lourdes for the week volunteering. Dont want to text her saying about whats happening in Paris as I know she'll freak out :(

Jaysus, Dublin's as close to Paris as Lourdes is.

xabi wrote: »
    This is the problem with modern day communications, half the world probably know something happened in Paris and instantly jump to conclusions thus spreading panic and hysteria.

The sad thing that while some are false, most seem be true these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,191 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

How far away from an 'incident' does she need to be to not 'freak'? :D

They're about 8 hours apart. That's like someone checking up on relatives in Kerry after what happened in London the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Witness on the BBC speaking to the studio. About 500 in the Cathedral. Police treating it as terrorism.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    They're about 8 hours apart. That's like someone checking up on relatives in Kerry after what happened in London the weekend.

This is an example of the absolute nonsense Hysteria this creates ..

edit - not your post, sorry, the other one linking Lourdes and Paris..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

That's what they are after. That's assuming that it's not just some nutter with a hammer.

People trying not to panic now.

Police have opened up a counter-terrorism investigation.

As for the Lourdes post, whenever a suicide bombing occurs in Baghdad, I immediately have to contact all my relatives and tell them to keep safe.

Jesus, pointless scaremongering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

People trying not to panic now.

Police have opened up a counter-terrorism investigation.

As for the Lourdes post, whenever a suicide bombing occurs in Baghdad, I immediately have to contact all my relatives and tell them to keep safe.

Jesus, pointless scaremongering.

Would they be your relatives in Athlone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Shït. I better call my family back in Perth to let them know I'm ok :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I hope the policeman will be ok. The people of Paris have had to put up with so much recently.
    ThisRegard wrote: »
    Might have been lads unhappy with the parking arrangements around the church and nothing to do with religion.

Your post is pathetic. You are referring to my post in the Galway mosque thread, as you have already posted irrelevant nonsense in response, but you have misinterpreted it and are just so intent on arguing and posting rubbish that you can't listen to reason. So to clarify and hopefully end the bullsh1t:

I think the Galway mosque attack was motivated by mindless hatred of muslims.

I believe bad parking is common across all sectors of society.

I believe the scumbags in my area engage in vandalism and harassment of anyone for the sake of it.

I believe those same scumbags hate muslims because they hate anyone perceived as different.

I believe those same scumbags are increasingly likely to cause aggro with the local mosque because they will feel safe doing so because the bad parking issue makes the mosque unpopular locally so they will feel vindicated given the context of local bad feeling and an increase in intolerance and anger towards muslims in international media.

So your smart alec posts regarding poor parking around Catholic churches and your "point" that the reported attack happened because of bigotry rather than parking is irrelevant. And your post here only serves to derail and spoil another thread with bullsh1t misinterpretation (which at this stage seems to be a deliberate excuse for an argument).

Yeah, they would be in Athlone! :D

BREAKING: Police say incident is now over, two police officers wounded, attacker shot and is critical, lying on the ground. Everyone can calm down now.

Yeah, they would be in Athlone! :D

BREAKING: Police say incident is now over, two police officers wounded, attacker shot and is critical, lying on the ground. Everyone can calm down now.

Just your normal day in Paris.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

"That was ours , so was that and that one too, and the next one " replied Isis when given time to claim the latest attack.

Why the hell do we publicise Isis claiming attacks that they obviously had no idea about? We all know that these lunatics are inspired by these ****wits. But to claim knowledge of these attacks is untrue yet we publicise this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,673 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Attacking tooled up policemen with a hammer.

This guy wasn't a terrorist, he was a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

_88275697_ronnie.jpg

mad muffin wrote: »
    Shït. I better call my family back in Perth to let them know I'm ok :(

I don't use de FACEBUKE - but I hear there is a I'M SAFE button just for these matters!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm calling it right now - if they decide to declare that a guy on his own attacking police officers with a hammer is "terrorism", then we've reached peak bullsh1t.

If they do that, we can legitimately call every little scuffle in Temple Bar on a Saturday night "social terrorism" or some other similar hysterical nonsense, because the word has lost all meaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

why is this sham lying on the ground in a critical condition when he could be dead:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I don't use de FACEBUKE - but I hear there is a I'M SAFE button just for these matters!!

I know but I don't want to abuse it. I already pressed in when they blew up Manchester, and again when they stabbed London. If I press it a third time for when they hammered Notre Dame I think they might freak out :eek:

seamus wrote: »
    I'm calling it right now - if they decide to declare that a guy on his own attacking police officers with a hammer is "terrorism", then we've reached peak bullsh1t.

If they do that, we can legitimately call every little scuffle in Temple Bar on a Saturday night "social terrorism" or some other similar hysterical nonsense, because the word has lost all meaning.
    So only something involving gunpowder or explosives when attacking police is terrorism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

PRAY FOR PARIS

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

Seriously everyone i know in london is doing just that..rather than message everyone individually.

I don't know, they might be searching him for other weapons. It was just a report on CNN, I think. It was a few minutes ago, anyway.

Thankfully its just you calling it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

xabi wrote: »

Yeah it is the jumping to conclusions that really spreads the panic and hysteria.
    Not the daily attacks by loons trying to gut and slaughter innocent men, women and children just going about their daily lives. :rolleyes:

edit - not your post, sorry, the other one linking Lourdes and Paris..

All the guy said was his girlfriend who happens to be in the same country as this attack, the same country where nearly two hundred people have been slaughtered over the last few years in terrorist attacks, and is actually at a marion shrine, a symbol of all that some people of another belief would detest, might be a wee bit worried.

But of course all the great ones who are sitting in the likes of Dublin think she and her boyfriend are the fooking problem.

I am not allowed discuss …

Exactly. When a Garda is assaulted in a scuffle it must be terrorism then. Whatever is the world coming to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

So only something involving gunpowder or explosives when attacking police is terrorism?
    No apparently it's only terrorism when you're a bit beardy and your name starts with Muhammed.

If this guy's name is Pierre, then he's just a bit sick in the head.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

Witnesses say they heard explosions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

No apparently it's only terrorism when you're a bit beardy and your name starts with Muhammed.

If this guy's name is Pierre, then he's just a bit sick in the head.

Surely it depends entirely on the attackers motives?